Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bad logic

• 08-08-2016 5:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭

People buying 2l of low fat milk when they should be buying a litre of the normal stuff then filling up with a litre of water in a jug to save money. Buy 500ml if you're a skimmed milk drinker and top up with 1.5l water.

Women. Paying through the nose for blunt razors when a man razor would cut their hair 10 times better and last 10 times longer.

So AH any other example of people making poor life decisions daily.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Mint Aero wrote: »
    People buying 2l of low fat milk when they should be buying a litre of the normal stuff then filling up with a litre of water in a jug to save money. Buy 500ml if you're a skimmed milk drinker and top up with 1.5l water.

Women. Paying through the nose for blunt razors when a man razor would cut their hair 10 times better and last 10 times longer.

Where would you put the extra 1.5 litres Into a 500ml container :P

I think going to work is a bad life decision tbh....know lads who won't work and have great life's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,860 ✭✭✭stimpson

Men. Grow a beard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭radia

I don't drink skimmed milk, but I've a feeling it's 'bad logic' to assume the low fat stuff is just full fat milk + water. If that were the case, then everything would be diluted out, not just the fat. I presume they centrifuge it or something to skim off some of the fat.
    See labels:
    http://nutritiousandfit.files.wordpress.com/2011/09/milk.jpg

Hold on, skimmed milk is just diluted milk?!

This can't be true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 720 ✭✭✭DrGreenthumb

Aero bars, i could just melt down chocolate and blow bubbles into it with a straw and put it in the fridge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭shaunr68

This can't be true
    It isn't. Skimmed milk has the fat removed, the cream "skimmed" off to reduce fat content, rather than just diluting it.

Fat content:

Whole milk: 3.5%

Whole milk diluted 1:4 with water: 0.875%

Skimmed milk: 0.3%

Though you are also diluting all the nutrients in the milk. At some point, you might as well not bother and just add water to your tea :)

I agree with the razor saving tip, haven't shaved in 20 years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

I don't drink skimmed milk, but I've a feeling it's 'bad logic' to assume the low fat stuff is just full fat milk + water. If that were the case, then everything would be diluted out, not just the fat. I presume they centrifuge it or something to skim off some of the fat.
    See labels:
    http://nutritiousandfit.files.wordpr...11/09/milk.jpg

Where are you going to get a Pink container/carton from Mint?

Your scheme is coming apart at the seams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,684 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

This can't be true

It's not true

lawred2 wrote: »
    It's not true

It's an example of bad logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Going to the gym? Don't waste money on fancy shower gels, simply use the soap dispenser in the toilet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Mr_Muffin

Bottled water?

Just fill up a bottle at home using the tap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,076 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

'Big People' in the supermarket buying eight 2L bottles of "Diet" Coke :))

under the impression that this massive volume will help lose wiight...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭shaunr68

BOIL an egg to perfection without costly egg timers by popping it into boiling water and driving away from your home at exactly 60mph. After three miles, phone your wife to take the egg out the pan.

Thanks to Viz :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Buying lettuce?

Never heard the likes of it. Look outside, the country is drowning in green leaves, just grab a fistful.

LordSutch wrote: »

Yeah they should just drink the sugar instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Elliott S

Low fat milk contains more protein and calcium in the litre than the full fat version. Water down full fat, you are also watering down the protein and calcium content instead of increasing it like if you purchase low fat and skimmed milk.

Elliott S wrote: »
    Low fat milk contains more protein and calcium in the litre than the full fat version. Water down full fat, you are also watering down the protein and calcium content instead of increasing it like if you purchase low fat and skimmed milk.

You add by subtracting? That's bad logic.

Saipanne wrote: »
    You add by subtracting? That's bad logic.

No, think about it. You need to fill a litre. A smaller proportion of the low-fat litre is fat. So the non-fat part of the milk takes up more room in the litre. The non-fat part contains protein and calcium. Hence a litre of low-fat milk has more calcium and protein than a full-fat litre.

Elliott S wrote: »
    No, think about it. You need to fill a litre. A smaller proportion of the low-fat litre is fat. So the non-fat part of the milk takes up more room in the litre. The non-fat part contains protein and calcium. Hence a litre of low-fat milk has more calcium and protein than a full-fat litre.

That was my attempt at a silly joke. It failed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,076 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Yeah they should just drink the sugar instead.

...or just lay off the fizzy drinks altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Pablodreamsofnew

People buying a Big Mac meal with a diet drink. Very funny Tenacious D song about it. Low fat stuff is rubbish. I end up eating more that that stuff than the full fat stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,792 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

They might be/probably are diabetic.

...or just lay off the fizzy drinks altogether.

Or just do whatever they want.

People buying a Big Mac meal with a diet drink. Very funny Tenacious D song about it. Low fat stuff is rubbish. I end up eating more that that stuff than the full fat stuff.

Wouldn't be me, but some people just prefer the diet versions. I know people who prefer Diet Coke to the full sugar version, it's nothing to do with weight control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,899 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

What makes you believe this? I don't think it has ever been marketed as a weight loss drink. Would you prefer if they only bought the regular Coke?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

What makes you believe this? I don't think it has ever been marketed as a weight loss drink. Would you prefer if they only bought the regular Coke?

We have a diet coke drinker here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

If this were true then the retailer could buy 1 litre of full fat milk off the supplier, double the quantity by adding another litre of water leaving him with 2 litres of skimmed milk to sell, gaining him twice the income he would have made with the original 1 litre of full fat milk.

Obviously there is something not quite right with your diluting idea which I call 'bad logic'.

Saipanne wrote: »
    That was my attempt at a silly joke. It failed.

Ah. Tone lost in text.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Gluten free food, just get over it and eat what everyone else is eating, allergy me hole! :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

*I kid..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,779 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

A person I know spending just over €50 in Dunnes to make use of the 10 euro off voucher - so the final cost is something like €42.

When I gently suggested (phrased as a question, like it had just occurred to me) that they could have got much the same stuff in Aldi or Lidl (where they usually go) for less than €42, the response was 'but it's 10 euro off.'

Plenty of people, myself included, much prefer the taste of low fat milk over full fat milk and indeed the taste of Coke Zero over ordinary sugar-loaded, thirst-inducing Coke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Centrifugal milk??! Are ye high? Bleedin thick. What ya think happens? they spin milk in a washing machine til the fats gone or there's a bird in a lab coat with milk in a petri dish and she's extracting fat molecules with a tweezer!!! Har har har! Bleedin thicks. It's diluted ta feck ya gowls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Driving further for a cheaper loaf of bead. Save 50 cent on petrol but spend a fiver on fuel .
    It's a similar false economy to travel to Northern Ireland for grocery /alcohol, unless you live near the border . I don't know why people don't factor in the cost of petrol /diesel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Skimmed milk is shíte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Aero bars, i could just melt down chocolate and blow bubbles into it with a straw and put it in the fridge

And then you could flavour it with toothpaste and you would have home-made Mint Aero!

Centrifugal milk??! Are ye high? Bleedin thick. What ya think happens? they spin milk in a washing machine til the fats gone or there's a bird in a lab coat with milk in a petri dish and she's extracting fat molecules with a tweezer!!! Har har har! Bleedin thicks. It's diluted ta feck ya gowls.

Milk separator ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Not servicing/general upkeep to cars properly and then whinge when they've a rake of things to do for the NCT

http://www.thekitchn.com/how-is-skim-milk-made-ingredient-intelligence-215893
    The quicker, modernized way of making low-fat and skim milks is to place the whole milk into a machine called a centrifugal separator, which spins some or all of the fat globules out of the milk. This occurs before the milk is homogenized, a process which reduces all the milk particles to the same size so that natural separation doesn't occur anymore.

Not servicing/general upkeep to cars properly and then whinge when they've a rake of things to do for the NCT

True but maybe putting it on the long finger due to lack of money !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

I've lost the plot here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭Vic_08

The fat rises to the top naturally, to make skimmed milk it is then skimmed off.

That'll be why it is called skimmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Minty, Minty, Minty, where do you think they get cream from? They steal it from the full-fat milk to make skimmed milk.

That's what skimmed milk is - the poor remainders of cream theft :eek:

You think of that the next time you're licking whipped cream off the body of a beautiful lady, bloke or lady-bloke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

I know someone who spends hours doing the grocery shopping. Goes from Aldi to Lidl to Dunnes to Super Valu. All to save about 3 euro. Will drive miles to save 1 cent a litre on Diesel. Never any more than a tenner of diesel in the car, the fuel light is permanently on.
    I've tried to ask about the diesel, "you make a 7 mile round trip to save 1cent a litre" "so what, it's 1cent more in my pocket"
    "Mind mice at a crossroads"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭passremarkable

Is this the stingy thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭patsypantaloni

any other example of people making poor life decisions daily.

This post. Life is *way* too short for this sh*t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Is this the stingy thread
    Ouch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,602 ✭✭✭Stigura

Milk separator ?

I have Sade stuck in my head now :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭jigglypuffstuff

Oh I have one, I have one

How about....starting a thread about bad logic...then presenting a statement that embodies bad logic in the same post :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

pone2012 wrote: »
    Oh I have one, I have one

How about....starting a thread about bad logic...then presenting a statement that embodies bad logic in the same post :o

Yis are ticks if ye don't realise milk is diluted with water