Garda hits man with baton NAMA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I'm cracking up at people who think that hitting someone in the neck with a baton is grand, sure tisnt the skull is it?

Our hero in this instance will no doubt be facing a medical report that will state the damage done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭Laika123

Ted111 wrote: »
    All you have is roll eyes and ad hominem.

Like your laughable fifty posts in the 'gaeltacht man leaves job' thread' talking about linguistics from what you just read on wikipedia.

Pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

Laika123 wrote: »
    Pathetic.

Pathetic.

*Your turn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

222233 wrote: »
    Didn't look like any of those people were trying to attack the garda, looked like one guy was helping restrain the guy who got hit.

Did you watch all the videos posted on the thread?

Wonder how the garda will explain the fact that he was in such immediate danger from this OAP that he could turn his back on him, put his notebook back in his pocket draw the timber then turn around and twat him twice without any bothering with a warning?

"I heard a threat" etc etc

I'd say he's on a sticky wicket there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

So what, neck, shoulder, arm.. I couldn't give a rats arse, that was a scum thing to do to an unarmed man.

I can only hope karma comes visiting that fat fook.

Frankly it was the bunch of idiots called activists that should have been given the baton ,

Gatling wrote: »
    Frankly it was the bunch of idiots called activists that should have been given the baton ,

The funny thing is you can't just batter people for being arseholes

otherwise that copper would still be wearing a neck brace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Kings Inns or bust

Quite clear the guard lost it, fairly understandable why. All the training in the world can't prevent this happening from time to time. It's worth remembering that when people are calling for the guards to be armed as a matter of course.

What they should have done, and I can't understand why they did not, other than the guards here are generally very softly softly, is formed a group around the arrested man. all drawn batons and forcibly removed him in a calm and controlled manner. If after a warning people didn't move, there should have been a few more cracks with batons.

The ironic thing is what precipitates this is the guard arresting a man for assault.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Bambi wrote: »
    Wonder how the garda will explain the fact that he was in such immediate danger from this OAP that he could turn his back on him, put his notebook back in his pocket draw the timber then turn around and twat him twice without any bothering with a warning?

I suppose a counter question would be how much pushing and harassment should a Garda have to go through in making an arrest?

People saying he shouldn't hit the guy as he's elderly well I'd ask why is he, the elderly gentleman, getting into a melee, which started a min earlier and was now ongoing, and think it's acceptable to throw out the age card?

For the record I don't think either side is right in what they did here, but the Garda is less in the wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,446 ✭✭✭ebbsy

The fuzz are always greasing up their batons.

You can see the incident from 10 minutes on here. There is actually a man on the ground in front of the Garda who they are trying to arrest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Someone should but the EastEnders Duff duff music to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,446 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Gwan the yellabellies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,963 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

The Garda completely lost his cool and will hopefully face severe sanction. Whatever about the group being irritating in general or certain individuals behaving inappropriately, the video does not demonstrate that the man who was struck recklessly with force threatened the Garda in a physical manner. I'm sure the Gardai in general are filled with the finest people, but there will always be bad apples.

I'm actually surprised at the 'Gards can't do anything wrong' crew in this thread. Supporters of the Gardai should welcome a member being disciplined for excessive use of force like this example. It would only prove that such behaviour is an exception to the rule, and the correct monitoring and checks and balances exist within the force.

A bullying lowlife is a bullying lowlife, uniform or no uniform.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    The Garda completely lost his cool and will hopefully face severe sanction. Whatever about the group being irritating in general or certain individuals behaving inappropriately, the video does not demonstrate that the man who was struck recklessly with force threatened the Garda in a physical manner. I'm sure the Gardai in general are filled with the finest people, but there will always be bad apples.

I'm actually surprised at the 'Gards can't do anything wrong' crew in this thread. Supporters of the Gardai should welcome a member being disciplined for excessive use of force like this example. It would only prove that such behaviour is an exception to the rule, and the correct monitoring and checks and balances exist within the force.

So a few minutes of video allows you to reach conclusions about the Guard?

And I suppose the protestors in the same video are all paragons of virtue?

G'wan.....I'll freely admit to having relatives in the Guards including a brother.....and I remember a couple of years ago being in his house waiting for him when he came in. He arrived, checked the washing machine was empty then put the two shirts he'd been wearing on duty that day in on a hot wash.....to clean them of the spit that had been gobbed at him by water protestors....I really couldn't believe that (a) he hadn't lumped someone for spitting at him and (b) hadn't arrested anyone for doing likewise.

These protestors are the first to claim the protection of laws they are so ready to break and show contempt for.

I think the process should be allowed to run its course and, if the Guard is exonerated, that for once the whiners respect the rules the rest of choose to live by.

Jawgap wrote: »

G'wan.....I'll freely admit to having relatives in the Guards including a brother.....and I remember a couple of years ago being in his house waiting for him when he came in. He arrived, checked the washing machine was empty then put the two shirts he'd been wearing on duty that day in on a hot wash.....to clean them of the spit that had been gobbed at him by water protestors....I really couldn't believe that (a) he hadn't lumped someone for spitting at him and (b) hadn't arrested anyone for doing likewise.

These protestors are the first to claim the protection of laws they are so ready to break and show contempt for.

I think the process should be allowed to run its course and, if the Guard is exonerated, that for once the whiners respect the rules the rest of choose to live by.

Well obviously your brother isn't a bully who hides behind his uniform/shirt, most garda are ok, normal people, some are cnuts, some protesters are cnuts, some are ok.

It's a pity the Gardai are used as corporate enforcers and sent against their own, for suits in high places.

Well obviously your brother isn't a bully who hides behind his uniform/shirt, most garda are ok, normal people, some are cnuts, some protesters are cnuts, some are ok.

It's a pity the Gardai are used as corporate enforcers and sent against their own, for suits in high places.

They're not used as corporate enforcers, they're trying in face of some severe provocation to keep the peace - muppet protestors don't realise that the right to protest is not absolute.

....and if they were engaging in provocative policing they'd have gone out in full public order gear.

Seriously, if the gob****e protestors tried even a fraction of what they were doing with any other police force in Europe you wouldn't be able to get near a hospital......try some of those things with the CRS in France and it wouldn't stop with one swing if the baton ;)

They're not used as corporate enforcers, they're trying in face of some severe provocation to keep the peace - muppet protestors don't realise that the right to protest is not absolute.

....and if they were engaging in provocative policing they'd have gone out in full public order gear.

Seriously, if the gob****e protestors tried even a fraction of what they were doing with any other police force in Europe you wouldn't be able to get near a hospital......try some of those things with the CRS in France and it wouldn't stop with one swing if the baton ;)

I know that, I've been around, but the Gardai are being screwed by the same entities that are screwing the people.

What entities?

Afaik Guards take their oaths seriously - they're there to uphold the law of the land, the laws passed by the TDs we elect. If people don't like the laws, vote in TDs that'll change them and the Guards will enforce the new ones.

If anyone is getting screwed/manipulated it's the idiot protestors who are being seduced by promises that are impossible to deliver by the Trots, the Shinners, PBP and the AAA - there are no magic money trees ;)

They are being exploited by the hard left to foment the street protests from which those groupings believe true political power arises.......and they're too dumb to realise otherwise.....it'd be funny if it wasn't so tragic.

About the incident and the use of completely excessive force, yes.

I specifically noted that they were irritating and obviously contained some people who were behaving inappropriately. The man struck violently was not however.

I noted most members of the force are fine people. However, one can simply not view the longer video objectively and conclude that the Garda in question was right to do what he did.

An older unarmed man who was not being physically threatening or impeding the Garda in question was struck violently about his upper body. Disdain or support for protesters in general doesn't come into it.

And equally it would be a vindication of due process and indeed the force as a whole if the Garda in question was severely sanctioned for use of excessive force and lack of discipline.

The man was interfering with an arrest. He was pushing the Garda forward on top of a handcuffed man on the ground. Nobodies saying the Gardaí can't do anything wrong, they're saying this Garda didn't in this instance.

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/812831/396636.jpg

Completely disagree with your interpretation of the video, but understand you are a member of the force yourself so the bias is unsurprising. The man who was struck was not physically interfering with the Garda, and I think your 'side' of this would be better served by just calling this one for what it obviously is.

I don't your PRO effort is going to work for this chief :(

The video I posted above from the other angle is pretty clear. The bald guy with the glasses continuously pushes his way in front of the Garda and pulls at his arm while the Garda is trying to deal with a man on the ground. Only after he repeatedly pushes him away does he eventually use the baton. Parrot on about bias all you like, the video evidence is clear and it's unlikely the Garda met with any disciplinary action. If you can tell me how you would have done it differently I'm all ears.

Of course, as is usual with the scumbag types he was dealing with, his personal information was shared around their sites with threats of bringing justice to the doorstop of him and his family. So you'll forgive me if my sympathy is a little low too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Kings Inns or bust

I completely agree.

The issue here was a huge number of bullying lowlifes annoying a man with a big stick.

The video I posted above from the other angle is pretty clear.

The bald guy with the glasses continuously pushes his way in front of the Garda

pulls at his arm while the Garda is trying to deal with a man on the ground.

Only after he repeatedly pushes him away does he eventually use the baton.

Parrot on about bias all you like, the video evidence is clear and it's unlikely the Garda met with any disciplinary action. If you can tell me how you would have done it differently I'm all ears.

if you wouldnt mind providing the start and stop time in the video for each of those actions there chief, that would be great

Bill hicks had a great joke about the cops who beat rodney king asking that the video be played backwards as it then clearly showed them helping king up and sending him on his way "it all depends on how you look at it"

you're sounding a bit like that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

#freemanlivesmatter

About the incident and the use of completely excessive force, yes.

How do you know it was excessive? That's a subjective test and you weren't there so you've no idea how threatened or otherwise the Guard felt or the sequence of events leading up to it.

Neither was I but I'll wait 'til GSOC complete their investigation and let the process play out (where, presumably the Guard will get his say) - I wonder if the Guards/DPP started using summary trial by video would people accept it? Or is such condemnation only reserved for those involved in public protection?

Remember the incident with the guy on Henry Street when the baying mobs howled about the Guard's treatment of a homeless guy on the ground? It all went very quiet when the full story, instead of a snippet of video, emerged ;)

Bambi wrote: »
    if you wouldnt mind providing the start and stop time in the video for each of those actions there chief, that would be great

Bill hicks had a great joke about the cops who beat rodney king asking that the video be played backwards as it then clearly showed them helping king up and sending him on his way "it all depends on how you look at it"

you're sounding a bit like that :)

10.01 - You can hear the Garda tell someone he is under arrest and bend down to him on the floor.

10.05 - 10.13 Bald guy with glasses gets in the way of the Garda affecting the arrest and the Garda has to push him back.

10.22 Bald Guy with glasses among three or four people pushing against Garda.

10.31 Garda trying to hold two bald guys back while keeping his balance. Bald guy with glasses can be seen bending down towards man on ground, the man who was under arrest.

10.32 - Garda strikes the man with his baton twice to push him back before being assaulted by a number of people in the crowd.

Was it the right thing to do given the situation? No. It only escalated the crowd. Was it excessive force? No. The man was interfering in arrest and bodily force was not dissuading him from doing so. When bodily force is insufficient then it can be escalated.