Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

That's the one
    Im sure no copyright infringements will happen now.
    http://www.albutt.com/yardscraper.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Anyone use young, unproven but genomic tested Bulls?

I used a few a couple of years ago. They are now calving down. One of them would lie down in the parlor rather than be milked...I'd never seen that before so persisted for a week. Happy meal.
    Another calved Thur and is at the same craic. Happy meal tomorrow morning. Same fecking sire!!
    Both heifers out of good producing, docile cows.
    An ounce of breeding...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Stan uses a fair few of them and gets on well enough I think? The only particular bad unproven bull I've used here the last few years is KSK, utterly crap milker and small cows so won't even make much as culls. And I got 9 more of them coming into the parlour next spring ugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Timmaay wrote: »
    Stan uses a fair few of them and gets on well enough I think? The only particular bad unproven bull I've used here the last few years is KSK, utterly crap milker and small cows so won't even make much as culls. And I got 9 more of them coming into the parlour next spring ugh.
    Feck I've a shot of heifers off him coming in. I see the new aut catalogue is out for pg they have dropped em all by the 71. Any other change is ti do with the normal runs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Dawggone wrote: »

I used a few a couple of years ago. They are now calving down. One of them would lie down in the parlor rather than be milked...I'd never seen that before so persisted for a week. Happy meal.
    Another calved Thur and is at the same craic. Happy meal tomorrow morning. Same fecking sire!!
    An ounce of breeding...

But they are "proven" dawg. Genomically provern. This is still just using extremely complicated algorithms for a best guess result. This opinion is from someone who was in on the ground floor of quantitative genetics long before the processing power was freely available to do the maths quickly.

An ounce of breeding...
    How many bulls did you use dawg. In order to protect against the duds the advice is to use a panel of 5 minimum,

Mooooo wrote: »
    How many bulls did you use dawg. In order to protect against the duds the advice is to use a panel of 5 minimum,

Which was the exact same advice they always gave when using test bulls. In fact they used to insist on it if you were participating in the testing programmes, partly to offset risks and partly to get the bulls with less impressive bloodlines tested.

Would you be off the opinion to leave them as test bull packs so? It does annoy me them charging 16 to 20 quid for genomic bulls when test bulls with near on the exact same reliability come in packs for 6.50.... th I've used a lot of genomic bulls and I have yet to come across and animal I could say is better by far than what went before her. But look there have been way too many variables here to judge the whole lot that way

Personally I'd be of the opinion to leave them where they are but I won't use a bull without a linear (type) proof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Personally I'd be of the opinion to leave them where they are but I won't use a bull without a linear (type) proof.

I will not use a bull that's not daughter proven. Ebi should be a guide not a target.

I've often been ridiculed for my stance :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,124 ✭✭✭jaymla627

I have to laugh when u can buy the likes of dragon, spock,legend, acres eight for 8-10 euro but lads reckon spending 20 euro plus on genomic sires with the magical 350 plus ebi is a silver bullet, printing press for ai companies more like

jaymla627 wrote: »
    I have to laugh when u can buy the likes of dragon, spock,legend, acres eight for 8-10 euro but lads reckon spending 20 euro plus on genomic sires with the magical 350 plus ebi is a silver bullet, printing press for ai companies more like

Spock? Still?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Spock? Still?

Loads of water

Spock? Still?

Yeah probably my favourite bull I have cows milking off, handy calved, perfect outcross for cows with oman breeding, lovely quiet cows too and the main thing lots of milk.....
    Think I have the last batch of straws Eurogene had left in flask of him, have 8 smashing spock heifers for the bull next spring, their going to make lovely cows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭alps

You can't protect against the duds......except to use proven...

The cost of duds is not properly factored into the equation. Suppose we use 5 test bull and we end up with 5daughters...1from each bull.

2 daughters end up 50€ /lact more profitable
    is average
    1 is slightly less than average
    And 1 is a complete dud...

The sums on year 1 will go something like this
    +50
    +50
    +0

In the physical application of actual farming, you cannot offset the actual financial hit of a dud....not to mind having 5 or 6 of them...

But they are "proven" dawg. Genomically provern. This is still just using extremely complicated algorithms for a best guess result. This opinion is from someone who was in on the ground floor of quantitative genetics long before the processing power was freely available to do the maths quickly.

I think that I'd prefer daughter proven rather an algo proof from now on.

I used 24 different Bulls...maybe I'll get lucky.

I think that I'd prefer daughter proven rather an algo proof from now on.

I used 24 different Bulls...maybe I'll get lucky.

You any eldweiss daughters milking dawg, used a good bit of him on the less milky ladies this spring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

jaymla627 wrote:
    You any eldweiss daughters milking dawg, used a good bit of him on the less milky ladies this spring

I have yearlings of that bull very strong animals. The bull calves were the best looking calves I ever had from 100% holstein. Each of them made 150+ as 2 week old calves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

I worked a Keenan 100 on a 4600 ford years ago. They can be geared for smaller tractors when ordering new.

Heard of a 165 that was on one for years, reducer gear on it. 75hp ran our 100 with ease for 10 years, we'd 75hp on a 350 for a few months this winter .... Puts the tractor under a bit too much pressure though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

MF290 wrote:
    Heard of a 165 that was on one for years, reducer gear on it. 75hp ran our 100 with ease for 10 years, we'd 75hp on a 350 for a few months this winter .... Puts the tractor under a bit too much pressure though

Unkle finished 1000 cattle a year with a universal and 100 keenan, we had a 100 serious work got through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,750 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

ye very disappointed with ksk heifers, I used sexed Ksk too :cool: have some ABO and PBM heifers that are smashers though

I've a few.
    Milky and sizeable. Not overly sold on mobility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Is that the correct name for that bull?? Searching for him on icbf with your spelling.... Not being recognised...

Never again using genomic Bulls here..... Except for pkx.... I think genomics is a waste of time and ebi isn't much better..... Hard to rely on ebi when icbf are constantly messing with it....

Is that the correct name for that bull?? Searching for him on icbf with your spelling.... Not being recognised...

Never again using genomic Bulls here..... Except for pkx.... I think genomics is a waste of time and ebi isn't much better..... Hard to rely on ebi when icbf are constantly messing with it....

Edelweiss.

Damn you to hell for taking the name of EBI in vain!

S2195 is the code, wouldn't be using a bull like him across all your cows only use him here on the jersey crosses and smaller cows to put a bit more power into their heifers hopefully....
    Progressive have a great selection of daughter proven bulls now their able to get abs bulls, the likes of laurhill classic, pello and pesky are top quality daughter proven bulls, all oman sons though if you want outcrosses eldweiss is a option, kodak red, delta gravity....
    Very old school here in that if I come across a bull that I like and he's producing the goods I keep using him every year, don't see the point in chasing the next best thing when the bulls im using are producing the goods

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Edelweiss.

Damn you to hell for taking the name of EBI in vain!

That bull all whitewater +500 kg milk ,negative for sokids ,negative for health ,negative for fertility .nothing would lead me to use him
    And the ebi/genomics bashing continues .delievering in a huge way in this herd by end of this year full herd will be genotyped and see no reason to move away from it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,797 ✭✭✭stanflt

Was disappointed with ksk as heifers- but they are maturing well as second Calvers

stanflt wrote: »
    Was disappointed with ksk as heifers- but they are maturing well as second Calvers

She's 3 weeks away from calving at the moment but looks to have transformed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

S2195 is the code, wouldn't be using a bull like him across all your cows only use him here on the jersey crosses and smaller cows to put a bit more power into their heifers hopefully....
    Progressive have a great selection of daughter proven bulls now their able to get abs bulls, the likes of laurhill classic, pello and pesky are top quality daughter proven bulls, all oman sons though if you want outcrosses eldweiss is a option, kodak red, delta gravity....
    Very old school here in that if I come across a bull that I like and he's producing the goods I keep using him every year, don't see the point in chasing the next best thing when the bulls im using are producing the goods

Not chasing the next big thing ,am chasing more solids ,more production ,more fertilityandcsokuds cruically profit from fty in parlour and grazed grass .genotyping and genomic Bulls delievering exactly that

Pkx look great. But won't fill the tank