mentally ill man stabs people shouting allahu akbar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Sticky this thread imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I'm not necessarily disagreeing with anything you said but I'm curious about what you think is being put forward as an excuse. It has come up a few times in this thread but nobody has replied with an example of the excuses being made.

Do you think the mental health aspect is an excuse of some kind?

It is becoming a bit of an excuse lately. For instance with the attack on the british back packers this morning it said on sky news that police were looking into both terrorism and mental illness as lines of inquiry. As if it had to be one of those as reasons for the attack, and as if one couldn't be related to the other. It seems as if the attacker was mentally ill then theres a bit of 'nothing to see here 'going on, as if the terrorist motive is completely invalidated just because he suffered from mental illness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,088 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Yes. Before we know even the name of the perpetrator we seem to know their medical background. It seems the go to line of the police ( I think it's the police rather than the media ) to make it look like an isolated event that's nothing to do with Islam rather than a trend across Europe and the world which Islam is the common factor.

We don't know the medical background of any of the cases as far as I know. The last fella had a mental health history. That could be anything. Could be a bout of prolonged grief after a bereavement. Could have been signed off work for a week with stress, could gave been sectioned for having paranoid delusions and violent behaviour.

That information could have been provided by a friend or colleague who told a journalist that yer man had seen a counsellor at some point. By that understanding, I have a 'history of mental health' as I saw a counsellor a few times a few years ago. As I'm sure s lot of other people on this thread have.

I've said I don't know exactly what terrorism is so it's easy to play fast and loose with classification of an attack. If it was your job to minimise terrorists incidents then you would be quick to point out that you can't classify every mental patient going loco as terrorism if you can't rule out mental health as a causal factor.

I think the first incident is probably a case of mental health and religious extremist Terrorism. I don't know though. And I haven't attempted to excuse or minimise anything he did.

wakka12 wrote:
    It is becoming a bit of an excuse lately. For instance with the attack on the british back packers this morning it said on sky news that police were looking into both terrorism and mental illness as lines of inquiry. As if it had to be one of those as reasons for the attack, and as if one couldn't be related to the other. It seems as if the attacker was mentally ill then theres a bit of 'nothing to see here 'going on, as if the terrorist motive is completely invalidated just because he suffered from mental illness.

I've disagreed with that approach a number of times in this thread already. Some people seem certain it has to be terrorism. Must be because they're terrified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Butters1979

I've disagreed with that approach a number of times in this thread already. Some people seem certain it has to be terrorism. Must be because they're terrified.

And as I've said, if you classify it terrorism or mental illness or anything else it doesn't matter. It's premeditated, 'kaffur' targeting murder. Their motivations are irrelevant. Their actions and stopping them is all that matters.

If mental health is a factor on causing it, don't you think it would be an important factor in prediction and preventing it?

We already have treatment for mental health. It's a bullsh1t excuse and a red herring.

That doesn't address my question.

If mental illness is a factor in an attack then treatment hasn't been effective.

Maybe you think mental health has been comprehensively looked at as a factor in addressing terrorism. I don't think it has.

I do know that the nature of these attacks gas changed recently. It's not about the twin towers type of attack any more. It'd more about small scale attacks by individuals. If mental health us a factor in causing the attached is then mental health is a factor in predicting and preventing them.

I'm not on for excusing anything but I'm also not on for ignoring reality by ignoring a mental health aspect.

What do you think can be gained by ignoring mental health if it was a causal factor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭Stigura

I see a spot of 'mental health' has kicked off in Aus now. This one was hungry too. Asking for Allan's Snackbar :rolleyes:

Ooh, bite me!

http://mobile.reuters.com/article/idUSKCN10Z06J

Stigura wrote:
    I see a spot of 'mental health' has kicked off in Aus now. This one was hungry too. Asking for Allan's Snackbar

What are you in about? That article doesn't even mention mental health. That's lazy on your part if you couldn't even bother to find an article that mentions mental health.

Oh, it was just an excuse to say Allan's Snackbar. I see. 2/10 Stigura. Could do better.

Could do better. Just can't be arsed.

What I'm 'in' about is the inevitable conclusion that this guy too will have suffered 'mental issues'.

So, of course, will the next one ..... It's getting old.

Stigura wrote:
    What I'm 'in' about is the inevitable conclusion that this guy too will have suffered 'mental issues'.

Ah. Said with the confidence of someone who knows nothing about what they're talking. You seem to have it sussed. I haven't seen anyone say this guy had a mental health history but you're probably in the know about these things.

So what if he did suffer 'mental issues' (not sure why that's in quotes)? Would that diminish the crime in your eyes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

It's slightly reassuring if it's down to mental issues because the whole jihad, global caliphate thing is obviously a new and very alarming situation (unless you live in the Middle East), and more likely to be a rare, isolated incident than if it's religiously motivated. I do think the police or media know this and they're trying to keep the public calm and reassured-and in a way, lying to us.

Ah. Said with the confidence of someone who knows nothing about what they're talking. You seem to have it sussed. I haven't seen anyone say this guy had a mental health history but you're probably in the know about these things.

So what if he did suffer 'mental issues' (not sure why that's in quotes)? Would that diminish the crime in your eyes?

The title of the thread qoutes the news article that says 'mental health issues'. You are trying to argue around in circles looking to deflect from the main issue. Muslims targeting non Muslims in premeditated acts of murder.

Wether you of the media or anyone else calls any of them 'mental health' sufferers doesn't matter. You point we can treat it is a red herring. Mental health problems will always be around. The difference is the individual and their beliefs in the first place.
    You can't 'treat' a backwards culture based and hate, xenophobia and oppressions that teaches anyone not like them is fair game.

Sorry, 'Dude'. Ye obviously missed the bit where I said I " Can't be arsed' ;)

Honestly, I'd love to see some of you guys in action, down the pub. AH: " Terrible earthquake, in Italy! "

Stigura;. " Yeah. One in India too, wasn't there? "

AH: " What are you trying to imply?! :mad: "

FFS! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Stigura wrote: »
    I see a spot of 'mental health' has kicked off in Aus now. This one was hungry too. Asking for Allan's Snackbar :rolleyes:

Ooh, bite me!

http://mobile.reuters.com/article/idUSKCN10Z06J

Article never mentions mental health, the thing this thread is about.

It's amazing how some very clear things have to be spelled out to people.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Stigura wrote:
    Sorry, 'Dude'. Ye obviously missed the bit where I said I " Can't be arsed'

You're rambling

K-9 wrote: »
    Article never mentions mental health, the thing this thread is about.

It's amazing how some very clear things have to be spelled out to people.

This thread is titled 'mentally ill man stabs people shouting allahu Akbar'. That article had someone stabbing people shouting allahu Akbar. So I think it's relevant here. Just trying to shut down the conversation again.
    This thread is about the recent attacks from Muslims and the very convenient trend of blaming it on mental health. The whole point is mental health isn't the issue with any of these.

The title of the thread qoutes the news article that says 'mental health issues'. You are trying to argue around in circles looking to deflect from the main issue. Muslims targeting non Muslims in premeditated acts of murder.
    Hold on. You've lost the run of the conversation. There are 2 cases being discussed. The thread title refers to a fella who had a history of mental health treatment. Stigura is on about a separate case where nobody has said the perpetrator has a mental health history except Stigura.
    Wether you of the media or anyone else calls any of them 'mental health' sufferers doesn't matter. You point we can treat it is a red herring. Mental health problems will always be around. The difference is the individual and their beliefs in the first place. You can't 'treat' a backwards culture based and hate, xenophobia and oppressions that teaches anyone not like them is fair game.
    It's well known that people having a psychotic break are more likely to commit violent crimes. Are you suggesting that we shouldn't try to treat mental health issues or psychotic breaks to minimise harm?

This thread is titled 'mentally ill man stabs people shouting allahu Akbar'. That article had someone stabbing people shouting allahu Akbar. So I think it's relevant here. Just trying to shut down the conversation again. This thread is about the recent attacks from Muslims and the very convenient trend of blaming it on mental health. The whole point is mental health isn't the issue with any of these.

Stop and read what people are saying

Stigura is referring to a case in Australia. Stigura is sure the guy has mental health history but nobody else has said it. Stigura demonstrated their ignorance by giving out that mental health will be blamed and posting a link to an article which conspicuously doesn't mention mental health.
    Stigura wrote:
    I see a spot of 'mental health' has kicked off in Aus now. This one was hungry too. Asking for Allan's Snackbar

Hold on. You've lost the run of the conversation. There are 2 cases being discussed. The thread title refers to a fella who had a history of mental health treatment. Stigura is on about a separate case where nobody has said the perpetrator has a mental health history except Stigura.

It's well known that people having a psychotic break are more likely to commit violent crimes. Are you suggesting that we shouldn't try to treat mental health issues or psychotic breaks to minimise harm?

I have not lost the run of the conversation. Please get off your high horse. If someone disagrees with you it's not necessarily because they don't understand the issue. There are two seperste cases but they are the same issue.

I am not suggesting we do not treat people with mental illness why do you keep coming back to this. Show me were the hell I said that. I am suggesting mental health treatment will not solve the cause of these attacks. You have nothing but strawman arguments.

I have not lost the run of the conversation. Please get off your high horse. If someone disagrees with you it's not necessarily because they don't understand the issue. There are two seperste cases but they are the same issue.
    Stop digging.

One case has a guy with a history of mental illness. The other case doesn't. I assume you mistook what was being said when you accused myself and k9 of avoiding the issue or shutting the conversation down (we were referring to the second case)

I am not suggesting we do not treat people with mental illness why do you keep coming back to this. Show me were the hell I said that. I am suggesting mental health treatment will not solve the cause of these attacks. You have nothing but strawman arguments.
    If mental health break was one of the causal factors in an attack, then how in the name of Jaysus would addressing mental health not be part of the solution?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭NoCrackHaving

If mental health break was one of the causal factors in an attack, then how in the name of Jaysus would addressing mental health not be part of the solution?

Indeed, I think people are confusing attempting to understand the link (if any) between mental illness and terrorism and somehow condoning the actions. Some mental illness (specifically schizophrenia ) sadly can often cause violence in its sufferers who often seem to latch onto whatever ideology is popular at the minute and hence some of the terrorism we have seen recently. Would increased mental health care decrease terrorism? Going on the stats I have to hand it seems unlikely as those with mental illness are actually significantly less likely to become involved in terrorism than the general population.

Indeed, I think people are confusing attempting to understand the link (if any) between mental illness and terrorism and somehow condoning the actions. Some mental illness (specifically schizophrenia ) sadly can often cause violence in its sufferers who often seem to latch onto whatever ideology is popular at the minute and hence some of the terrorism we have seen recently.

Schizophrenia is the best example and there are plenty more.

There's no end or people who think that think try to understand what causes an event is an attempt to excuse that event. I really don't know why that is. Does understanding the cause of an attack make them less angry? Less scarred? More scarred? More empathetic?

Without a doubt understanding the causes of behaviour gives us the best chance of predicting and controlling behaviour.
    Would increased mental health care decrease terrorism? Going on the stats I have to hand it seems unlikely as those with mental illness are actually significantly less likely to become involved in terrorism than the general population.
    It's undoubtedly true that a tiny fraction if people with mental illness become terrorists. The more interesting question is to ask how many terrorists have mental illness.

I know the first case (the case the title refers to) was treated for mental health at some point in their life. We don't know what for though. I think one or both of the shooters in Sandy Hook school or that Dylan Roof fella, had a history of mental health. I'm not sure if many of the Muslim fellas actually had a mental health history.

Some posters are completely certain there's a mental health aspect to all/most the cases and ironically they think we should ignore it as a red herring! That's a frightening approach

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

If man can't be ill in his own mentality then he should be mental in his own illness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭NoCrackHaving

Update on the murder in Australia, looks like it wasn't terrorism related, apparently the murderer told everyone he was going to marry the woman he killed and when she wasn't interested he went to her room and stabbed her. Any French speakers in the hostel said his rants had no terrorism or Islamic references and made no sense at all.

Poor lass who was murdered just because some **** couldn't handle rejection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,830 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

Update on the murder in Australia, looks like it wasn't terrorism related, apparently the murderer told everyone he was going to marry the woman he killed and when she wasn't interested he went to her room and stabbed her. Any French speakers in the hostel said his rants had no terrorism or Islamic references and made no sense at all.

Poor lass who was murdered just because some **** couldn't handle rejection.
    Your mental wellbeing would have to come into question though, if that's your reaction to being rejected. It's certainly not a sane response. He didn't just kill that poor girl, but another English tourist who tried to help her is in a critical condition, two other people were injured and a dog was also killed.

Eh, I think you'll find that the oracles quoted below know that it was all about terrorism. They didn't even need to wait for any information to be certain.
    Stigura wrote:
    This thread is titled 'mentally ill man stabs people shouting allahu Akbar'. That article had someone stabbing people shouting allahu Akbar. So I think it's relevant here. Just trying to shut down the conversation again. This thread is about the recent attacks from Muslims and the very convenient trend of blaming it on mental health. The whole point is mental health isn't the issue with any of these.
    I have not lost the run of the conversation. Please get off your high horse. If someone disagrees with you it's not necessarily because they don't understand the issue. There are two separate cases but they are the same issue.

Thanks for the update NoCrackHaving. Information is a good thing. We'll wait and see what is found out for sure because nothing is certain at this stage.

At the moment it looks like that poor woman didn't want him and he killed her. I see another British fella is in serious condition trying to stop him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

I remember the case of a man in Harolds Cross who was stabbed 143 times with a garden shears because his killer believed he was satan. Nobody questioned his mental health status. Nobody linked him to religious extremists. He's currently in the central mental hospital. Isn't he lucky he wasn't Islamic? He'd have been a definite terrorist then.

And I can't get over all these people with mental health issues telling us how they don't feel the need to kill people. Good for you. Would it surprise you to learn that there is more than one kind of mental health issue in existence? Would it surprise you to learn that there are different degrees of conditions? Some people are more prone to violence due to their condition, just like some people are more likely to attempt suicide due to their condition.