Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭Blud

MayoForSam wrote: »
    I think rain (maybe a breeze) might work out OK for Mayo, adding a bit more uncertainty into the mix and possibly preventing the Dubs from landing too many points from out the field.

I am fine with Parsons into midfield, if he's fit he's a good addition and has the energy to match the Dubs, it will be interesting to see where Vaughan ends up. Diarmuid O'Connor is another key man to disrupt the Dubs game plan, he needs to be fit compared to the last 2 games and must be able to cover a lot of ground on Sunday.

The hype is definitely building now, we have a Mayo jersey day today in work and the game is the only topic of conversation. Looking forward to modifying my user name on Monday ;).

MayoForLiam?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

The BBC have an article about the curse:

http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-37378935

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

The BBC have an article about the curse:

http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-37378935

Cleveland had its NBA team win earlier this year after decades of nothing in that city. Hull won the Rugby League in the UK after a bunch of final defeats. Leicester won the premier league and Portugal won the euros.

The only similar story to ours would be that of the Buffalo Bills in the NFL. They got to four consecutive finals in early 90s and lost them all. They are the only NFL team that hasnt made the playoffs this century. Not exactly like for like but the closest i can think of to Mayo's current plight.

The time has come to remove that monkey off our back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,240 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Peist2007 wrote: »
    Cleveland had its NBA team win earlier this year after decades of nothing in that city. Hull won the Rugby League in the UK after a bunch of final defeats. Leicester won the premier league and Portugal won the euros.

The only similar story to ours would be that of the Buffalo Bills in the NFL. They got to four consecutive finals in early 90s and lost them all. They are the only NFL team that hasnt made the playoffs this century. Not exactly like for like but the closest i can think of to Mayo's current plight.

Portugal have the same colours too.

It's a done deal.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

It's a done deal.

Hon the boys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,446 ✭✭✭✭km79

It's a done deal.

it's the year of the green and red
    called it in June
    I should not be extremely confident but I am
    it's just been such an odd odd year in sport
    mayo by 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

There's going to be one lunatic at least on the Hill...

Just got the magic phone call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Peist2007 wrote: »

Don't forget Hibs. They lost every Scottish Cup final they played until this year when they beat The team formerly known as Rangers!

I suppose we may as well roll out the piseogs now seeing as most of the analysis has us worn out.

The Chicago Cubs have the best record in baseball and are heading for the playoffs.

Last championship, 1907.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Mayo Club 51

"They've been with the team right from the start and on Sunday the Mayo fans will play an important role in getting their side over the line come 5pm. The boost that the side gets from the full-throated following in green and red isn't lost on Mayo manager Stephen Rochford who said he knows that there's no need to issue a call to arms for the supporters who've been with his side right from the off this year. "I'd like to thank the Mayo supporters for their great support throughout the year and over the years. They have stood by the team throughout the year from our first league game in Cork, there was a huge Mayo crowd there at that, and the other away league games, huge crowds attended the games."

http://www.advertiser.ie/mayo/article/87339/rochford-calls-for-one-last-push-towards-greatness?utm_source=more

• Site Banned Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭XR3i

up balinrobe, up kiltimagh, up shrule, up turmakeady, up mayo

XR3i wrote: »
    up balinrobe, up kiltimagh, up shrule, up turmakeady, up mayo

Ballinrobe
    Tourmakeady

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭salmon1

All the best to Mayo sunday from a galway fan,hopefully both cups come west sunday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

salmon1 wrote: »
    All the best to Mayo sunday from a galway fan,hopefully both cups come west sunday

Do not have any high expectations going into that Kerry minor match. They are ridiculously good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Dear Mayo and Mayo fans all across the globe.

I am a Dublin man, born and bred. I wholeheartedly understand the absolute heartbreak you must have felt over the years since 1951. I cannot match that heartbreak. In my life I only waited 16 years to see Sam return to Dublin in 2011 The gap before that was even shorter, despite a very very heartbreaking build up due to Ulster teams taking the glory. I was only 5 years of age the last time Dublin managed back to back AI's. Far to young to really remember or indeed appreciate. While all Mayo wants is just one AI title this year, I feel very guilty wanting a back to back Dublin win, but to me it would be like you guys taking the title on Sunday. If Dublin do it on Sunday, I will die happy, knowing I witnessed it. But if Dublin are beaten by Mayo on Sunday, I will die happy knowing that a great bunch of players finally reached the holy grail of taking the title. Nobody deserves it. You have to earn it.

Best of luck to both teams and supporters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭salmon1

Do not have any high expectations going into that Kerry minor match. They are ridiculously good

They are,but we have a few very talented players of our own and you just never know when young lads take to the field what could happen.

That mayo team ye have has not just given mayo fans a few very good years but also the rest of the country. It not just luck thats needed to win an all ireland its skill and courage and that mayo team have the latter so hopefully the luck will come sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

salmon1 wrote: »
    They are,but we have a few very talented players of our own and you just never know when young lads take to the field what could happen.

That mayo team ye have has not just given mayo fans a few very good years but also the rest of the country. It not just luck thats needed to win an all ireland its skill and courage and that mayo team have the latter so hopefully the luck will come sunday.

Im Kildare (with Mayo father -hence the support), we have many talented minors in Kildare and could probably beat every other county on your day but they annihalated us.

• Site Banned Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭XR3i

Grandeeod wrote: »
    Dear Mayo and Mayo fans all across the globe.

I am a Dublin man, born and bred. I wholeheartedly understand the absolute heartbreak you must have felt over the years since 1951. I cannot match that heartbreak. In my life I only waited 16 years to see Sam return to Dublin in 2011 The gap before that was even shorter, despite a very very heartbreaking build up due to Ulster teams taking the glory. I was only 5 years of age the last time Dublin managed back to back AI's. Far to young to really remember or indeed appreciate. While all Mayo wants is just one AI title this year, I feel very guilty wanting a back to back Dublin win, but to me it would be like you guys taking the title on Sunday. If Dublin do it on Sunday, I will die happy, knowing I witnessed it. But if Dublin are beaten by Mayo on Sunday, I will die happy knowing that a great bunch of players finally reached the holy grail of taking the title. Nobody deserves it. You have to earn it.

Best of luck to both teams and supporters.

fair play a mhac, and let the best mayo win :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Im Kildare (with Mayo father -hence the support), we have many talented minors in Kildare and could probably beat every other county on your day but they annihalated us.

Very impressed with the Kildare minors this year. I really hope the senior team gain from them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Moo Moo Land

They look good alright but Galway have only lost 1 minor final ever having played in 7. Galway were good (but wasteful) in the semifinal too.

I really hope Mayo win on Sunday and I have a nice treble resting on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭Beagslife

The tide had finally turned. It's Mayo s now to lose!

McGuinness lends a hand!

All joking aside. Best wishes to Mayo on Sunday. Bring Sam West.

MC

Beagslife wrote: »
    The tide had finally turned. It's Mayo s now to lose!

McGuinness lends a hand!

All joking aside. Best wishes to Mayo on Sunday. Bring Sam West.

MC
    that's fantastic ! Very big of Rochford to do that
    No way Horan would have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭tacofries

Got a ticket!!!! Absolutely delighted.. Cannot wait to see us take home Sam. This is the Year folks!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

The neighbour just rang me there, he was after getting his hands on a ticket for me. I was delighted as I hadn't seen this kerry minor team play in croke park yet,
    I was all set until he told me that if I wasn't going to take it then he was giving it to his nephew, who's from Mayo. Ah **** you anyway I said, why did you tell me that? Sure I can't take the ticket off him.
    So that's one more ticket gone to Mayo. Oh god I hope ye do it lad's, The Dubs aren't as far ahead as they or the media would have us believe.
    Mayo by 2 I'd say. Enjoy the day anyway and best of luck from the kingdom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    The neighbour just rang me there, he was after getting his hands on a ticket for me. I was delighted as I hadn't seen this kerry minor team play in croke park yet,
    I was all set until he told me that if I wasn't going to take it then he was giving it to his nephew, who's from Mayo. Ah **** you anyway I said, why did you tell me that? Sure I can't take the ticket off him.
    So that's one more ticket gone to Mayo. Oh god I hope ye do it lad's, The Dubs aren't as far ahead as they or the media would have us believe.
    Mayo by 2 I'd say. Enjoy the day anyway and best of luck from the kingdom.

Decent skin.😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,067 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

seligehgit wrote: »
    Decent skin.😊

Cute whore of a neighbour too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭Kalyke

I feel like Charlie this morning ...Got the Golden Ticket for the Davin!! Broken hearted for a fellow Mayo man who traveled with me to every final since 96.( Amongst many league, club , ladies games) Cant get a ticket. Trying to convince him to travel anyway... Edit...... He Got one!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Kalyke wrote: »
    I feel like Charlie this morning ...Got the Golden Ticket for the Davin!! Broken hearted for a fellow Mayo man who traveled with me to every final since 96.( Amongst many league, club , ladies games) Cant get a ticket. Trying to convince him to travel anyway...

There's a decent chance he'd get one if he travelled.He'll have a top weekend anyway as Dublin will be buzzing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 808 ✭✭✭Angry bird

Best of luck on the quest for Sam. '98 was a year from a fairy tale for us and when Sam crossed the Shannon, all of Connacht was there to rejoice.

I know Dublin are hot favourite and deserve to be but I'm getting a great "Emperor's New Clothes" feeling about this game.

Watched Seo Sport ar TG4 last night and at least 60% of the analysis of the game showed us how Dublin did things well, the other 40% was about how Mayo did not do things well.

Very little about where Dublin had problems or how Mayo had positives.

Maybe it's just me but that's what I though.

2014 v Donegal was exactly the same, and IMO Dublin are worse now than then.

Can't wait.