If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Olympics daily thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭bajer101

Tonight is a shyte night at the Olympics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

bajer101 wrote: »
    Tonight is a shyte night at the Olympics.

Yeah bored as ****....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,070 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Those semi finals of women's 100m hurdles are brutal. Heat 3 had 2 women hit the deck.

Really is brutal sport where everything has to be spot on

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Brooke Stratton who competed regularly in my interclub region when I lived in Melbourne is currently 6th in the long jump final. Would love her to medal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,390 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Bolt posing
    While almost losing 1st

Bolt posing
    While almost losing 1st

Ya im sure he cares about coming first in a semi final

Thompson and Bolt should have kids and make them be swimmers :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭philstar

Bolt posing
    While almost losing 1st

don't think i like him, bit too cocky

just waiting for the day when he's finally caught, that should wipe the smile off his face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭ahlookit

philstar wrote: »

just waiting for the day when he's finally caught, that should wipe the smile off his face

If he's doping - and he gets caught - then athletics is in massive trouble.

he's the one global superstar athletics has created in the last 8 years, constantly winning the blue riband event in olympics and worlds (apart from false start in Daegu). It'll be Lance Armstrong all over again....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭philstar

It'll be Lance Armstrong x 100

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Oldira

Strazdas wrote: »
    Annalise and her parents live on RTE2 now :)

Her mum looks young, more like her older sister

Says she's not sure if she would return for a third Games, she needs to have a good long think about it but will just have a nice rest in the meantime

Really? She is only 26 and I would have thought she would love a go for Gold. But the work she has put in this past 4 years was massive so I guess I could understand her. She definitely needs a year or two rest anyway. She will probably feel different in 2018.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

GB and China with the same number of gold atm

Strazdas wrote: »
    It will be mind boggling if they do....they didn't even manage this in London :)

Nearly as mine boggling as East Germany coming 2nd in the medals table in every year from 76-88.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

mansize wrote: »
    GB and China with the same number of gold atm

Assuming that there is some wind for sailing today then there is one more today for GB. I'd expect the Table Tennis and Badminton for China to more than offset anything else that GB get from Triathlon over the last few days.

From the RTE website:
    After the relative quiet of yesterday, it's a busy day in Rio for the Irish, with seven Olympians in action. Thomas Barr's 400m hurdles final might be the highlight, but there's lots more action to look forward to too. We'll keep you updated on all the Irish competitors, along with the rest of the day's main developments.

I think most of us got great entertainment out of the over 70's hide and seek competition, despite Pat not making it through his qualifier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

philstar wrote: »

I really like him, he has charm and charisma by the bucket load

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭khc

Oldira wrote: »
    Really? She is only 26 and I would have thought she would love a go for Gold. But the work she has put in this past 4 years was massive so I guess I could understand her. She definitely needs a year or two rest anyway. She will probably feel different in 2018.

Bear in mind too that they're a very bright & academic family - the sister studied engineering and is now in med school, Annalise did a year of science at UCD - she may also be interested in going back to college now while she's still young.

I noticed a lot of the athletes this year were medicine students/doctors/physios

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭FrKurtFahrt

ahlookit wrote: »
    From the RTE website:

I think most of us got great entertainment out of the over 70's hide and seek competition, despite Pat not making it through his qualifier.

I admit that I laughed yesterday morning when I heard the news about PH. But as the day went on, and I listened to news and press conferences - and read various reports and comments, I felt desperately depressed about the whole saga. For some reason, I cant shake the feeling that (nobody's guilty yet!) we Irish are all tarnished and demeaned by this episode,albeit by distant association.

It's terribly sad that the honesty of the O'Donovans, Murphy, Barr et al is suddenly overshadowed. (I'm not prejudging here - due process etc etc).

Please Jaysus Thomas Barr lifts the spirits today, and I have a sneaking suspicion that the pentathletes might give us a boost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,447 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I think the thing is she was like a woman possessed for the last four years trying to put right the wrong of 2012 (she admits this herself) and now she has achieved this, it is a huge release for her.

Having said that, I wouldn't be surprised for a moment if she returns to the Games, she seems very driven and dedicated.

I admit that I laughed yesterday morning when I heard the news about PH. But as the day went on, and I listened to news and press conferences - and read various reports and comments, I felt desperately depressed about the whole saga. For some reason, I cant shake the feeling that (nobody's guilty yet!) we Irish are all tarnished and demeaned by this episode,albeit by distant association.

It's terribly sad that the honesty of the O'Donovans, Murphy, Barr et al is suddenly overshadowed. (I'm not prejudging here - due process etc etc).

Please Jaysus Thomas Barr lifts the spirits today, and I have a sneaking suspicion that the pentathletes might give us a boost.

I dont think Hickey overshadows the athletes achievements. He's the head of the European Olympic Committee - one of the most senior men in the entire Olympic organisation - and thats how it's being reported in a number of news outlets. FIFA and IOC are two sides of the same coin, hugely cash rich organisations that believed they are beyond the rule of law. If he's guilty and brought to book then yesterday is a cause for celebration rather than shame. I'd much prefer corruption, where it exists, is uncovered and dealt with. Might not be pleasant in the short term, but necessary.

Hope that Barr does well today - he seems like a really down to earth guy who deserves all the success he's getting. To have a finalist in a sprint event is amazing. If he's in contention coming round the bend hopefully his strong finish and competitive streak will see him get a medal. It would be some achievement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,032 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Lads - got any reputable links to watch the Thomas Barr race online today live?

reputable in the sense that It won't be blocked my a work server.

Ace2007 wrote: »

if you're in ROI then RTE website will have it, BBC for NI/UK

I assume the Olympic broadcaster in each country will do likewise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,447 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

www.rte.ie/live should be okay

Do you think any less of the Swiss People because of the actions of Sepp Blatter? The story is a high ranking IOC member not the fact he is Irish. His nationality is NOT the big story worldwide or in Rio.

What class of a gobsite employer would not lert his employees see an Olympic final? I am speaking as an employer btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,108 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Anyone understand Modern Pentathlon?

There's a clatter of them on 112, and Natalya Coyle (an another clatter) on 106.... is that good or bad, and how have they all scored points already seeing as how it only started at 2pm???

ETA, now it's 118 and 112.... but same question!

What class of a gobsite employer would not lert his employees see an Olympic final? I am speaking as an employer btw.

possibly one who values his IT equipment if the employee plans on viewing it online?

Some sites (which we dare not mention on boards) have a huge array of popups/malware/spyware/general nasties which you wouldnt want getting into your network.

I'd imagine most people will be nipping out for 5 mins at around 4 to find a tv.

By the way, you sound like a great employer ;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Anyone understand Modern Pentathlon?

There's a clatter of them on 112, and Natalya Coyle (an another clatter) on 106.... is that good or bad, and how have they all scored points already seeing as how it only started at 2pm???

ETA, now it's 118 and 112.... but same question!

This is just the ranking round for the fencing which will decide the starting order for tomorrow. Everyone fights everyone today so until they finish I'd expect there to be loads of people on very similar scores.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,108 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

robinph wrote: »
    This is just the ranking round for the fencing which will decide the starting order for tomorrow. Everyone fights everyone today so until they finish I'd expect there to be loads of people on very similar scores.
    So it's not actually starting today? I was wondering why there wasn't much talk about it/RTE not showing it!

robinph wrote: »

so there's 630 bouts before it even starts properly ??? :eek:

https://www.rio2016.com/en/modern-pentathlon-womens-fencing-ranking-round