Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Thu 18/8 - Rest.

Fri 19/8 - Stretches, before a 2 mile tip around at 9:35 per mile.

Sat 20/8 - Frank Duffy 10 Mile

This was my fourth consecutive attempt at the FD10, and my sixth 10 miler in all. My PB (1:14:13) was set in the Brian Boru 10 mile on Easter Monday this year.

I drove down and got parked nice and early, and decided to take care of the essentials and get a warmup run done without too much delay. The rain was really heavy and the wind strong, but I was thinking, "isn't it great that we're able to do this?" Got back to the car about 9:15 and ditched the creature comforts before jogging back down for a bit of respite under a tree, where I met quite a few people, including Singer, kin9pin and TFGR among others. However, I decided after a while that it would be better to just get out in it and run, as my top was starting to stick to me. I found a spot a long, long way back.....or so I thought, this would turn out to be important!! Finally, with the rain easing off somewhat, we were away!!

Mile 1

Traffic was extremely congested along Chesterfield Avenue. However, I didn't think there was a need for so many people to take to the paths - on both sides I might add. I sat back and eased around the lefthander onto Ordnance Survey Road, into a strong breeze but with a decent bit of shelter at least. I did my best to stick to the plan and keep it nice and slow through here...too slow?

Mile 2

The start of this mile brought a nice bit of water to splash through as I took the shortest route along the Upper Glen Road. Again, my plan was to let the field separate out a bit before I started going up a gear or two. I did end up on my own for a bit going down the hill towards Chapelizod Gate, but I was confident I could take most or all of the group in front without too much hassle.

Mile 3

We turned up and away from the Chapelizod Gate, into the first climb of the day. I decided to pick up the pace a small bit, as already a lot of people around me were starting to struggle. I passed a work colleague who had finished ahead of me in the 10k as we approached the S-bends, and then a Tallaght trio as we got to the highest point of this section. One of them called out 7:43 just after we went through the mile marker. Definitely too slow....time to pick it up again!!

Mile 4

It was nice to go down the Military Hill under race conditions for a change! The hill up to the Wellington monument immediately afterwards slowed me a small bit, and it was a relief that our stint along Chesterfield was short lived at this point, before we turned around the back of the azoo. I was still keeping my form and running well, in my opinion, and passing a lot of people without being passed - apart from a guy in a red top with "Run Till Fit" written on it, who seemed to make it his business to try and surge away from me every time I passed him. RTF? WTF?

Mile 5

RTF disappeared among the crowds ahead, but I was more concerned with trying to keep my shape as we swung left onto the North Road. I've never enjoyed this part of the park, so keeping concentration was vital. This I managed better than before. I caught up to aceygray just before half way, and tried to get her to run with me, but she didn't want to slow me down, so I carried on regardless!

Mile 6

I lost a bit of this time at this water station, as well as the one before. Looking back, I'm thinking was there that much of a need to take on water twice? I might have worked a bit harder than necessary to regain my position afterwards, certainly with respect to the one in this mile. I was looking forward to the end of this section, and was surprised to pass a lad from the local parkrun who would normally be about the same standard as me. I tried to get him to join me, but he'd clearly gone out too fast and was feeling the effects.

Mile 7

We started to run downhill after the Ashtown Gate, but in this exposed section we had the wind in our faces before turning left onto Chesterfield. At last a decent bit of downhill!! Somewhere around the junction with Furze Road, I noticed two DDAC lads who I remembered from the Fingal 10k and was thinking I'd be in good shape for a PB if I can get by them. I duly passed them just before the 7 mile marker. Less than a parkrun to go now!!

Mile 8

On down the hill we continued, but I have to say I was a bit cheesed off to see that we were running on the paths after passing the Phoenix. Certainly it slowed up my progress, and no doubt quite a few others suffered in similar fashion. A sharp right hander followed, with a nice blast of wind added!. I kept away from the water this time. It was funny to see all the girls with arms outstretched and water in hand, but nobody (in that group anyway) taking them! I hope the runners behind were more glad of it :) Getting onto the Acres Road proper, I'd cleared the group and was on my own as WOOOOOF! the wind really hit me, as I'd about 30-40 metres to make up on the next group, without any shelter to speak of as the wind more than negated the fact that we were running downhill. The DDAC boys caught me as I eventually got on to the back of the group; two heads certainly seemed to be better than one!

Mile 9

Having said that, I made my way through the group fairly comfortably. To my surprise, I caught and passed a clubmate who had left me behind in Mile 2, and who has been a bit ahead of me in the sessions. Another surprise soon followed, as I spotted RTF stepping onto the grass. I must confess I was thinking "serves him right for trying to race me earlier!" Through the chicane and starting back up the hill, I could feel my form going a bit and had to give myself a bit of a pep talk before I fell apart altogether. I've rarely finished well up this hill, so maybe a bit of negativity was starting to creep in. Still and all, I was continuing to pass lots of runners, although a few more were passing me now.

Mile 10

Only one mile left now, keep it up!! But although my training has been going well of late, I was feeling a bit battered by all the windy weather, and my pace was dropping a bit as we started to turn for home. Knowing there was only about 400 metres left once we turned onto the Furze Road, the plan was to just hammer it all the way to the line. It didn't quite happen like that. Although I passed a lot more than passed me, it was still a bit disappointing to be pipped on the line by one or two. I was almost right alongside Murph_D at the finish, although I was a lot happier with my run than he was with his. Sure I got a PB... didn't I ? I briefly met FBOT afterwards, and met aceygray again on the way back to Chesterfield Avenue.

Remember I thought I was "a long, long way back" at the start? Well I was, but it didn't take anywhere near as long to cross the start line as I imagined. So it was to my disgust when I saw the text later with a chiptime of 1:14:19....six seconds slower than my PB!!!!

Analysis

I was still fairly confident that I could get a PB due to improvements to my training in recent months, in spite of the horrendous conditions. Maybe I overcompensated at the start and pushed a bit too hard in the middle, leaving not quite enough for the closing uphill. I also had in my head that all I had to do was stay upright and I'd get the PB, to the extent that subconsciously I switched off a bit on the home straight. Having said that, it's not "the main thing", and I believe I am more than capable of taking at least 2 minutes off that particular PB next time out.

Next

I am signed up for the Race Series HM on September 24. Current PB is 1:37 on a short? course (Carlingford 2014) which I'd like to think I can attack if I'm in decent shape on the day.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,652 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Week 8, HHN1

Tues: 3.04. Time: 27.59. 9:13 min/mi. Avg Pace
    Weds: 6.35. Time: 1.01.03. 9:36 min/mi. Avg Pace
    Sat: FD10. Time: 1.32.xx - as per website/text. Watch says 1.32.17 (started it a little early) 9:05 min/mi. Avg Pace, website says 9:14

Learning experience, indeed.

Parked up around 8:15, did some reading/podcast listening and threw stuff into the boot. Headed down to the area around 9, I think. Conditions were pretty poor at the bag drop section, or rather, under the trees where people were huddled. Chatted to The Muppet briefly. Tree cover didn't do much. After I dropped my bag I stood in a nice puddle. I was pretty chilly under the tree and concerned I'd definitely pick up a dose and be sneezing half this evening or tomorrow - seem to have held off OK. Was probably overdressed for the run itself.

I don't have a detailed breakdown on the mileage as I'd struggle to remember it all. Said hi to TFGR at the start. First 1.5 or so miles was fairly jammers with people. Took heed of the advice not to weave in and out. Was talking to The Muppet briefly somewhere after mile 2, I think. By that stage it was easier to move about some more. And conditions were nowhere near as bad as what it was like waiting under the tree - win. Saw plenty of people with earphones throughout the whole thing. Felt sorry for the water station volunteers, some amount of tidying up to do there.

I did tag alongside some randomer for miles 5-6. There was more brightness coming into the sky too. I've no memory of even seeing mile marker 7, the randomer was gone like the wind soon enough after. Somewhere here is where I started to feel friction on the ball of my right foot, a bit down from my big toe. I'd say if this were a longer run ye old blister would have come lurking. Possibly tightness in the sock, or a combination of that and the dampness. Could feel it through the fresh socks later on and around the house too.

Mile 8 - iirc, this was the most exposed area with the football pitches, etc. The wind was more noticeable here I checked my watch at 8.9, or somewhere near the radio station VW Beetle that was blasting out the sort of tunes I was not in the humour at any stage of the morning. :pac: Was trying to remember Wubble Wubble's advice...not much luck there. I think this was about here where I saw the ambulance someone referred to. Could perhaps have picked up the pace some more and into 9. I was trying to gauge roughly where the finish was in an effort to pick up more speed, but couldn't see much ahead due to the amount of bodies.

Time: 1:32:xx. Happy enough with that, I guess, but room for improvement. It's the longest I've run in a race, so it's a start. Generally found it non-stressful from a running pov, though early on I did experience doubt in the form of 'how the fup am I going to do this for 26 odd miles?' :eek:

Got back to the car to check the feet, could tell they had been for a dip or two. Had some flapjacks and half of a sandwich - freezer packs! Thanks to the scouts who ran the bag tent. Next time I'll make sure everything's in a bag within a bag (not knocking the scouts). Fresh shoes and socks in the car. :cool: Didn't notice the chip time text on my phone until after I had a shower. Everything damp is in a heap inside the washing machine. :pac: Watched Commando on Netflix - that's about all my brain was able for. Later on some of the Olympics, very impressed with the American who won the women's triathlon.

Great to see everyone out there, though. Crossing the finishing felt amazing, and that's less of a thank feck this is done, and more of a game on for the HM.

Week 7
    Week 6
    Week 5
    Week 4
    Week 3
    Week 2
    Week 1
    Why the fup am I doing this thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Antwerp

Great FD10 race reports there, guys....which means I'll bow out of writing one as all a bit of a blur tbh, except the weather and the course should stand to us all for the HM and DCM.

On a random note the dj appearing twice was an unusual distraction. Goodie bag was quite good this year which was a nice bonus. Don't think my runners will ever dry out!!!

On plus side managed a PB earlier so delighted but on negative side my leg knee started to twinge around mile 2 and it remained so for most of the race so was happy crossing the line. Definitely finding a physio next week, as need to sort out the all hip and now knee issue.

Yes, the women' triathlon was a great contest, twas gas the American and the Swiss had a bit of a chat/turned argie bargie for the last 2km, with the American eventually winning. Felt sorry for Stanford who came 4th to her team mate who stole the bronze.

Back to watch the real athletes now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭tailgunner

Nice reports folks, sounds like it was a very tough day out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭aceygray

Ok, so I haven't read on all today's posts, but I'll just get this down first & then go catch up. I tend to kind of zone out and let my mind wander when I'm racing, so this will be a bit short on detail, because I just don't remember that much!

Pre race
    Set my alarm for 7.30, got up, had porridge and coffee and a drink of water, then went back to bed for an hour. My boyfriend usually drops me & carries my bag, but he decided to stay in bed this morning. Couldn't blame him :) When I left the house around 8.50 it was absolutely pouring down, and the wind was very strong. Did my best not to think about what was ahead of me. By coincidence I met my sister on the road to the park. We got parked together handy enough. Put on my plastic poncho, found a big tree to wee behind, and headed down to the bag drop.

The rain kept everyone huddled under the trees, so the area behind the start line was fairly clear. I was able to do a good warmup, by jogging down to the phoenix roundabout and back. At this stage it was about 5 minutes to start, so I joined the crowd close-ish, but not too close, to the start line. Threw away my poncho when the gun went.

I don't have a garmin, and I don't normally race with a watch. This means I never have any idea how long I've been running for, or what pace I'm doing. But I got myself a simple sportswatch which I used for the first time today, just so I can keep an eye on my time and record my splits. I knocked 2 mins off my 10k time in the Fingal this year, so I was kinda hoping for about the same here today. But once I saw the conditions I let go of that dream!

Mile 1
    Very congested, as expected. A bit of pushing and shoving, and lots of people running on the grass verge & paths. At the first corner lots of people stopped or veered out to avoid the huge puddle, leading to me running straight into the back of someone! Quite stressful. Split time 7.46

Mile 2
    Still quite crowded, but starting to thin out a bit. I felt like I was going too fast, so tried to reign it in a bit. Split time 7.10

Mile 3
    Finally have a bit of space to run at my own pace. Even though this section is quite hilly, I felt good and strong. Split time 7.32

Mile 4
    Don't remember too much of this. I skipped the water station because I had a small bottle of lucozede with me. Another hill up towards the monument, but I still felt pretty good. Split time 7.43

Mile 5
    Wubble Wubble caught up to me at the back of the zoo. He slowed down for a quick hello and some words of encouragement before legging it off ahead of me. I tried to keep up but it wasn't going to happen! Split time 7.53

Mile 6
    Skipped the water station again. Could really feel the wind towards the end of this section. Starting to feel a bit tired/heavy legs. Split time 7.59

Mile 7
    This section really dragged for me. I thought I'd never see the 7 mile marker! Although strangely enough it was actually one of my fastest miles. Quite exposed and windy. As I ran down Chesterfield avenue I could hear the finish line announcer to my right calling in the winners. I checked my watch - I'd been running for just over 50 minutes. I told myself "that'll be me in less than half an hour, just keep going". Split time 7.11

Mile 8
    This one was tough. We had to run down the narrow path on Chesterfield avenue, where I felt a bit boxed in. Then a right turn into a strong headwind which did not let up. I almost felt I was running at a standstill at times. Split time 8.21

Mile 9
    I was really starting to feel tired at this point.My legs felt tight and weak. I read somewhere (maybe here?) that if you force yourself to smile, it tricks your brain into thinking that your body is ok. So whenever I felt myself grimmacing, I forced a smile. I probably looked like a crazy person, but it did help. The last section of this was uphill and into a headwind. My favourite. Split time 7.56

Mile 10
    By now I knew it would be a push to beat my last year's time. I tried to pick up the pace, in spite of my tiredness. Kept telling myself I was nearly there, keep going, and forcing myself to smile. Didn't have much left for the sprint finish, but I gave it all I could. Split time 7.46

Post race
    My final chip time was 1.17.17 - nine whole seconds faster than last year! I had hoped to do better, but given the conditions I'm happy enough. Met Wubble Wubble again at the bag collection. Lucky we were there early enough, because it seemed like mayhem there just 10 minutes later.

Found my sister, and hung around the airtricity tent for ten minutes or so. Started to feel a bit cold. When she pointed out that my lips were turning blue, we decided it was best to leave. Sorry I didn't get to meet any of the rest of you.

I was somewhat disappointed straight after the race, but as I've though about it more I'm feeling more positive. In spite of the tough conditions and pushing myself quite hard, I actually feel ok now, no niggles or anything. I also feel like it was good prep for the marathon, and I learned some valuable lessons. Such as:

1. The value of a warm up. I never normally bother with one, but I did today. I'm not sure if it helped physically, but mentally I felt much less anxious than I normally would at the start of a race. And I felt my breathing was much better in the first mile or so.

2. Knowing the course. The first loop today was pretty much the same as last week's LSR. And thanks to Wubble's race preview, I had a good idea of the whole course in my head. It meant I felt prepared for each section, and there was no nasty surprises. I knew which parts I would have to push hard through, and which ones I could recover a bit on. It's made me think that I should try and run more of the marathon course on my LSRs on the weeks going forward.

3. Pacing. It was interesting to see my splits, as I normally wouldn't have a clue. It seems I ran quite an uneven race, with over a minute between my fastest and slowest mile. Since I've never recorded splits before, I don't know if this is bad or not. Maybe someone with more experience can advise?

4. Refuelling afterwards. I didn't do this properly today at all. I had a banana and some lucozade straight after the race. Then I went home, had a cup of tea, a cereal bar, a handful of almonds, and a yoghurt. I didn't feel especially hungry, so I thought that would be enough. A couple of hours later, I was out doing some shopping with my boyfriend when I suddenly crashed. I felt shaky, weak, nauseated, and very cranky! In future I will have to make sure I eat a proper meal soon after the race, whether I feel hungry for it or not.

I'm also glad I got to test out my race day prep, including breakfast, using contact lenses (I wear glasses but would prefer not to in the marathon), using to the bag drop etc.

So overall, a tough day, but I also enjoyed it. Happy enough with my time and feeling confident about my training for the marathon. A good result overall. Enjoying some beers now :D

Hope everyone else who was running today is happy too!

You're right to enjoy the PB beers G. Well deserved!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

Frank Duffy 10m:

Splits: 8:25, 7:45, 8:04, 8:01, 8:09, 8:09, 8:05, 8:02, 8:07, 8:07
    Chip time 1:21:36 (PB, but as this was my first official 10m race that was guaranteed)

Not a race report I know, others have already done a great job of describing the course and conditions.

Nice to meet Wubble Wubble (again), TFGR and Singer before the race. I paced the race pretty well after the first 2 miles and felt pretty strong on the last hill (I was expecting it to be steeper for some reason) and managed a little sprint at the end. The only bit I really had to dig in was the exposed part of mile 8 into the wind....that was tough.

Bumped into aquinn on the way back to the car. Well, I bumped into Aoife who I used to work with and I didn't twig until she said "you're one of my novices". Great to see you again Aoife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭kabuxa

Still on holidays feeling terribly lazy. Reading those reports OMG! Well done everyone. Saw the video of start line and you achieved already everything by going to Start line in those conditions! Wish I was there!! Massive congrats!!!

Sun 21/8 - 3 miles @10:00 per mile.

I managed to get out between the showers for this. Not a single other runner in sight, although a few rabbits ran for cover when they heard the noise of me plodding along the tarmac path :eek:

27.5ish miles (including warmup and cooldown from yesterday) for the week, a prep race in the bag, and still injury free :)

Only 10 weeks to go!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,652 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

aquinn wrote: »
    I'm going to be Stewarding so will be out roaring at everyone. Whatever you do don't run on the grass or cut corners. If someone starts giving out to you as a result that's me.

Shouting report, pls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭GOOSEPAUL

Sun 21/8 - 3 miles @10:00 per mile.

I managed to get out between the showers for this. Not a single other runner in sight, although a few rabbits ran for cover when they heard the noise of me plodding along the tarmac path :eek:

27.5ish miles (including warmup and cooldown from yesterday) for the week, a prep race in the bag, and still injury free :)

Only 10 weeks to go!
    Do you run along the canal WW?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭tailgunner

15th August - 21st August
    Monday - 6 miles w/ 10 x 400 @ 10kP
    Tuesday - 5 miles easy
    Wednesday - Rest
    Thursday - 10 miles w/ 2 x 3 miles @ MP
    Friday - 4 miles easy
    Saturday - 20 miles aerobic
    Sunday - Rest

Monday's session went very well. It felt a lot easier than the last time I had a go at the same session anyway.

A very easy recovery run on Tuesday. Bumped out the run to 5 miles as the legs were feeling okay.

Thursday's MP session went well too. The pace was a touch slower than previous sessions, but it felt very comfortable. My pace on the day will be a bit slower again, so this was a nice confidence boost.

Legs felt great on Friday - they didn't feel like much recovery was needed at all, but I kept it as easy as I could manage.

Saturday was my second 20 mile run. Got through it fine, but found it tough going towards the end. It was far from a bad run though, and I'm delighted to have another one of these out of the way. Only one more to go!

GOOSEPAUL wrote: »
    Do you run along the canal WW?

Occasionally....haven't been there in a couple of weeks? It's a good LSR from the house to North Strand and back, although the wind's usually against me coming home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭kittyclaws

Gross question time! I must have had a pebble or something in my runner yesterday - I've just noticed it's turned red with blood :S
    What's the best way to get it a nice pale blue again? I know some people say it's ok to throw them in the machine - but I'm not risking my marathon runners to find out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

kittyclaws wrote: »
    Gross question time! I must have had a pebble or something in my runner yesterday - I've just noticed it's turned red with blood :S
    What's the best way to get it a nice pale blue again? I know some people say it's ok to throw them in the machine - but I'm not risking my marathon runners to find out!

I wouldn't put them in the machine, did it once and destroyed a pair of runners. Have you tried rinsing them in some cold water?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭mel.b

kittyclaws wrote: »

I put my Saucony guides in the machine yesterday (short cycle) as they were a mess after the parkrun and then into the dryer and they are fine. I used to do the same with my Sketchers running shoes as well with no problems (even though when you buy them they try to upsell you some cleaning product, saying they (sketchers) can't go in the machine).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Got out for a 4 mile recovery run this morning....got wet again....must be the theme for the weekend!

Total for week 23 miles; didn't get out for the 2 miles in Friday.

Rest day tomorrow then back on plan!

Learning from the week.....time to purchase some nip guards I think!

Hopefully all recovered well after yesterday enjoyed reading the reports.

Bring on the week ahead.....17 mile LSR!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

I woke at 7 took my heartrate as I do every morning, It was 71 its usually mid to late 50's, tested my blood sugar and they were grand. I got up and ate my usual brakfast of porridge and a bananna bofore heading to the park. Arrived bofre 9 so just sat in the car for a while getting my stuff ready. About 9.15 i walked to the start to put my bag in and warm up.

I got under a tree at the bag drop , I met balck oil here but I wasnt sure it was him despite having ran a lsr with him the week before, I'm the worlds worst at remembering people, His race report confirmed it was him I was talking to, Apologies Black Oil thats so embarressing especially as I moved away from you to stand somewhere else. I was abolutely drenched through and shivering with the cold, the wind was cutting through me, I moved to try get better shelter , wind cover from a tree. I was wearing a lightweigh rain jacket which was useless so I took it off and put on a plastic bag i'd fashioned the evening before. I think it helped cut the wind but I was already really cold and wet, I should have wore the bag from the car. I put my bag in and headed to the startline.

I ran from the start back down chesterfield and back to warm up and then just waited for the start. I was still shivering but other than that I felt ok , took off the bag and we were off.

My plan was to run at my pmp of 10.18 but I wanted to have a little leeway so I started off a little quicker it was downhill and I was feeling ok first mile was 9.47

Mile 2
    It was here I started to realise things were not right, I was tired all ready, The black Oil came alonside me and we chatted for a few seconds, I recognised him this time as he was in the running gear. I rember telling him I was having a tough time only 2 miles in . Split was 9.26

Mile 3 to 5

Struggeling on Mile 3 but still on target , Mile 4 I take a gel to see if i can get some life into the legs but it just sickens me , I'm really struggeling now and slowing all the time but still running. splits 10:17 , 10:34, 10:49

Mile 6 I,m done I stop to walk for a bit and then set off again, at the water station I stop again to take in water, I had my own water belt on so I didnt need to but I did I was think just get on Chesterfield and then its only a 5k . split 11:55

Mile 7 to 9

More run walking, despite feeling sick after first gel I try another one as I need energy but it just sickens me more, I felt I wanted to puke. Im looking at people go by me thinking theres no way that person should be doing that. I must have looked in a bit of a state as a few people ask me if im ok, I was ok , just shattered. I see other runners with their goodie bags and am envious but im determined to finish and get mine. splits 12:29 ,12:40 , 13.29.

Mile 10

Its a bit of a haze but I think I ran all of this and actually passed a few people split 11:40

I went to get my bag to get out of the wet gear and they couldnt find my bag, I was over half an hour waiting in my run gear I went in myself then and found it. I went to the meeting poing but not surprisngly there was noone there, It wasnt a day for hanging around, I then saw TFGR and had a brief chat with her but I wasnt feeling good at that stage. I walked back to the car and drove home I wasnt feeling good. I stopped at traffic lights and fell asleep teh driver behind me beeped to wake me up. Not good I know.

Really wrecked after the race I couldnt stomach any food , went to bed at 5 o clock and didnt wake until 10 this morning, Unknown for me. Still have a really sick stomach today and I'm not eating , shivery and just really off still, RHR was 77 this morning so still in the clouds.

Looking back on my log wednesdays run and fridays 2 mile easy I commented on feeling off on them. I'm thinking I must have a bug, I'm doing no running until my rhr comes back to normal and I'll take it from there. it was a tough day made tougher by the conditions but I don't want to have any knee jerk reaction to a bad day which is why i didnt write this yeaterday. Hopefully I will be back to normal in a few days.

I've very few positives to take from yesterday apart from finishing when really struggeling a long way from home. Negatives The gels sickened me and I though I had that sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Safrongirl

Well I ended up doing my long run yesterday morning too in that fab weather - I seem to always get my long runs in with rain and wind so its nothing new and I actually dont mind it - but on the plus and this is major news for me - a breakthrough - I crossed the 21KM and ran a fabulous 25Kms yesterday - knees felt great and I felt strong the whole way - was just deligthed with myself so it was home and shower and of to Belfast for the day with the kids
    Amazing how a good run makes you feel - I feel confident again that I may actually do this ! No I will not be fast - my aim is to finish and that is all.

Of now to buy a foam roller and start my exercises today

Oh new runners update - they are amazing - I love them although after yesterday they look about a year old - I am lucky there is a lovely forest about 20 minutes from me and I base my runs through it and on nice quiet roads around it but that also means that there is a lot of muck and puddles along my run so new runners dont stay new for very long

Happy running for the week ahead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭kittyclaws

Afraid to put them in the machine as they have styrofoam soles (saconey iso triumphs)
    Have them soaking in oxy stain remover - if that doesn't work I'll aim for some puddles :)

Watching the marathon - if I could even do my half in the time those guys run their full I'd be delighted!!

Oh Kitty I would still be on my 5k while they were half way there - its amazing how anyone can run that fast for that length of time - I average 6.20 / Km and steadily get slower the further I run - but hey I get there eventually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Coffee Fulled Runner

Monday easy run 14.1km @ 4.41/km
    Tuesday workout 20.2km total with  6km easy, 12.5km tempo slightly faster than PMP, The rest was warm down. Overall average 4.26/km Followed by 20 minutes stretching.
    Wednesday easy run 13.2km @ 4.43/km with 30 minutes core work.
    Thursday easy run 13km @ 4.45/km
    Friday workout 20.4km total with warm Up, 5x 2km @HMP with 1km float around 40 seconds slower. The rest warm down. Followed by 20 minutes stretching again.
    Saturday recovery run 4.5km
    Sunday 23.8km long run  @ 4.56/km with another 20 minutes stretching after it.

I really enjoyed the week but I found Fridays session in winter like conditions and Sunday hard going at times. Total of 109.6km this week.

First of all well done to all who raced the weekend, I wouldn't be great at doing race reports myself but enjoy reading them all the same. Last week was a record amount of milage for me in one week and it took its toll on me more then I had expected. So I cut it back a bit on the milage and decided to go a bit slower on my long run on Sunday.  Monday I was fairy tired I had 40-60 minutes easy planned but I decided to go on the conservative side and just did did over 45 minutes. Tuesday workout went ok hit my targets but I was tired the next day. Wednesday I had 13km planned but took a rest day instead which stood to me for the rest of the week. Thursday easy run leading into Fridays workout which was enjoyable. Saturday was a recovery run and long run Sunday which went better then last week. 

Monday: 9.4km easy.
    Tuesday: 6km easy, 13km PMP,  warm down for the rest. 21km total average @4:29/km.
    Wednesday: rest
    Thursday: 11.7km @ 4:50/km
    Friday:  3km w/u, 10 x 1km cruise with 500mts recovery,  warm down. 22.6km @ 4:35/km average.
    Saturday: 8.3km recovery. I hit 2000km for the year during this run. One of my goals for the year.
    Sunday: 25.1km easy @ 5:03/km

Total 98.2km

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Coffee Fulled Runner

@ The Muppet sorry to read you didn't have a good race but don't dwell on it. We all have days like that. Maybe leave the gels for runs/races over 2 and a half hours anymore would be my advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭FITZA

Well done to all that took part in FD 10 miles on what was an awful day, great reports and for some it sounds like it was really tough...congratulations for finishing :)

My week...week 8 - HHN2 plan

Mon - rest
    Tue - 6.6k at 5.54 pace
    Wed - 11.5k at 6.12 pace (in the grounds of Farnham Estate, Cavan for this - fairly rough underfoot in places!!)
    Thu - 6.5k at 5.45 pace
    Fri - rest
    Sat - 24.1k at 6.09 pace (after last weeks run with company, this felt long, phases of feeling good and bad)
    Sun - 5k at 6.23 pace

OK week, next weekend is my first Half Marathon so will take it relatively easy and allow two days rest before it.

Foam rolling
    Ouch Ouch Ouch Ouch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭ToriV

Week 8, HHN1

Tues: 3.04. Time: 27.59. 9:13 min/mi. Avg Pace
    Weds: 6.35. Time: 1.01.03. 9:36 min/mi. Avg Pace
    Sat: FD10. Time: 1.32.xx - as per website/text. Watch says 1.32.17 (started it a little early) 9:05 min/mi. Avg Pace, website says 9:14

Learning experience, indeed.

Parked up around 8:15, did some reading/podcast listening and threw stuff into the boot. Headed down to the area around 9, I think. Conditions were pretty poor at the bag drop section, or rather, under the trees where people were huddled. Chatted to The Muppet briefly. Tree cover didn't do much. After I dropped my bag I stood in a nice puddle. I was pretty chilly under the tree and concerned I'd definitely pick up a dose and be sneezing half this evening or tomorrow - seem to have held off OK. Was probably overdressed for the run itself.

I don't have a detailed breakdown on the mileage as I'd struggle to remember it all. Said hi to TFGR at the start. First 1.5 or so miles was fairly jammers with people. Took heed of the advice not to weave in and out. Was talking to The Muppet briefly somewhere after mile 2, I think. By that stage it was easier to move about some more. And conditions were nowhere near as bad as what it was like waiting under the tree - win. Saw plenty of people with earphones throughout the whole thing. Felt sorry for the water station volunteers, some amount of tidying up to do there.

I did tag alongside some randomer for miles 5-6. There was more brightness coming into the sky too. I've no memory of even seeing mile marker 7, the randomer was gone like the wind soon enough after. Somewhere here is where I started to feel friction on the ball of my right foot, a bit down from my big toe. I'd say if this were a longer run ye old blister would have come lurking. Possibly tightness in the sock, or a combination of that and the dampness. Could feel it through the fresh socks later on and around the house too.

Mile 8 - iirc, this was the most exposed area with the football pitches, etc. The wind was more noticeable here I checked my watch at 8.9, or somewhere near the radio station VW Beetle that was blasting out the sort of tunes I was not in the humour at any stage of the morning. :pac: Was trying to remember Wubble Wubble's advice...not much luck there. I think this was about here where I saw the ambulance someone referred to. Could perhaps have picked up the pace some more and into 9. I was trying to gauge roughly where the finish was in an effort to pick up more speed, but couldn't see much ahead due to the amount of bodies.

Time: 1:32:xx. Happy enough with that, I guess, but room for improvement. It's the longest I've run in a race, so it's a start. Generally found it non-stressful from a running pov, though early on I did experience doubt in the form of 'how the fup am I going to do this for 26 odd miles?' :eek:

Got back to the car to check the feet, could tell they had been for a dip or two. Had some flapjacks and half of a sandwich - freezer packs! Thanks to the scouts who ran the bag tent. Next time I'll make sure everything's in a bag within a bag (not knocking the scouts). Fresh shoes and socks in the car. :cool: Didn't notice the chip time text on my phone until after I had a shower. Everything damp is in a heap inside the washing machine. :pac: Watched Commando on Netflix - that's about all my brain was able for. Later on some of the Olympics, very impressed with the American who won the women's triathlon.

Great to see everyone out there, though. Crossing the finishing felt amazing, and that's less of a thank feck this is done, and more of a game on for the HM.

Week 7
    Week 6
    Week 5
    Week 4
    Week 3
    Week 2
    Week 1
    Why the fup am I doing this thing?

I watched the women s triathlon too ... God she was impressive. Runs like a terminator! Some funny moments between the two front runners though before she made her kick for home. I am just going to imagine I am Gwen on my next run....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Extrasupervery

Safrongirl wrote: »
    Foam rolling
    Ouch Ouch Ouch Ouch

Took out my 'new' foam roller earlier, have barely touched it since I bought it a few months ago. I knew foam rolling was meant to be sore (haven't done it in over a year) but this was ridiculous. Just realised I've bought myself a 'rumble roller' which is a foam roller with a vengeance. Why, oh why. Think I'll just put it back in the spare room and forget about it again.

https://www.rumbleroller.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭tony1980

Well done all, some great race reports which I really enjoyed reading. I left my long run until today so got away with not having to deal with those conditions. Hats off to everyone who had to run in those conditions, great stuff!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭ToriV

Well done and thanks for all the race reports. It was a rough day out there. If you can finish in that, it will really stand to you. Sorry to those that had a bad day and feeling not 100%. Feel better soon.

I was out for 15 miles on Saturday and I swear I have been drier while deep sea diving! Anyway, just laughed at it, enjoyed the looks of pity and amusement from warm sane people and thought about the shower and fab dinner waiting at the end of it! Felt good at the end, tired and a bit empty inside but could have kept going. Have started taking high5 protein recovery powder with milk straight after and again before bed. Seems to work and tastes good too. Got it 50% off on chain reaction cycles if anyone needs some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭tony1980

FITZA wrote: »
    Possibly after might be best, with any luck we will both be finished by 2 hours!!
    I know the stadium very well so could arrange to meet up afterwards if that suits?

Afterwards sounds good, I am hoping for sub 2, possibly around 1h50m so should be finished in and around the same time as yourself hopefully. I am not familiar with Tullamore or the track so we can try sort out this Friday somewhere easy to say hello afterwards.

How did the long run go today? I was really bold and done over 18 miles today, over 3 hours of running. Unfortuately I have to do all my runs on my own but I find listening to some podcasts helps the time fly by on the long runs.