Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2016/17 FPL Rate My Team Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭JeffCash

Any thoughts on strengthening or changing the following. Going to play the WC after GW 3. Any feedback/critiques appreciated

Foster (Jakupovic)

Shaw Stones Taylor Morgan (Smith)

Mahrez Fabregas Redmond (King, Fletcher)

Vardy Ibra Aguero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭elefant

Looking forward to the season starting so I can stop second-guessing myself.

Any obvious changes anyone would suggest? Bench is sadly rubbish, but at least they should play. One change I'll possibly make is to downgrade Baines and improve one of my subs?

De Gea

Stones Baines Morgan Shaw (Amat)

Hazard Redmond Mahrez (Fletcher, Capoue)

Gray Ibra Kun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

MrMac84 wrote: »
    I'm closer to the end then the start I'm hoping.

Forster (jakup)
    Shaw Stones Friend (Evans Amat)
    Payet Townsend Redmond Routledge (Firminio)
    Ibra Kun Gray

I am pretty happy but I've 1 million in the bank.. Anyone see any where that could be immediately well spent?

I wouldn't bench firmino

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,480 ✭✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

Head melted already, have changed this team loads since last night. Any help appreciated please
    Ddg
    Baines Van Dijk Stones
    Ramsey Payet Redmond Mahrez

Aguero Long Gray
    Jalupovic, Vertonghen, Fuchs, Fletcher

Strong MF but light up top.
    Could work out for you if you only play 2 upfront and Gray becomes this year's Vardy.

Vertoghan is back training and Pochettino said he was available this weekend but I'd be amazed if he played on GW1 or 2 or even 3 as he has had zero preseason and only returned to full training a couple of days ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭Usernemises

Strong MF but light up top.
    Could work out for you if you only play 2 upfront and Gray becomes this year's Vardy.

Vertoghan is back training and Pochettino said he was available this weekend but I'd be amazed if he played on GW1 or 2 or even 3 as he has had zero preseason and only returned to full training a couple of days ago[/quote]

Cheers, was thinking of downgrading baines to strengthen up front, might just downgrade himself and vertonghen now to get Kane/Vardy in as i usually use the wc by gw 4/5 anyway. Thanks for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

Change of plan Ive decided to go without hazard and get in Ibra. Latest draft is
    Foster
    stones mee friend
    townsend sanchez firmino redmond
    Ibra aguero gray
    jaku naughton evans marney
    I prefer sanchez over hazard he is a better goalscorer so to get ibra in I had to cut hazard. Ive left 1million in the bank and plan to do townsend to a 7.5 mid next week either ayew,siggy or oscar.

Im happy with a cheap defence 31.5 on my back 7. An interesting article on FFS about premium defenders v cheap defensive rotation. Its something I tend to agree with we only need to pick 3 from our back 5 so its quite possible to get decent fixtures most weeks for a rotating cheap defence. Im just looking at the first 4 weeks my 12 fixtures for my defenders that Ill play are SUN H, SWA H, STO H, HULL H, EVE H, STO A, MID H , WHU H, WBA A, HULL H, CRY H BOU A. Id hope to get between 4 and 6 c.s from those 12 fixtures anything either side of that Id class as either unlucky or lucky.

Mm. Food for thought. I've been wavering on Hazard v Sanchez. Chelsea's better fixtures swinging it, but Sanchez may be up top. Hazard has been looking like playing more advanced under Conte. A conundrum, I'm down to just one 5.5 def already and would have to go all cheap defs to fit Sanchez.

Btw, why Naughton? Wouldn't have thought he was even nailed, while Guidolins comments about being in no rush to sign a CB seems to give Amat at 4.0 a reasonable degree of security for a few GWSLs at least?

Cheers, was thinking of downgrading baines to strengthen up front, might just downgrade himself and vertonghen now to get Kane/Vardy in as i usually use the wc by gw 4/5 anyway. Thanks for that.

I have Kane but thinking of switching to Vardy who plays Hull in the early kickoff tomorrow...

... But Kane has good fixture in GW2 so not sure myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Started late this year so only 3rd draft or so. 1m in the bank to get Firmino in after a couple of weeks if I dont need to wildcard.

Heaton Foster

Stones Evans Ake Kone Amat

Barkley Lamela Hazard Ramsey Redmond

Aguero Costa Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Glen_Quagmire

Lads opinions on this please

De Gea (Jakupovic)

Van Dijk Stones (Morgan) (Evans) (Paredes)

Dier siggie Mkhita Coutinho Drinkwater

Kane Aguero Long

Dier siggie Mkhita Coutinho Drinkwater

Dier was listed as a defender last year and thus picked up additional points for cleansheets etc so unlikely to score near as well this time around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,612 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Picked a team with the likelihood of wildcarding after GW3, during the first international break and close of the transfer window. This means fixture difficulty for those first 3 games is super important, and not so concerned about players' long term prospects in their teams.

Goalkeepers:
    Valdes (STK, sun, wba) - Should start at Middlesboro
    Foster (cry, EVE, MID) - big fan of Pulisball

Defenders
    Baines (TOT, wba, stk) - Playing wingback, possibly on penalties
    Coleman (TOT, wba, stk) - Playing wingback
    Stones (SUN, stk, WHU) - Cheapest way into a top 4 defence
    Friend (STK, sun, wba) - cheap, attacking defender
    Amat (bur, HUL, lei) - likely to start the first couple of games

Midfielders
    Hazard (WHU, wat, bur) - hoping he can recapture his past form
    Mane (ars, bur, tot) - been very impressive in pre-season
    Redmond (WAT, mun, SUN) - likely to start up front, based on Puel's comments
    Ali (eve, CRY, LIV) - hoping he can continue from last season
    Walcott (LIV, lei, wat) - could start up front while Giroud is rested

Forwards
    Ibrahimovic (bou, SOU, hul) - Most assured way into United's attack
    Musa (hul, ARS, SWA) - Looked impressive in pre-season
    Gray (SWA, LIV, che) - best option at 6.5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,284 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Is Amat a starter? Lots of ye have him here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,138 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Picked a team with the likelihood of wildcarding after GW3, during the first international break and close of the transfer window. This means fixture difficulty for those first 3 games is super important, and not so concerned about players' long term prospects in their teams.

Goalkeepers:
    Valdes (STK, sun, wba) - Should start at Middlesboro
    Foster (cry, EVE, MID) - big fan of Pulisball

Defenders
    Baines (TOT, wba, stk) - Playing wingback, possibly on penalties
    Coleman (TOT, wba, stk) - Playing wingback
    Stones (SUN, stk, WHU) - Cheapest way into a top 4 defence
    Friend (STK, sun, wba) - cheap, attacking defender
    Amat (bur, HUL, lei) - likely to start the first couple of games

Midfielders
    Hazard (WHU, wat, bur) - hoping he can recapture his past form
    Mane (ars, bur, tot) - been very impressive in pre-season
    Redmond (WAT, mun, SUN) - likely to start up front, based on Puel's comments
    Ali (eve, CRY, LIV) - hoping he can continue from last season
    Walcott (LIV, lei, wat) - could start up front while Giroud is rested

Forwards
    Ibrahimovic (bou, SOU, hul) - Most assured way into United's attack
    Musa (hul, ARS, SWA) - Looked impressive in pre-season
    Gray (SWA, LIV, che) - best option at 6.5

I don't understand how you don't have Aguero in your team. You don't have a City attacker at all?

Anyone know what the skinny on Downing is? Likely to play and start, set pieces?

Is Amat a starter? Lots of ye have him here.

Williams is gone and Guidolin indicated he was in no rush to sign a replacement so the expectation is that Amat with get his chance at CB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

callaway92 wrote: »
    I don't understand how you don't have Aguero in your team. You don't have a City attacker at all?

double Everton defence too and Coleman is an injury doubt !
    downgrade Coleman and Walcott anyway
    get aguero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,612 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

callaway92 wrote: »

City are a massive unknown under Pep at the moment. This is the guy who bombed out Eto'o, Ibrahimovic, Deco, Mandzukic. Couple that with Aguero's injury record and the fact that he played the whole Copa America tournament to the final, and I think he's worth avoiding for the first few weeks. There's undoubtedly value in the City attack, but I need to see how they line up under Pep to decide on who.

De Gea/Courtois
    Stones / Lovren / Darmian / Sagna / Matip
    Xhaka / Kante / Firmino / Mkhitaryan / Kouyate
    Aguero / Carroll / Giroud

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

km79 wrote: »
    I like that a LOT
    It's similar to what I have .
    Is that Forster and not foster yeah cos in thinking of going that route

Ya Forster from Southampton.. Couldn't get a defender from them so went for the keeper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,138 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

City are a massive unknown under Pep at the moment. This is the guy who bombed out Eto'o, Ibrahimovic, Deco, Mandzukic. Couple that with Aguero's injury record and the fact that he played the whole Copa America tournament to the final, and I think he's worth avoiding for the first few weeks. There's undoubtedly value in the City attack, but I need to see how they line up under Pep to decide on who.

If Aguero goes nuts in a match (high potential of), you're fecked though

aguero is a known quantity in fpl though
    when fit he scores goals. lots of goals .
    home to Sunderland first weekend..........if he does his usual stuff how do you get him in???????
    Walcott - how many games will be start ?
    musa - will he start ?
    you could be looking at a wildcard next week with that set up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

I wouldn't bench firmino

Cuz arsenals make shift cb's? Who would ya bench? Gray?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭MarkSRFC21

In fairness, he got rid of those players when there were better options, ie Messi and Lewandowski. He hardly drops or rests aguero and starts Iheanacho up top. Aguero will start up top when fit no matter how he sets up the rest of the team.

De Gea/Courtois
    Stones / Lovren / Darmian / Sagna / Matip
    Xhaka / Kante / Firmino / Mkhitaryan / Kouyate
    Aguero / Carroll / Giroud

WAY too much on keepers
    Darmian did not even make the bench for community shield
    Lovren and Matip double up for 3 away games ??????
    sagna - euros may not start
    Miki got 2 minutes at the end
    Xhaka - defensive mid
    kante - defensive mid
    Carroll - could be a good pick but generally ends in tears
    Giroud-. not fit

I'd start again

it would be nice if everyone who posted their team could make an effort to help others with their team as well............

De Gea/Courtois Stones / Lovren / Darmian / Sagna / Matip Xhaka / Kante / Firmino / Mkhitaryan / Kouyate Aguero / Carroll / Giroud

What kind of role is Xhaka expected to play. Is he likely to pick up attacking points?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

it would be nice if everyone who posted their team could make an effort to help others with their team as well............

Good idea. Perhaps we could have an unwritten rule between ourselves that if you want advice on your team you need to offer advice on at least 1 team yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Good point. What bugs me is that regular posters can stick up their team and get scores of replies, but lurkers get pretty much no response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

MrMac84 wrote: »
    Cuz arsenals make shift cb's? Who would ya bench? Gray?

Firmino is likely to start up front going on pre-season

Very torn between himself and Mahrez at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

FHFC wrote: »
    Mm. Food for thought. I've been wavering on Hazard v Sanchez. Chelsea's better fixtures swinging it, but Sanchez may be up top. Hazard has been looking like playing more advanced under Conte. A conundrum, I'm down to just one 5.5 def already and would have to go all cheap defs to fit Sanchez.

Btw, why Naughton? Wouldn't have thought he was even nailed, while Guidolins comments about being in no rush to sign a CB seems to give Amat at 4.0 a reasonable degree of security for a few GWSLs at least?
    Naughton has played in most pre seasons. I'd be slightly worried about the CBS being Fernandez and van der hoorn that's why I'm not on amat. I only need my swans def for gw 2 and plan to sell for kone.