Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Part 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Wolf Club

How does everyone reckon our backs will pick up their forwards? Something like the following?

Keegan - Connolly
    Harrison - Rock
    Boyle - McManamon
    Higgins - Brogan
    Durcan - Kilkenny

That still leaves one in Paul Flynn! Would it be fair to assume Kevin Keane will be held back for Eoghan O'Gara, should he be introduced. Chris Barrett for Mannion/Andrews. Even with the number of top class backs at our disposal, their wealth of forwards is very worrying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,067 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

yop wrote: »
    No, Horan called him up

Indeed he did, I was away googling there, 2012/2013. My memory is gone, I would have sworn it was 7 or 8 years ago.

Seeing that it's going to be a long 3 weeks, here's an interview with him about that time.
    http://controvassy.com/panel-fillers-bottling-up-the-frustration-of-a-season-on-the-subs-bench/

In another search, I read that he had the misfortune of going in for knee surgery and they operated on the wrong knee!!! Great soccer player, played against him 7,9,10,12.... a while back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭eastmayo

yop wrote: »
    I see Conor Lane is the ref. If memory serves me right he had to get a garda escort off the pitch in McHale park more than once! :)

He did...but he also reffed the minor all ireland we won in 13....could be a sign.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

eastmayo wrote: »
    He did...but he also reffed the minor all ireland we won in 13....could be a sign.

He also reffed the Mitchels defeat in the club final this year though. Could be a bad sign. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭eastmayo

martyos121 wrote: »
    He also reffed the Mitchels defeat in the club final this year though. Could be a bad sign. :(

Well there go's that then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Not sure Boyle has the strength for McManamon.

Harrison is a good tight marker I'd give him more responsibility

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭Kalyke

Only a matter of time before we "hear" that the 2 mountainy men are flying in training!!:P:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Green Peter

I hear Conor Mortimer is back training, I also see dead people!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

I hear Conor Mortimer is back training, I also see dead people!

Ummm, basing that post on your others I think we can take what u post as "interesting" :)

http://www.boards.ie/search/submit/?user=772004&sort=newest&date_to=&date_from=&query=%2A%3A%2A&forum=269

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

km79 wrote: »
    They haven't even done the 2 in a row yet !
    There has been an awful lot of ****e talked about Sunday's game IMO
    The best game in 20 years . Give me a break. It was AWFUL for 25 minutes. Dublin strolling around . Kerry pumping aimless ball into the forwards. A mistake let's Kerry in and it's game on.
    Kerry then disappear for the last 10 minutes
    A very good last 45 minutes yes
    An all time classic NO WAY

To be fair it was up there. The quality of some of the scores, particularly from the Dublin forwards towards the end was outstanding.

I would rate it as better than the 2011 game and a couple other recent encounters between the two.

Kerry could have closed it out and were outstanding for much of the game. They suffered their usual final ten minutes collapse against Dublin though, or else suffered a lack of belief and tried to batten down the hatches.

Maybe not the best game of the last 20 years, but probably in the top 5. It all depends what you judge these games on. A lot of occasional followers of GAA get excited by close games and go over the top with praise. The 2006 Mayo v Dublin game is often cited as a "great game" but in hindsight both were average teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

To be fair it was up there. The quality of some of the scores, particularly from the Dublin forwards towards the end was outstanding.

I would rate it as better than the 2011 game and a couple other recent encounters between the two.

Kerry could have closed it out and were outstanding for much of the game. They suffered their usual final ten minutes collapse against Dublin though, or else suffered a lack of belief and tried to batten down the hatches.

Maybe not the best game of the last 20 years, but probably in the top 5. It all depends what you judge these games on. A lot of occasional followers of GAA get excited by close games and go over the top with praise. The 2006 Mayo v Dublin game is often cited as a "great game" but in hindsight both were average teams.

This Kerry team had nothing great about them last Sunday. They hit a good patch before half-time combined with a bit of luck and that's what made it into a contest. I'd have it nowhere near one of the best games in the last twenty years either, it had a bit of excitement but the quality on show wasn't there. I'm not having a go at Kerry either, fair play to them for making it a game but time is catching up on some of their key men and it showed. No doubt they'll be back near the top within the next couple of years, they're never far off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

F you btw seligehgit, every time I plug earphones into my phone now I have a Mayo podcast playing in the background on SoundCloud! Bloody seagulls blasting away in the background in most of them
    Edit.

Not a bad one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

The best game in 20 years . Give me a break. It was AWFUL for 25 minutes. Dublin strolling around . Kerry pumping aimless ball into the forwards. A mistake let's Kerry in and it's game on.

100% agree with this. But let them sh1te on. There is an ambush coming :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

100% the hype machine were in full flow. Kerry were poor for at least 60 of the 80 mins that were played. Dublin are good but have weaknesses and are definitely beatable. Mayo could have won the drawn game last year and only capitulated in last 10 mins of replay because all their midfielders were off the pitch for various reasons. Not much difference between the 2 teams imo.

ultrapercy wrote: »
    100% the hype machine were in full flow. Kerry were poor for at least 60 of the 80 mins that were played. Dublin are good but have weaknesses and are definitely beatable. Mayo could have won the drawn game last year and only capitulated in last 10 mins of replay because all their midfielders were off the pitch for various reasons. Not much difference between the 2 teams imo.

If we were to base the teams relative merits on last year and back to 2013 there is not a massive chasm between them.But based on this year Mayo have huge ground to make up.To a man Mayo will have to play to their full potential and it may still not be good enough.Hopefully Dublin will leave their A game at home.

Recalling the 2013 final we were well on top at 4 points to 1 until that catastrophic goal and were still the better team in the first half but failed to demonstrate same on the scoreboard.

The second half was an entirely different matter,once Brogan's goal went in.In spite of Andy Moran's reply in kind we were chasing a game against a far more likely winners.The one point loss viewed through rose tinted glasses painted a much closer second half than was the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

ultrapercy wrote: »

Of all teams who hype themselves up too much its Mayo.

I think a difference of Dublin having at least 4 free scoring forwards to Mayos none could be a bit of a difference

kilns wrote: »

I think a difference of Dublin having at least 4 free scoring forwards to Mayos none could be a bit of a difference

I have been talking to a number of GAA people involved in clubs and they have informed me that amongst some there is scarily lacking realism regarding the task that faces us...It's our year.Such nonsense,as though it's a roll of the dice.I go by hard cold facts and we are capable of winning the day but it's going to require a herculean effort.

I fear our lack of enough reliable scoring forwards may cost us.God I hate to be so negative,I hope I'm proven wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭corny

Absolutely nothing wrong with being optimistic. But thinking our opinions here will influence how either side plays on the day? That's rubbish.

Saying Dublin are going to hammer Mayo a million times doesn't increase Mayos chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 livelife

Kerry scored a total of 6 points in the second half v Dublin. Mayo could hit 6 points in 5/10 minutes the way they play. I feel they are the best
    time in Football at doing this. An inspired team is very difficult to beat no matter who the team.

Going back to the 2013 Final with more or less the same players. Mayo dominated the first half in that game but did not show it on the scoreboard.

seligehgit wrote: »
    I have been talking to a number of GAA people involved in clubs and they have informed me that amongst some there is scarily lacking realism regarding the task that faces us...It's our year.Such nonsense,as though it's a roll of the dice.I go by hard cold facts and we are capable of winning the day but it's going to require a herculean effort.

I fear our lack of enough reliable scoring forwards may cost us.God I hate to be so negative,I hope I'm proven wrong.

Hearing the complete opposite from Mayo fans back west, in fact noticeably different is the outlook i am getting. Along the lines of " we can put it up to them but they could beat us by 10 points". Have not seen one "It's our year" statement yet.

However, it is a two horse race and our opponents, whilst excellent, are mightily flawed. Plus the Dub fanbase is extremely confident this year. Remember the silence on Sunday as halftime hit? If Kerry had come out in the second half in the same vein the Dub fans werent long for turning on their heroes.

The Dubs are huge favourites and rightly so. But we are well capable of performing on the day and beating them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭Call me Al

seligehgit wrote: »

Aidan O'Shea was interviewed immediately after the semi and he admitted there and then that they weren't going to have any success if they performed on 18/09 as they had just done. I don't think there's any lack of realistic awareness of exactly what is required from them. They've got eyes in their heads the same as the rest of us.
    And I agre 're our forwards and their lack of reliability. They can't afford to miss some of the simple chances we have seen going wide so often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Call me Al wrote: »
    Aidan O'Shea was interviewed immediately after the semi and he admitted there and then that they weren't going to have any success if they performed on 18/09 as they had just done. I don't think there's any lack of realistic awareness of exactly what is required from them. They've got eyes in their heads the same as the rest of us.

Can they deliver a full 70 performance is the question. Sometimes the big occasion brings the best out of players, sometimes not. Mayo are the one of the best teams in the country when the tails are up, we just haven't seen enough of it this year and we're still in the All-Ireland.

I don't think anyone in Mayo is too confident. I'll be going up believing we have the ability to do it but you just don't know what to expect. Who knows though.

Can they deliver a full 70 performance is the question. Sometimes the big occasion brings the best out of players, sometimes not. Mayo are the one of the best teams in the country when the tails are up, we just haven't seen enough of it this year and we're still in the All-Ireland.

I don't think anyone in Mayo is too confident. I'll be going up believing we have the ability to do it but you just don't know what to expect. Who knows though.

It is set up perfectly for a big performance from us. Whether that happens is another question but i would prefer to be in this position than coming in from an epic semi win over Kerry, Dublin or Tyrone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Can't say I've heard much "it's our year stuff" either. Anyone I've spoken to is barely optimistic about our chances nevermind believing it's "our year". I'll be going into it thinking that we can at the very least give them a rattle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,932 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

kilns wrote: »

Thats just pure lazy posting. nothing could be further from the truth this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,240 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Thats just pure lazy posting. nothing could be further from the truth this year.

Totally agree.

A lot of guarded optimism and realistic appreciation that Dublin are the best team out there and that it will take a huge Mayo effort and/or a Dublin slip up to win it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Green Peter

yop wrote:
    Ummm, basing that post on your others I think we can take what u post as "interesting"

You're are a barrel of laughs yourself!

Let's get behind our lads,they will die on the field come September 18th to bring an end to the famine.

eIPET1deQSA37c_jgzUz7R0shK7rDLIOrKUNpSkTOl2lBrTwifknqiq3E-NMHvvStKvWYhM=s157