Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dry mastitis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

Well the bloody udder bust.
    Walked down the field this morning before work and seen the white crap dripping out. There is a nice 2 inch hole. Will bring her in later and try clean it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,421 ✭✭✭tanko

jimini0 wrote: »
    Well the bloody udder bust.
    Walked down the field this morning before work and seen the white crap dripping out. There is a nice 2 inch hole. Will bring her in later and try clean it.

Is she in good form, eating and chewing her cud?

tanko wrote: »
    Is she in good form, eating and chewing her cud?

Ya she is in good form chewing the cud. No stiffness in joints.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Just remember the crud that drops out is infectious to other cows. She would be best kept away from other breeding females if possible.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭FeelTheBern

greysides wrote: »
    Just remember the crud that drops out is infectious to other cows. She would be best kept away from other breeding females if possible.

Agreed. Good advice to separate any animal with summer mastitis from other cows/heifers even if hasn't burst out yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,709 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

also good fly control, tar and pour on

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Agreed. Good advice to separate any animal with summer mastitis from other cows/heifers even if hasn't burst out yet.

Even heifer calves as it can spread and lie dormant until they are pregnant.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

I have her left in the yard for tonight. I'm hoping to get her sold over the weekend. Hopefully local dealer will take her then off to factory when aborted and withdrawal period is up

Try not to get too negative about her or what she's worth! I'm sure the local dealer will be negative enough on her value for the both of you when he comes to look at her - may even offer to buy here off you to save you hassle with her... Reality is that if the quarter has burst it will drain away grand and if she's over initial sickness she'll be fine. So my advice would be to hold onto her (isolated or with bullocks) in a handy paddock until withdraw period up and then tip off to factory with her.

Well just an update. Cow is doing good. I have cleaned the udder twice and applied Cheno unction. Had a fella look at her on yesterday. He said she will be fine. The dealer is calling this eve for a look. Hopefully he will take her. He said she will have to be aborted soon so she can be ready for the factory for Tuesday week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,135 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Nobbies wrote: »
    Had atouch of masitis in dry heifer lastwk.luckly got her in good time.terexine tubes i used.alot of flys round here last couple of weeks in particular.so done all with pour on and aspray of stockholm tar all to help keep flys away for awee while anyway.yrs bck when imilked often give acow with bad mastitis 2litres of cider down the hatch for ahard quarter and spend awhile massaging real butter on the quarter.really it all helps relieve the heat and hardness.and acloth soaked in diesel too.

how are any of those going to treat a bacterial infection?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Nobbies wrote: »
    yrs bck when imilked
    how are any of those going to treat a bacterial infection?

I'd expect that in this day and age of modern veterinary medicine that Nobbies does not carry this out any more......hopefully :pac:

strip. tube. repeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Well just an update. Cow is doing good. I have cleaned the udder twice and applied Cheno unction. Had a fella look at her on yesterday. He said she will be fine. The dealer is calling this eve for a look. Hopefully he will take her. He said she will have to be aborted soon so she can be ready for the factory for Tuesday week
    Does a cow that far away from calving have to be aborted to factory them ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

I'd agree with trixi, don't bother aborting, if she is going to factory in a week or so. If you were going fattening her for a few months fair enough if she is very thin. Is dealer buying off you to sell on as a fattener or fatten himself I wonder?

Mooooo wrote: »
    I'd agree with trixi, don't bother aborting, if she is going to factory in a week or so. If you were going fattening her for a few months fair enough if she is very thin. Is dealer buying off you to sell on as a fattener or fatten himself I wonder?

I don't know what his plan is. Maybe he just wants me to pay for the abortion so he can fatten her for a few months.

Mooooo wrote: »

I don't know what his plan is. Maybe he just wants me to pay for the abortion so he can fatten her for a few months.

Not wanting to be overly cynical but think that dealer may be taking you for a bit of a ride here if he's saying you need to inject that cow to abort here before you can send her to factory. Could you ask a neighbour to have a look at her and see if she's fit to kill? Or else stick up a photo here and the lads will tell you soon enough. Sounds from earlier posts like she's fat. Whatever you do don't sell her to dealer to take her off your hands without getting some kind of independent view on her.

Sorry only photo I managed to get my phone died. She is not fat but in good condition.

Looks like well fleshed cow to me that would be fine for factory - certainly not sick looking anyway. Maybe Kovu or one of other mods might be able to link this over to the Beef Price Tracker thread to get some advice from the experts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Looks like well fleshed cow to me that would be fine for factory - certainly not sick looking anyway. Maybe Kovu or one of other mods might be able to link this over to the Beef Price Tracker thread to get some advice from the experts!

Aye up. One min. :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Jimmi at best she's an O- maybe a 3 for fat cover, hard to judge the weight from a photo, but a very rough guess is 270-280kg dead weight. Did you kill her after?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    Jimmi at best she's an O- maybe a 3 for fat cover, hard to judge the weight from a photo, but a very rough guess is 270-280kg dead weight. Did you kill her after?

She is still here. Little girl got sick so had no time to do anything with her. A neighbour might bring her to the mart for me next week. Hopefully someone will buy her for half decent money.

Just a quick update. I still have the cow. She repeated so no need for abortion. I have been giving her extra meal to put some weight on. Have the herd test in two weeks she will be sold with the rest of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,555 ✭✭✭Sami23

Have a dry cow with mastitis in one back quarter. Gave her a course of dipen that vet prescribed and put tubes into it after stripping out for 4 days. I've been stripping it out now for 2 weeks every day or every 2nd day and it's still filling up. Was very lumpy at the start but running freely now last few times finishing up a bloody colour.
    Question is how long do u need to continue stripping her out. Quarter is still hot to touch
    Tia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

Sami23, sounds like there is still infection - we had a case where it took Marbocyl (a 4th line antibiotic) to clear it up.

""Good fly control is really important – either use repeated pour-on or fly tags if handling is not easy. “The challenge is they are not great at control on the udder skin, so it makes sense to put a half dose of pour-on rubbed into the udder if a farmer knows there is a risk there [of summer mastitis],” says Miss Gill."" https://www.fginsight.com/vip/vip/prevention-better-than-cure-for-summer-mastitis-4861

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭annubis

Sami23 wrote: »
    Have a dry cow with mastitis in one back quarter. Gave her a course of dipen that vet prescribed and put tubes into it after stripping out for 4 days. I've been stripping it out now for 2 weeks every day or every 2nd day and it's still filling up. Was very lumpy at the start but running freely now last few times finishing up a bloody colour.
    Question is how long do u need to continue stripping her out. Quarter is still hot to touch
    Tia
    i think you could be at that job forever, i have one myself at the moment

The one thing that hasn’t been mentioned is anti-inflammatory meds. Well worth giving a shot of metacam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

“The challenge is they are not great at control on the udder skin, so it makes sense to put a half dose of pour-on rubbed into the udder if a farmer knows there is a risk there [of summer mastitis],” says Miss Gill."" https://www.fginsight.com/vip/vip/prevention-better-than-cure-for-summer-mastitis-4861

So much for that theory, I am just back from herding, a cow with a calf at foot, has sore eyes and a sore on one of her teats. Last week she got Spot-on the shoulder and also rubbed onto her udder, and a multi-ject tube cream under the eyelid. She is fending off flies at the moment. I doubt that she will let her calf near that teat, which is starting to enlarge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭RobinBanks

Would the garlic lick buckets be any use to keep flies away? I seen a lad on tv in Tipp, some cheese maker using them and he swears be them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,555 ✭✭✭Sami23

RobinBanks wrote: »
    Would the garlic lick buckets be any use to keep flies away? I seen a lad on tv in Tipp, some cheese maker using them and he swears be them.

Can't do any harm anyway is my thinking so gonna pick up a few at the wend.
    Are they more expensive than an ordinary lick bucket ?