If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Electric Picnic 2016 // **Discussion Only / NO Ticket Sales / Requests** //

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭declanleo

Was looking forward to tomorrow until my 4year old reminded me of what the portaloos are like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭El Director

Charlie wrote: »
    Charlie Chaplin. I'm staying in Pink Moon this year, but I was in Chaplin last year. It's exactly as you describe. Majority of people are late 20's/30's. Everyone is there to have a good time, but no one is acting the bollox. It's kept nice and clean as well, and there seems to be more visible security to deter any ****ers liable to ransack/burn tents.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay there this year if I wasn't in Pink Moon.

Awesome dude. Thank you so much. Have a great picnic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Coz

Has anyone seen a copy of the site drawings this year? There was one floating around last year.

It was a scale drawing with actual boundaries etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Coz

Mr.S wrote: »
    If someone does have it, please don't post it.

Oops. Sorry didn't realise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Mr.S wrote:
    This is why I love boards

Been telling my mates not to believe all the crap online about the weather coz we got a meteorologist up in here.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭thunderdog

The usual festival plug for those into their brass music. Stomptown brass on Friday 12.25am on salty dog and Saturday at 6.45pm on trailer park.

We're also in the horn section for the David Bowie tribute gig on salty dog at 2.30am Friday night. That Should be good craic.

The hardest part will be keeping my **** together til 2.30am!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭Reded

All set up- ground in great shape actually tried to put a wind breaker in ground but was hard as nails! So everyone enjoy the weekend !! Feck the rain!!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,591 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Excitement well and truly kicked in. Have to work tomorrow which is unfortunate, but gonna feck off at half 1 and be on the bus down at 2.

Can't wait!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 StephenOT

Lads whats the story with the Hot press chatroom clashfinder have up. Cant find anything about it on the electric picnic website?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,744 ✭✭✭✭Villain

I'm in pink moon site, coming from Vicarstown heading for Green car park about 9:30am that plan makes sense right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭Reded

Guys I know this is a no ticket rule here but owing to bereavement 2 friends due to join me tomorrow can't come €240 each original tickets available in Galway tomorrow morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭rameire

for people wondering last minute which way to go if coming from Dublin with own transport.

I would suggest going M7, taking the junction 11 onto the M9, coming off at juntion 3 on the M9 onto the New N78 into Athy.
    while in Athy, if you are short on beer or food, there is a supervalu, Aldi, Lidl and Local Perry Supermarket,
    there is also a Shaws Almost nationwide if you need clothes, and if you are short a tent, chair, other camping equipment go into Griffin Hawe, its a Topline provider, stop off for a feed in a Cafe, and its only 20 minutes from Athy to Stradbally.

🌞 3.8kwp, 🌞 Clonee, Dub.🌞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

Villain wrote: »
    I'm in pink moon site, coming from Vicarstown heading for Green car park about 9:30am that plan makes sense right?

that's the route and time I've been taking for the past few years, works a treat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Sorry for asking the same question, but I didn't really get a full answer before.

Which stages/tents fall outside of the main arena i.e. which stage/tent can o bring my own beer to during the day?

I know that I can do so at Trenchtown.. any more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

Salty dog and I think the new hazel wood might be outside too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,770 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Friday
    6.15 - ABC
    7.30 - Nas
    9.00 - Todd Terje
    10.40 - Cinema
    (then onto) Chemical Brothers

01.00 - Le Freak
    02.30 - Daft as Punk

Saturday
    1.00 - Trinity Orchestra does Bowie
    6.15 - Glass Animals
    8.00 - Horsemeat Disco
    9.45 - Le Galaxie
    11.15 - DBFC
    12.00 - LCD Soundsystem
    01.30 - Daniel Avery
    03.00 - Plutonic Dust

Sunday
    2.30 - Toots & the Maytals
    3.30 - Talos
    4ish - Kellyann Byrne
    6.15 - Wild Beasts
    7.45 - Animal Collective
    8.45 - New Order
    11.00 - MyHouse Prince set
    12.00 - Mother DJs

The ones in bold are the only ones I can trust myself enough to say I will definitely see, the rest would be ideal but you know how it goes..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

connundrum wrote: »
    Sorry for asking the same question, but I didn't really get a full answer before.

Which stages/tents fall outside of the main arena i.e. which stage/tent can o bring my own beer to during the day?

I know that I can do so at Trenchtown.. any more?

Other Voices, Anachronica & The Salty Dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭Username2011

Hi all

What is it like entering without id? Ill have a photocopy of it with me but really dont want to bring my actual passport with me and dont have any other id. Do they check everyone going in or is it a case of youre only stopped if you look u18?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

Hi all

What is it like entering without id? Ill have a photocopy of it with me but really dont want to bring my actual passport with me and dont have any other id. Do they check everyone going in or is it a case of youre only stopped if you look u18?

If you don't look like you're 15 you should be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

Right folks one more sleep, have a final checklist made up for me self for the morning then hitting the road.

Will be checking in to see if there's actually a meet up planned though given the number of us in pink moon I'm sure I'm probably unknowingly making use a loo seat warmed up by one of ye for me or warming up one for ye.

See ye on the other side fellow monkeys

Have a blast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭Username2011

If you don't look like you're 15 you should be grand.

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭declanleo

Will be walking from campsite with kids in the buggy, anyone any experience going through? Do I need to queue up? More importantly, can I smuggle beers in with the kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭grudgehugger

declanleo wrote: »
    Will be walking from campsite with kids in the buggy, anyone any experience going through? Do I need to queue up? More importantly, can I smuggle beers in with the kids

Kids are generally excellent for smuggling things in :)

Not bringing them this year - the 5 year old is NOT happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭fourmations

that's the route and time I've been taking for the past few years, works a treat.

why cant the organisers just spell it out
    it a source of constant debate, im unsure again now! (was going to go athy)
    surely they could just say, if you want green go this way, red that way
    and pending full car parks you'll get where you want to go
    getting into green is a big thing for me, i stay at pink moon
    did the red to pink moon before and it was horrible
    (im old and i bring a lot of crap)
    i think i came in the n80 from the north last year and got into green

cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Teddington Cuddlesworth

Excitement has somewhat dulled today.... I'm sure it'll be at peak once i wake up though.

Anyone know what the story is with the yellow car park? I've not heard much mention of it on here and seeing as we're in boutique camping I'm hoping to use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Fallini

Hi guys. Does anyone know if you can enter the picnic for the first time from the yellow car park or do we need to go around to the main entrance? We're hoping to pitch in JH campsite.
    Question 2: are the posh loos still around? (It's been a few years!)

Cheers in advance.
    Rock on Tommy ☺

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭rocks1981

Fallini wrote: »
    Hi guys. Does anyone know if you can enter the picnic for the first time from the yellow car park or do we need to go around to the main entrance? We're hoping to pitch in JH campsite.
    Question 2: are the posh loos still around? (It's been a few years!)

Cheers in advance.
    Rock on Tommy ☺

You can enter from yellow, but it's a bit of a walk from carpark to entrance i think. They say to take the quarry entrance which takes you to around the bottom left side of Hendrix. I think there's still posh loos of somesort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,326 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

why cant the organisers just spell it out
    it a source of constant debate, im unsure again now! (was going to go athy)
    surely they could just say, if you want green go this way, red that way
    and pending full car parks you'll get where you want to go
    getting into green is a big thing for me, i stay at pink moon
    did the red to pink moon before and it was horrible
    (im old and i bring a lot of crap)
    i think i came in the n80 from the north last year and got into green

cheers

When you say north where do you mean? Dublin side of Portlaise and down to where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Fallini

rocks1981 wrote: »
    You can enter from yellow, but it's a bit of a walk from carpark to entrance i think. They say to take the quarry entrance which takes you to around the bottom left side of Hendrix. I think there's still posh loos of somesort

Thanks you're a star bar! 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭freddiemoore

About 2 weeks ago someone (Bodhrandude I think) wondered if we'd get to 10k by the time the festival began. Only on ~5k at the time I thought he was off his rocker - shocked and impressed it bumped to 8k in that time and I'm sure the post festival praise, reminiscing and of course, complaining, should see this thread easily get that number!