Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

naughto wrote: »
    The only thing that's bothering me is we where playing unreal football over the last few yrs and only managed to draw with them . We are playing pure sh1te this yr and expect it to change in the final that's what worries me.

Wasn't ment for this thread but I'll leave it here anyway
    If Mayo attempt to just play a normal game of free flowing football against the Dubs they will lose 9 times out of 10. Mayo need to do something unexpected in terms of tactics.

The problem is Mayo teams (both club and county) ALWAYS do the expected. Incredibly predictable team in finals. Dublin will win with a few points to spare, similar to the hurling I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,445 ✭✭✭✭km79

If Mayo attempt to just play a normal game of free flowing football against the Dubs they will lose 9 times out of 10. Mayo need to do something unexpected in terms of tactics.

The problem is Mayo teams (both club and county) ALWAYS do the expected. Incredibly predictable team in finals. Dublin will win with a few points to spare, similar to the hurling I'd say.

Predict Rochfords starting 15 and the exact positions they will play so ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Yeah, of all the criticisms that could be levelled at Mayo this year, being predictable is hardly a reasonable one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

I'm certain Rochford has a trick or two up his sleeve for the final. The thing is I've no idea what it could be but I just don't see us getting into a conventional scoring match with that talented Dublin side, we have to be cute to win this and that's one thing Rochford is in his management.

Horan was a very good manager but predictable, as were H&C last year to an extent (apart from starting Drake in the semi of course). That predictability has gone out the window this year and we're better for it in my opinion.

Dublin are favourites and rightly so but I see us throwing them a curveball that they'll have to adapt to, because breaking their usual pattern and scoring rhythm would go a long way towards an All Ireland victory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭finisklin

Don't forget to give some credit to Tony McEntee. I don't think his contribution can be under estimated. That tactical resilience from Ulster football is a strength and I really like the way he is working the sideline, communicating with players and amending the plan as the game progresses.

Rochford is in his first season as an inter county manager so he is learning as well. Plus the structures that Horan had in place are standing in good stead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭RobbieRuns

Dublin, who are rightly favourites have my admiration because they are not as defensive as the northern teams, they try to beat teams by outplaying them, by running more, being fitter and stronger. They give others the chance to attack. This suits Mayo, they have always matched Dublin in the fitness stakes and indeed in strength. Mayo should have a real cut and leave nothing out there, would love to see them win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭spurscormac

Tis quiet in these parts, is everyone nervous as hell?

Can't wait til Sunday. Still have plans to be finalised, make a weekend of it, or just there and back on the day.
    Haven't booked Monday off yet, but have given advance notice that if we win, don't expect me in til Wednesday.

Surprisingly don't feel too nervous at the moment. Looking forward to the weekend though. I'll probably be a bag of nerves on the day, but not feeling too bad right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭finisklin

Do both teams get a training run in Croke park ahead of the final?

For example, do the Mayo team get access to the pitch and have a training session for an hour or two on the Tuesday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,240 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Don't forget "Mad For Sam 2016 Live from Mayo" on Irish TV, Sky channel 191, tomorrow Tuesday 13th at 8pm.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

anyone going to the after-after function (the 20 euro one! :) )
    Few of us are going in, is it a suit jobbie or will pants and shirt do the job! :) Or even jeans!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,067 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

seligehgit wrote: »

The GAA Hour podcast is up too. That's this evenings listening sorted between the two.

Did anyone else make it up on Friday for the GAA Hour recording? Grand way to kill an hour or so, Parkinson is a great host.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,410 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

yop wrote: »
    anyone going to the after-after function (the 20 euro one! :) )
    Few of us are going in, is it a suit jobbie or will pants and shirt do the job! :) Or even jeans!

The After after function is Casual Gear, would be some spot if Sam is in attendance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

PressRun wrote: »
    Surprisingly don't feel too nervous at the moment. Looking forward to the weekend though. I'll probably be a bag of nerves on the day, but not feeling too bad right now.

I can't think nor sleep :D

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Oldtree wrote: »
    I can't think nor sleep :D

for once I am not in a knot :)
    For some reason the fact we seem to be given little hope has allowed me to possibly see the age of 60 without a heart attack.
    That said been up on top of the hill come 3.30 next Sunday the heart rate will be hitting 190 at times! :)

PARlance wrote: »
    The GAA Hour podcast is up too. That's this evenings listening sorted between the two.

Did anyone else make it up on Friday for the GAA Hour recording? Grand way to kill an hour or so, Parkinson is a great host.

Yes I went along,it was very enjoyable.I really miss Wooly now that's he's left OTB.Loved the question re the Mort.

TBH I've never seen the county calmer as expectations are so low.It'll really hit me come Friday evening after work and heading up early Saturday morning.... Buzzing I say buzzing!:D:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

TBH I've never seen the county calmer as expectations are so low.It'll really hit me come Friday evening after work and heading up early Saturday morning.... Buzzing I say buzzing!:D:pac:

It's been quieter than usual alright. But saying that, I've been trying to ignore all build up, too much talking can be done and we've heard it all before.

I think people have a quiet sense of confidence though. We're all in the dark as to what Mayo team will show up, how we'll line up and what kind of performance they're capable of producing because there's nothing to look back on, except the lads just doing enough and moving onto the next game. I'll definitely be optimistic heading up Sunday, it's not an impossible task ahead of us. There's a complete performance in this Mayo team, if Rochford gets the match ups right, we get a bit of luck then we've every chance. In saying that, If we don't do it - I don't think we'll be as devastated as we have been in losing previous finals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

for once I am not in a knot :)
    For some reason the fact we seem to be given little hope has allowed me to possibly see the age of 60 without a heart attack.
    That said been up on top of the hill come 3.30 next Sunday the heart rate will be hitting 190 at times! :)

I'll bring some spare Lercaril for you then jic ;)

pops.gif?w=593

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭tacofries

Many going to Mad For Sam tonight? Rang up there but tickets are gone. If they're showing it in the bar then ill head up anyway!

Just learnt of the death of a young man at home, we always got the "Ann Baynes Bus" from Westport which his brother drives and himself and his Dad always were on. Really has shocked the town and all of us who travelled around the country on that bus. Sunday will be incredibly sad now. RIP son. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Just learnt of the death of a young man at home, we always got the "Ann Baynes Bus" from Westport which his brother drives and himself and his Dad always were on. Really has shocked the town and all of us who travelled around the country on that bus. Sunday will be incredibly sad now. RIP son. :(

Been on that bus a few times for league games. I read an older man passed away during the week that was always on that bus too.

R.I.P, puts it all into perspective.

Been on that bus a few times for league games. I read an older man passed away during the week that was always on that bus too.

R.I.P, puts it all into perspective.

Ya Jonny passed away indeed. Himself and his wife were terrific unassuming people. He will be greatly missed also.
    http://www.mayonews.ie/news/28521-mayo-gaa-loses-well-known-westport-supporter

At the moment Sunday looks wet in dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭corny

km79 wrote: »
    At the moment Sunday looks wet in dublin

Not again.

corny wrote: »
    Not again.

Can and probably will change
    Long way out yet

It's been lovely weather today in Mayo. Hopefully it stays nice and spreads to Dublin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,240 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Great podcast.

Really sums up my own feelings on the game, that cautious optimism based on tje notion that Mayo are a far smarter, far more balanced team this time round, and that Donegal and Kerry have shown us how Dublin are vulnerable.

Maybe all BS and they lose by 14 but one can only hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

km79 wrote: »
    Predict Rochfords starting 15 and the exact positions they will play so ......
    PressRun wrote: »
    Yeah, of all the criticisms that could be levelled at Mayo this year, being predictable is hardly a reasonable one.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/jim-mcguinness-touch-of-anarchy-could-be-mayo-s-secret-weapon-1.2788911