Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

High Noon with George Hook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭jooksavage

There's no way this mess can keep going. Is there actually a producer in charge of this? Boring lineline-esque hardship stories one minute, political interviews* the next.

*I'm not sure if it qualifies as an interview if Hooks voice dominates 75% of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,044 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Wasn't Hooky retiring? Can't he feck off and enjoy his free time with the lovely Ingrid?

Is he staging a Gaybo-like comeback?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Vorenus400

jooksavage wrote: »
    There's no way this mess can keep going. Is there actually a producer in charge of this? Boring lineline-esque hardship stories one minute, political interviews* the next.

*I'm not sure if it qualifies as an interview if Hooks voice dominates 75% of it

I dont think Hook is even trying anymore. i think he has spiritually taken his retirement a few years ago.

He asks a very stacked question and only lets the person answer the yes/no part before going on another long spiel. I think the right hook lost its edge a few years ago.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

degsie wrote: »
    What's with Hook's laugh? Makes me feel uncomfortable.

Why?

farmerjj wrote: »
    Why?

I can't speak for degsie but I think Hook's laugh sounds like the grotesque braying gurgle of a pinhead man-baby. Chills me to the bone.

Agh jasus where's my dictionary gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

jooksavage wrote:

That awful high-pitched strangled giggle...

After 'Hook's books', I'm waiting on the new segment, to be titled 'By Hook or by crook?'.

Basically, who said this, George or some corrupt politician?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 barryegan

'Hook Cooks' will be radio gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,257 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

This show is unlistentoable

He's trolling his listeners at this stage

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Vorenus400

Akrasia wrote: »
    This show is unlistentoable

He's trolling his listeners at this stage

I think hes hoping to get some of the Joe Duffy cranks. Got rid of the principle from Mayo fairly quickly when he suggested that there might be a bit of exaggeration in all kids watching videos at school

Roan Mullen defending McQuaid: "we were limited by our ideas". Plus ça change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

So George is getting up at 5am to prepare for the "High Noon"...the obligatory immigration rant, some marketing type spouting nonsense, a bit of Liveline-style moaning and then George's essential song. Wft has he being doing for those 6 hours before the show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,335 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

I had a quick listen to the start of the programme today.George said in reply to a text that his show is now like an "oasis"fom NAMA current affairs/heavy news,but then he went on a rant with help from a speech by an Australian senator and something about Jean Claude Juncker.He sounded horrendous.I quickly switched to the definitive oasis The Ronan Collins show on RTE Radio 1.

Oh God this Essential Songs crap is back again. Can't believe they took 30 mins off Moncrieff for this sh**e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,026 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

I had a quick listen to the start of the programme today.George said in reply to a text that his show is now like an "oasis"fom NAMA current affairs/heavy news,but then he went on a rant with help from a speech by an Australian senator and something about Jean Claude Juncker.He sounded horrendous.I quickly switched to the definitive oasis The Ronan Collins show on RTE Radio 1.

Ronan has greatly improved,less talking more music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,335 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

kneemos wrote: »
    Ronan has greatly improved,less talking more music.

I don't know why the Liveline promo and Weather forecast are in it,both could be in the News At 1.

After he said he won't talk about the bus strike, he spent at least 12 hours recanting the boring story of his morning commute to work. It may not have been 12 hours but it felt that long

He got some texts making points against what he had said and his response was 'You're wrong' and 'I don't agree', and then when someone texted in to say that he was turning off the show because it is unlistentoable, he basically told him 'I'm not going anywhere' and to feck off if he can't take his 'liberal ideas' being challenged and if he can't take debate....

Hook saying 'you're wrong and I'm right' without even attempting to pose any kind of argument is not a debate. And telling his listeners to not listen to him anymore is a good way to hasten the demise of this car crash of a radio show.

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

Oh God this Essential Songs crap is back again. Can't believe they took 30 mins off Moncrieff for this sh**e

It's ridiculous. Moncreif had a history expert talking about the U.S. election, and he had a philosopher talking about Morality, and Sean treated them with respect and asked intelligent probing questions and lighthearted observations.

Hook talked about religion by railing against 'liberals', talked about science by calling scientists 'Ageist'... He believes he is himself the only historian, scientist, and philosopher worth listening to.

It's ridiculous. Moncreif had a history expert talking about the U.S. election, and he had a philosopher talking about Morality, and Sean treated them with respect and asked intelligent probing questions and lighthearted observations.

Hook talked about religion by railing against 'liberals', talked about science by calling scientists 'Ageist'... He believes he is himself the only historian, scientist, and philosopher worth listening to.

^^^ This!

What day is the movie slot on?

That was one of the better bits :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

Jaysus the Ronan Mullen slot took the biscuit altogether- little siphilistic twat giggling away with almighty George at the audacity of non believers - never again will I listen to newstalk lunchtime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

foxtrot101 wrote: »
    So George is getting up at 5am to prepare for the "High Noon"...the obligatory immigration rant, some marketing type spouting nonsense, a bit of Liveline-style moaning and then George's essential song. Wft has he being doing for those 6 hours before the show?

Opening his mind, obviously.

No, no, wait that's definitely not right.

Hook saying 'HORSE MANURE!' without even attempting to pose any kind of argument is not a debate.

That's more like it.

Did anyone think the bit where Sean came on to say what he'd be talking about on his show was more than a little frosty?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭sheep?

Brace yourselves....Michael Graham is returning today!

sheep? wrote: »
    Brace yourselves....Michael Graham is returning today!

Not more of Graham's unique brand of fcukwittery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Not more of Graham's unique brand of fcukwittery.

Rarely agree with Graham but he is pure box office and at least has an opinion on things. Great radio even if he is talking nonsense.

DeanAustin wrote: »
    Rarely agree with Graham but he is pure box office and at least has an opinion on things. Great radio even if he is talking nonsense.

He should have stuck to stand-up comedy, which is what his slot should be billed as.