O'Donovan brothers humour do ya get it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,335 ✭✭✭✭klose

They seem like nice lads and all but they only won silver in a sport nobody really gives a shoite about if we are tbh. Come back when ye win Gold then we all will be cheering on ye gombeens...

Well that's a terrible attitude, they won Ireland's first medal in rowing but it's "only" a silver, yet in past olympics bar Katie Taylor's triumph people were going bat**** over out medal haul of bronze and silver in boxing.

Fair play to em in any case and as someone who did rowing for years as a teenager I hope it raises the profile of the sport and it pushes on as there are some great stretches of water in the country and very good athletes at junior who never quite make the jump like these lads did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

They have charm, charisma and personality.

Something I think isn't in great abundance here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Balmed Out wrote: »

What I would find pathetic is calling q group of people to be the bottom of a genetic pool and what's equally pathetic is thanking that post.

I thought that was a joke. You know like saying its a great year to beat da Brits.

Do jokes only work one way around here?????

Btw I've no idea if cork ones are bottom of the gene pool. I've never been and am very unlikely ever to be near it. They would be going some to beat the oul Derry WANs to the bottom though.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

timthumbni wrote: »
    I thought that was a joke. You know like saying its a great year to beat da Brits.

Btw I've no idea if cork ones are bottom of the gene pool. I've never been and am very unlikely ever to be near it. They would be going some to beat the oul Derry WANs to the bottom though.......

Do you find any of your ill educated comments to be redeemable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,710 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

timthumbni wrote:

I doubt it but whatever. Can't see how it could be construed as in any way funny given it was presented in writing. Seems to me the post of someone who would if it weren't for modern sensibilities and site rules possibly enjoy making racist jokes about people who are black, Jewish etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

It was grand until they said Schkibbereen on the Late late show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,036 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

gramar wrote: »
    It was grand until they said Schkibbereen on the Late late show.

or grand until the reported story of "tubs" taking them to Coppers after the Late Late... f*cking cringe level 10!

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Stealthfins

mansize wrote:
    They have charm, charisma and personality.

mansize wrote:
    Something I think isn't in great abundance here.

Exactly,they are themselves.

They're not talking with marbles in their mouths or any of that lawdy dah claptrap some people go on with.

Middle classes knocking decent honest people again is rife here.

Give me old money society or working classes any day,they're themselves.

The ones in the middle have no charisma or class.

I'm probably rowing my way up **** creek here but it's my opinion ðŸ˜

Do you find any of your ill educated comments to be redeemable?

I didn't make the original comment and I'm from Londonderry (the county) so stop being so precious...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

I didn't make the original comment and I'm from Londonderry (the county) so stop being so precious...

Derry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Zxclnic

YFlyer wrote: »
    Derry.

You like potato and I like potahto
    You like tomato and I like tomahto
    Potato, potahto, Tomato, tomahto.
    Let's call the whole thing off....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭Augme

They sound like normal lads. Quoting father ted, talking about beating the brits etc. I'd argue this is common way for most 20 something lads to joke about(it certainly was for groups I've come across around with). No doubt there'll be a few special snowflakes on boards.ie to chime in about how they aren't like that, fantastic, well done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

Tipperary beats Kilkenny - all Tipperary people ever: "Yay, it's great to bate the Cats". Belgium beats France - all Belgians ever: "Yay, it's great to bate the Frogs". It's not a major world event, it's a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Zxclnic wrote: »

I'm Irish.

I'm Irish.

Oh....fair enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭Wigglepuppy

The guy talking about the bottom of the gene pool was just stirring for a reaction - and got what he wanted.
    Exactly,they are themselves.

They're not talking with marbles in their mouths or any of that lawdy dah claptrap some people go on with.

Middle classes knocking decent honest people again is rife here.

Give me old money society or working classes any day,they're themselves.

The ones in the middle have no charisma or class.

I'm probably rowing my way up **** creek here but it's my opinion ðŸ˜
    But is your opinion based on fact? Because saying nobody in between working class (there's that patronising bigging up of the working class) and old money society (crazy to imply that that isn't rife with elitism) has charisma or class is a hell of a stretch.

The inverse snobbery of "Oh the scourge that is middle-class people" - seems like that kind of snobbery is fine to some folk. Much of it comes from middle-class people which is amusing.

And are those lads not middle-class? It's rowing like.

Bar the odd tedious wind-up merchant who should be ignored, I don't see anyone having a go at the lads' work ethic or decency. They're great sportsmen and obviously extremely dedicated and hardworking and ambitious - they're clearly lovely, down-to-earth lads also, and having a sense of humour is always hugely attractive.

The way the media keeps going to town on the "shteak" stuff is not everyone's cup of tea though, it's a bit silly - just an opinion.

I detest people putting on a snooty accent and an act also, people can dislike things simultaneously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Isn't Schull, just down the road from Skibbereen, known as 'The Toenail of Ireland'. These boys have done well to showcase the region.

West Cork is a lovely area. Why are we so tribal in this country. This stuck up your hole Dublin versus the rest of us has to stop lads. Bar Leitrim, parts of Cavan, and a bit of Tipperary, every county in this country has something to add.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

I don't find any of it funny or entertaining at all.

Nor, like most people enamored with them, do I care one jot about rowing.

But it's easy to see the attraction for many. Two young lads from Cork who achieved success at the Olympics and now playing to the stereotype of our parent's generation and traditional Ireland. So while I understand it, I'm happy just to sit back and try my best to ignore it all. Easier said than done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

Why on earth is there all this hostility? High on happiness after years of striving, having won one of the very few medals our country won in the Olympics, they modestly default to a jokey attitude, and everyone's giving out! Would this make you likely to strive to win an Olympics medal? Not me!
    And what's all this crap of sneering at other counties than your own? All counties have talented, intelligent, hard-working people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

Zxclnic wrote: »

I say Londonpotato.

LDN_Irish wrote: »
    I say Londonpotato.

or....shpuds!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭GerryDerpy

Anyone who criticises these two lads is officially a grade A cnut.

GerryDerpy wrote: »
    Anyone who criticises these two lads is officially a grade A cnut.
    You make a convincing argument, but I have to disagree.

I don't find any of it funny or entertaining at all.

Nor, like most people enamored with them, do I care one jot about rowing.

But it's easy to see the attraction for many. Two young lads from Cork who achieved success at the Olympics and now playing to the stereotype of our parent's generation and traditional Ireland. So while I understand it, I'm happy just to sit back and try my best to ignore it all. Easier said than done.

By posting in a thread about them :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭Wigglepuppy

Chuchote wrote: »
    everyone's giving out!.
    Most people love them. Criticism is more at the media cringefest.

Augme wrote: »
    By posting in a thread about them :pac:
    I like to put my thoughts into writing occasionally.

edit: And it's not exactly a thread specifically about them. Try reading the thread title ;)

I like to put my thoughts into writing occasionally.

edit: And it's not exactly a thread specifically about them. Try reading the thread title ;)

Yea, a thread about their humour is not specifically about them. Oooooooooookay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,234 ✭✭✭✭Calahonda52

Augme wrote: »
    Yea, a thread about their humour is not specifically about them. Oooooooooookay.
    Augme: easier and quicker:

User ID
    Left Click
    last option: add dickhead to ignore list: just helps shut off the oxygen that this trolls crave :)

The best bit
    Are you sure you want to add Arcade_Tryer to your ignore list?... Yes Please.
    Same for Giacomo McGubbin, mynamejeff

Just hope there is no system limit :(

“I can’t pay my staff or mortgage with instagram likes”.

Derry.

Oooffffffff. Shots fired. (Nothing unusual for doire though....,,)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Oooffffffff. Shots fired. (Nothing unusual for doire though....,,)

Don't you mean Londaindoire? :pac::D:D