If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Electric Picnic 2016 // **Discussion Only / NO Ticket Sales / Requests** //

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭room_149

xtal191 wrote: »
    Any other advantages having performer tickets?
    You should be able to get your booze in with you & hitch the odd lift into the main arena on the buggies, if you keep things nice with the security lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

room_149 wrote: »
    You should be able to get your booze in with you & hitch the odd lift into the main arena on the buggies, if you keep things nice with the security lads

the VIP bars open later is about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭BadTurtle

this, but kind of ****ter:

Does anyone really expect the EP piece to be even close to as good as this?
    If they're half as good as the Trinity orchestra are every year, ill be delighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭CiarraiAbu2

maximoose wrote: »
    Uh oh....

you trying to give me a stroke,

I have the 3 day festival ticket and the order confirmation from pinkmoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,855 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

I'm bringing just rain appropriate clothing and if it's sunny out, I'm gonna go around bollock naked.

You've been warned.

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

rocks1981 wrote: »
    frantic190 wrote: »
    Looking like All Tvvins might be the replacement for Whilk & Misky?

https://twitter.com/alltvvins/status/770968906282467330
    Tvvins were playing in Stephens Green shopping center at lunchtime.
    And?
    Great band, seen them twice and they've a great power behind them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭PabloAndRoy

you trying to give me a stroke,

I have the 3 day festival ticket and the order confirmation from pinkmoon.

good to go so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭rocks1981

BadTurtle wrote: »
    rocks1981 wrote: »
    frantic190 wrote: »
    Looking like All Tvvins might be the replacement for Whilk & Misky?

https://twitter.com/alltvvins/status/770968906282467330
    Tvvins were playing in Stephens Green shopping center at lunchtime.
    And?
    Great band, seen them twice and they've a great power behind them.
    and.... If id heard the rumor i would have asked them :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭DoubleJoe7

Can anyone recommend any good previews from newspapers/blogs with tips on some of the lesser known acts that are worth checking out?

sadie06 wrote: »
    I presume they mean your weekend ticket for the festival, as opposed to just a Sunday ticket.

Yeah Sadie,

For a while I thought I had to have a camping ticket as well as the pinkmoon payment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Why wouldn't it be? The RTE concert orchestra are very accomplished and always put on an amazing show! I'm gutted with the clash with Todd Terje :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭PabloAndRoy

AdMMM wrote: »
    Why wouldn't it be? The RTE concert orchestra are very accomplished and always put on an amazing show! I'm gutted with the clash with Todd Terje :(

Well for one, the Heritage Orchestra from the BBC Proms thing has a long history of this kind of thing.

Don't get me wrong, I have seen RTE Concert Orchestra a good few times and was never disappointed.

I guess I am just a cynic and don't want to build up expectations only to be dashed. Probably it will be top notch :) .. I certainly hope so .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭room_149

peteeeed wrote: »
    the VIP bars open later is about it
    I never bother with the bars- much happier freely bringing my own booze into the arena and not having to spend a penny ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Spaceshanty

Right lads, need a steer in the right direction. Long time Picnicer and bought a 6-man tent last year, although it feckin killed me getting it into the campsite after the trolley I bought disintegrated.

Anyone know where I could get a good solid metal one, preferably one with the larger wheels. Actually, anything , my back wont put up with any messing this year......

PS CANT BLEEDIN WAIT !!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

Right lads, need a steer in the right direction. Long time Picnicer and bought a 6-man tent last year, although it feckin killed me getting it into the campsite after the trolley I bought disintegrated.

Anyone know where I could get a good solid metal one, preferably one with the larger wheels. Actually, anything , my back wont put up with any messing this year......

PS CANT BLEEDIN WAIT !!! :)

http://www.argos.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/Search?storeId=10152&langId=111&q=TROLLEY&c_1=1|category_root|Sports+and+leisure|14419152&pp=20&c_2=2|cat_14419152|Camping+and+caravanning|14419397

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭duckdiggler

humming Frankly Mr shankly all morning at work
    looking forward to These Charming Men as my starting point.
    Leaving Dublin at 1pm friday - did the same last year and it took forever to get there.
    Traffic was backed up just after Rathcoole so went cross country with no plan - some feckin village had an hour tailback all due to a red light in middle of village and no cop to wave people on....:angry:
    - abondonded all the gear in the car when we got there and ran in while drinking about 3 cans to get to see Ride at 7
    Might plan a shneaaakier route down to get at least close to stradbally before tailing back this time.
    F*ck all this weather stuff. Plenty of big tents on site to visit to dry off. Keep spare stuff dry in black sacks or the boot of your car.

Anyone spot good deals for slabs this week ?

Lild were selling some last week for around 45, surely someone on here bought one

Well for one, the Heritage Orchestra from the BBC Proms thing has a long history of this kind of thing.

Don't get me wrong, I have seen RTE Concert Orchestra a good few times and was never disappointed.

I guess I am just a cynic and don't want to build up expectations only to be dashed. Probably it will be top notch :) .. I certainly hope so .
    Weepsie wrote: »

Because the BBC one had Pete Tong (an actual DJ), Jules Buckley (a composer), a throng of electronic musicians and the orchestra. Not doubting the talent of the RTE orchestra, but Jenny Greene is meh
    All she'll be doing is pressing play on the songs I presume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭fourmations

peteeeed wrote: »

wheels too small
    i use a fishing trolley which is very similar but has larger pnuematic wheels
    works a treat, you could try a fishing shop, i cant guarantee
    what they'll have in stock though,
    a fishing barrow would be even better, it wont topple if you pile it high

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Pudz21

BadTurtle wrote:
    All she'll be doing is pressing play on the songs I presume.

With a bit of luck, will be good craic id say. Cant beat 90s dance classics with good crowd in a tent in a field full of happy pills.
    And an option of Todd T if it turns out to be rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

Sorry about this, but do you need weekend camping tickets if you have PinkMoon just printout the order and it says to bring weekend camping tickets as well as the order confirmation?

YES, they are two totally seperate things.

Your EP ticket gets you through the main door, your Pink Moon order gets you comfy camping. All EP tickets (except sunday day tickets) are camping tickets but they are not Pink Moon camping tickets.

time to print out me pink moon thingy actually and stick it in the car, i will forget otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Fatfrog

Agreed RTE are quality, they can pick from the best musicians in the country.

I don't get why Jenny Greene is involved, if anything it's taking away from the orchestra! But I suppose it does give a precursor to the type of music we can expect.

Jenny Greene has been at the picnic for something like 8 years with 2FM but only ventured outside of the main arena to the salty dog for the first time last year by her own admission. I mean like c'mon...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭frantic190

Really looking forward to checking out Mothxr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭thevinylword

Did a mix again this year for anyone looking for some pre-Picnic listening, feel free to share around if you're into it :)

https://www.mixcloud.com/WobbieCostelloe/episode-31-packin-for-a-picnic-2016/

Forgot tracklist!

There'll be a download link later on too on there for anyone wanting it for the car or whatever

Toots & The Maytals - 54-46 (That's My Number) 7"
    Nas - No Ideas
    Krafty Kuts & Dr. Luke - Come Alive
    Mr. Scruff & Alice Russell - Music Takes Me Up
    Tamiko Jones - Let It Flow (Horse Meat Disco)
    Get Down Edits - Hang On
    Get Down Edits - Too Much
    John Talabot - Sunshine (Original Mix)
    Mr. Scruff - We Are Coming (Max Graef Remix)
    Colm K - Good Fridays
    New Jackson - Player Piano
    Roots Manuva - Dreamy Days (Super Furry Animals Dub)
    LCD Soundsystem - Too Much Love
    Todd Terje - Swing Star Pt 2
    LCD Soundsystem - Disco Infiltrator
    Hercules & Love Affair - Blind (Frankie Knuckles Vocal)
    Mr Scruff - Get A Move On

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭thevinylword

wheels too small
    i use a fishing trolley which is very similar but has larger pnuematic wheels
    works a treat, you could try a fishing shop, i cant guarantee
    what they'll have in stock though,
    a fishing barrow would be even better, it wont topple if you pile it high

Just on the trolleys - you need one with thick inflatable tyres

Those hard rubber wheel ones are useless and can't handle a lot of weight and churn up muck/grass in the wheels and seize up and fall off and you end up having a barney with your girlfriend 'cos she 'has a sore back' and can't carry anything and it's pissing rain and you still have one more load to go back the car for and you won't have it leaving the campsite on Monday morning when you're silently evaluating your relationship as you struggle back to ordinary life again

Anyway, something like this

http://www.diy.com/departments/mac-allister-upright-hand-truck-max-weight-200kg/312036_BQ.prd?icamp=recs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭Canneverfindit

Really looking forward to Jenny Greene and the Orchestra..

Anyway, for those of you who may be interested, there are female urinals in Dealz for €1.49. Honestly thought those were a myth but clearly I've lived a very sheltered life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭rocks1981

I didn't have a problem with maplins foldable one in 2015. Though i was only using it to carry 48 cans, a bag and a chair. Bringing it again this year, so hopefully no issues again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭MIRMIR82

Just on the trolleys - you need one with thick inflatable tyres

Those hard rubber wheel ones are useless and can't handle a lot of weight and churn up muck/grass in the wheels and seize up and fall off and you end up having a barney with your girlfriend 'cos she 'has a sore back' and can't carry anything and it's pissing rain and you still have one more load to go back the car for and you won't have it leaving the campsite on Monday morning when you're silently evaluating your relationship as you struggle back to ordinary life again

Are ye still together? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭GidCudi

Who has the sneaky ways of getting cans past security :) my go to Pringles can didn't fare well last year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭BUBBLES1978

GidCudi wrote: »
    Who has the sneaky ways of getting cans past security :) my go to Pringles can didn't fare well last year!

always put them in around the waist line of my shorts tie a hoody around then and well cause iv big boobs wave them in their face whilst always trying to finish one can in front of them and low and behold im in like flynn with about six cans :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D