Warehouse jobs not good enough for Irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭screamer

Living 10 to a house versus 2 working adults trying to pay a mortgage.
    Here to earn as much as possible in a short amount of time and then head home with it where it's worth much more, versus trying to build a career, maybe feed kids, pay bills etc. I'm sorry to say it, but the reason why these low paid jobs are hard to fill is right there staring them in the face, low paid, too low paid. Work has to pay in order to make it attractive, and yes, social welfare needs to be done away with as a way of living.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭The Wolverine

In my experience this "Irish think this job is beneath them" is code for the pricks are looking for fair treatment and not willing to be ****ed around.

I had experience of this kinda thing.

Got a job as a road traffic operator for a road surfacing company, I'd say 3 of us were Irish and rest were Polish/Lativan etc

Anyway we started at 8am and finish up was 6pm, officially and were paid for it.

However we were then told we were expected to do overtime to finish that particular road and were expected to work 6pm to 12am and than another 2 hours clear up while the lads with rollers and tar machine cleared up and we collected cones, temporary lights, etc

This 6pm to approx 2am was all UNPAID

We were told if ye don't like it lads there's plenty more people to do your job, with a smirk from the engineer. The mans ego was so massive he told us a story about how his dad and a few others once picked up walkie talkie from two lads doing the job we were doing calling the engineer a wanker and that and were promptly sacked. Yeah, his ego was that big he wanted to frighten people into not criticising him even in the quiet.

Breaks were 15 min and then 30mins but if you ate too fast you got a "sure you've ate your lunch now get back out there"

Myself and one of the other Irish lads quit after a week (the other was going out with the bosses daughter so got treated easy in case it would upset the darling daughter) as it turned out they expected workers to do this 8 hours unpaid overtime regularly according to a poor polish lad I was talking to.

Not to mention they hired foreigners without any English. The big error here is if you had lights or stop go either side of the bend the practise is to say "last car 05 black Audi" for example so the other lad on the other side knows once he sees that car past he can let of cars from his side. Bit hard when you and your polish colleague couldn't understand each other. I lost it at the supervisor after nearly the 4th near crash cause of this ****.

****ing scum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Thats a hell of lot of urban myths and clichés packed into one post Wolverine. Ever consider getting into low grade fiction instead of construction ?

Scoff all you like I had the misfortune to experience it. That company have a high rate of turnover especially during the start and mid recession when with so many unemployed at the time they knew they'd get suckers to work 8 bloody hours overtime for nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,052 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I don't think anyone expects people to work for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

@The Wolverine

Christ man, hard to read about people getting treated like that. I hope he chokes on his breakfast roll, I'd have dropped him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Anongeneric

I don't think anyone expects people to work for free.

Lots of people expect people to work for free

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Harvey Normal

What urban myth could apply there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭sondagefaux

Summary of thread: these jobs should be aimed at Irish workers; response from Irish workers on thread: these jobs are sh te and underpaid, wouldn't do this type of work for 10 per hour...

Another libertarian keyboard warrior.

The old promise of capitalism used to be that things got better over time. As things get better expectations increase. In recessions people tend to tighten the belt out of necessity. But the recession is over. This is when wages should start to rise. You know, like assets and house prices and rent.

So it true that Irish workers won't work a demanding job at 10€ an hour with no benefits and crap management. Before the modern globalisation movement the response of management would have had to have been to increase wages and benefits. That's how we progressed. In the abscence of labour shortages employers can continue to screw the low skilled. And eventually the semi skilled. And then maybe you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

In my experience this "Irish think this job is beneath them" is code for the pricks are looking for fair treatment and not willing to be ****ed around.

I had experience of this kinda thing.

Got a job as a road traffic operator for a road surfacing company, I'd say 3 of us were Irish and rest were Polish/Lativan etc

Anyway we started at 8am and finish up was 6pm, officially and were paid for it.

However we were then told we were expected to do overtime to finish that particular road and were expected to work 6pm to 12am and than another 2 hours clear up while the lads with rollers and tar machine cleared up and we collected cones, temporary lights, etc

This 6pm to approx 2am was all UNPAID

We were told if ye don't like it lads there's plenty more people to do your job, with a smirk from the engineer. The mans ego was so massive he told us a story about how his dad and a few others once picked up walkie talkie from two lads doing the job we were doing calling the engineer a wanker and that and were promptly sacked. Yeah, his ego was that big he wanted to frighten people into not criticising him even in the quiet.

Breaks were 15 min and then 30mins but if you ate too fast you got a "sure you've ate your lunch now get back out there"

Myself and one of the other Irish lads quit after a week (the other was going out with the bosses daughter so got treated easy in case it would upset the darling daughter) as it turned out they expected workers to do this 8 hours unpaid overtime regularly according to a poor polish lad I was talking to.

Not to mention they hired foreigners without any English. The big error here is if you had lights or stop go either side of the bend the practise is to say "last car 05 black Audi" for example so the other lad on the other side knows once he sees that car past he can let of cars from his side. Bit hard when you and your polish colleague couldn't understand each other. I lost it at the supervisor after nearly the 4th near crash cause of this ****.

****ing scum
    In summary, you got a job as a road traffic operator and under your watch there were 4 crashes!!

Whatever you were getting paid, it was far too much.

Phoebas wrote: »
    In summary, you got a job as a road traffic operator and under your watch there were 4 crashes!!

Whatever you were getting paid, it was far too much.

Ok now explain this to me 2 people either side of a bend using walkie talkies to communicate speaking two different languages, how do you think it's gonna go?

Said a lot when a Polish guy who had great English was added to my team and we got in perfect.

As for the baiting off with you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

lawred2 wrote: »
    What is unfair about it?

It's hardly skilled labor. What exactly is a fair day's pay?

You want to inflate unskilled pay to the levels of skilled pay?

As for the article... I don't trust anything that comes from the dependent news and media.

Whether or not its skilled work, its still hard work. And should be rewarded. 10 euro an hour is hard to get by on if you live somewhere like Dublin where rents will eat up 30-40% of your wages immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,367 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I thought most warehouses had forklifts for lifting heavy stuff. Why are you breaking your back? I used to work inMusgrave and the money was better there than the warehouse I'm currently in.

wakka12 wrote: »
    Whether or not its skilled work, its still hard work. And should be rewarded. 10 euro an hour is hard to get by on if you live somewhere like Dublin where rents will eat up 30-40% of your wages immediately.

Will you stop the amount of lads that think only university graduates should get over minimum wage on this site would make you laugh, lads that no doubt think themselves "indispensable" to their employers :)

I never thought I'd say it but it's a good thing there's so many third level graduates being churned out now than even a degree isn't seen as something special by employers now, a bit of competition is needed to give a sharp shock to the new age class snobs on here.

My favourite was the same brainiacs saying Dublin bus drivers should only get slightly above minimum wage and should all be sacked for new hires over the strike.

I'd love to see their scowls having to walk to work when no one would be there to drive their morning bus :)

Ok now explain this to me 2 people either side of a bend using walkie talkies to communicate speaking two different languages, how do you think it's gonna go?

Said a lot when a Polish guy who had great English was added to my team and we got in perfect.

I dunno, but I figure if they hired two people to operate a stop-go system, then they'd together somehow figure out a common two word language that they could both understand.

But, apparently that's too fcuking complicated for some.

4 crashes!!! Really!

I dunno, but I figure if they hired two people to operate a stop-go system, then they'd together somehow figure out a common two word language that they could both understand.

I'm sorry your so frustrated with your life you have to vent your anger on line against others, I hope things get better for you :(

4 crashes!!! Really!

You seem the irony here is your on about things being complicated and you haven't even read and comprehended my post nowhere did I say there was "4 crashes" :)

You said near crash anyway. Of course the guy trolling you knew that.

Edit.

No he didn't. HAHAHAHAHA

You seem the irony here is your on about things being complicated and you haven't even read and comprehended my post nowhere did I say there was "4 crashes" :)

Ah, I see - you only caused three crashes - the fourth was only a 'near crash'. Or was it four near crashes?
    I lost it at the supervisor after nearly the 4th near crash cause of this ****.
    Well done you. Employee of the month! :pac:

You said near crash anyway. Of course the guy trolling you knew that.

Edit.

No he didn't. HAHAHAHAHA

I know :) Won't be responding to his trolling anymore just someone that obviously needs to let off steam in a way where he can try and make himself feel better by belittling others :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭kidneyfan

pablo128 wrote: »
    I did! Go back and read my posts. I also had a 5k loan to pay. Actually had I stayed out of work my loan insurance would have paid my loan for up to a year.
    More fool you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭kidneyfan

I know :) Won't be responding to his trolling anymore just someone that obviously needs to let off steam in a way where he can try and make himself feel better by belittling others :)
    Unfortunate individual, wants to be something he's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

4 crashes!!! Really!

Fcuking clueless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

I thought most warehouses had forklifts for lifting heavy stuff. Why are you breaking your back? I used to work inMusgrave and the money was better there than the warehouse I'm currently in.

Ever strip a handballed 40ft?...try 5 of them a day..by Christ you earn your money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭Strong Life in Dublin

lawred2 wrote: »
    It may not be skilled labour but its back breaking stuff. I worked in a warehouse over the summer and i would come home every night exhausted with my whole body aching.

So i would agree with the other guy and say that work was too much for just 10e. I don't know how much someone working in a warehouse should be paid but it should be more than minimum wage.

So just because it's unskilled it doesn't mean it should pay like ****

E10 is more then minimum wage

I worked as a young lad in a bakery and then a warehouse.. Awful back breaking soul destroying work but that doesn't mean anything where the market wage is concerned.
    I know but times have changed, you can't buy a house on a minimum wage job like you could 20 or 30 years ago.

So that kinda work is not worth it for most people, you'd be only making 40 a day after taxes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

Ah, I see - you only caused three crashes - the fourth was only a 'near crash'. Or was it four near crashes?
    Well done you. Employee of the month! :pac:

Lets put this simple for you.

These guys only see traffic on one side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭Strong Life in Dublin

You still have to unload huge boxes with your hands etc. This takes it's toll after the 20th box of the day and it's only 4pm

Lets put this simple for you.

These guys only see traffic on one side.

That's why they have two of them.

Its a pretty basic task for two people to operate a stop-go system. When they're responsible for 4 crashes or near crashes then they aren't really doing a great job, are they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

kidneyfan wrote: »
    More fool you.

Why so? I got in, kept the head down, worked my way up a bit and have a handy enough number now. Like I said, if it wasn't for me I'd have used it as a stepping stone for something better.