Coppers Nightclub all the free plugs in the media

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Some seriously urbane cosmopolitan, savvy, hip people in this thread. Here's a hint lads: talking about rural people in that condescending, superior way, makes you seem very parochial and small minded. I hope the irony isn't lost on ye.

Coppers isn't my scene at all, but would have gone there a fair bit with the gaa team. Found it fairly easy going, women in there are friendly enough, easy to get served even when it's busy, and they don't gouge you on the price of a pint. Music is woeful, the queues are worse and it's not really my kind of crowd, but it's unpretentious and relaxed. Basically it's grand, like. Don't know where all the snobbery about it comes from (well, I do... sad faux-cosmopolitans), anymore than I understand the veneration from others about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Well it looks like they are paying for it (and im doing them a favour by commenting on it)
    They have a twitter promo on at the moment #metincoppers which has been pushed by 2fm, newstalk, today fm and 98fm, thats just by a quick glance.
    Sadly the # hasnt gained much pace yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

hairyslug wrote: »
    Well it looks like they are paying for it (and im doing them a favour by commenting on it)
    They have a twitter promo on at the moment #metincoppers which has been pushed by 2fm, newstalk, today fm and 98fm, thats just by a quick glance.
    Sadly the # hasnt gained much pace yet
    Because who wants to remember people they met in coppers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Because who wants to remember people they met in coppers?

the comp is for a couple that have met in coppers and are still together so I suppose they would need to have remembered them.

I have no real issues with coppers myself, like you say, its very relaxed, no hassle but to busy for my liking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

wakka12 wrote: »
    I know a lot of people who rave about it and wont go anywhere else any weekend nights now though!

I used to go there a lot in my younger single party days but never on a weekend ........ the biggest selling-point, for me, of Coppers was the fact that it was as busy on a random Tuesday night as it is on a Saturday night ......... and the "shift" was always easily available too!

*"shift/shifting"* means kissing and nothing more. Anybody who thinks otherwise is simply wrong.