Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,655 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

kin9pin wrote: »
    Exactly how I felt! Good job on getting out.
    Still not sure if I ran or swam tonight. Quite a few people out in it around Marlay Park though so I assume they're all training for DCM.

M50 felt like a swimming pool on the drive home, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Happy hols Nop Enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Szilvike

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Why??

If you are serious about getting to the startline of DCM then ignoring your Physio advice makes no sense.

Because I need experience, can't have DCM to be my very first big race. I'm going more for just to be there, to see how it feels to run in a crowd, how to handle the water station etc. than for racing. I'll take it very easy, maybe even walk part of it and stop if any pain comes back. And in case there will be no pain I'll be extremely happy that I tried and didn't miss it out :)

Enjoy your holiday nop!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,655 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Word of advice folks: Don't look at the plan on Sunday, think you've committed it to memory, and not look again for the rest of the week. It can make you look silly... Uh, according to my friend.

Only recently did I cop on to the fact that every LSR (HHN1) from last week on (bar the final week) involves double figures. Took a moment or two for that to sink in. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭spaceylou

Happy holidays Nop - enjoy!!!

To anyone doing the FD10 this coming Saturday, I don't know the finish area (or the park generally) well enough to suggest a spot but do folks want to meet after the race? Say hi, swap stories about the hills etc. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭kittyclaws

Exactly how I felt! Good job on getting out.
    Still not sure if I ran or swam tonight. Quite a few people out in it around Marlay Park though so I assume they're all training for DCM.

I was in Marley park! With a group of ladies!! :D Good few head cases out running laps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Szilvike wrote: »
    Because I need experience, can't have DCM to be my very first big race. I'm going more for just to be there, to see how it feels to run in a crowd, how to handle the water station etc. than for racing. I'll take it very easy, maybe even walk part of it and stop if any pain comes back. And in case there will be no pain I'll be extremely happy that I tried and didn't miss it out :)

Enjoy your holiday nop!

Best of luck with it so and most importantly ENJOY!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭ToriV

Safrongirl wrote: »
    Hi Firedance,
    I am struggling for time so thought the threadmill would be good - I start work at 5am so I am up at 4am - finish work at 2pm and then home to 4 young kids , hubby usually home about 7.30pm from Dublin so I have to head out then which is usually about 8pm to start my run and honestly at that stage I am wrecked - just thought if I had a threamill at home I could be a great mother and stick kids in front of the tv while I get a 10k in during the afternoon ?

Omg I was tired just reading that! You are amazing. I read this really inspirational story about a woman who's son had autism and he became really upset when she left so going out for a run was out of the question. So she trained for the London marathon in her back yard. All 75 yards of it! Back and over all the way up to the 20 miler! she completed the marathon in 5 hours! Not saying you should do that, but it inspired me to not let my excuses get in the way and I have far less on my plate. Hats off to you girl!

The only thing I know about runnung on a threadmillis that an incline of 1% can mimic running outdoors, but afraid I know nothing about models or buying them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭kittyclaws

I bought my treadmill from Irishsportswarehouse, it was half price on Groupon. Maybe ring and ask if they plan on doing any more specials with them - they might offer you the deal over the phone. It's not gym quality but it's good enough.
    There's quite a few companies who hire out top spec treadmills too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Szilvike

spaceylou wrote: »

To anyone doing the FD10 this coming Saturday, I don't know the finish area (or the park generally) well enough to suggest a spot but do folks want to meet after the race? Say hi, swap stories about the hills etc. :)

I'd love to! :)
    FBOT01 wrote: »
    Best of luck with it so and most importantly ENJOY!!!

Thank you very much FBOT01! Either way I hope it's going to be a nice experience.

I'd be up for that too perhaps someone that knows the setup could suggest somewhere , I think we need another map from Singer:).

The weather forecast for Saturday is really nasty, gale force winds and rain so we may have more than stories about hills to swap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

The Muppet wrote: »
    The weather forecast for Saturday is really nasty, gale force winds and rain so we may have more than stories about hills to swap.

Nasty? Or did you mean to say "perfect running conditions"? :D

Shure, in my day, we used to walk 11 miles to school with dem lot in me bare feet.

Nasty? Or did you mean to say "perfect running conditions"? :D

The missus gave me that good news about gale force winds this morning, think she was trying to frighten me.

Just looked at the forecast myself and they are giving strong winds for Saturday evening but moderate of 6ms for race time.

The rain will be grand I love that, not too keen on running into strong winds though, still It could be doing anything on Marathon day weather wise so whatever Saturday throws at us will stand to us.

I may need a rethink on the goals if conditions are tough though my goal is pmp at the moment so I should be ok for that even with a moderate breeze , I hope.

https://www.yr.no/place/Ireland/Leinster/Phoenix_Park/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Pomplamousse

I'll hopefully be up for this, but I'll know for definite tomorrow (going to a wedding straight after so may have to rush off as soon as the race is over depending on whether the hotel let me check in early or not, it's all getting very complicated).

I plan on getting to Phoenix park pretty early (probably between 8.30am and 9am) to get parking so if anyone is around early & killing time and wants to meet before the race, let me know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭aquinn

Why is there no mention of flapjacks yet? Do you need the recipe again?

I'm going to be Stewarding so will be out roaring at everyone. Whatever you do don't run on the grass or cut corners. If someone starts giving out to you as a result that's me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

aquinn wrote: »
    I'm going to be Stewarding so will be out roaring at everyone. Whatever you do don't run on the grass or cut corners. If someone starts giving out to you as a result that's me.

No chance! You have to run all the bends wide to make sure the Garmin logs the full distance!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

I plan on getting to Phoenix park pretty early (probably between 8.30am and 9am) to get parking

In that case I'll get there at 8:25 to get a spot ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

Just looked at the forecast myself and they are giving strong winds for Saturday evening but moderate of 6ms for race time.

"From south". Does that mean it will be on our backs up North Rd and Upper Glen? That wouldn't be bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭spaceylou

I made them last time - someone else's turn this race :)

Will there be an airtricity tent like there was at the end of the Fingal 10k? If so, should we say there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Pomplamousse

In that case I'll get there at 8:25 to get a spot ;)

Stay away from my parking spot you!!:mad::p

But in all seriousness, I have no idea about parking because I don't know Phoenix Park well at all & I hate driving/parking in places I don't know. Hopefully 8.30-9 is early enough. If anyone sees someone frantically driving around the park in a white banger, heeelp me!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭joeKel73

Can the admin of the Strava club set the icon/image on it? It'll help pick it out on the Strava dashboard! ;)

Boards.ie Icon: https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/374063174/bie_vector_logo.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

If you just head up Chesterfield Ave you'll see loads if cars parked either side. Its a good distance from the zoo to the start line so I'd advise going as far as you can. The road is usually closed at the roundabout with the phoenix statue so if you get there and still don't have a space take the turn for Ashtown visitor centre (think it's the third exit) and there's usually spaces there.
    Best of luck everyone, I'm planning on running too so might see some of you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭joeKel73

J o e wrote: »
    Can the admin of the Strava club set the icon/image on it? It'll help pick it out on the Strava dashboard! ;)

Boards.ie Icon: https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/374063174/bie_vector_logo.png

I see it's been done - thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

If that's the case, I hope you're at the first corner. Loads of people cut it in the 5 mile; I can't imagine it being any different this Saturday. Not saying it's right, on the contrary it really annoys me. It'll be like shooting fish in a barrel for you :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Safrongirl

Well physio booked for tomorrow evening at 6pm - hoping he can rub some magic cream on my knees !
    Did cross trainer tonight just to try and keep up fitness

My running this week has been bad because of the knees so only did cross training but this is my usual week:
    Sunday rest
    Monday 10km
    Tuesday Cross train
    Wednesday rest
    Thursday 10km
    Friday cross train
    Saturday 20km

Have still to cross the magic 21km - I think its a mind thing at this stage - I remember thinking I would never get past 10k and once I did it it sort of broke the barrier - make any sense ???

I am following the run coach app that came with my entry for the marathon - finding it great as it adjusts according to your distance and times and syncs with my garmin too

My next race is a local half on the 11th September

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Safrongirl

Oh new runners arrived today - LOve love love them - cant wait to get out in them !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Been offline a little this week as I enjoy the hills of Kerry. Diligent running for last 4 days and now have to find an LSR route for Sat morning.. Don't think I could run my 3k loop 7 or 8 times as it would feel like I've run up Everest!

Anyway, best of luck to all in FD10 this Sat. Had half thought of coming up for it but forecast not great for tomorrow so will stay put here, enjoy the holiers and drink more coffee instead. My number is sitting at home collecting dust unfortunately. If anyone wants to try get me a tshirt.. Think XL would do it!

Finally..some bedtime viewing for this evening. A very interesting video on the what marathon running does to our delicate bodies...

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=MQs4SqirpzY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

I made them last time - someone else's turn this race :)

Will there be an airtricity tent like there was at the end of the Fingal 10k? If so, should we say there?

Last year we met up a little bit after the finish area...
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=96695123&postcount=3229

However this year's weather looks like it will be "character building"*, so the any meetup should probably be close enough to the bag drop. The Airtricity tent is usually in the vicinity of the bag drop, so sounds good to me!

* this looks pretty character building to me:
    2016-08-19%20at%2009.14.png?raw=1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Good luck to everyone running the 10 mile tomorrow, have a great race, enjoy it especially for those racing that distance for the first time! Make sure you hydrate well today and early to bed tonight :p I look forward to reading all the race reports :)

Character building weather indeed singer!