If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Electric Picnic 2016 // **Discussion Only / NO Ticket Sales / Requests** //

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭declanleo

Hi all

What is it like entering without id? Ill have a photocopy of it with me but really dont want to bring my actual passport with me and dont have any other id. Do they check everyone going in or is it a case of youre only stopped if you look u18?

Just bring it. Show it,put it in the bag and if it's missing when you get home so be it. Don't get turned away because of no id

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭DanielSwords

Hi all

What is it like entering without id? Ill have a photocopy of it with me but really dont want to bring my actual passport with me and dont have any other id. Do they check everyone going in or is it a case of youre only stopped if you look u18?

Shouldn't be an issue going in. Some of the bar staff will probably ask for Id though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 DamoYoung

Hi all, travelling from Dublin tomorrow. I usully get chucked into red car park but really need to get to green car park as staying in Pink Moon. Can anyone tell me which way I need to travel? Which way do I need to come in??

Thanks in advance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭Speckydodge

Jesus lads the difference between red and green car parks really isn't as much as people think and fear. If you're pink moon and red you'll be grand. It's just a walk. I did it last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭-=al=-

From Dublin to EP on the M7 (as far as I can tell) Exit 15 will get you into green, and exit 16 and 17 will get you into Red.

It's not that big of a deal really but it makes sense to get the entrance nearer to where you'll be camping. The eternal struggle to get the gear in is always the worst part!

Got most of the gear ready I think! Time for some ZzZ before a nice breakfast and sneaky road trip down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭fourmations

When you say north where do you mean? Dublin side of Portlaise and down to where?

Not 100% but think it was the rathmore road route, comes in from the north end very much, but can't be sure, so vicarstown is a safe bet yeah? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭frantic190

My plan for acts

Planning to be down for about 10.30.

Going to kick off the festival in Trenchtown as I normally do before heading to Booka Brass on the OV stage. Get the cans/smokes in.

From there:
    17:00: Search Party Animal (B&S Main Stage)
    18:00: ABC (Main Stage)
    Will probably break for food/pint/head to the Hot Press chat room at this stage.
    20:00: Talos (B&S Main Stage)
    Quick pint stop before:
    21:00: Todd Terje (Electric Arena)
    Another pint stop and possibly a bit of Kojaque on B&S Bandstand if I've time.
    22:45: Super Furry Animals (Electric Arena) - seen Chems last summer but may change my mind on this depending on my mood and head Chems.
    I will then probably check out the new Red Bull stage OR go to El Grey on the B&S Bandstand.
    01:30: Mothxr (B&S Main)
    02:30: All Tvvins (B&S Main)
    Depending on my state at this stage I may head over to Anachronica before curfew for a bit of dancing.

Saturday:
    Usually start my Saturday hungover chilling out in Body & Soul so it's gonna go something like this:
    12pm: Ailbhe Reddy (B&S Main stage)
    Some kind of lunch
    13:20: Flecks (B&S Earthship)
    14:00: Elephant (B&S Main stage)
    Will then have a wander around the tents in the main arena. I want to catch Pleasure Beach (Cosby), Brian Deady (Rankin's Wood), BarQ (Little Big), Girls Names (Rankin's Wood), Hare Squead (Little Big) so will move between these acts as I build up the courage to start drinking again. Will get some pints into me before:
    18:00: Glass Animals (Rankin's Wood)
    Will hopefully catch some of Rusangano Family in the Little Big Tent at this stage but if not I'll grab a pint and head straight to:
    19:30: Jack Garratt (Electric Arena)
    Will break for dinner and more pints after.
    21:30: Mura Masa (Little Big)
    22:00 John Talabot (Rankin's Wood) - Sacrificing The Shins here, am normally in a way more electronic mood at this stage but we shall see at the time.
    00:00: LCD Soundsystem (Main Stage)
    After LCD it'll hopefully be Daniel Avery but if that's too jammed I'll be off to Toby Kaar on the B&S Earthship.
    03:00 Plutonic Dust (B&S Main stage)
    Will catch the end of Le Galaxie Soundsystem on the way back to the campsite then.

Sunday:
    Sunday is very up in the air, depending on how written off I am and the mood I am in. I have to navigate the Wild Beasts / Savages clash and I'm likely to pick Pantha du Prince over Lana. I'll likely spend the morning/early afternoon in B&S before catching Sample Answer and Local Natives. A lot of Sunday will more than likely be spent in Trenchtown and if I haven't managed to get to the red bull stage by now I'll try to do this on Sunday too as I'm interested to see the setup. I also wanna catch Oh Wonder, **** Robot and Nao and I'll likely sacrifice New Order for this (as I've seen them this year already). I'll be finishing the festival with Overhead, the albatross if I make it that far!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭LowOdour

The time has come....enjoy the weekend everyone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭team_actimel

LowOdour wrote: »
    The time has come....enjoy the weekend everyone!

The time has come to.....to Galvanize!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭Username2011

declanleo wrote: »
    Just bring it. Show it,put it in the bag and if it's missing when you get home so be it. Don't get turned away because of no id

hmmm but the problem is I'm off on holidays next week so canNOT lose the passport. Is everyone id'ed or is it asked for only if you look underage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,849 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

a reminder just came up on my phone for a conpany meeting today and it was very satisfying to click "dismiss" :)

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

Electric Picnic time. Have a good weekend everybody!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

latest GFS weather runs have the worst of the rain in the south/south east coast for Saturday, probably missing Stradbally. still be rainy, but not torrential hopefully. :)

ukprec.png

ukprec.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭Lester Freamon

latest GFS weather runs have the worst of the rain in the south/south east coast for Saturday, probably missing Stradbally. still be rainy, but not torrential hopefully. :)

ukprec.png

ukprec.png

Forecasts look bad for Saturday night now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭Reded

Good morning all from EP..! It's a little damp and overcast here but grand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

Forecasts look bad for Saturday night now :(

look fine to me! no weather will ruin my LCD Soundsystem enjoyment anyway :D

ukprec.png

ukprec.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭grudgehugger

Turn off your mind, relax and float downstream...

50 years on from Revolver, Tomorrow Never Knows remains a class tune. Chems using it as their intro track in their current set - can't wait for that and a whole lot more this weekend.

Have a great time everyone and see you on the other side :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭laois gael

Ive a ticket for g 12 and my younger bro has one for g6 is it a different gate to enter does anyone know?

Oh weather is damp here in stradbally but yesterdays wind has died and it looks likes the sun is breaking through ...Not as warm as previous days but you expect it to be a little chilly on Sept mornings I can see it being a lovely afternoon ...

The last few nights here in Laois have got chilly enough so bring warm clothes !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,744 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Latest high red look better but it's so close to call, heavy rain early Saturday with the worst going south of Stradbaly then followed by some Thunder showers in the afternoon but they hopefully might just slide north of Stradbally.

Sunday night will see some light rain too

395999.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,744 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Satursay afternoon high res chart:

396000.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭room_149

Parked up the Campervans' last night, stuck up the awning & tents, had a few beers during the football and went to bed. Couple of meetings to attend in Dublin town today so I had to leave the rest of the crew this morning.
    Will tip down later this evening. Slightly surreal experience driving back up the M7 now and seeing the punters make their way to Stradbally.
    Enjoy the weekend & bring the wellies kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭Reded

laois gael wrote: »
    Ive a ticket for g 12 and my younger bro has one for g6 is it a different gate to enter does anyone know?

Gate 6 is artists/production entrance only and they are v strict down here only artist tickets through 6 don't know about 12!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭GhostMutt30

any updates on traffic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Fatfrog

Enjoy!!! Stay safe and don't be a dick!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭rocks1981

Reded wrote: »
    Gate 6 is artists/production entrance only and they are v strict down here only artist tickets through 6 don't know about 12!

All general camping tickets have a gnumber on them. Just ignore it and take any main entrance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

Fatfrog wrote: »
    Enjoy!!! Stay safe and don't be a dick!!

This.

A thousand times this.

--

Also, everyone should see Rusangano Family, Talos and Bitch Falcon, as well as whatever else you're into!

The Vincent(s) are well worth a listen too if you've nothing else on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

Can't decide....wellies or hiking boots?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭Easy Rod

Can't decide....wellies or hiking boots?

Hiking, as long as you've broken em in.

rocks1981 wrote: »
    All general camping tickets have a gnumber on them. Just ignore it and take any main entrance.

thats what I was thinking!!Thanks!