Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭joeKel73

Singer wrote: »
    This came up on the main DCM thread last week or so:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=100612841&postcount=127

Contact the DCM office, contact details on their website. Last year I just sent them an email and got bumped up a wave with a few weeks to go.

I emailed the office and they changed my wave and resent the confirmation. ;)
    ...have also completed the Wicklow mountains half marathon (by accident, was meant to do the 10km but got on wrong bus)...

:p:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭kittyclaws

Back running tonight - if I remember how to!!! :D

Physio says try for the 6 miles as planned but drop back to 4 if any niggles and stay at 4 miles for the rest of the week's sessions (which would mean NO FD on Sat).
    I may or may not be back here this evening for tears and tantrums :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

kittyclaws wrote: »

Physio says try for the 6 miles as planned but drop back to 4 if any niggles and stay at 4 miles for the rest of the week's sessions (which would mean NO FD on Sat).

Good luck hope it goes ok for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭ToriV

I hope it goes well for you. Take it easy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Good luck hopefully all goes well take it nice and easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭kabuxa

kittyclaws wrote:
    Physio says try for the 6 miles as planned but drop back to 4 if any niggles and stay at 4 miles for the rest of the week's sessions (which would mean NO FD on Sat). I may or may not be back here this evening for tears and tantrums

kittyclaws wrote:
    Back running tonight - if I remember how to!!!

Best of luck... little by little

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

New to this thread but doing quite a bit of reading. Haven't run a marathon before but have been running on and off for the last couple of year. Longest run was in 2012 when I did 21 miles across Wicklow mountains, have also completed the Wicklow mountains half marathon (by accident, was meant to do the 10km but got on wrong bus) did that in 2hr11min.

Been kinda half-assing my training to this point but am reasonably fit and going to jump into HH1

Runs this week

Monday 3.6m / 33:46 / 9:23avg
    Tuesday 2.9m / 16:26 / 7:52avg
    Thursday 3.59m / 29:16 / 8:09avg

Sunday 9.91m / 1:34:19 / 9:31avg

My aim is to get to the start line injury free and get around in sub 4:30:00

Do you reckon this is possible?

**My cross training consists of bit of swimming, tag rugby once a week and also go mountain biking at weekends**

Hi Rick, you're very welcome to the thread. Let's see if we can help with some advice on how to proceed from here.

Have you raced so far this year? If so can you give us your very latest race PB's?
    How may miles have you been running each week in the last 6 weeks? (a rough average will do)

On the tag rugby, if you read back through the thread you'll see plenty of advice to skip cross training involving contact sports like football, GAA, rugby etc. How attached are you to this for the next couple of months :)

I presume you'd already signed up for DCM before it sold out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Szilvike

Sorry I haven't been here in the past few days (it was too frustrating :( ), is there any meeting planned after FD10? If so, where? :)

I decided to give it a go in spite of the physio non-recommendation, even if I don't finish it. I just must try! By the way, if my knee gives up and I have to pull out, can I just leave the route at any point and walk back to the bag drop?

Kittyclaws, I hope your run will go well tonight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Safrongirl

Hi everyone ,
    Well did about 50minutes on cross trainer on Monday to save the old knees and then last night did a nice 10k and came home and iced the knees for about 15 minutes - have to say today I could actually walk ! Amazing ! Was going to go to physio but I am now going to stick to the ice packs after all runs and my lovely kinselogy tape - You will see me coming with my big blue knees all taped up.

Also going to stop stressing about my distance - last year while training for my first half I ran more but less distance and was injury free - so going to aim for more shorter runs during the week and then my long run on the weekend or whenever I can fit it in .

Treated myself to new runners - they arrive tomorrow - yeah !!! Have been running in same ones since I started running last February so think I am due new ones .

Can anyone recommend a threadmill or a place to buy ?

Xxx

Sorry me again - on my daily Google search for " Sore knees after running " I came across a patella strap - has anyone used this or wonder would it be worth a try instead of the tape ?

Safrongirl wrote: »
    Hi everyone ,
    Well did about 50minutes on cross trainer on Monday to save the old knees and then last night did a nice 10k and came home and iced the knees for about 15 minutes - have to say today I could actually walk ! Amazing ! Was going to go to physio but I am now going to stick to the ice packs after all runs and my lovely kinselogy tape - You will see me coming with my big blue knees all taped up.

Also going to stop stressing about my distance - last year while training for my first half I ran more but less distance and was injury free - so going to aim for more shorter runs during the week and then my long run on the weekend or whenever I can fit it in .

Treated myself to new runners - they arrive tomorrow - yeah !!! Have been running in same ones since I started running last February so think I am due new ones .

Xxx
    Sorry me again - on my daily Google search for " Sore knees after running " I came across a patella strap - has anyone used this or wonder would it be worth a try instead of the tape ?

Hey Safron girl, I'd advise you go ahead with your physio visit, they are the best person to ask on stuff like this. Also if you're having regular knee pain, the increase in miles in the months ahead is only going to put further strain so getting a proper diagnoses and cure from a professional will hopefully stand to you in the long run.

I don't have any advice on the treadmill either I'm afraid, was there a reason you wanted to use one rather than running outside? (apologies if I missed that). We'd recommend doing your marathon training on the roads/trails/grass (mostly roads) if you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 crogerso

Delayed as usual with my update for last week. All runs in as per boards plan except the 3m recovery Sunday. All in all not a bad week but legs are still very tight from the LSR at the weekend. Did a LOT of foam rolling Monday, was not fun at all, but in a weird way it was satisfying to do.
    So far this week have done a 4m yday and 5m today. Have to say I enjoyed running in the rain. Much cooler than it has been in a long while which was a welcome change!
    I'm signed up for the 10m Saturday and looking forward to it. Unfortunately my running partner can't make it anymore so I'll be running a solo race for the first time in a long time. Fingers crossed I can get the pace right and persevere through all those hills wubble wubble mentioned in his post, which was great btw! Interested to see how the legs hold up at race pace. Perhaps I'll see some of you there! 

Kittyclaws, hope your run goes well!

Hi Firedance,
    I am struggling for time so thought the threadmill would be good - I start work at 5am so I am up at 4am - finish work at 2pm and then home to 4 young kids , hubby usually home about 7.30pm from Dublin so I have to head out then which is usually about 8pm to start my run and honestly at that stage I am wrecked - just thought if I had a threamill at home I could be a great mother and stick kids in front of the tv while I get a 10k in during the afternoon ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭aquinn

Hi everyone ,

Xxx

You bought new runners, always an enjoyable experience but with your knees currently hurting it could well be the runners. Did you get a gait analysis to see what suits your running style? This could be the issues with your knees.

Tape and icing putting off the inevitable. GO SEE A PHYSIO! Get off Google also.

Oh crap I know your all right so will book an appointment - bullies !!!!

Yes had a gait analysis done and bought my new runners based on the results - they hadnt any in the store so I ordered them online and will have them tomorrow - wont want to get them dirty !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭aquinn

Oh crap I know your all right so will book an appointment - bullies !!!!

Yes had a gait analysis done and bought my new runners based on the results - they hadnt any in the store so I ordered them online and will have them tomorrow - wont want to get them dirty !

Good response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Szilvike wrote: »
    Sorry I haven't been here in the past few days (it was too frustrating :( ), is there any meeting planned after FD10? If so, where? :)

I decided to give it a go in spite of the physio non-recommendation, even if I don't finish it. I just must try! By the way, if my knee gives up and I have to pull out, can I just leave the route at any point and walk back to the bag drop?

Kittyclaws, I hope your run will go well tonight!

Why??

If you are serious about getting to the startline of DCM then ignoring your Physio advice makes no sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Hi all - a quick note to say I am off on my holidays :D and will be mostly off-grid until Aug 27.. So, I probably won't be able to respond to the thread for most of that time.

Parting thoughts..:
    • The very best of luck to all of you doing the FD10. Relax, run patiently and run strong. I'll try to read your glorious race reports on my phone.
    • Those of you nursing niggles, please look after yourselves. There's plenty of time to recover and still get a good block of training in.
    • You're in capable hands, with my backroom staff taking over during my absence. They're a tough crowd so please follow your plan, do your stretches, and don't run too fast. Having said that, they know more about running than I ever will, so you're in great hands. :)
    • Oh, and it's spelled treadmill. :rolleyes:

Happy running, my novices!

Hi Firedance,
    I am struggling for time so thought the threadmill would be good - I start work at 5am so I am up at 4am - finish work at 2pm and then home to 4 young kids , hubby usually home about 7.30pm from Dublin so I have to head out then which is usually about 8pm to start my run and honestly at that stage I am wrecked - just thought if I had a threamill at home I could be a great mother and stick kids in front of the tv while I get a 10k in during the afternoon ?

You could I guess, I would't substitute more than two runs per week with a treadmill though. To be honest it sounds to me like you have your hands full (fair play to you!!). Are you dead set on doing DCM this year? Its not impossible though but you'll really need to to find the time to get your longer runs in (which plan are you following?) If you do go for a treadmill you should set the incline to 1-1.5% which I believe gets you a tiny bit closer to the road running experience.

What kind of weekly mileage are you getting in at the moment Safrongirl?

nop98 wrote: »
    Hi all - a quick note to say I am off on my holidays :D and will be mostly off-grid until Aug 27.. So, I probably won't be able to respond to the thread for most of that time.

Parting thoughts..:
    • The very best of luck to all of you doing the FD10. Relax, run patiently and run strong. I'll try to read your glorious race reports on my phone.
    • Those of you nursing niggles, please look after yourselves. There's plenty of time to recover and still get a good block of training in.
    • You're in capable hands, with my backroom staff taking over during my absence. They're a tough crowd so please follow your plan, do your stretches, and don't run too fast. Having said that, they know more about running than I ever will, so you're in great hands. :)

Holidays?? :eek:*

*FREE GAFF!!!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,652 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

6 miles in tonight's conditions.

YrkYhWQO0Wtna.gif

Loved running in the rain tonight!! Painfree! I stopped at 6 miles but felt I could easily have done another 6 :D
    I've 4 on the plan for tomorrow, if I feel as good on that as I do now I'll be very happy :)

(I was going to ask for permission to do the paced mile on Sunday but I wont push my luck)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Word of advice folks: Don't look at the plan on Sunday, think you've committed it to memory, and not look again for the rest of the week. It can make you look silly... Uh, according to my friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭FITZA

tony1980 wrote: »
    I think I will run Dublin at a nice handy pace to take it all in and to prep myself for the main thing. I think I will try for a sub two in Tullamore, I think I should be ok for this so perhaps a bit behind the pace you are hoping to run it at. Which would be easier, before or after as I know it can be a bit chaotic on the day?

Possibly after might be best, with any luck we will both be finished by 2 hours!!
    I know the stadium very well so could arrange to meet up afterwards if that suits?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭FITZA

nop98 wrote: »

Parting thoughts..:

Have a lovely holiday nop98 :)

Happy Hols Nop - enjoy yourself. We'll be good!!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Update from last weekend....

Mon 15/8 - Rest.

Tue 16/8 - 4 miles with 5 x 100m strides. Tricky enough to find room for the strides; on a very warm evening, loads of people, dogs etc were on the loop. When I did find some space, the strides felt comfortable, although I did work up a major sweat. Overall average pace 7:35 per mile.

Wed 17/8 - Club session.

Having received the news that I'm now officially registered with MSB, I celebrated with a lighter than usual session in Porterstown; there's a good few from the club running the 10 Mile. In other words, the warmup and cooldown were only about half as long as normal. Eight loops of the hedges was a good test, but I managed to stay in the game and overall I did this run much better than two weeks ago. A half mile run home through the pouring rain brought it to over 6 miles for the evening.

So that's more or less it until Saturday; there's a 2 miler in the Boards plan for Friday, and I might throw in some stretches and core work tomorrow.

As regards the 10 Mile itself, many thanks for all your kind words about my course description. Looking forward to it as I feel my current PB (1:14, March 2016) is very beatable if I get my strategy right and the body holds up. Good luck to all!!

Happy Hols Nop - enjoy yourself. We'll be good!!! ;)

Sez yer wan looking to do a paced mile :D:D

Great to hear your run went well this eve KC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

6 miles in tonight's conditions.

YrkYhWQO0Wtna.gif

Exactly how I felt! Good job on getting out.
    Still not sure if I ran or swam tonight. Quite a few people out in it around Marlay Park though so I assume they're all training for DCM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Enjoy the holidays!!!