Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

Am busting to go now, 1 more sleep Father T :D
    am as they say quietly confident of a peak ;)

Rain the great leveler on the way, from the Met

Sunday @ 12.00 rainfall
    397183.gif397185.png

Sunday @ 18.00 rainfall
    397184.gif397185.png

Atlantic charts Sunday

Rain @ 12.00
    Pressure @ 12.00

397187.png -- 397186.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

I know Dublin are hot favourite and deserve to be but I'm getting a great "Emperor's New Clothes" feeling about this game.

Watched Seo Sport ar TG4 last night and at least 60% of the analysis of the game showed us how Dublin did things well, the other 40% was about how Mayo did not do things well.

Very little about where Dublin had problems or how Mayo had positives.

Maybe it's just me but that's what I though.

2014 v Donegal was exactly the same, and IMO Dublin are worse now than then.

Can't wait.

Mayo are close to 3/1. Have you been tempted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

Ted111 wrote: »

I never bet on a team I follow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Just answered the magic phonecall! First final I'm ever lucky enough to be headed to, absolutely ecstatic! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Very eloquently mentioned on the last word preview last night...it's the hope that kills you..I am still hopeful.

Heading off,safe journey to all and I hope that all the players play to their full potential,we can ask no more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,403 ✭✭✭naughto

Are they splitting the hill does any one no with Mayo on the Cusack side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,449 ✭✭✭✭km79

10/3
    Stuck 30 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭tacofries

I stuck a bit on them. Reason being is that if they lose then I wont be going out so wont waste any money on drink so then i can afford to lose the price of the bet. If they win however the party will last more than a few days so would be good to have a helping hand in terms of cash!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,449 ✭✭✭✭km79

Draw is 10:1
    Tempted to stick a tenner on to cover replay tickets !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,668 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Last couple of days listening to the usual Dubs getting carried away with themselves, unbeatable, always have an answer, seen this BS before many times, they are like the Titanic,

Best of luck tomorrow to Mayo from a Meathman, I really think you are going to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,240 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

seligehgit wrote: »
    Very eloquently mentioned on the last word preview last night...it's the hope that kills you..I am still hopeful.

Heading off,safe journey to all and I hope that all the players play to their full potential,we can ask no more.

And its the hope that keeps you alive.

If we did not have hope we would take the advice of some troll on the now suspended match thread and not turn up.

If we lose we look forward to 2017.

New players in the squad, many of them All Ireland winners in 2013 and 2016.

Getting revenge on a Galway team that were ultimately a laughing stock.

Keeping that other laughing stock in their box with their fans who think things are won in February.

Getting back to Croke Park and once again proving that Ulster football is the most overrated thing on earth.

Possibility facing a less than brilliant Kerry team in an AI SF and getting that monkey off our backs.

Plenty to hope for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Pidge.

I'm afraid to get too hopefully. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Pidge.

I'm afraid to get too hopeful. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Getting back to Croke Park and once again proving that Ulster football is the most overrated thing on earth.

If Ulster football is overrated why did yiz spend the last five minutes against tyrone panicking like hysterical biddies? :confused:

Still how many All Irelands have Ulster teams won since 1990? How many have have a connacht won team in that time? I'm sure they'll settle for being overrated :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭Kalyke

Last couple of days listening to the usual Dubs getting carried away with themselves, unbeatable, always have an answer, seen this BS before many times, they are like the Titanic,

Best of luck tomorrow to Mayo from a Meathman, I really think you are going to do it.
    My dislike of Meath ended in 2006:D:D:D 10 years is way to long to be bitter!! Would love to see the Royal challenging the Dubs in Leinster again...Normal order!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

naughto wrote:
    Are they splitting the hill does any one no with Mayo on the Cusack side

Never seen that done before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Kalyke wrote: »
    My dislike of Meath ended in 2006:D:D:D 10 years is way to long to be bitter!! Would love to see the Royal challenging the Dubs in Leinster again...Normal order!

Still going strong 20 years later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Moo Moo Land

And its the hope that keeps you alive.

If we did not have hope we would take the advice of some troll on the now suspended match thread and not turn up.

If we lose we look forward to 2017.

New players in the squad, many of them All Ireland winners in 2013 and 2016.

Getting revenge on a Galway team that were ultimately a laughing stock.

A laughing stock? Really? I don't think there is any call for that. Give some credit to a fine Tipperary team too. Galway finally won a Connacht title and aren't as bad as you think and we beat you fair and square in Castlebar.

Most of Galway will be shouting for Mayo tomorrow and the county is a awash with Mayo flags. Connacht needs another All Ireland and I am getting more confident that tomorrow could be the day. The rain will certainly level things up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭squiredanaher

Haha, wtf? I was looking for the match thread and saw this

****SFC FINAL - MAYO V DUBLIN ***LOCKED
    UNTIL SUNDAY****

Are'nt we all.!

A laughing stock? Really? I don't think there is any call for that. Give some credit to a fine Tipperary team too. Galway finally won a Connacht title and aren't as bad as you think and we beat you fair and square in Castlebar.

Most of Galway will be shouting for Mayo tomorrow and the county is a awash with Mayo flags. Connacht needs another All Ireland and I am getting more confident that tomorrow could be the day. The rain will certainly level things up.

Galway had an excellent chance to break their decade plus Croke Park duck against a Div 3 team and blew it big time.

I really don't care if Galway people are shouting for Mayo, for ever one shouting for them there is one crack who will be happy to see them lose and remind us all of 1998 and 2001.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

Haha, wtf? I was looking for the match thread and saw this

****SFC FINAL - MAYO V DUBLIN ***LOCKED
    UNTIL SUNDAY****

Are'nt we all.!
    Yeah don't really understand why the trollers were allowed to shut it down.

If the biggest match of the season can't be discussed, not much point discussing anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Here's a wee throwback to 1951 to get us in the mood. Goal from all-time great Tommy Langan.

PressRun wrote: »
    Here's a wee throwback to 1951 to get us in the mood. Goal from all-time great Tommy Langan.

That video more than anything else bring home to me the huge length of time since the last win.

It was not just a different era, it was a different world.

Sean Flanagan smoking a cigarette as he lifts the cup, crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,609 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

First time in Nally tomorrow, any suggestions on best view or when I should arrive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭SeanJ09

Lads if a spare ticket might be knocking around tomorrow morning,where's the best place to look?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,668 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Kalyke wrote: »

My dislike of Mayo ended a good few years ago too :D

Its not that I dislike the Dubs either, back in the day if we lost we wished them well if we won they backed us, its just this attitude some of them have about being unbeatable, Senan Connell last night on Today FM epitomized their attitude.

P.S. we have a good man in charge next season, in fairness to Dowd it was a pure re-building job, long way for Meath to catch up with Mayo, Kerry or Dublin.

Hope youse do it tomorrow, its a special feeling, Hon Mayo :D

Unfortunately the closer this game gets, the more pessimistic I get.

Once again I feel we will be going home empty handed.

Hope I'm wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Green Peter

Unfortunately the closer this game gets, the more pessimistic I get.

Once again I feel we will be going home empty handed.

Hope I'm wrong.

Go for a few pints tonight and you'll be talking about 3 in a rows by bedtime!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

Stayed away from the thread in recent days / week's as I remember the last time we were in the final and it was so repetitive and full of trolls etc.

But I'm checking in tonight to say good luck to all Mayo tomorrow: supporters, players, management and everyone involved. For some of us tomorrow will be the 9th time (including the '96 replay) that we will wake up on a September Sunday and wonder... "is today the day?" This group of players deserves an All Ireland more than any other in the country and I make no apologies for saying that. But of course, 'deserve' means nothing in sport.

So best of luck Mayo, do us proud again. I know you will. The excitement inside me is unreal, I'm not sure I'll get much sleep... but after all... tomorrow could be the best day of our lives.

Maigh Eo Abú

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,594 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Best of luck tomorrow lads, as a neutral hope you really turn up and perform, love to see ye lift sam please god tomorrow is the day.