Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

I see Chrissy Teigen posted a pic of kerrygold butter on snapchat saying how fond she is of it. No harm seeing as between instagram and twitter she has something like 10 million followers. Plus a model eating butter be a boast to certain generation as well

Fire in carbary this evening in alcohol plant. Pic on Facebook looked bad enough. Hopefully nobody injured and not much damage done. Afaik fire brigade had it under control 2nite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Mooooo wrote:
    Fire in carbary this evening in alcohol plant. Pic on Facebook looked bad enough. Hopefully nobody injured and not much damage done. Afaik fire brigade had it under control 2nite

Luckily growing wasn't burning fertiliser bagsðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭alps

Mooooo wrote: »
    I see Chrissy Teigen posted a pic of kerrygold butter on snapchat saying how fond she is of it. No harm seeing as between instagram and twitter she has something like 10 million followers. Plus a model eating butter be a boast to certain generation as well

Bought Kerry gold butter in a supermarket in Germany recently (in a tub...normal kerry gold logos etc) but surprised to see it was only 63%butter and whitish in colour...tub was labelled Irish Butter...

Packed/made in DE of course..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,449 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Anyone have a price on water pipping.
    40mm and 25mm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Anyone have a price on water pipping.
    40mm and 25mm

Glanbia beat any of the plumbing supply crowds in Waterford any time I've checked. It's a volume thing. The other suppliers don't move the volumes. We started using a copy of the old philmac fittings a couple of years ago. Much cheaper but working well. A little bit of planning/setting out to place troughs where pipe runs out rather than a lot of extra fittings. Keep away from the 25mm. The forty has two and a half times the volume. Much less resistance. You'll save the initial outlay very quickly. Less pressure on your pumps and much harder to run out of water. Plus you'll get away with smaller troughs. You won't need the same reservoir as you will be delivering much more water to any point.

After buying a loch of 240 gallon troughs.
    Main line is 40mm at its just teeing off up the field to the trough in 25mm.
    Trough supplier said 40mm has a lot of pressure on the ballcock as it's outlet is only 25mm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Trough supplier said 40mm has a lot of pressure on the ballcock as it's outlet is only 25mm.

Put one of those tap valves (turn on and off) on the pipe on each trough. Turn on when cows go into paddock and off when leaving. Then you're sure it won't leak.
    Mean to do all my troughs this way sometime. Or do you get valves for 25mm?

Mine would be small half inch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Got afew troughs afew yrs back for a very good price with the ballcocks etc all included. Turned out the ballcocks were pure shjte Chinese all plastic yokes, I've replaced most by now but one I just havent got around to, last time the cows were in that paddock the bloody ballcock got stuck open and I didn't spot it for 2days uggghhh! Thank fook it didn't run the well dry as there is a decent flow into that trough.

Trough supplier is talking a lot of sh1te. We try to bring the large bore a close to the trough as possible. You'll always end up dropping to inch for the last bit. Twenty metres would be a lot. Have you those troughs landed? Could you keep the invoice value the same and get smaller ones? More water points in bigger paddocks as numbers increase. Less walking in warm weather and they're more inclined to keep themselves topped up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,752 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Put one of those tap valves (turn on and off) on the pipe on each trough. Turn on when cows go into paddock and off when leaving. Then you're sure it won't leak.
    Mean to do all my troughs this way sometime. Or do you get valves for 25mm?

Mine would be small half inch.
    We have these on the big round jfc drinkers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,855 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Pressure stays the same, pipe size doesn't change that, unless your restricting flow by too small a pipe.
    Keep pipe as large as possible always.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Inch I use lads 3/4 for gravity, and 1 and a half for pump as up hill. Got seconds 500 glad throughs with free Balcocks for 250

Trough supplier is talking a lot of sh1te. We try to bring the large bore a close to the trough as possible. You'll always end up dropping to inch for the last bit. Twenty metres would be a lot. Have you those troughs landed? Could you keep the invoice value the same and get smaller ones? More water points in bigger paddocks as numbers increase. Less walking in warm weather and they're more inclined to keep themselves topped up.

In the yard a week now. Replacing 90 gallon troughs.
    Had planned using the 90 gallon like you said. New fast fill ball cocks and I'll go with the 1 inch pipe

Had a leak under concrete going to the house this last while. Dug down with pick and shovel, found leak, was at an old plastic joiner on inch pipe. Replaced with a new inch joiner, got 2 bags of sand and put them around it and got 3 bags fn the dry cement sand mix and mixed that up . Covered over the area. Hopefully to never be seen again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

What's the widest sheet of plastic you can get for covering silage pits?

The widest I can get from local merchant is 20m.

I sent 2 cows to factory last week,One was johnes positive was dry and lost her calf a few weeks ago. 215kg @1.9 =408.9 euro, was very happy with her. Other cow had done the splits and to my mind was way heavier than the other one, 218kg @1.9= 415. Happy enough I suppose as it was better than paying the knacker

Dawggone wrote: »

120 60 ft is the biggest in local coop. I think. You can get this lighter sheet that goes under the main sheet supposed to cling to the silage I think the biggest one is 50m by 20m

Definitely 80×100 in feet but I think they have 120's. There's no law stating the length has to go on the long axis either. Without a massive shoulder 120's would do a good job on up to 200ft wide.

80x100 is the largest here also...but I've to order 2weeks in advance.
    We'll be going sideways with the sheet now.

80x100 is the largest here also...but I've to order 2weeks in advance.
    We'll be going sideways with the sheet now.

You'd probably have it overnight from the relations though fcuk knows what it would cost.
    I thought visqueen were French?

You'd probably have it overnight from the relations though fcuk knows what it would cost.
    I thought visqueen were French?

Pits tend to be kept narrow and long to avoid the pit face heating in warm weather, so demand must be small.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭ozil10

Hey all.
    Any advice would be appreciated,
    Bit of a long story, but here it goes.
    Spring calving herd 85 cows
    We always mix barley through the dairy nuts at home.
    Changed the nuts three weeks ago and there was too much barley in the nut and didn't balance with the barley so caused the cows dung to go very loose and was bubbles in the dung which would be acidosis and a big drop off in milk(cows averaging 13 litres from 21 within a week)
    Anyways I took out the barley and gave the cows access to straw and the dung have firmed up considerably but milk yields haven't picked up.
    Cows aren't grazing out paddocks at all so obviously drop in appetite and when resting , alot of cows aren't chewing the cud.
    Took 6 dung samples last week and got results yesterday and all have rumen fluke
    So more than likely have to drench them all with zanil
    Already have lost alot of money with drop off in yields
    Anybody experience this during lactation and how they dealt with it
    Cheers in advance

ozil10 wrote: »
    Hey all.
    Any advice would be appreciated,
    Bit of a long story, but here it goes.
    Spring calving herd 85 cows
    We always mix barley through the dairy nuts at home.
    Changed the nuts three weeks ago and there was too much barley in the nut and didn't balance with the barley so caused the cows dung to go very loose and was bubbles in the dung which would be acidosis and a big drop off in milk(cows averaging 13 litres from 21 within a week)
    Anyways I took out the barley and gave the cows access to straw and the dung have firmed up considerably but milk yields haven't picked up.
    Cows aren't grazing out paddocks at all so obviously drop in appetite and when resting , alot of cows aren't chewing the cud.
    Took 6 dung samples last week and got results yesterday and all have rumen fluke
    So more than likely have to drench them all with zanil
    Already have lost alot of money with drop off in yields
    Anybody experience this during lactation and how they dealt with it
    Cheers in advance

Ouch.

Firstly I'd get rid of the fluke. I wouldn't dose them in one go, more like over a period of ten or twelve days, in small batches....

I'll have a look on web for an all in one dietary supplement available to you.
    Sodium Bicarbonate would be a good start at 60-100gms/hd/day...

Edit. What could do wonders is Propylene Glycol (C3 H8 O2) at 200ml/hd/day for as long as you can bear to give it. Commonly available.

Greysides will mod what I've posted, hopefully.

Forms came in the post for reduction scheme. Only for the first 3 months which I know I won't be under. Will send it in anyway as if it gets to later tranches I mat well be under previous years supply. Will give milk manager a shout in morning to clarify a few things. Peak management bonus and milk volume forecasting are unaffected by participation in scheme. Winter and liquid volume targets must still be met which is standard enough

My read if it Mooooo is that if you enter an amount and you don't subsequently reduce by anything at all...there is no penalty. If you enter a small.amount and say for weather reasons you produce less than last year...you have at least the opportunity to get paid 14c on that. If you have gone up in numbers this year you probably will not see a reduction.
    Why not put in a couple of thousand litres...then youre in without any major commitment. ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,707 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

alps wrote: »
    My read if it Mooooo is that if you enter an amount and you don't subsequently reduce by anything at all...there is no penalty. If you enter a small.amount and say for weather reasons you produce less than last year...you have at least the opportunity to get paid 14c on that. If you have gone up in numbers this year you probably will not see a reduction.
    Why not put in a couple of thousand litres...then youre in without any major commitment. ..

I've put in for max ,I've zero intention of reducing supply though .every dairy farmer in every coop should apply and imo for max ammount.give our coops a shock and keeps pressure on for them to pass back on market bounce for product which ic currently on the up .

alps wrote: »

Well with the likes of me in winter milk there won't be much of a drop esp seeing as up every month this year as well. Y own change this year is using more spring herd to fill the contract ie. Get in as much as I can in Nov, calving less in autumn and supply the minimum then for Dec and Jan with Feb picking up as normal so that's why tranches later on would suit me as it may just fall in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭OverRide

So if we all put in for a crazy amount,it's oversubscribed and the EU announce a max payable of 2 cent a litre what then?
    Will they revise it up to nearer 14 when they discover half don't qualify or does the government get to hold onto the money?

There's no explanation in the leaflet about that scenario and by the sounds of things it will be the case as everyone's applying