Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

O'Donovan brothers humour do ya get it?

• 02-09-2016 11:47pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭

Seems there interviews and humour getting more news than the actual prize of the medals and the hard work and journey to get it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

bigpink wrote: »
    Seems there interviews and humour getting more news than the actual prize of the medals and the hard work and journey to get it

That remind me of the jedward twins.... Only good at rowing..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

They just seem like genuinely nice lads and good humour about themselves. So all power to them. Good luck in the future.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Giacomo McGubbin

Funny dudes taking the piss out of the Olympics. They remind me of Jedward.
    Pity they didn't take the Olympics a bit more seriously, then they might have won gold.
    They'll probably regret they didn't when they are older and a bit wiser.

It all sounds a bit...put on.

But bet it goes down great with millenials. They said "shteak and shpuds and pull like dogs".

We should cheer their talent, but unfortunately Joe.ie and their ilk will also insist that they are "gas craic" too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Oh i no doubt think they seem like nice guys and the parents too

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

west cork people bottom of the genetic pool

so no

fair play for the medals though

Pity they didn't take the Olympics a bit more seriously, then they might have won gold.

You make it sound so easy :rolleyes: They pushed the race all the way and were caught the last 10m or so. So determined to succeed they are it may have escaped your notice that Paul won a world singles gold last saturday?

They will rake in it anyway fair play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,947 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Do you honestly think that they didn't take the Olympics seriously? :confused:

You make it sound so easy :rolleyes: They pushed the race all the way and were caught the last 10m or so. So determined to succeed they are it may have escaped your notice that Paul won a world singles gold last saturday?

was dit daa shteak and daa shpuds like ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

They have a Nanny fetish.

I'm sure there's a name for it.

The commitment and the medals is the great part

Like the first 2 series of The Wire I found them impossible to understand...

was dit daa shteak and daa shpuds like ?

What are you on about? So what if they are a bit of craic and have a personality. Give me that over the dull PC drones that flood the airwaves with meaningless rhetoric.

Do you know how hard it is to qualify for an olympics let alone win a medal at one? Have you ever rowed a boat? I imagine it takes unbelievable strength and endurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,810 ✭✭✭✭Water John

McGubbin, they gave it all. Emptied the tank, you clown. Did you see them afterwards unable to get out of the boat. Crawled out, it's one of the toughest sports.
    They take themselves seriously, as do all in Inniscarra.
    They are not fooled by the glam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

timthumbni wrote: »
    Like the first 2 series of The Wire I found them impossible to understand...

They were on the Late Late earlier and said that Gary and Michael Conlan were having serious communication issues - neither could understand the other. Paul would have to act as an interpreter for Gary and Paddy Barnes would have to interpret for Conlan. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,992 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

It's actually a novelty now for the Irish media to happen across people who aren't the cookie cutter Dublin 4 set. Ordinary Irish people talking as though they don't have a PR agent that has carefully scripted each word to sell a cookbook is the equivalent of an alien visit in RTE these day's I'd imagine.
    I think the lads are benefiting from that current state of play.

Also they seem like genuinely lovely lads, equally so did the athletics guy who came 4th in some race. Fair play to them, hope they've every success in the future.

maudgonner wrote: »
    They were on the Late Late earlier and said that Gary and Michael Conlan were having serious communication issues - neither could understand the other. Paul would have to act as an interpreter for Gary and Paddy Barnes would have to interpret for Conlan. :D

I can normally understand any British/Irish accent but I struggled with the jedward rowers tbh. Paddy Barnes would probably struggle with an accent from the other side of Belfast tbh..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭Laphroaig52

It all sounds a bit...put on.

But bet it goes down great with millenials. They said "shteak and shpuds and pull like dogs".

We should cheer their talent, but unfortunately Joe.ie and their ilk will also insist that they are "gas craic" too.

I saw them on the Late Late tonight and I still don't know what it is all about. Apparently they can row, but other than that....I don't know.

Still, if either one of them were to get together with Annalise in Copper's tonight, we're surely guaranteed some kind of aquatic medal in the 2036 Olympics.....

I'd say go for it lads.

Water John wrote: »
    McGubbin, they gave it all. Emptied the tank, you clown. Did you see them afterwards unable to get out of the boat. Crawled out, it's one of the toughest sports.
    They take themselves seriously, as do all in Inniscarra.
    They are not fooled by the glam.

calm down shure dey needed da pizza after de schteak and da spuds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,992 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

I saw them on the Late Late tonight and I still don't know what it is all about. Apparently they can row, but other than that....I don't know.

I thought they seemed pretty genuine, liked the way the blond guy gave it back to Ryan Tubriddy when he asked if they were nervous and he said "oh like you were yourself before the show tonight you mean??"
    And then when Ryan said they were checking out the American girls he was quickly in with "so were you!!" too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,810 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Difference is, I celebrate them, not mock them.
    I do have a sense of humour.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Win silver medal at the Olympics, criticised for their accents.

Oh Ireland.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Cheeky feckers, working hard and winning medals.

Time to tear them down.

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

in the public eye, irish and successful?

full hatred achieved.

do i have do break out the B word?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

They're probably playing up to the stereotype of the big thick Cork gobsh1te to an extent.

I don't think they're anything as such in reality.

Two driven dedicated guys, they were one of the very few competitors we put out there in Rio who achieved their potential and did us proud.

Look at Paul going out and winning a World Championship gold medal the week after the games.

These guys are winners, look out for them again in Tokyo.

Seems brillant at the sport and the passion just wish that talked about more than people going on about humour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,510 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

There funny enough sometimes I think their trying a bit to get a laugh but that's just them. There good role models for their sport tough and will encourage young people to take it up with the attitude they have towards the sport. They seem to love their sport as well as being successful at it.
    One thing about them tough whilst they can be full of jokes and laughs on TV they take their sport really seriously and wouldn't be successful if they were messers all the time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭Wigglepuppy

Robsweezie wrote: »
    in the public eye, irish and successful?

full hatred achieved.

do i have do break out the B word?
    They're absolutely adored.

I dislike all the shpuds and shteak s(h)tuff too. But good on them for winning silver. Not something as deserving of ALL the excitement to be honest (in my opinion) but of course a great achievement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

mynamejeff wrote: »
    west cork people bottom of the genetic pool

so no

fair play for the medals though

Oh really? How medals have you won incidentally?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭Wigglepuppy

Provocative comment aside, he did give them credit for the medals to be fair.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

They seem like nice lads and all but they only won silver in a sport nobody really gives a shoite about if we are tbh. Come back when ye win Gold then we all will be cheering on ye gombeens...

GLaDOS wrote: »
    Win silver medal at the Olympics, criticised for their accents.

Oh Ireland.

Thread title, did you miss it?

It asks about their humour and whether you get it, not their rowing talent.

Eamon Coughlan won gold at a World Championship.

Does that mean he's "gas craic"?

Eamon Coughlan won gold at a World Championship.

Does that mean he's "gas craic"?

So you agree they are bottom of the genetic pool then.

Provocative comment aside, he did give them credit for the medals to be fair.

So it's ok what he said then? Cos in my book it isn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Thread title, did you miss it?

It asks about their humour and whether you get it, not their rowing talent.

Posts. From posters. In the thread. To which Glados is referring. Did you miss them? Because you haven't rounded on them and reminded them of the thread title.

On topic, I do think the boys get a kick out of upsetting certain types with their good natured lack of reverence/deference. I didn't realise just how much psychological distress they were causing people outside of Cork until this thread!

So you agree they are bottom of the genetic pool then.

They hate us cos they ain't us!

The boys are having the last laugh in this anyway, as is anyone else who is fascinated by the psychology of haters boiling in their own p1ss over these guys !

They hate us cos they ain't us!

The boys are having the last laugh in this anyway, as is anyone else who is fascinated by the psychology of haters boiling in their own p1ss over these guys !

I was never bothered by them until I came in here and saw the disgusting comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

I'm not sure if half of ye are taking the piss when ye seem to be suggesting that the "sh" sound they use in words with an s is to get a laugh or something. It's a common part of regional accents in the south and west of Ireland. Get out more lads.

Anyways, fair play to them. One of only 2 medals we brought home this year so they should be proud.

...the psychology of haters boiling in their own p1ss over these guys !

I'm sure a psychologist might observe that the person using the strongest language is you.

I just don't find them funny. As per the topic. Does this really equate to hate and "boiling in p1ss"?

If it's any consolation, your posts amuse me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭SILVAMAN

bigpink wrote: »
    Oh i no doubt think they seem like nice guys and the parents too
    Seem like a couple of grounded country lads, with their feet on the ground and a clear idea of what they want in life and where they are going.
    They've only just started to show their potential-Look at Steve Redgrave.
    A far cry from the wheeling dealing gombeen bolloxology mentality of of the head of the Irish Olympic Committee.

Best of luck to them. They won medals for the country, that's good enough for me. If you don't like their interviews switch them off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 EllieK2

Yeah, I sort of do. That was my (and my classmates') type of humour back in High School.

I'm sure a psychologist might observe that the person using the strongest language is you.

I just don't find them funny. As per the topic. Does this really equate to hate and "boiling in p1ss"?

If it's any consolation, your posts amuse me.

"I know you are but what am I?"
    I'm devastated at your rebuttal and most of all your disapproval Conor. Devastated.

To make it clear how devastated I am, maybe I should put it in terms that are relevant to some of the people who seem to be most upset by the success of two hard working cork men.

So, I can honestly say that your disapproval of my post has me even more devastated than learning bressie and roz broke up. Seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭poitinstill

if they had posher accents maybe the silver medals might look a bit shinier.
    or is it a case of the commoners dragging the elitist sport of rowing into the mud

they are west cork lads. thats how they talk in that part of west cork. maybe some on here could do a trip outside their bubbles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭vkid

Fair play for winning the medal, but I do find this shteak and shpuds stuff on a par with Daithi o Se. Shure amn't I great craic with the mammy cookin the shpuds and shpeakin the cupla focal..wahey lads..I'm gas so I am.

Although in Daithi's case it is completely exaggerated so he can be the country lad doing well on the telly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,779 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I don't know if thats how they speak or if its an act, and don't care either.

The only thing that grated with me were the comments about 'beating the Brits' and 'tiocfaidh ar la', both of which I thought were a bit sad.

Sure it's a great oul thing to be baiting te Brits and all, after the year it's in etc etc

Not word for word maybe but I thought coming out with that ****e was n poor taste and just trying to play up to the audience at home.

If they hadn't been jedward lookalikes they wouldn't have got away with that one so easily imo.

I never saw any of their interviews and know nothing about them but they are just human beings and just because they are on a larger stage now people think they can pick them apart. It's not on. If everybody analysed everyone else constantly where would that leave us all.