Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coppers Nightclub all the free plugs in the media

• 03-09-2016 2:16pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭

They pay for this?Have a very connected p.r person or just lucky people mention it
    Also having been there twice in Dublin how are they allowed open later than everywhere else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Don't know if they pay for it, but it's considered a Mecca of late bars by some people, the likes of Joe.ie mention it to get the clicks, it's all about the clicks. Others mention it to appear relevant.

As for staying open late, the Gardai started to enforce the last drinks a while ago along that stretch, it's attached to a hotel so that causes some issues with who is staying there and who isny, along with who the owner is and who he may or may not be friends with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

You just gave them another one by starting this thread :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Most overrated place on earth
    Why the hell is it talked about so much? I don't know what I was expecting before I went there the first time going off the way people raved about it, it was such an average club. If you had told me I was actually in Dtwo or diceys or any other club on the street Id have believed it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

It's obvious. You're guaranteed the shift in Coppers :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

You just gave them another one by starting this thread :-)

True

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

It must be the radio stations you listen to because I have the radio on here for most of the morning and afternoon weekdays and haven't heard anything about it. Indeed I only know what Coppers is from threads on Boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Another parochial Dublin thread on AH :mad:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,552 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Real Dubs don't go to coppers

wakka12 wrote: »
    Why the hell is it talked about so much? I don't know what I was expecting before I went there the first time going off the way people raved about it, it was such an average club. If you had told me I was actually in Dtwo or diceys or any other club on the street Id have believed it

Its ordinariness—or even, its dowdy vulgarity—is the whole attraction of the place.

It's a culchie institution in a Jack Jones check-shirt and bootcut jeans, full of urban legends, half of which are probably true (such as the one about the girl taking a piss on the dancefloor during the instrumental of of Paul Simon's Call Me Al)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Real Dubs don't go to coppers

which is exactly why every one else does go to coppers

Also the reason it used to be open later is because the guy who runs it is a excopper

also there tends to be less trouble there than other large dublin clubs so its left alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,888 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Sounds like someone didn't get his ride, which is quite unusual

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Pints are rank.

Bit of a dive and you can't even move in the place.

Toilets are vile and staff are some of the most unfriendly I've ever come across.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭Wigglepuppy

bigpink wrote: »
    They pay for this?Have a very connected p.r person or just lucky people mention it
    Also having been there twice in Dublin how are they allowed open later than everywhere else
    It's not deliberate "PR", it's just talked about a lot in a jokey sense (and has been for years) as being a supremely rural people institution where you'll always get the shift and have mad craic and is choc-full of guards, GAA "stars", teachers and nurses.

I don't get the "everyone else but Dubs goes there" stuff though. I'm not from Dublin (but have lived there) and I wouldn't go to Copper Face Jacks in a fit. Sounds dreadful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

Pints are rank.

Toilets are vile and staff are some of the most unfriendly I've ever come across.

You're not supposed to come across the staff, they really hate that .......... the nurses, on the other hand, don't seem to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Pints are rank.

Always was the way and why I always hated the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

After Friday nights Late Late and free plugs for Coppers,RTE should be ashamed of themselves. Very unprofessional. That is the junk organisation we pay a licence fee to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,563 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

MadDog76 wrote: »
    You're not supposed to come across the staff, they really hate that .......... the nurses, on the other hand, don't seem to mind.

Spat out my tea at that one. Well done sir.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

It must be the radio stations you listen to because I have the radio on here for most of the morning and afternoon weekdays and haven't heard anything about it. Indeed I only know what Coppers is from threads on Boards.

Aren't you like a 108 years old though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

bigpink wrote: »

I find the Catholic Church gets a lot of free advertising as well that won't be appearing on the annual accounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭TommyRiordan

Does shift mean sex or just going with some girl? Cus I've only been out once down south and it was there and took no one home. It seemed like a really rural nightclub to be in a city. Seemed like a night out in Tyrone or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Does shift mean sex or just going with some girl? Cus I've only been out once down south and it was there and took no one home. It seemed like a really rural nightclub to be in a city. Seemed like a night out in Tyrone or something.

I thought you were down South for 3 days and went home with a girl to the North side?

(The last time I was up north I got a nice wave goodbye from the locals at the bus station)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

It means kissing.

and yes, it is exactly like a rural nightclub. That is the idea of it. Some bars have themes; Copper's theme is "rural".

It is a terrible experience - Massive queue to get in; horribly packed, terrible service; everyone extremely drunk; smells of piss and puke, talent pretty poor, and too packed/loud to talk to anyone anyway and closes early. Why it's so popular with country people? I have no idea, but assume that, because that is all they are familiar with, they like to stick with it and don't experiment with other places?

As for the "opening late"? Since when. I always thought Coppers closed around 3-ish? That's just late bar hours. There are many far, far, far more civilized establishments in dublin that stay open a lot later than that,but they are not advertised like Coppers, so I'm guessing most country people don't know about them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

mynamejeff wrote: »
    which is exactly why every one else does go to coppers

Also the reason it used to be open later is because the guy who runs it is a excopper

also there tends to be less trouble there than other large dublin clubs so its left alone

Was there on a night out and still serving at 4am the whole country its 2am closing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

The irony of calling the place 'Coppers' with the prices they charge for a pint of plain in that place.

Winterlong wrote: »
    The irony of calling the place 'Coppers' with the prices they charge for a pint of plain in that place.
    Yeah but there are loads of human coppers there too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Been there 3/4 times

Meh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭Laika123

dotsman wrote: »
    It means kissing.

It means a ride / sex, not that I use the word, it's more a muck-savage who would use it.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,970 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Laika123 wrote: »
    It means a ride / sex, not that I use the word, it's more a muck-savage who would use it.

Nope, the guy you quoted was right. Getting the shift is just kissing. Maybe with a bit of a feel if you reckon you're doing well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Yup, shifting is kissing with tongues.
    The horror.

An File wrote: »
    Nope, the guy you quoted was right. Getting the shift is just kissing. Maybe with a bit of a feel if you reckon you're doing well.

Nope, if your under 12 it probably means kiss, if your over 12 it means riding her. Unless your from Mayo.

http://www.joe.ie/uncategorized/the-sex-life-of-a-young-irish-male/14409

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,563 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

The idea that dubs don't go to Coppers is utterly laughable.

Coppers is many things, but one thing I always liked about it when I was a student that anybody who had any notions of themselves when they entered the place was disabused of them fairly quickly.

The idea that dubs don't go to Coppers is utterly laughable.

Coppers is many things, but one thing I always liked about it when I was a student that anybody who had any notions of themselves when they entered the place was disabused of them fairly quickly.

Dubs aren't allowed into the kip, unless your a w@nker, full of eager beavers on the way out though.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,970 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Nope, if your under 12 it probably means kiss, if your over 12 it means riding her. Unless your from Mayo.

And you're still wrong. ;)

Where I am from, the shift (although the term has not been used since the 90s) has always meant just gob lobbing, nothing further.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Where can you get the free plugs?
    I've an old laptop lead that needs a new one.

were both right. ;)

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=shift

shift means the same as to meet someone. people used to use it all the time,in ireland, back in the day when everyone watched 'den 2' religiously when they came home from school and when they'd spend their evenings with their friends looking for more 10p coins to buy another Mr.Freeze or three. Shifting was innocent, and it was fun! then you became a teenager and shifting had two meanings; you could just meet him or you could go all the way if you wanted to! help revive an old word and bring it back into 21st century conversation by using the word 'shift' NOW!!!! they brought back wispa's so bring back shifting too!!!!!!!!! go on, you know you want to, go out and shift him NOW!!!
    Emma:"eh, will you shift my friend?"

James McEvoy:"Ok!" (in a really sexy scottish accent)
    Boy1: "D'ye shift her yet?"

Boy2: "No,i got this talk at school and i'm going to become a priest."

*awkward silence*

Boy1: "emm...o-kay then..." runs away.
    Emma: "OMG you shifted James McEvoy, you are like THE uber-shifter now!"

Aoife: "The what?!!"

Emma: "ehh, never mind! anyway did you shift him, or did you, you know, shift him?!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Been once, reminded me of Mollys(now lone wolf) in Limerick, a disco bar for teenagers, zero appeal to me when I was there aged 22 at the time

Ha! That place is back to being called Molly's again, as of a few months ago. Definitely still the spot for 19 year olds and younger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Ha! That place is back to being called Molly's again, as of a few months ago. Definitely still the spot for 19 year olds and younger.

Are you serious, I don't drink much anymore but when I do, it's in pubs, with adults

Last time I was in there it was nearly empty. I think the re-brand as the Lone Wolf cost them customers because people were still looking for "Molly's" and couldn't find it. They'll do savage trade with Freshers' Week in UL, LIT and Mary I this week.

I'd be more of a Mickey Martin's man myself. /hipster :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Well Im from Dublin and in college and Ive never heard anyone say shift other than as word for kissing
    http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=shifting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

The place is actually rammed with mullahs...

You'd think so, but the OP is from Limerick. :P

I'm in Moscow and it's never off Радио Москва (Radio Moscow), DJ Huudya Nikabolikov mentions it quite a lot.

Oh I see now it's called 'Coppers'.

I always thought it was Coopers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Been there twice, it's alright nothing special compared to most nightclubs or late bars though don't get the fame of it tbh, oh and yes i got the shift there which in my case means only kissing nothing more :(

So you didn't get a dick phelan, poor you, should have picked up some yoke lying on the ground getting sick and took her down a lane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

MadDog76 wrote: »
    Aren't you like a 108 years old though?

Nearly, but my hearing and memory are intact, so the point made still stands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    Oh I see now it's called 'Coppers'.

I always thought it was Coopers.

Copper Face Jacks is its full title.I have never been in it and unlikely to even be,but I have heard from people who have been there that it is nothing special.