Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

I thought 3 in a season was a suspension now?

I believe that's a yellow followed by a black which is a sending off - that multiplied by three is a suspension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,815 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

corny wrote: »
    You can piece the whole event together from the two camera angles. Watch the live picture. Connolly pulls his jersey slightly and steps across him to block his run. Arms are outstretched though. McHugh wraps both arms around him and pulls him backwards to the ground. There's no ambiguity, that's what happened. From the other angle you can see when they go to ground Connolly is the one trying to get to his feet (because Dublin have won a turnover). McHugh is still up for the jostling.

I lost count of the amount of times Dublin players checked Donegal runners. That's what Connolly was up to but he did nothing to warrant a card on the evidence available. McHugh pulled him to the ground.

My eyes did deceive a little though. I was blaming Frank McGlynn in the stands.

Would be interested to see if anyone agrees with this description of that incident?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

keane2097 wrote:
    If memory serves Connolly had given away a free for another high tackle not long before the second yellow - if that's the case I don't think he can have any complaints.

I dont think he has either. A black card to him wouldn't have been the worst decision for the Dubs tbh. Could have brought Mannion on earlier.
    It did look like he was holding McHugh then was holding etc. If he got a black card it would have been the easiest of the decisions to understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,815 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Stoner wrote: »
    I dont think he has either. A black card to him wouldn't have been the worst decision for the Dubs tbh. Could have brought Mannion on earlier.
    It did look like he was holding McHugh then was holding etc. If he got a black card it would have been the easiest of the decisions to understand.

I think having not seen the incident the ref decided to give two yellows for both of them wrestling rather than the black card to Connolly for blocking the run and/or pulling McHugh to the ground which he would have had to guess about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

You can piece the whole event together from the two camera angles. Watch the live picture. Connolly pulls his jersey slightly and steps across him to block his run. Arms are outstretched though. McHugh wraps both arms around him and pulls him backwards to the ground. There's no ambiguity, that's what happened. From the other angle you can see when they go to ground Connolly is the one trying to get to his feet (because Dublin have won a turnover). McHugh is still up for the jostling.

I lost count of the amount of times Dublin players checked Donegal runners. That's what Connolly was up to but he did nothing to warrant a card on the evidence available. McHugh pulled him to the ground.

My eyes did deceive a little though. I was blaming Frank McGlynn in the stands.
    Ok so even if this is what happened, your take is that the guy who pulls the jersey and then blocks the run is the victim in this incident? From what you described it sounds like two yellows was exactly the right call from the ref although personally I would much rather the first offence gets the heavier punishment as clearly this was an attempt to take McHugh out of the play.

keane2097 wrote: »
    Would be interested to see if anyone agrees with this description of that incident?

Watching it live, I missed the start of it, thought I'd reserve judgement until the Sunday Game, but even they only show the incident from when it had already begun. I don't know why they didn't just show it all from 4-5 seconds before it began.

It was abundantly clear that there were a few Donegal players getting involved in attempting to provoke a reaction from Connollly from the start. Actually, there was even a bit of argy-bargy before the throw-in. Getting him booked early doors was a genuine ploy, imo, even more so after his two early goal chances. Had either / both of them gone in it would have made it a much more open and expansive game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,831 ✭✭✭corny

Ceist_Beag wrote: »
    Ok so even if this is what happened, your take is that the guy who pulls the jersey and then blocks the run is the victim in this incident? From what you described it sounds like two yellows was exactly the right call from the ref although personally I would much rather the first offence gets the heavier punishment as clearly this was an attempt to take McHugh out of the play.

Don't be facetious. You asserted Connolly pulled McHugh to the ground. I'm telling you I think you're wrong.

I also conceded Dublin were well up for dark arts in blocking runners. That's what Connolly was up to but did the situation warrant a caution? Well you're holding him to a unique standard if so. The ref let countless Dublin players away with far more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

Not being facetious at all corny but you stated twice that you felt Connolly did nothing wrong and that he was simply pulled to the ground. Fair enough he might have been hauled down by McHugh but he certainly knew what he was at and once two lads are on the ground rolling around like that it inevitably always ends up with two yellow cards. Connolly is a fool if he thinks he was hard done by getting a yellow for that and as I said, personally I would much prefer referees (with the help of linesmen and umpires) started to crack down much harder on the first offender in these situations, but that's for another day!

Ceist_Beag wrote: »
    Not being facetious at all corny but you stated twice that you felt Connolly did nothing wrong and that he was simply pulled to the ground. Fair enough he might have been hauled down by McHugh but he certainly knew what he was at and once two lads are on the ground rolling around like that it inevitably always ends up with two yellow cards. Connolly is a fool if he thinks he was hard done by getting a yellow for that and as I said, personally I would much prefer referees (with the help of linesmen and umpires) started to crack down much harder on the first offender in these situations, but that's for another day!

Fair enough. Having watched it back I fully agree Connolly was acting the maggot. I think my point is without McHugh pulling him to the ground the incident passes as just another coming together (one of a huge number).

Connolly trying to be cute. McHugh proving he's cuter as it were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,713 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

To be honest Im getting sick of all this niggly crap and players making a meal of any contact especially the ones who clutch their faces and writhe on the ground its appalling behavior from men. Lots at it wearing all colours and its pathetic. If a player is going to react to tugs or pinches or someone claiming they shagged his girlfriend or whatever and get sent off then really he should smash someone in the face with a proper elbow hopefully breaking a cheekbone or nose and at least make the other guy think about doing it again in the future and just take the punishment or else just ignore it because Id have a lot more respect for that than pushing and shoving.

Moving on.

Cooper was very good yesterday. I was worried about him coming into the game, he wasn't dragged into anything or didn't start anything helped out with a great point, stood his ground at the end
    Philly too. The back line performed well. Kilkenny did well, if Fenton is out and McCarthy is back we might need him there again, but I'd rather him in the half-forward line.

I was delighted with Mannion I had a feeling that he's made of the right stuff for impact subs against Donegal or Tyrone if we played them.
    Bit concerned that Costello is getting no time.

Small was great again. I hope Fenton recovers , he was instrumental in a number of scoring opportunities, we really haven't had a midfielder like him for a long time. Bastic is starting to look like the wrong man again to introduce into the melting pot towards the end game.

Anyone any thoughts on Daly and how he did when he came on, brogan had a stinker well marked but had a stinker too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

RE: Fenton and the rumored broken/fractured jaw.

He played until the black card near the end. Would you really be able to play on with a a fractured jaw? I had a hairline fracture years ago and it took me about a month before i could eat solids.

Bastic is starting to look like the wrong man again to introduce into the melting pot towards the end game.

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Undefeated run.....

image.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

He played until the black card near the end. Would you really be able to play on with a a fractured jaw? I had a hairline fracture years ago and it took me about a month before i could eat solids.

You don't generally eat anything during a match :confused:

Well maybe philly does the odd time...

corny wrote:
    Why?

Just think he's a ringer for getting back carded or something towards the end if the game. I do like him. I'd still start him then sub him when he's on the inevitable yellow.
    He's 100 needed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

RE: Fenton and the rumored broken/fractured jaw.

I'd imagine it is quite feasible that with adrenalin etc running through his body he'd be more than capable to play on with a hairline fracture of his jaw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Just think he's a ringer for getting back carded or something towards the end if the game. I do like him. I'd still start him then sub him when he's on the inevitable yellow.
    He's 100 needed

Denis is the old school physical grafter in the mould of Whela. I think he has calmed down a lot.

When you need control around the middle of the park, there's no better man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,244 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Moving on.

Cooper was very good yesterday. I was worried about him coming into the game, he wasn't dragged into anything or didn't start anything helped out with a great point, stood his ground at the end
    Philly too. The back line performed well. Kilkenny did well, if Fenton is out and McCarthy is back we might need him there again, but I'd rather him in the half-forward line.

I was delighted with Mannion I had a feeling that he's made of the right stuff for impact subs against Donegal or Tyrone if we played them.
    Bit concerned that Costello is getting no time.

Small was great again. I hope Fenton recovers , he was instrumental in a number of scoring opportunities, we really haven't had a midfielder like him for a long time. Bastic is starting to look like the wrong man again to introduce into the melting pot towards the end game.

Anyone any thoughts on Daly and how he did when he came on, brogan had a stinker well marked but had a stinker too.

Small was brilliant, he just needs a bit more nous in the attacking third but that will come.

Mannions goal was a thing of real beauty, goal of the championship so far for me.

Thought Daly did okay worked his socks off making life hard for the Donegal kick outs and tracking back.

I'd be starting Bastic with Fenton (hopefully), MDM still doesn't look right or sharp enough. Seems to play better coming off the bench against tired legs.

On a side note I don't want to see Cian kicking a ball for the remainder of our games. Keep it simple O'Sullivan, pretty please.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

Just think he's a ringer for getting back carded or something towards the end if the game.

Its more trying to kill the game than suspect temperament though. I'd say if we were chasing the game he'd a do good job of staying on the pitch.;)

Gavin has some task picking the 3 inside forwards when KK goes back to 11 next day. Kev Mc is in no humour for settling for the impact sub role by looks of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,244 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Gavin is right about his team not getting any protection. MDM had his nose broken against Laois (ok red card there), dermo got kicked in the head against Meath (no action taken). Murphy tried to put Fentons jaw into a different postcode (no action taken).

Beyond a joke at this because it's very clear what's happening and the refs aren't doing anything about it for the most part.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

I dunno corny. I hate the idea of going into a game against Kerry, without Kev Mc on the bench. Knowing that we can spring him at any moment, is a massive, massive psychological advantage for us. He had a great day on Saturday, but let's be honest, he has had more ineffective days as a starter, than he has had good ones. When he starts, he just runs into traffic too easily, gets bottled up and gets done for over carrying.

JRant wrote: »
    Gavin is right about his team not getting any protection. MDM had his nose broken against Laois (ok red card there), dermo got kicked in the head against Meath (no action taken). Murphy tried to put Fentons jaw into a different postcode (no action taken).

Beyond a joke at this because it's very clear what's happening and the refs aren't doing anything about it for the most part.

You forgot the heinous hair ruffling Connolly got against Westmeath.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Rosita

You forgot the heinous hair ruffling Connolly got against Westmeath.:D[

/QUOTE]

I wouldn't be so quick to guffaw at that incident. It was clearly designed to annoy, frustrate, and get a reaction. Not any different from an actual dig only slyer and more cowardly.

ProudDUB wrote: »
    I dunno corny. I hate the idea of going into a game against Kerry, without Kev Mc on the bench. Knowing that we can spring him at any moment, is a massive, massive psychological advantage for us. He had a great day on Saturday, but let's be honest, he has had more ineffective days as a starter, than he has had good ones. When he starts, he just runs into traffic too easily, gets bottled up and gets done for over carrying.

Ah but his current form can't be knocked. He was majestic on Saturday and he was good when Dublin decided to play in the second half against Westmeath. Telling because in the past he hasn't seen out the 70 too often.

Anyway i think the manager has to reward lads who work their way in and perform. He has to show it to the squad more than anything else. On that basis i'd give Kev Mc the jersey.

Either way i don't think we'll have a weak bench! Its really frightening the options we have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

JRant wrote: »

Was watching the game again and Murphy threw an elbow at Cooper minutes after taking out Fenton, he missed by a mile but is indicative of his mentality at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

Bambi wrote: »
    You don't generally eat anything during a match :confused:

Well maybe philly does the odd time...

My point being i could barely open my mouth or move my jaw for a month. I caught an elbow from a corner forward and i thought it was just a bad knock. Tried to play on but every step was like someone pulling my jaw away from my head. Vision went blurry and i could barely see. Think it would be a difficult one to play on with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

The puck in the gob took place in the 13th minute. I'd like to think that between the lad himself, the medics who attended to him immediately after it, his team mates who would surely have noticed his sudden inability to speak for the next hour, to the medics who would have had longer to examine him at half time.....surely to God, between all of them, a possible broken/fractured jaw would have been flagged & he would have been removed from the field of play? At least, you'd like to think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭D9Male

I thought Cooper was very good on Sunday. I would be a bit worried if Brogan plays like that against Kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

D9Male wrote: »
    I thought Cooper was very good on Sunday. I would be a bit worried if Brogan plays like that against Kerry.

I wouldn't. He was well minded on Saturday, and still did a hell of alot of running off the ball. This movement is what keeps defences on the back foot.

Kerry may fail to heed the age old warning of "Never turn your back on a Brogan". We all know what can happen if you do.