Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jan and Klodi's Party Bus - part II **off topic discussion**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,912 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Chuchote wrote: »
    We haven't yet settled on a way of saying it; I'd say "One metre eighty", have also heard "One point eight metres".

I think the most common way internationally is to use cm.

EDIT: Apparently in the Netherlands, they say: one metre eighty. And in Spain.
    Actually, based on this, I'd say "one eighty" is pretty standard:
    http://boards.straightdope.com/sdmb/showthread.php?t=643437

For the old and creaky, it would be a big help if we moved over completely; while most people can envisage what 30cm means now, we still have to translate metres to feet - we know what six feet looks like immediately…

I think what's probably handy about feet for height is that 5-foot-tall is pretty short, and 6-foot-tall is pretty tall. Most people fall between those two. So that's quite neat.

150cm is pretty short, so that works, but 200cm is really tall. So it's not quite as neat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,094 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

lennymc wrote: »
    Afaik, technically there is no legislation that deals with a pushbike travelling in excess of a posted speed limit as the law relates to motorised vehicles iirc.
    I'm open to correction but I think that the driver of any vehicle including motor vehicles can only be convicted of exceeding the speed limit if the vehicle has been constructed with a speedometer. That would exempt bicycles and some motor vehicles (although motor vehicles constructed without a speedometer tend to be slow moving anyway).

I presume a Garda could apply another charge such as 'without due care and attention' or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,094 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

i was recently telling some german colleagues about the not inconsiderable period where ireland had road signs in km and speed limit signs in mph. they thought it was hilarious.
    Yet all over the world, motor vehicle tyres are measured in imperial and metric - e.g. 225/50/16 (a width of 225mm, side wall 50% of the width and a diameter of 16 inches).

Wood is also usually measured in imperial and metric - sheet of chipboard 8 feet by 4 feet and 25mm thick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,167 ✭✭✭buffalo

tomasrojo wrote: »
    My mortgage-approval medical assessment, done over the phone by a nice lady from England, ended up giving me a height of 183m. So you'll know me when you see me.

She measured your height over the phone? That's pretty impressive.

I think I told her it was 183cm. I thought it was quite funny when the form gave it in metres. I didn't bother changing it. Maybe it invalidates my life insurance. Especially when I'm killed by a passing helicopter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,389 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

buffalo wrote: »
    At 183m, she might have been able to see him.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,008 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Listening to the Newstalk item on the proposed 30kph limit for parts of Dublin. The usual clowns, and host, chimed in with the whataboutery on how evil cyclists, and them speeding.

Ciaran Cuffe said the limits will apply to everybody.
    I was shocked at the presenter, unlike the previous chuckle brothers who balanced each other out, the new presenter was very much the middle aged neanderthal that is exemplified (parody like) by Jeremy Clarkson. He just kept prattling on about it being very slow, not really dangerous, blah, blah, blah. He done a study showing that bicycles could do over 30kmph (that's right, him in his evening herald jumper on the side of the Liffey seeing could a mate hammer it is now a study), so cars should be allowed go faster without causing danger.

Ciaran Cuffe handled himself very well, never phased, polite. I understand his comment about everyone, there is a whole different discussion that the neanderthal would not have comprehended that would have turned into a load of whatabouttery nonsense. I presume Ciaran frequents internet forums and knows a troll when he meets one by the way he just gave a little to save a lot.
    The lights turned green and I cycled across – and then, right in front of my wheel, a driver whipped through and around into Beaver Row. It wasn't even as if she was catching the end of the green filter; the green filter had changed to red a good 10 seconds before, and I'd started only when my light went green.

As Tom Jones would say, it's not unusual ♫♪♫

Reminds me of this scene (NSFW) about human nature. Traffic lights in Ireland hav significant delays, particularly in Dublin, for no really justifiable reason. Other than road designers expect people to amber gamble, and eventually after a time to run a red light. Some lights actually have a lull time of a few seconds from when one red goes till another turns. Unheard of in most similar countries (regarding traffic behaviour).
    The real hold-out for Imperial seems to be human height. It's slowly on the retreat elsewhere, though I don't expect it to disappear. But you almost never hear an Irish person express the height of another human in cm or m.

Human weight is another hold-out, but at least it's pretty common to hear people's weight expressed in kg, especially in medical contexts.

Except for babies for some reason. People get very confused about metric babies.
    I referred to my baby in kilos because thats what i know and also because that is what the nurse said. My wife and family looked at me with peculiarity. "and whats that?", my sister thought I was trying to show off, FFS.
    I think the most common way internationally is to use cm.

EDIT: Apparently in the Netherlands, they say: one metre eighty. And in Spain.
    Actually, based on this, I'd say "one eighty" is pretty standard:
    http://boards.straightdope.com/sdmb/showthread.php?t=643437

I don't say one eighty, mainly because I am taller than that :p but if I was 180cm, I would say one eighty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

Except for babies for some reason. People get very confused about metric babies.

The only way I can get my head around it is in comparison to UCI min bike weight. A bit like the turkey/baby weight in the Snapper.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Thats what he told his wife when she heard him telling some burd with an Essex accent something about being a big boy on a premium rate line ....

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,911 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Yet all over the world, motor vehicle tyres are measured in imperial and metric - e.g. 225/50/16 (a width of 225mm, side wall 50% of the width and a diameter of 16 inches).

Wood is also usually measured in imperial and metric - sheet of chipboard 8 feet by 4 feet and 25mm thick.

And Ireland and the UK still use degrees, minutes and seconds for angles, whereas the rest of Europe has been using Gradians for decades. Working in the geospatial industry, its always fun when a surveyor brings some measurement equipment in from Europe and doesn't realise by default it has 400 subdivisions in a circle rather than 360. Makes for some very interesting maps... ;)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,008 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

smacl wrote: »
    And Ireland and the UK still use degrees, minutes and seconds for angles, whereas the rest of Europe has been using Gradians for decades. Working in the geospatial industry, its always fun when a surveyor brings some measurement equipment in from Europe and doesn't realise by default it has 400 subdivisions in a circle rather than 360. Makes for some very interesting maps... ;)

Hands up, I did not know this, I feel improved with education today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Hungrycol wrote: »
    The only way I can get my head around it is in comparison to UCI min bike weight. A bit like the turkey/baby weight in the Snapper.

Bags of sugar is my yard stick when it comes to babies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Crocked

Wasn't there a mission banjaxed because NASA were using imperial and one of their Italian suppliers were using metric and somewhere along the way figures got mixed up?

Edit: found this and it wasn't quiet what I remembered but similar enough cock up

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mars_Climate_Orbiter#Cause_of_failure

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,516 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Or the gimli glider, a Canadian jet plane which ran out of fuel because of a conversion issue - the pilots thought they'd something like 10000kg of fuel on board, but they actually had 10000lb.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,458 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

EDIT: Apparently in the Netherlands, they say: one metre eighty.
    In the Netherlands it's more usually starting off one metre ninety .....

I actually use metric/imperial conversion a lot of the time. I'll harp back to pre-decimalisation coinage (a tanner, or a thruppeny bit (12 sided!)), or when I'm driving along I'll convert km to miles and vice versa (have some of the car computer settings on metric and some on imperial). For some reason I've pretty much moved over to metric for weight though (Probably because I'm now under a hundred kg!!). I'll do the conversions in the head just for the hell of it (2.54cm, 1.609km, 2.2lbs etc)

Of course, they should use subdivisions of 2π.

I only realised quite recently why mathematicians use that. Well, I think I did. It's just points on the circumference of a unit circle: when you get to 2π, you've gone all the way around; hence 360° is equivalent to the formula for the circumference of a unit circle.

It was news to me anyway.

Crocked wrote: »
    Wasn't there a mission banjaxed because NASA were using imperial and one of their Italian suppliers were using metric and somewhere along the way figures got mixed up?

Edit: found this and it wasn't quiet what I remembered but similar enough cock up

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mars_Climate_Orbiter#Cause_of_failure
    I worked for a lab subcontracted by NASA. You were in big trouble if the lab boss caught you using Imperial. I think they just about tolerated PSI for the gauges on the liquid nitrogen tanks, but you couldn't write anything out in PSI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

Never heard of gradian either. A new concept and a new word! It's like Christmas!

There was a tragic parachuting accident many years ago when a Continental woman jumping in Ireland was told to release her ripcord at 1,000 feet from the ground. She seems to have gone wrong trying to convert this, and the people jumping with her were wildly gesturing at her to pull the ripcord; she realised too late and was killed.

The sooner we decimalise time the better. Then we can move on to the calendar...

Roman Mars did a very good podcast a while back about the thirteen-month calendar that used to be used for internal organisation in Kodak.

Not decimalised exactly, but very clever.

http://99percentinvisible.org/episode/the-calendar/

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,458 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Just need to be patient. It will happen once the revolution of the earth around the sun slows sufficiently to result in a 1,000 day year. 10 months each with 10 weeks and each week comprising 10 days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭OleRodrigo

13886439_1351163618227217_3779001475372826672_n.jpg?oh=776a881c2632a5e2a19a908cb77af946&oe=585416F2&__gda__=1480378573_52f6299ad1087f67085546f4db40c889

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

Didn't the Egyptians use 10-day calendars? Not sure how weekends would work out, though. On the other hand, a 24-hour day with 60-minute hours and 60-second minutes makes my poor head reel.

Beasty wrote: »
    Just need to be patient. It will happen once the revolution of the earth around the sun slows sufficiently to result in a 1,000 day year. 10 months each with 10 weeks and each week comprising 10 days.
    Apparently the sidereal year is pretty stable, but the solar days are getting longer (Earth's rotation slowing down), meaning that there will be fewer days per year over time. I guess we can aim for a hundred-day year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Roman Mars did a very good podcast a while back about the thirteen-month calendar that used to be used for internal organisation in Kodak.

Not decimalised exactly, but very clever.

http://99percentinvisible.org/episode/the-calendar/

13 months of 4 weeks exactly each. I'm in love.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,516 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

13 months of 4 weeks exactly each. I'm in love.
    but that doesn't add up to one year? they'd have a leap day at least once per year.

It's all in the link. It's very clever. But never caught on (apart from Kodak using it internally). Too much effort to persuade everyone to change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Crocked

It'd wouldn't be uncommon for companies to break a year into 13 periods for management accounts