Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pokemon go

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,076 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

I read that the increased the spawns of continent-restricted pokemons and some other rare ones in an update this morning. Mr. Mime seems to be all over the place today.
    Could be true. Im in the US for work at the moment and caught about 6-8 Tauros in the last 24 hours
    Rainman16 wrote: »

Don't bother with Mr Mine or Jynx and very rarely do for Zubat Spearow or Venonat

Pokemon I go for every time are Pidgie, Weedle and Caterpie (the easy evolves) also weak Pidgeotto, Kakuna and Metapod are easier to catch then strong lower evolvers.

Always go for Eevee, Dratini Magicarp, Bellsprout, Oddish, Nidoran, and Squirtle
    Similar here. Zubat, Spearow, Pigeottos and Rattata are a waste of Pokeballs that could be more efficiently used for Pidgies and Weedles (I dont see too many Caterpies oddly!) Those easy evolves are better for cheap XP.
    Have yet to even see a Mr.Mime however!
    A 300-400 CP pokemon that doesnt get caught in 3-4 pokeballs will be allowed to run if all I was going to do was transfer it anyway. No point wasting balls on it for a total of 4 candy. Depends on whether I have a healthy stock of pokeballs of course.

Just had a busy evening and morning in a urban area, lots of activity. started with approx 150-160 total balls (90/45/35), currently have 48 and 1 great ball...but earned over 20,000 XP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭rustledjimmies

Diemos wrote: »
    There seems to be a Dratini nest by the grand canal in Dublin.

Here are the co-ordinates: 53.333260,-6.249423

I've picked up a few here in the past week.

Picked up Gyarados here today too. Only CP 286 though but happy as it's my first.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 566 ✭✭✭Rainman16

Level 23, Team Valor,

Lately I don't even bother catching Staru, Goldeen, Slowpoke, Psyduck and Drowsey because I have a few decent Starme, Seaking, Slowbro, Golduck and Hypno.

Don't bother with Mr Mine or Jynx and very rarely do for Zubat Spearow or Venonat

Pokemon I go for every time are Pidgie, Weedle and Caterpie (the easy evolves) also weak Pidgeotto, Kakuna and Metapod are easier to catch then strong lower evolvers.

Always go for Eevee, Dratini Magicarp, Bellsprout, Oddish, Nidoran, and Squirtle

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,051 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I saw a shadow of a dratini once. As close as I ever got to any chardragons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭jamescd

Level 23, Team Valor,

Lately I don't even bother catching Staru, Goldeen, Slowpoke, Psyduck and Drowsey because I have a few decent Starme, Seaking, Slowbro, Golduck and Hypno.

Growlithes? Exeggcutes?

Poliwags are quite common so most people can be forgiven for thinking they wouldn't amount to much, but Poliwrath is actually very strong. I've got 2 of them atm and I'm still catching more Poliwags for another one.

jamescd wrote: »
    Growlithes? Exeggcutes?

Poliwags are quite common so most people can be forgiven for thinking they wouldn't amount to much, but Poliwrath is actually very strong. I've got 2 of them atm and I'm still catching more Poliwags for another one.

I've never actual seen a Growlith and only have the one Execute I caught at a filling station in Athlone.

I have 2 Poliwrath also. The bubble attack is quite weak, but the Hydropump is pretty good if you can build it up in time.

I don't have a Bulbasaur yet, I saw a Vulpix today but the app froze.

Other Pokemon I catch everytime are Horsea, Seal and Gastly becaue I still don't have Seadra, Dougon or Gengar yet. Still have to evolve to a Victorybell and Vileplume too

Don't have Ponyta or Onyx yet,

In always get confused with the mons who have three forms. Which ones to keep, which to trash, which to evolve...

If I have a huge poliwag for example and I evolve a polywhirl is it best to evolve that one again or try get a wild polywhirl?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭AMGer

I catch everything. Evoloving pidgey, zubat, weedles etc is easy XP

Seems the rumour maybe true, just had my 2nd Mr Mime of the day pop up on my sightings list, caught this one. That's 3 Mr Mime in total I've seen, 1 in the first 4 weeks of play, 2 today!

In always get confused with the mons who have three forms. Which ones to keep, which to trash, which to evolve...

If I have a huge poliwag for example and I evolve a polywhirl is it best to evolve that one again or try get a wild polywhirl?

I have that issue with my Dragonite evolution. I've got a 328 Dragonair, but a 558 Dratini. So I'm thinking I should probably not evolve the Dragonair when i get enough candies, but evolve the high Dratini twice. The problem is it will be so tempting to evolve the Dragonair the first chance I get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,833 ✭✭✭Randomfriend

I have that issue with my Dragonite evolution. I've got a 328 Dragonair, but a 558 Dratini. So I'm thinking I should probably not evolve the Dragonair when i get enough candies, but evolve the high Dratini twice. The problem is it will be so tempting to evolve the Dragonair the first chance I get.

I reckon it's best to stock up the 125 candies, if you can hold off pulling the trigger, and evolve your highest Dratini, if it's a beast. I have a 750 weepinbell, and a 700 Bellsprout at the minute, he's some beast of a twig.

edit: that assumes they have the same attacks ^^

Gloom is Oddish's evolution though.
    My Bellsprout looks like it would max out at 450CP. My Weepingbell is a bit weak too, I should probably have waited for a better bell to evolve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

My Bellsprout is 512 and my Weepingbell is 1014 with 72 candies in the bag.

I've evolved quite a lot of 3 stage pokemons and the only time I can remember that I found a stronger 2nd form to evolve was when I evolved a Gengar. I found a wild 900CP Haunter, while my strongest Gastly was only 480CP. The Gastly would have evolved to around an 850CP Haunter, so I evolved the Haunter I already had instead and saved myself 25 candies in the process.

But that's the only one, all the others I've evolved all the way from the 1st form. If you already have a strong Poliwag, then when you get the sufficient candies just evolve that one.

Evolve the Dratini for sure. That Dragonair will only evolve to around a 675CP Dragonite, whereas the Dratini will evolve into around 2,090CP. That's a massive difference. It's well worth spending a bit more time gathering the additional candies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,833 ✭✭✭Randomfriend

Gloom is Oddish's evolution though.
    My Bellsprout looks like it would max out at 450CP. My Weepingbell is a bit weak too, I should probably have waited for a better bell to evolve.

Sorry meant to say Weepinbell!

I have a 932 Wartortle I'm looking forward to evolving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭AMGer

6th wrote: »
    My Bellsprout is 512 and my Weepingbell is 1014 with 72 candies in the bag.

Save the candies for a higher Bellsprout, I evolved a 570 a ended up with a 1350 Victrebell. I'm a bit mad I did because I've had higher Bellsprouts since, 607 is my current best, so plan is to redo the evolution with that Bellsprout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Diemos

I wait for 125 candies for all my triple evloves.
    I wasted 25 candies on my oddish and males and female nidoran.
    To a pokemon, I found a better cp 1st stage than my evloved for each.

Now I am patiently building all 3 stage evolves. So far I have the following ready for stage 1 evolution but I'm waiting:
    Bellsprout
    Bulbasaur
    Dratini
    Gastly
    Geodude
    Machop
    Nidoran (male and female)
    Oddish
    Poliwag
    Squirtle

It's really tempting because some of these evloves would be new to my pokedex but I'm holding out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭NikoTopps

Okay so Wales has pretty much the exact same Pokémon as Dublin but I managed to hatch a Vulpix from a 5km egg which I'm happy about purely because that Pokémon is adorable, not sure about the rarity!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭NikoTopps

I saw a shadow of a dratini once. As close as I ever got to any chardragons.

Was on a night out a while ago and thought I caught one of them, checked the next morning and it ran away. I was so raging. Those feckers are so hard to catch:pac:

I got fed up of having no 1000+ mons so powered up a Starmie. It just looks wrong for that yoke to be top of the list!
    Edit: evolved a Rainer to a 1300CP Flareon. Lovely round number.

Eggs are supposed to hatch at higher speeds now (up from 10kph to ??) and more spawns in rural areas. Can't confirm either as my bike mysteriously gets a new puncture every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,403 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

I hatched 3 5KM eggs between yesterday and today. I got an Ekans, Horsea and Goldeen.

Have my last 10KM egg and another two 5KM on the go now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭JamboMac

Magikarp maxed out to 156 at my trainer level so I'm guessing 1500cp gyarados.

Scanned the area near where I live. A frikkin Snorlax pops up in a neighbouring estate, like 5 mins walk away! It'll despawn in just over 3 mins so walking is out of the question. I hop in the car instead and get there with about a minute and a half to spare. Tap on the Snorlax and it's only 230CP :(

JamboMac wrote: »
    Magikarp maxed out to 156 at my trainer level so I'm guessing 1500cp gyarados.

More like 1600 - 1700CP. But did you really power it up before evolving? It costs the same amount of candies and stardust to power up either way, so you should have done it after instead. If you end up with the worst Charge attack (Twister) like me, there's no getting your stardust back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭JamboMac

jamescd wrote: »
    More like 1600 - 1700CP. But did you really power it up before evolving? It costs the same amount of candies and stardust to power up either way, so you should have done it after instead. If you end up with the worst Charge attack (Twister) like me, there's no getting your stardust back.

I'll get stardust back quicker than catching a 100 plus magikarp again. Also gonna beast out my jigglypuf, she has 100% iV cp 327 so far hp is 115, this thing is gonna be beast.

Yeah but the candies could have been better spent on powering up one or more of your other pokemons. A Gyarados with Twister is not worth powering up, even with perfect 100% IV's. I'm sure you still have a couple of decent pokemon that could do with powering up. I certainly do, in fact I have way too many that could do with powering up and not enough stardust.

Anyway, since you've already done it there's no point arguing over it now. Hopefully you get lucky with the moveset instead :)

The eevee trick worked for me the first three times but now i got a flareon from sparky :(

Got a mr mime though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

To the folks saying that there's been an update, can you clarify if you mean an app update that I'd need to download, or a code update on the server side? My app was last updated on Aug 10th (version 1.3.1, iOS).

My Jigglypuf is 528CP and has 151HP with feint attack 12 and play rough 55.

Just 7 more candies to go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,391 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Finally got this today threw 16 unsuccesful poke balls at zubat, this is gonna fun. :p