Dublin is one of the most dominant cities in the developed world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,923 ✭✭✭ongarite

Migration towards cities worldwide & urbanisation is trend worldwide.
    It's a self fulfilling growth cycle.
    More people means enough foot-fall for business to open which attracts more people to that city & the cycle repeats.

That Ireland is so small geographically makes Dublin, as the capital, an outlier in the stats.
    Galway city has little room for growth geographically due to its surrounding.
    Cork & Limerick are probably the 2 other cities that can grow in the next 20 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

So what your saying OP,

Is all other counties should supply a child to the Capital to compete in some sort of Hunger Games?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Harvey Normal

Actually many people do.

By attracting more jobs across the country you can loosely 'direct' people. Recently, down i Galway it has transpired that many businesses that want to set up in Galway can't find any offices that suit their businesses.

Big failure there on the part of the council and the IDA.

Galway has a county population of at least 250,000 (2011 census) but only 70,000 of those live in the city. The potential of urbanisation is massive.

Galway can't really expand.

ongarite wrote: »
    Migration towards cities worldwide & urbanisation is trend worldwide.
    It's a self fulfilling growth cycle.
    More people means enough foot-fall for business to open which attracts more people to that city & the cycle repeats.

That Ireland is so small geographically makes Dublin, as the capital, an outlier in the stats.
    Galway city has little room for growth geographically due to its surrounding.
    Cork & Limerick are probably the 2 other cities that can grow in the next 20 years.

Possibly Waterford. Also we don't want Cork growing because it's cruel to non-Corkonians who aren't deaf.

As a dub I don't want 2 million people here. There won't be twice as many shops, theatres, pubs or a transport system able to cope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Mr. FoggPatches

Time to buy shares in skinny jeans!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Possibly Waterford. Also we don't want Cork growing because it's cruel to non-Corkonians who aren't deaf.

As a dub I don't want 2 million people here. There won't be twice as many shops, theatres, pubs or a transport system able to cope.

May well be what ultimately slows Dublin down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I don't see how a city developing is a bad thing. If people want to live in Dublin then whats the harm. Forcing people to live elsewhere isn't going to solve whatever problem they think there is here.

Would it not be better to turn dublin into a world class city than try to hinder its growth. The many developments occurring all across the city at the moment are simply amazing, is this growth not a good thing to see

wakka12 wrote: »
    Would it not be better to turn dublin into a world class city than try to hinder its growth. The many developments occurring all across the city at the moment are simply amazing, is this growth not a good thing to see

What developments?

Luas line connections, College Green Square, Capital Dock, Dublin Landings(originally called Spencer Dock), Dublin Oriental Quarter, redevelopment of Hawkins/Apollo House, New Central Bank, Molesworth Street, RDS redevelopment,Harcourt St. Garda HQ redevelopment, Childrens Science museum.. and a lot more over the next 5 years or so.. isn't it obvious by the sheer amount of skyscrapers all over the city skyline at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,162 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

and risks sprawling across much of the eastern part of Ireland.

A conference, held at NUI Galway, warned the capital and the east will continue to thrive at the expense of the rest of Ireland if action is not taken to address regional planning.

It accounts for about half the GDP output in the country and 40pc of the population.

"Dublin is the same in size and population terms as the next 40 towns and cities combined in Ireland.

He said comparable small countries all had twice as many cities at levels below Dublin with three times as many the size of Cork.

https://www.google.es/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwi3yKrwsoTPAhVImBoKHfowAZcQqQIIJjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.independent.ie%2Firish-news%2Fdublin-possibly-the-most-dominant-city-in-developed-world-35037604.html&usg=AFQjCNHkNrMnqL2FdOUYDOBgmviqStDvWg

This is not good for the country of Ireland as a whole ,If something is not done there could be severe consequences for the the whole country in the not to distant future. So AH what your opinions ?

A report by country people, using Dublin's money, saying that Dublin is getting too big, yeah right.

In reality Dublin is still too small to complete internationally and needs more investment to attract money and people. Dublin isn't completing for investment against Cork or Galway it's against London, LA, Berlin etc. By making Dublin less it doesn't mean that the jobs will go to Cork it means that Ireland looses jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Del2005 wrote: »
    A report by country people, using Dublin's money, saying that Dublin is getting too big, yeah right.

In reality Dublin is still too small to complete internationally and needs more investment to attract money and people. Dublin isn't completing for investment against Cork or Galway it's against London, LA, Berlin etc. By making Dublin less it doesn't mean that the jobs will go to Cork it means that Ireland looses jobs.

Indeed, we could've accrued a larger benefit from Brexit, but the city is too small to take more than a small fraction of the firm's who may want to relocate a part of their operations from London - we really should be developing and growing the city and a strategic region (out to Navan, Kells & Dundalk) around it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I think it's a worrying trend for the country if ,projecting current trends into the future, Dublin just continues to grow and grow and sucks up all investment, resources and people that's available. So instead of a nation of distinct and alive regions, it'll all just be about the big city and to hell with everywhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Dublin is tiny so its hardly surprising that its growing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Galway can't really expand.

Well there arent that many apartment buildings over four or five floors so there's massive room for expansion upwards. There's huge areas of housing estates that could be cleared to make way for high rise development.

Additionally you only have to look at a map to see the room for expansion outwards. The Urban sprawl could well extend all the way up to lough corrib and east to oranmore.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

If the population grows at a consistent 100% then it will always be dubblin.

Jawgap wrote: »
    Indeed, we could've accrued a larger benefit from Brexit, but the city is too small to take more than a small fraction of the firm's who may want to relocate a part of their operations from London - we really should be developing and growing the city and a strategic region (out to Navan, Kells & Dundalk) around it.

Sounds like a hell hole.

I dispute that companies seek large cities. They seek better cities. Maybe that should be the emphasis.

wakka12 wrote: »
    Luas line connections, College Green Square, Capital Dock, Dublin Landings(originally called Spencer Dock), Dublin Oriental Quarter, redevelopment of Hawkins/Apollo House, New Central Bank, Molesworth Street, RDS redevelopment,Harcourt St. Garda HQ redevelopment, Childrens Science museum.. and a lot more over the next 5 years or so.. isn't it obvious by the sheer amount of skyscrapers all over the city skyline at the moment

That's one minor change to transport and some buildings being re-developed.

A number of large social and cultural developments as well. And 'some buildings' , buildings make up a city. I don't see how these developments arent important as they will house all kinds of services from housing to office to retail. What are you expecting? Whats a big development to you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

I guess what the report is really saying is that Dublin is one of the most dominant cities (within its own borders) in the developed world...

So Dublin is totally dominant within Ireland.

No surprise there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Yes indeed, but its not a dominant City on the world stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Denmark is similar and nobody complains. Small countries have one chance to have a gateway city

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,421 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

https://www.google.es/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=2&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwiGtbOUu4TPAhXGXRoKHQakBZAQFggqMAE&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fnews%2Fenvironment%2Fdublin-s-dominance-of-state-near-unique-in-western-world-1.2786068&usg=AFQjCNFKDXOixDWK7lLhHKo5vJSe8bes9g Outside of city states like Singapore I think this is possibly unique, said Mr Hogan.

He said he had analysed comparable small countries such as Denmark, New Zealand, Finland, Scotland and in every single case they have twice as many cities as we do at the levels below Dublin .

I suspect he is comparing these countries with the Irish state and not the country. Partition has aggravated this imbalance, and in particular Derry does not have the role it should have as a substantial centre away from Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 stacybeauchamp

as david mcwilliams done argued in recent article, dublin needs ta go tall. there is absolutely naw reason that there ay know av as ta why this here is nahwt possible.

One possible solution is a tax equalisation strategy. We need to incentivize a more balanced population growth throughout the country. We could do this through taxation. the higher rate of tax country be increased to 60-65% in Dublin, as well as in other congested urban settings.

Those who live in more sparse areas pay 10-20 percent tax. This system could work because people would move and could still commute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

And we'll still get feck all of the infrastructure dublin needs built because of red faced culchie envy

We could also give tax incentives for people to sell their house once they have retired. We could have a retirement county like they have in the US.

For example, we hit those who stay in their homes with progressively higher taxes every year they they in their homes after age 65 - say 2-3 percent a year.

We also exempt them from inheritance tax so they can transfer assets while they are still alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,868 ✭✭✭jd

Those who live in more sparse areas pay 10-20 percent tax. This system could work because people would move and could still commute.

There is a net transfer as it is from Dublin, Cork and a couple of cities to the rest of the country. It costs more to provide services in rural areas so we should not be incentivising it.
    The root of the problem is that maybe two or three other cities should have been targeted for growth. This was what was suggested in the Buchanan Report 50 years or so ago. It was binned, not because the Dubs opposed it, but because of political opposition from areas not to be targeted. Dublin then grew to its current dominant extent by default.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭511

A good news story for change.

More people in Dublin = more taxpayers to subsidise our extravagant culchie lifestyles.

More people in Dublin = the more TDs representing them in the Dáil. This will help negate the power parish pump politicians have in politics and then we can begin cutting off rural subsidies. We'll see how extravagant your lifestyle is when you can no longer afford to pay your bills. You'll have to give up getting drunk with your dog on weekdays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

One possible solution is a tax equalisation strategy. We need to incentivize a more balanced population growth throughout the country. We could do this through taxation. the higher rate of tax country be increased to 60-65% in Dublin, as well as in other congested urban settings.

We have, it's called the property tax - a house in Dublin attracts a higher level because it's generally more valuable than an equivalent sized one outside the Pale.

Apart from hippies, crusties, 'trad' musicians and foodies, not many want to live in the bogs. And trying to force them won't work.

Too much of this outside the M50 :D