If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Garda Traffic on Twitter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

FrontDoor wrote: »
    Is it me or do people travel a bit slower these days?

If they could focus on these lads a little more

01502607.gif

This photo was taken by an artist for her exhibition 'Rural Racetrack'. Apart from the possibility of it being set up, the tracks leading away from the donuts are photoshopped on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

speed is just the easiest thing to measure.

They have dropped the speed limit on this road from 80 to 60. I don't think there has been an accident, but I can guarantee there'll be speed vans there in the coming weeks to catch people out who've been doing 80 there for the last 7 years.

Look out for some great tweets about this road, YOUNG MALE driver caught doing 100km/h on this 60 limit road!! on way home from CARS&COFFEE (A BOY RACER EVENT!!!!) SLOW DOWN & BSAFE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭FrontDoor

speed is just the easiest thing to measure.

They have dropped the speed limit on this road from 80 to 60. I don't think there has been an accident, but I can guarantee there'll be speed vans there in the coming weeks to catch people out who've been doing 80 there for the last 7 years.

Look out for some great tweets about this road, YOUNG MALE driver caught doing 100km/h on this 60 limit road!! on way home from CARS&COFFEE (A BOY RACER EVENT!!!!) SLOW DOWN & BSAFE
    A brand new ring road around a town?

Sure why not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

/unfollows thread :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

Thoie wrote: »
    You're assuming that everyone else on the motorway at 4am has working headlights...

In that case, driving without working headlights is the more dangerous thing anyway :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

FrontDoor wrote: »
    I think it is very relevant.

There is a subset of drivers out there who are lethal in the way they drive, the condition of themselves or their cars. Donuts are just one manifestation of it.
    That is a very stereotypical generalisation, even by boards.ie standards! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

marno21 wrote: »

Anyone doing hedge cutting on a national route should have appropriate advance warning signage.
    Different rules in rural areas I'm afraid. I had a car come around a corner a few weeks ago on a 100km/hr road with a lad waving his hand out the window. Next thing I knew I was confronted by a harvester taking up the entire road coming towards me. The car was no more than 50 metres ahead of it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

smash wrote: »
    This photo was taken by an artist for her exhibition 'Rural Racetrack'. Apart from the possibility of it being set up, the tracks leading away from the donuts are photoshopped on.

I've driven many rural roads and always come across scenes like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

ThisRegard wrote: »
    I've driven many rural roads and always come across scenes like that.

I've seen them on motorways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,196 ✭✭✭selectamatic

The first one was as well stay going they'll get a fair long ban.
    Two points of interest: I wonder was the driver a young female since the tweet wasn't accompanied with the usual young male heading?
    Also I wonder was there no insurance on the car or are they playing the angle that there's no insurance as the driver wasn't accompanied.
    Not defending the crime or anything but those were just the two things that popped into my head when I seen it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

What popped into my head was...

What's more dangerous - 143kph in dry conditions, or stopping in the hard shoulder on a motorway for a chat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,041 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

120kph to 150kph is 56% more kinetic energy.

By the time you've converted that 56% into heat via the brakes and slowed to 120kph, the car that was doing doing 120kph is now closer to 30kph. (That's assuming that the braking effect is linear which I know it's not, but on the other hand it's also not taking into account reaction time, brake fade, or anything else.)

150kph isn't crazy fast, but it's quite a bit faster than most others are doing, and is an awful lot more energy to control.

Kinetic energy difference of 56% is obviously correct.
    But someone doing 37.5 km/h in 30km/h zone is also increasing his kinetic energy by 56%. His breaking distance is severely affected.
    But no one is going to say that person is a maniac speeder, should be prosecuted, meet with the judge in court, or even published on garda traffic tweeter for doing 37.5km/h in 30km/h zone.

Nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/768354018972299264

An unaccompanied learner clocked at 159km/h with no tax or insurance.

You'd think you'd be trying to keep under the radar with a completely empty windscreen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭shietpilot

That's just ridiculous. He/she will probably get away with a slap on the wrist too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

I can't figure people with the banned for life stuff.

Like there has to be some time to a ban. Can ya imagine some 76 year old. Still on the bus cos they had no insurance when they were 23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭Thoie

corkgsxr wrote: »

Like there has to be some time to a ban. Can ya imagine some 76 year old. Still on the bus cos they had no insurance when they were 23

Lifetime bans aren't handed down for a first offense, or a single incidence of no insurance. If you've got a lifetime ban, it's because you've proved multiple times that you're some kind of moron who shouldn't be on the road.

This young man, for example, by the age of 23 (so technically a max of 6 years of driving) had managed to rack up 12 dangerous driving convictions and 4 convictions for stealing cars (as well as 43 other assorted convictions). He was sentenced to jail and a lifetime ban while being charged with another 12 dangerous driving convictions. So he was caught driving dangerously on average every 3 months. If he hadn't learned his lesson after the first 12 times, there's no hope for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

Thoie wrote: »
    Lifetime bans aren't handed down for a first offense, or a single incidence of no insurance. If you've got a lifetime ban, it's because you've proved multiple times that you're some kind of moron who shouldn't be on the road.

This young man, for example, by the age of 23 (so technically a max of 6 years of driving) had managed to rack up 12 dangerous driving convictions and 4 convictions for stealing cars (as well as 43 other assorted convictions). He was sentenced to jail and a lifetime ban while being charged with another 12 dangerous driving convictions. So he was caught driving dangerously on average every 3 months. If he hadn't learned his lesson after the first 12 times, there's no hope for him.

That's grand but the people saying lifetime ban in the twitter feed don't know that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,124 ✭✭✭✭neris

corkgsxr wrote: »

No life should mean life, if you have to get the bus for 60 or 70 years tough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭Blut2

In that situation couldn't someone just emigrate to the UK (or any other EU country) and do the test etc to get a license over there? Wouldn't be that hard to do if they really wanted to drive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,994 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Would technically be void in the country you got it in as its as clear as day on the application form 'Do you have previous convictions, bans etc' You may still get it, depending on the country, but no insurer will touch you regardless of where you racked up the convictions.

We're too lenient as a country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,539 ✭✭✭jca

ironclaw wrote: »
    Would technically be void in the country you got it in as its as clear as day on the application form 'Do you have previous convictions, bans etc' You may still get it, depending on the country, but no insurer will touch you regardless of where you racked up the convictions.

We're too lenient as a country.

Sure guys like him never rang an insurance company in their lives, he couldn't give a rats ass. As soon as he's out of jail he'll be zipping around the roads of Donegal again, leniency doesn't come into it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,967 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/770190456034562049

Video call, that takes some level of stupidity!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

158kph in a 1 litre Yaris and on L Plates, must be some kind of record...

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/770716365682532353

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

Harsh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,870 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Can't imagine the Yaris handling particularly well at that speed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,994 ✭✭✭ironclaw

blackwhite wrote: »
    Can't imagine the Yaris handling particularly well at that speed

Yaris certainly won't handle well if you need to stop suddenly from that speed. A 1L won't do 160km/h though, I can say that from youthful, stupid experience. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,884 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Yaris certainly won't handle well if you need to stop suddenly from that speed. A 1L won't do 160km/h though, I can say that from youthful, stupid experience. :o
    N/A perhaps but I hear some mid size cars now come with 1 litre turbos.

This too shall pass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭shietpilot

A 1.0 Yaris will do more than 160 km/h without a bother ;)