Bad logic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

A person I know spending just over €50 in Dunnes to make use of the 10 euro off voucher - so the final cost is something like €42.

When I gently suggested (phrased as a question, like it had just occurred to me) that they could have got much the same stuff in Aldi or Lidl (where they usually go) for less than €42, the response was 'but it's 10 euro off.'

Plenty of people, myself included, much prefer the taste of low fat milk over full fat milk and indeed the taste of Coke Zero over ordinary sugar-loaded, thirst-inducing Coke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Centrifugal milk??! Are ye high? Bleedin thick. What ya think happens? they spin milk in a washing machine til the fats gone or there's a bird in a lab coat with milk in a petri dish and she's extracting fat molecules with a tweezer!!! Har har har! Bleedin thicks. It's diluted ta feck ya gowls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Driving further for a cheaper loaf of bead. Save 50 cent on petrol but spend a fiver on fuel .
    It's a similar false economy to travel to Northern Ireland for grocery /alcohol, unless you live near the border . I don't know why people don't factor in the cost of petrol /diesel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Skimmed milk is shíte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,039 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Aero bars, i could just melt down chocolate and blow bubbles into it with a straw and put it in the fridge

And then you could flavour it with toothpaste and you would have home-made Mint Aero!

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Centrifugal milk??! Are ye high? Bleedin thick. What ya think happens? they spin milk in a washing machine til the fats gone or there's a bird in a lab coat with milk in a petri dish and she's extracting fat molecules with a tweezer!!! Har har har! Bleedin thicks. It's diluted ta feck ya gowls.

Milk separator ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Not servicing/general upkeep to cars properly and then whinge when they've a rake of things to do for the NCT

http://www.thekitchn.com/how-is-skim-milk-made-ingredient-intelligence-215893
    The quicker, modernized way of making low-fat and skim milks is to place the whole milk into a machine called a centrifugal separator, which spins some or all of the fat globules out of the milk. This occurs before the milk is homogenized, a process which reduces all the milk particles to the same size so that natural separation doesn't occur anymore.

Not servicing/general upkeep to cars properly and then whinge when they've a rake of things to do for the NCT

True but maybe putting it on the long finger due to lack of money !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

I've lost the plot here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭Vic_08

The fat rises to the top naturally, to make skimmed milk it is then skimmed off.

That'll be why it is called skimmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Minty, Minty, Minty, where do you think they get cream from? They steal it from the full-fat milk to make skimmed milk.

That's what skimmed milk is - the poor remainders of cream theft :eek:

You think of that the next time you're licking whipped cream off the body of a beautiful lady, bloke or lady-bloke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

I know someone who spends hours doing the grocery shopping. Goes from Aldi to Lidl to Dunnes to Super Valu. All to save about 3 euro. Will drive miles to save 1 cent a litre on Diesel. Never any more than a tenner of diesel in the car, the fuel light is permanently on.
    I've tried to ask about the diesel, "you make a 7 mile round trip to save 1cent a litre" "so what, it's 1cent more in my pocket"
    "Mind mice at a crossroads"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭passremarkable

Is this the stingy thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭patsypantaloni

any other example of people making poor life decisions daily.

This post. Life is *way* too short for this sh*t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Is this the stingy thread
    Ouch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭Stigura

Milk separator ?

I have Sade stuck in my head now :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭jigglypuffstuff

So AH any other example of people making poor life decisions daily.

Oh I have one, I have one

How about....starting a thread about bad logic...then presenting a statement that embodies bad logic in the same post :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

pone2012 wrote: »
    Oh I have one, I have one

How about....starting a thread about bad logic...then presenting a statement that embodies bad logic in the same post :o

Yis are ticks if ye don't realise milk is diluted with water

• Closed Accounts Posts: 855 ✭✭✭TSMGUY

Eating vast quantities of junk and then blaming it on an underactive thyroid, although that seems to be a mostly American phenomena.

I use the wire bits off champagne bottles to make bull bars for my pet turtles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Drinking straws... Chrissake you're only 5 more cm away from the rim, just lift the glass 5cm more you moron!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 861 ✭✭✭MeatTwoVeg

BOIL an egg to perfection without costly egg timers by popping it into boiling water and driving away from your home at exactly 60mph. After three miles, phone your wife to take the egg out the pan.

I read the thing about adding water to milk and thought that was the bad logic..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

TSMGUY wrote: »
    Eating vast quantities of junk and then blaming it on an underactive thyroid, although that seems to be a mostly American phenomena.

It's spread this this part of the word.

Lot of people blaming nebulous "health problems" for the fact that they are grossly overweight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭valoren

If Bill Gates owns Fort Knox, then he is rich.

Bill Gates is rich.

Therefore, Bill Gates owns Fort Know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

lawlolawl wrote: »
    It's spread this this part of the word.

Lot of people blaming nebulous "health problems" for the fact that they are grossly overweight.

New a girl very overweight , said she had a slow metabolism.

She ate chocolate spread on toast every morning for brekkie and chips with whatever every dinner. And I mean every.

Funny, how someone who thinks they have a slow metabolism would choose to eat chocolate spread for breakfast when they know the results would be even worse for them than a person with normal metabolism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,824 ✭✭✭FanadMan

shaunr68 wrote: »
    Thanks to Viz :D

The fountain of all knowledge :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

TSMGUY wrote: »

Phenomenon

Phenomenona

Phenomenological

... I got logic in there ...

Not your ornery onager