Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pokemon go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,619 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Found my first new Pokemon in ages yesterday. Got two not one Pinsir at Charville Castle near Tullamore.
    My own local town has really gone to crap recently. Very few mons spawning and it's more often and not a weedle or pudgy. No new spawns down here and there seems to be less. Going to be stuck on 22 for months at this stage

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    Found my first new Pokemon in ages yesterday. Got two not one Pinsir at Charville Castle near Tullamore.
    My own local town has really gone to crap recently. Very few mons spawning and it's more often and not a weedle or pudgy. No new spawns down here and there seems to be less. Going to be stuck on 22 for months at this stage

Head over to Kilbeggan/Tullamore. (The topaz in kilbeggan is a spawn point, I got a chancey yesterday and jigglypuff and venomoth today from it :P)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,619 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

jonnycivic wrote: »
    Head over to Kilbeggan/Tullamore. (The topaz in kilbeggan is a spawn point, I got a chancey yesterday and jigglypuff and venomoth today from it :P)

That's a Good bit away from me. Thanks though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,833 ✭✭✭Randomfriend

Got a 172cp Magikarp today, he'll turn in to a fine big dragony lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭FaceCake

Feckin Magmar shadow but no spawn over in glasnevin. Near the cemetery. Anyone know of a working fake GPS, boo hiss boo hiss.

He is in the little green across the road from the graveyards big gates. Its not exactly a nest like merrion sq. but I got him there on a couple of separate days.

Been managing to make a bit of coin from gyms lately, had 260 in the bank, so decided I'd downsize from my original 40 quid, that I was considering throwing in to the game, partially as a thanks given the hours I've put in to it, but also to pump a load of eggs in to incubators :P

Threw in 19.99 for the 2.5k coins instead, shall buy myself a heap of lucky eggs, and the rest in to incubators, I'll keep ye updated on whether this was at all worth it, just in case anyone else is on the fence like myself, on whether they want to spend any money or not.

Plan to try and only use the limited incubators on 10k eggs if at all possible, and the unlimited one on the rest, but may do one run of 5k's just to clear the deck, as I currently have 9, and could do with getting a few 2k's and 10k's. Also bought the bag upgrades, because the bag full message is a nuisance.

Just after making all of the purchases, was able to get the bag upgrade, 25 lucky eggs, and 8 incubators, with 110 coins to spare from my original spending pot of 2,760 coins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

I'm getting sick of seeing the game not respond if the app is open in the background too long and then it needs a restart. I hope they roll out a fix that will either keep it logged in right or retry automatically if it has lost the server connection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭jamescd

Just after making all of the purchases, was able to get the bag upgrade, 25 lucky eggs, and 8 incubators, with 110 coins to spare from my original spending pot of 2,760 coins.

Why did you buy so many lucky eggs? Do you pop one when you're out and about catching pokemon?

I only really use them when I do a mass evolution. If it was me, I would have bought more incubators and less eggs.

jamescd wrote: »
    Why did you buy so many lucky eggs? Do you pop one when you're out and about catching pokemon?

I only really use them when I do a mass evolution. If it was me, I would have bought more incubators and less eggs.

There's a relatively decent discount on eggs if you buy in bulk, 1 for 80 coins, but 25 for 1250 (or whatever the exact number is), doing an egg run now so can't double check!

No, I only use the eggs for evolving, I'm mid way through lv 26, it is one hell of a grind, 200k+ per level from here on. I've not used a lucky egg since I hit lv 25 last week, so I have a lot of vermin/candy stocked up, so i'll probably go through two/three eggs today. The incubators will last me a good few weeks I reckon, if I save them for 10k's, it would take a lot of luck, walking and time to get 9 10k's at once, so they'll last a while!

Yeah I'm Level 28 now and the grind is indeed real. But I can earn enough coins from gyms to buy 1 lucky egg faster than I can gather enough pokemon for a mass evolve.

I only do a lucky egg run when I have around 60 pokemon to evolve, and that takes me between 3 - 6 days of playing to gather. Whereas I can get the 80 coins needed for a lucky egg in 2 days (4 gyms per day at 10 coins each = 40 coins per day).

So I can easily sustain my lucky egg needs from my daily gym income. If it was me I would have spent it all on incubators, and just use the income from gyms on lucky eggs.

jamescd wrote: »
    Yeah I'm Level 28 now and the grind is indeed real. But I can earn enough coins from gyms to buy 1 lucky egg faster than I can gather enough pokemon for a mass evolve.

I only do a lucky egg run when I have around 60 pokemon to evolve, and that takes me between 3 - 6 days of playing to gather. Whereas I can get the 80 coins needed for a lucky egg in 2 days (4 gyms per day at 10 coins each = 40 coins per day).

So I can easily sustain my lucky egg needs from my daily gym income. If it was me I would have spent it all on incubators, and just use the income from gyms on lucky eggs.

Totally see the logic, but the auld gyms can be a hassle, can't always bank on being able to get daily coinage outside of guaranteeing yourself 10. Limerick is where I am, gyms have calmed down a bit, but sometimes they can be way more effort than they're worth to claim, lost out on two gyms in the last two days simply because my gps was being a tit, or getting that blasted error message when you hit "GO" in the fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Just got an eevee from a 10k egg. Raging!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Just got an eevee from a 10k egg. Raging!

At least you got something from your 10k, mine just popped up with the "uh-oh" and the game crashed and I lost the egg and got no pokemon from it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭JamboMac

Why is there talk of gen 2 mons when still all the legends aren't available.

Also if your missing rhyhorn/rhydon st Anne's park seem to be a nest for rhyhorn.

jonnycivic wrote: »
    At least you got something from your 10k, mine just popped up with the "uh-oh" and the game crashed and I lost the egg and got no pokemon from it

I've had that happen before, think it was a 5k egg, turned out I had a tangela in my list that I didn't have before, so it did turn out, count to the dex and add to my exp, I just never seen the great unviel. So, maybe if you pray to the great pokemon spagetti monster in the sky, your mon might be there somewhere.

Nah its long lost, this isnt the first time its done this to me either :(

Yeah best thing to do is sort by recent and see what popped up.

Even better, you can check the Journal. It now displays the eggs hatched there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Diemos

I'm getting sick of seeing the game not respond if the app is open in the background too long and then it needs a restart. I hope they roll out a fix that will either keep it logged in right or retry automatically if it has lost the server connection.

I get that, I also have a few other issues.
    Very regularly the first ball I throw goes flying into the distance.

Recently, I can't see mons in gyms, if I click on the gym, I can see the name and the trainer details but no image of the pokemon itself. If I try to battle / train, I just get stuck on the the gym floor spinning around.

Also sometime when I click on pokemon, the screen just goes white and I have to shutdown and restart the app.

Finally because I'm impatient sometime after I spin a pokestop I close the window but do so too early, before any rewards and then when I try to spin it again, I just get a try again message for another minute or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Diemos

I use lucky eggs the same way, got 100,000 xp last night, first time I ever managed that. Over 60 evolves, adding 8 mons to the pokedex and an egg hatch.
    I did end up with another 3 Jolteons (I like Jolteons but I now have 7, 3 Flareon and just 1 Vaporeon).

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I've never managed to close the window after spinning a stop and not get the rewards. I'm not sure how it's possible.

I got an Electabuzz from my 10km to bring me to 101. Another one in the pan now...

I've never managed to close the window after spinning a stop and not get the rewards. I'm not sure how it's possible.

I got an Electabuzz from my 10km to bring me to 101. Another one in the pan now...

It's happened to me, what happens is if you close it before the bubbles start appearing the stop closes and remains blue. When you open it again and spin it, it will say try again, and if you restart it will show up as purple and you'll have to wait for the cooldown period again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,222 ✭✭✭Calvin

Just had a quick trip down to Waterford. Filled my bag from all the stops. The quay there is a brilliant place for Pokemon...a starmie popped up on nearby but I could track it. However, my first 5 mins along the quay, I was greeted by a Seadra. Only 22 CP but it's a new one in the Pokedex!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Kavrocks

Diemos wrote: »
    Finally because I'm impatient sometime after I spin a pokestop I close the window but do so too early, before any rewards and then when I try to spin it again, I just get a try again message for another minute or so.
    It's happened to me, what happens is if you close it before the bubbles start appearing the stop closes and remains blue. When you open it again and spin it, it will say try again, and if you restart it will show up as purple and you'll have to wait for the cooldown period again.
    If you check the journal in cases like these you'll generally have received the items anyway. I do that quite regularly and I always get the items even if I don't wait for their animation to show.

Kavrocks wrote: »
    If you check the journal in cases like these you'll generally have received the items anyway. I do that quite regularly and I always get the items even if I don't wait for their animation to show.

Ah you're right, just tried it there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,132 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Someone said Magmar had gone from Merrion square.

I found Muk on my way to work. Number 100 in the Dex :)

He's almost impossible to hit but he went down first time when I finally caught him.

Has anyone any tips for catching mons that stand way back on the screen? Every ball just bounced in front of him until that one somehow hit.

1km to go on my 10km egg and I have another to replace it. I have 6 still to get from the 10k list so fingers crossed.

I finally evolved a decent Vaporeon this morning too.
    I don't understand your plan. What happens when you inevitably have 9 5km eggs?

I found a Diglett on the way home, plus a Vulpix and two Kadabras and a Squirtle big enough to make a decent evolve. Pulled the trigger and made. 800CP Warturtle. Five minutes later found a wild 800CP Warturtle. He fled though, which was kind of a relief.

99/100 in the Dex now. Ten km egg on the boil. Maybe it will be lucky number 100.
    Ah here, this is taking the píss. I'm at 93 in the dex, the best I caught in the last 3 days was 2 eevees at about 200cp.
    Aerodactyl CP1300 caught in the wild, happy with that. Used quite a few ultraballs, mind.
    I read (possibly in this thread) that for the flying ones that are to reach with pokeballs you turn on AR and angle your phone so they're down low.

Since the start the poxy app pauses music or podcasts when you start it and they haven't fixed that. Really annoying considering the amount of times you need to restart it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,132 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Ah, yes I have seen that actually. I presumed I hadn't hit the stop (it's one of four in a circle) and there was a server glitch.

Are Growlithes always small in the wild? Every one I've caught has been about 200CP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭Duff

Ah, yes I have seen that actually. I presumed I hadn't hit the stop (it's one of four in a circle) and there was a server glitch.

Are Growlithes always small in the wild? Every one I've caught has been about 200CP.

Nope, I've caught 700cp plus.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

D3sperado wrote: »
    Magmars have been gone from Merrion Sq since the last spawn switch. It was replaced with a Magikarp spawn :pac:

Still very useful to know