Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Safrongirl

Im starting to panic now - not putting in near the kms that others are doing and cant see me getting the time either - will my cross training days help at all or am I better running everyday ? I run 2 days per week, cross train 2 and 2 rest days ? But what about the knees ??? anyone selling 2 knees please !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Pomplamousse

Thank you so so much Kabuxa, you are the best! I'm gonna print out your post & bring it with me, it sounds amazing, I can't wait now.
    Hope I get to thank you in person at one of the meetups or races :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭FITZA

My week...week 7 HHN2 Plan

Mon - rest
    Tue - 6.6k @ 6.00 pace - very hilly route in Westport, downhills very tough on the knees :(
    Wed - 11.7k PMP @ 5.25 pace
    Thu - 6.5k @ 6.23 pace
    Fri - rest
    Sat - Boards Meet in Phoenix Park :) 22.9k @ 6.10 pace - lovely morning, great company :)
    Sun - 5k @ 6.25pace - on threadmill at gym, followed by 3 mins on cross trainer, and a long long soak in jacuzzi:)

Same niggles this week as last, nothing to stop me running, foam rolling and stretching so hopefully nothing will develop.
    Thank you again to all for Saturday's LSR, Wubble Wubble summed it all up perfectly in his post :)

Roll on week 8 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

RasTa wrote: »
    Only got out twice this week. Left hand side of my left ankle seems to be at me after I run. Not sure if this is down to over training or problem with my runner although I'm guessing it would be on the right foot too if it was the runners.

Looking at the stats, think it might be over training.
    May - 65m
    June - 51m
    July- 108m
    August so far - 66m

This week
    Wednesday - 7m @ 8:48 - I don't bother with warm up or cool down, Although took the first one handy @ 9:34

Saturday - 14m @ 9:57

I'm no expert Rasta bit that's a big leap in milage from June to July .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Extrasupervery

Got 12 miles in today, longest run in a while. Feeling great having done it but miles 5-7 and 10-12 were grim. Major props to my enthusiastic and supportive boyfriend for coaching me along with him, would have swung a right off home at 6 if I was by myself. Onwards and upwards to Frank Duffy next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

kittyclaws wrote: »
    Physio went as well as I could hope for! No damage thankfully, but I have a very tight quad muscle, I've been put on a stretching regime (x3 daily), advised reformer Pilates to quickly build up muscle strength & core. Rest until wed and then an easy 4 miles wed & Thur, if no pain than an easy 10 for the FD race on Sunday.

I hope everyone had fun today, you had a lovely morning for it :D

Good news, kittyclaws. You know the drill - take an extra day rest if you need to, a day back too soon risks many more days off later. Definitely no racing on Saturday for you, by the way!

J o e wrote: »
    Yeah I'm going to follow the HHN1. Completed the 12mile run this morning. I've a bit of work to do on pacing to slow it up more for the LSRs - todays average was just slightly slower than race pace.

I should have mentioned my last half-Ironman was just last Sunday so I'm transitioning from that training across to this. It included a half-marathon run after a grueling 85km cycle and a 2km swim. It will be a lot more mileage on the feet but hopefully the overall fitness level will be alright to keep up with ye!

Okay J o e - sounds good.

I am not sure if you're signed up for the 10M on Saturday - if not, that's for the better, you're probably better served with a long slow run (something like 13-14M). Time on feet is more important than race-practice.

Fbjm wrote: »
    I've managed to sprain a muscle in my back, so I'm out of the running for the next week. God, not looking forward to next weekend's LSR with a week's gap preceding it! Least I've booked my spot for the marathon though, only heard about them closing the entry the other day, I just happened to book in by pure chance in July. So at least there's that.

Careful with back-injuries Fbjm - the usual advice applies (see a doctor if it feels like it's not disappearing by itself // don't rush back too soon). If next weekends LSR looks too daunting after enforced absence, don't overdo it and do a somewhat shorter run instead!

Safrongirl wrote: »
    Well I struggled with 19Kms this morning - had planned for 25Kms but the knees had other ideas - ended up walking a few times too so for me it was a bad run
    Plan to take it easy enough this week and maybe a trip to the physio to see if he can help but I know he is going to say rest
    Safrongirl wrote: »
    Im starting to panic now - not putting in near the kms that others are doing and cant see me getting the time either - will my cross training days help at all or am I better running everyday ? I run 2 days per week, cross train 2 and 2 rest days ? But what about the knees ??? anyone selling 2 knees please !

Hi Safrongirl -

First things first - you gotta get those knees sorted out. You'll have to seek professional advice for that. Be open and honest about your training plans and work with your physio to see if you can make it happen. If the medical opinion is to rest - maybe rest is what you should do..?

Marathon training has an unforgiving habit to expose every weakness in your body and / or training program and if you don't look after whatever is bothering you, you run the risk to do long-term damage, miss your goal-race through injury.

Assuming you can get on top of those issues, another piece of advice would be to not compare yourself with others (this goes for everybody here, obviously ;)). There's a few novices posting formidable PBs and weekly mileage totals :eek: - but these folks have completely different circumstances and backgrounds (and goals). All I can say is admire their progress, wish them well with their goals, learn from their experiences, but stick with your own program and goals. :)

As for training plan, did you have a look at the HHN1 program here? This plan is considered a minimum investment if you're looking to "get around" on the day.

Cross-training is important but I would restrict it to one day a week max - and at easy effort. Pilates is my personal favourite, but swimming, cycling, all good. Just no 6-a-side or tag-rugby or something like that :)

My reco is to see how you can fit HHN1 into your busy weeks. 3 mid-week runs, one longer run at the weekend and ideally (but not necessary) a day of cross-training. Is that doable? Are the long runs at the weekend manageable, in terms of distance and time it will take?

tipping wrote: »
    Fair point too, something else to think about.

Settling towards option 4, race the 10k, then either do the lsr on Sunday if legs are up to it and happy wife/kids, else skip the lsr and recover. All assuming I don't get the keys to the new house next week and have to move of course😀

+1 to option 4. You have plenty of mileage in the legs, maybe just a couple of rec-miles early on Sunday to keep the family happy.

Keys to new house :eek: Last year, didn't one of the Novices injure himself putting together some piece of IKEA furniture? So much so that part of the taper-instructions included a moratorium on any DIY work. ;)

Monday easy run 14.1km @ 4.41/km
    Tuesday workout 20.2km total with  6km easy, 12.5km tempo slightly faster than PMP, The rest was warm down. Overall average 4.26/km Followed by 20 minutes stretching.
    Wednesday easy run 13.2km @ 4.43/km with 30 minutes core work.
    Thursday easy run 13km @ 4.45/km
    Friday workout 20.4km total with warm Up, 5x 2km @HMP with 1km float around 40 seconds slower. The rest warm down. Followed by 20 minutes stretching again.
    Saturday recovery run 4.5km
    Sunday 23.8km long run  @ 4.56/km with another 20 minutes stretching after it.

I really enjoyed the week but I found Fridays session in winter like conditions and Sunday hard going at times. Total of 109.6km this week.

Well done, CFR. 100km+ weeks are no joke. Maybe a rest-day is called for in your plan for next week!

RasTa wrote: »
    Only got out twice this week. Left hand side of my left ankle seems to be at me after I run. Not sure if this is down to over training or problem with my runner although I'm guessing it would be on the right foot too if it was the runners.

Looking at the stats, think it might be over training.
    May - 65m
    June - 51m
    July- 108m
    August so far - 66m

This week
    Wednesday - 7m @ 8:48 - I don't bother with warm up or cool down, Although took the first one handy @ 9:34

Saturday - 14m @ 9:57
    The Muppet wrote: »
    I'm no expert Rasta bit that's a big leap in milage from June to July .

+1 - RasTa, you gotta take it a little easier. You've already slowed down (AFAIK), now it's a matter of consolidating and slowly building your weekly mileages - rule-of-thumb, not more than 10% week-on-week, otherwise, you'll burn yourself out come September, run the risk of missing some critical weeks towards the end and not getting the marathon-debut you'd hoped for... I have no doubt you can do it, but you have to be gentler on yourself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭tony1980

FITZA wrote: »
    My week...week 7 HHN2 Plan

Mon - rest
    Tue - 6.6k @ 6.00 pace - very hilly route in Westport, downhills very tough on the knees :(
    Wed - 11.7k PMP @ 5.25 pace
    Thu - 6.5k @ 6.23 pace
    Fri - rest
    Sat - Boards Meet in Phoenix Park :) 22.9k @ 6.10 pace - lovely morning, great company :)
    Sun - 5k @ 6.25pace - on threadmill at gym, followed by 3 mins on cross trainer, and a long long soak in jacuzzi:)

Same niggles this week as last, nothing to stop me running, foam rolling and stretching so hopefully nothing will develop.
    Thank you again to all for Saturday's LSR, Wubble Wubble summed it all up perfectly in his post :)

Roll on week 8 :)

Well done Fitza, you seem to be flying on the HHN2! I am doing that one myself and not getting on too badly but I am struggling with doing the 3rd mid week run. I have been doing a fair bit of commuting the last few weeks so that hasn't helped. How are you finding the 3rd run, you seem to be sticking very well to the Tue/Wed/Thurs.

I have found myself having to swap days around for the 3rd run due to fatigue but I am finding the LSR pretty good at the weekend thank God!

I just finished the week on 30 miles. I done a 4.5 mile recovery today which I suppose is the 4 miles I missed on Thursday you could say. If I had done my run Thurs, I would have done a 3 mile recovery today anyway so I am down about 3 miles for the weekly total I was hoping for but I am 1 mile over the prescribed for the week so I am still very happy and the body feels great after the recovery run tonight.

14 miles yesterday was my longest run ever, back in Feb when I ran 13 for the first time, I wasn't right for a couple of weeks after but today I was able to do a recovery and the body feels great so I am delighted about that :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭tailgunner

7th August - 13th August
    Sunday - Rest
    Monday - 6 miles w/ 6 x half miles @ HMP
    Tuesday - 3 miles easy
    Wednesday - Rest
    Thursday - 10 miles w/ 8 @ MP
    Friday - 4 miles easy
    Saturday - 14 miles easy

Monday's session went okay. I felt a bit run down, but managed the session without too much trouble. I think I was a bit tired after a busy weekend, and I guess my legs were still recovering from Saturday's 20 miles.

Still didn't feel great on Tuesday, so I opted to keep the recovery run short.

Felt better after a rest day, and Thursday's MP session went well. Had to work hard to maintain the concentration levels, but came away with nice even splits for the MP miles.

I stuck an extra mile onto Friday's recovery run. I'm wild like that.

A step-back in mileage for the long run this week, and I thought I'd breeze through it. That proved overly optimistic though. Was finding it tough after 3 or 4 miles, and it didn't get any easier. Legs felt a little niggly after it too.

I was going to say it wasn't my best week, but I managed to tick off all the runs, so can't complain too much really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭kabuxa

Thank you so so much Kabuxa, you are the best! I'm gonna print out your post & bring it with me, it sounds amazing, I can't wait now. Hope I get to thank you in person at one of the meetups or races

There is no problem at all! Def looking forward to meeting you. Enjoy it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭sibeen99

Another good week for me, long run was a bit short at 13.7 miles but I ended up running a few extra miles on Thursday as I thought I had a spin arranged after the run but I didn't. Oops!! So I think it balances out :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

My Weekly Update .

Day|miles|pace|Heart Rate|Time Minutes
    Monday cross|-| |Bike|50
    Tuesday Easy|4.14|10:51|129|44:52|
    Wednesday pace|7.25|10:27|132|75:48
    Thursday Easy |4.15|10:39|-|44:11|
    Friday Rest|-|-|-|-
    Saturday LSR|14.17|11:01|133|156:16 mins
    Sunday Recovery|3.06|11:38|11:31|35:36
    Totals|||32:77 Miles|05:56:43 Hours

Another decent week, A little tiredness in the legs some days but over all I'm felling good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭aceygray

I didn't have a chance to post over the weekend, because I was away from home, but really enjoyed the LSR meetup on Saturday. It was probably the most enjoyable run of my training so far - the miles just fly by when you have company. Great to meet some of you as well. Sorry I couldn't hang around afterwards - hopefully next time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭kittyclaws

nop98 wrote: »
    Good news, kittyclaws. You know the drill - take an extra day rest if you need to, a day back too soon risks many more days off later. Definitely no racing on Saturday for you, by the way!

Thanks Nop, I'm getting a bit worried with the amount of silly injuries I'm picking up - it shows how important prep is. I do not have enough core strength or conditioning, I should have really lost the extra stone I'm carrying too :o
    I'll keep at it but I don't think I can afford to take much more time off. Only 76 days to go :eek:

Did someone on this page previously recomend the Myrtl Routine? Guess what my physio recommended??! Think I should actually start a stretching routine instead of just printing it out and ignoring it :rolleyes:

Looking forward to running again on Wednesday, it feels ages since I last ran!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

kittyclaws wrote: »
    Thanks Nop, I'm getting a bit worried with the amount of silly injuries I'm picking up - it shows how important prep is. I do not have enough core strength or conditioning, I should have really lost the extra stone I'm carrying too :o
    I'll keep at it but I don't think I can afford to take much more time off. Only 76 days to go :eek:

Did someone on this page previously recomend the Myrtl Routine? Guess what my physio recommended??! Think I should actually start a stretching routine instead of just printing it out and ignoring it :rolleyes:

Looking forward to running again on Wednesday, it feels ages since I last ran!

Yup... we sure did, it's never too late to start so build it into your routine from today!

Enjoy your run on Wednesday but easy does it ;)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,750 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

kabuxa wrote: »
    To Pomplamousse and Donosti goers!!
    (Memories for you Adrian!)

Thanks for that, wished I'd seen it a few months ago. So true about the food!

tony1980 wrote: »
    Well done Fitza, you seem to be flying on the HHN2! I am doing that one myself and not getting on too badly but I am struggling with doing the 3rd mid week run. I have been doing a fair bit of commuting the last few weeks so that hasn't helped. How are you finding the 3rd run, you seem to be sticking very well to the Tue/Wed/Thurs.

I have found myself having to swap days around for the 3rd run due to fatigue but I am finding the LSR pretty good at the weekend thank God!

I just finished the week on 30 miles. I done a 4.5 mile recovery today which I suppose is the 4 miles I missed on Thursday you could say. If I had done my run Thurs, I would have done a 3 mile recovery today anyway so I am down about 3 miles for the weekly total I was hoping for but I am 1 mile over the prescribed for the week so I am still very happy and the body feels great after the recovery run tonight.

14 miles yesterday was my longest run ever, back in Feb when I ran 13 for the first time, I wasn't right for a couple of weeks after but today I was able to do a recovery and the body feels great so I am delighted about that :-)

Hi tony1980, so far I am ok with the plan but I should say I am on holidays (work in a school) since the plan began and that obviously makes a huge difference, I can run when I want :), only two more weeks of this :( Even with this time off I have had weeks where the Thursday run is a chore and I just get it over with....I also find I'm more tired the weeks of the pace run, especially now it's up to 11.2k (7 miles)! I, like you, look forward to the long runs and thoroughly enjoyed the meetup on Saturday, I had never run over 20.5k before!!, being honest I usually don't like running with people but when we were all on the same pace it seemed easier and much more enjoyable.:) and of course nice people :)
    I decided to try out the gym for Sunday's recovery/cross session, yesterday being the first time and I do feel good this morning so I will continue with this on Sundays all going well.
    It's great that you're feeling good at the moment and long may that continue. What half are you doing, are you sticking with the plan? I'm doing Tullamore, falls exactly into the plan :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

Week 7 update:

Tue: 4m @ 9:39
    Wed: 7m with 5m at PMP. Average 9:14
    Thu: 3.8m @ 9:13. Ran this with a friend and went a bit fast as not paying attention to pace.
    Sat: 14m @ 9:57. A great meet up in Phoenix Park. Great to put real names and faces to nicknames!
    Sun: Rest. Had a few too many at a party on Saturday night so I skipped the recovery run.

Total for the week 28.8m. Looking forward to the 10m on Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

Any idea of where is best to park for the Frank Duffy on Saturday. I was half thinking of parking in Heuston station and walking up from there.

It is WEEK 8 and we are 75 days from the startline!!

Another awesome week of training has flown by, I continue to be impressed with the reports of great training, good paces, and excellent mileage being clocked up.

Firedance, BG and I were lucky enough to run with some of you on Saturday and it seems that all enjoyed the morning mileage. You guys all looked very strong and comfortable clocking up the miles. Maybe someone else can organize a similar meet-up for one of the mid-September super long runs? It's amazing how much easier the miles seems to be ticking by in company.

We have two new Novices joining us, welcome to J o e and Safrongirl. J o e has excellent ironman-credentials and Safrongirl runs several marathons a day looking after her 2x2. Welcome, I hope you both stick with us - and I'm looking forward to seeing you progress.

Those of you nursing niggles, keep us posted on your progress... Remember, don't try to make up for missed training and don't rush back too soon.

This week is the week of the :pac::pac:Frank Duffy 10-miler! *Exciting*! Saturday, 10am, Phoenix Park! :)

As we discussed above, those of you doing the race have full permission to give it a right lash :pac::pac:. I am really excited to see how you all will do. A trend in the previous pages is that many of you are tired and are finding the training tough - well, that's no surprise because training for a marathon is a big thing. Hopefully, the event on Saturday will give you a first glimpse how much you've improved as runner in over the past months. I am sure many of you will surprise yourselves positively..!

A couple of things to keep in mind for the race ahead:
    • Sleep and fuel. Pay extra attention to what you eat and drink this week, and make sure to get a couple of good nights sleep, Thursday and Friday in particular. These small adjustments can make a great difference on the day
    • Arrive early. There'll always be queues for loos, bag-drops, getting into the starting pens, etc. Give yourself plenty of time for all this, and make sure to warm-up with a slow, controlled mile and some stretches.
    • Parking. There's typically plenty of parking along Chesterfield, especially near the Zoo. The Garda Club is a good spot too, and it gives you a few miles to stretch the legs.
    • Line-up correctly. There will be waves, so enter according to your expected finish time - and be conservative when setting your goals.
    • Patience. At the start, run patiently. Yes, there will be eejits right ahead of you, 5-abreast, slowing you down... But don't spend too much energy ducking and weaving - try and stick to the ideal racing-line as much as you can.. 10M is a long way! Your time will come.
    • Route. Can one of the novices that ran with us on Saturday post a little route preview - seeing as we ran most of it? Wubble Wubble maybe? It'll be worth your while knowing what to expect. In short, the first couple of miles are a glorious downhill, where you should be able to bank some time - but don't hammer it down. There will be drags later in the route for which you need to leave some in the legs.
    • Confidence. Trust the plan! As I mentioned above, you may not feel like it, but you've all done considerably more miles than most runners around you in the race on Saturday. Feel good about what you have done so far and exude that confidence, it will make running feel easier. Do your little posture checks throughout the reason, run straight-up, relaxed, and confident.
    • Weather. It doesn't look too good for Saturday, with rain predicted. Make sure you
    • Toe-nail Tuesday. Give those bad-boys a once-over. I just re-read my race-report from the FD10 last year and I remember the blood-stained socks. :eek:
    • Tracker. There's an online tracker . If you want to post your race-numbers, we can all keep an eye on your progress!
    • Meet-up and the mandatory flap-jacks. If you are interested, organize a post-race meet-and-greet-and-scoff-some-flapjacks. Unfortunately, I shall be lazing away on holidays :cool: and can't attend.

Not all of you will be in a position to do the event - which doesn't mean you get to take a break and just eat snacks :) Here's a suggestion for the week ahead:

|HHN1 with FD|HHN1 without FD|Boards with FD|Board without FD
    Mon|rest (cross)|rest (cross)|rest (cross)|rest (cross)|
    Tue|3m|3m|4m & strides|4m & strides
    Wed|6m|6m|5m|5m
    Thu|rest|3m|rest|4m
    Fri|rest (2m & strides)|rest|2m & strides|cross
    Sat|FD10|12M LSR|FD10|14M LSR
    Sun|3m rec (rest)|3m rec (rest)|3m rec (rest)|3m rec (rest)

Lastly, during last-year's thread, TFGR posted the following famous quote from John Bingham - just before the FD10 2015. I love that quote - keep it mind:

The miracle isn't that I finished. The miracle is that I had the courage to start.

tumblr_m5vo47SYtd1rtx06go1_1280.jpg

Is this not week 8??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Looking foward to the FD10, also pretty nervous as it's my first 10 mile race!

My race number is 182 and my goals are:

A: Under 1:23:00.
    B: Under 1:25:00 to avoid a meltdown of ohmygod-I'm-terrible-I-give-up-on-running-forever proportions. (Based on my 10k I should be in 1:23:xx range)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,652 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

FITZA wrote: »
    Is this not week 8??

Think so, yeah. Means I've been labelling my posts incorrectly...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Looking foward to the FD10, also pretty nervous as it's my first 10 mile race!

My race number is 182 and my goals are:

A: Under 1:23:00.
    B: Under 1:25:00 to avoid a meltdown of ohmygod-I'm-terrible-I-give-up-on-running-forever proportions. (Based on my 10k I should be in 1:23:xx range)

This is the first time you'll have raced a distance over 10k, yeh? Endurance is going to be what hurts you, so try not to get too emotionally attached to the numbers spat out by the calculators - they're definitely unreliable for folks racing distances for the first time. I think there's a lot more elevation gain and loss in the FD compared to the Fingal 10k too (especially the last mile or so).

That said, you have some good training done since and you might well do relatively better on Saturday compared to a month ago in the 10k - figure this out cautiously on the course though, rather than melting down and struggling over the last couple of miles.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,652 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Any idea of where is best to park for the Frank Duffy on Saturday. I was half thinking of parking in Heuston station and walking up from there.
    nop98 wrote: »
    [*]Parking. There's typically plenty of parking along Chesterfield, especially near the Zoo. The Garda Club is a good spot too, and it gives you a few miles to stretch the legs.

The official website says parking will be limited on the day which is understandable. It was pretty busy there after we finished at the meet up on Sat. Do they cut back availability a fair bit because there's an event on? I don't mind trying the shuttle bus option.