Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Pity the Heff didn't live to see us make sh1te of them :)

I've often thought that over the past couple of years. It would have been great if he could have witnessed the 2013 win too. I wish he was still around to see the notion well and truly put to bed, that the 2011 win was a flash in the pan/once off/lucky victory/fluke win/game that Kerry threw away/insert Kerry Media Mafia cliche of your choosing here
    > :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭gladrags

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Well, they have not beaten Dublin in the championship since 2009. That is seven long years ago. So I don't know where you are getting this idea that they are capable of beating anyone. Based on what has happened in their last 3 championship meetings, they certainly aren't capable of beating Dublin any more.

That may all change in 3 weeks, if Dublin play a stinker and Kerry play out of their skins. But their form of the past year & all the 30 plus, aging legs on display in their last two meetings, would not make me predict that the status quo is going to change any time soon.

I never said they would,I said that they have the capacity to do so,they have some good young players and the experience behnd them.

When Donegal beat Dublin,they too had aging players,and very little in the way of class players.

There is nothing extraordinary in suggesting that Kerry have the cspacity,to do likewise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Bloody hell that O'Gara red card was an absolute farce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

That_Guy wrote: »

Branagans entire performance was farcical. I'd say him and his Donald Trump haircut won't be seen at this level again.

Yep. Did they show the big welt that sprung up on the side of Fenton's face, immediately after MM's belt? There is no way, the ref could have missed it. It boggles the mind, that MM stayed on the pitch, but O'Gara got his marching orders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 thediceman2011

rumors doing the rounds that fenton is almost certainly out for semi final with fractured jaw we will not beat kerry without fenton especially if mccarthy is also missing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Not going to say what I think of Diarmuid Connolly, or I'll get banned. Am just so bloody sick and tired of him being front and centre YET AGAIN, in the conversations the day after. Spare me all the "he was targeted" or the "he doesn't get enough protection from the ref" crap. Christ Almighty, my neighbours 6 week old poodle, has better self control than he does ! :mad:

To a point. But lets face it he as very intelligent and very talented player gets little or no protection from officials. Which he is entitled to, Just like the Gooch, or any other player. Simple fact is they dont get it and it is human nature to react. Tomás O'Se mentioned it tonight on T.V. How are these lads getting away with it? Everyone knows who the players are who do it (the sly digging).

I missed the first yellow card but the second was deserved. What is more annoying a linesman was not to far away from Murphy throwing that dig into Fenton and nothing happens yet O'Gara gets nailed by an umpire further away. O'Garas will be rescinded but Fenton is a huge loss if he misses S/F.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

rumors doing the rounds that fenton is almost certainly out for semi final with fractured jaw we will not beat kerry without fenton especially if mccarthy is also missing

If that is true then it sickens me, considering that EOG got the red for sweet FA in the scheme of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

I'd take these rumours with a pinch of salt. But really hope this isn't true. He's such a great young talent.

On the O'Gara incident, I actually laughed out loud when I saw it on television. Just couldn't believe a red was dished out for something that barely even elicited a reaction from the person on the receiving end. Whole lot of nothing. Hope it gets rescinded.

LeoB wrote: »
    To a point. But lets face it he as very intelligent and very talented player gets little or no protection from officials. Which he is entitled to, Just like the Gooch, or any other player. Simple fact is they dont get it and it is human nature to react. Tomás O'Se mentioned it tonight on T.V. How are these lads getting away with it? Everyone knows who the players are who do it (the sly digging).

No, it is not human nature to react. Not for everyone. Some players have the requisite intelligence, maturity and team ethos to walk away from flash point situations. Bernard Brogan and Kevin Mc come in for dogs abuse of the physical nature & they never, ever react. Did you see the AI final documentary on RTE last year? It showed Kev Mc on the receiving ending of cheap, thuggish digs from Aidan O'Mahony time and time again. Did he react? No, he did not. So sorry, I know I am swimming against the Dubs tide here, but I refuse to give DC a free pass to act the way he does.

In a perfect world, targeting of certain players does not take place. In a perfect world, the ref can keep track of the game, communicate with other officials and, still see what is going on with all 30 players, at any given moment in time & "protect" every single one of them. But we don't live in a perfect world. We live in the one that we have. Countless players who are singled out for special attention, are able to cope with the treatment meted out to them and still see out the full 70 minutes of the game. I refuse to enable repeated sendings off, by blaming others for it. Yes, others may be instigating it, but he makes a conscious decision to react to it & that is all on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,831 ✭✭✭corny

No, it is not human nature to react. Not for everyone. Some players have the requisite intelligence, maturity and team ethos to walk away from flash point situations. Bernard Brogan and Kevin Mc come in for dogs abuse of the physical nature & they never, ever react. Did you see the AI final documentary on RTE last year? It showed Kev Mc on the receiving ending of cheap, thuggish digs from Aidan O'Mahony time and time again. Did he react? No, he did not. So sorry, I know I am swimming against the Dubs tide here, but I refuse to give DC a free pass to act the way he does.

In a perfect world, targeting of certain players does not take place. In a perfect world, the ref can keep track of the game, communicate with other officials and, still see what is going on with all 30 players, at any given moment in time & "protect" every single one of them. But we don't live in a perfect world. We live in the one that we have. Countless players who are singled out for special attention, are able to cope with the treatment meted out to them and still see out the full 70 minutes of the game. I refuse to enable repeated sendings off, by blaming others for it. Yes, others may be instigating it, but he makes a conscious decision to react to it & that is all on him.

As a wider point i agree but not this red card. There was nothing in the Thompson tackle. He mistimed it and as Cavanagh proved in the previous game **** like that can happen in games. Going on what my eyes saw at the time he was pulled to the ground and did nothing but try and get up for the first yellow.

I'm not an apologist because i think he has no business being sent off for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

PressRun wrote: »
    I'd take these rumours with a pinch of salt. But really hope this isn't true. He's such a great young talent.

On the O'Gara incident, I actually laughed out loud when I saw it on television. Just couldn't believe a red was dished out for something that barely even elicited a reaction from the person on the receiving end. Whole lot of nothing. Hope it gets rescinded.

McGee did react, he appealed to the umpires. The fools responded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,244 ✭✭✭✭JRant

corny wrote: »
    As a wider point i agree but not this red card. There was nothing in the Thompson tackle. He mistimed it and as Cavanagh proved in the previous game **** like that can happen in games. Going on what my eyes saw at the time he was pulled to the ground and did nothing but try and get up for the first yellow.

I'm not an apologist because i think he has no business being sent off for that.

Having just watched it again it looked like Thompson was already falling over trying to put up the ball before Dermo got to him. Dermo's arms didn't even seem to get above his waist for the tackle either, seemed like a harsh 2nd yellow considering what Murphy was at even after getting booked.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

JRant wrote: »
    Having just watched it again it looked like Thompson was already falling over trying to put up the ball before Dermo got to him. Dermo's arms didn't even seem to get above his waist for the tackle either, seemed like a harsh 2nd yellow considering what Murphy was at even after getting booked.

The big problem is the inconsistency, with some players getting punished and others getting away.

I think is was McManamon's point when there was a very late tackle on Davy Byrne, the ref saw it, waved for advantage and Dublin scored. The ref should have gone back and booked the Donegal player - it was worse than anything else booked (apart from Murphy on Fenton which should have been red).

It wasn't the only example where the ref failed to give deserved yellows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

I've often thought that over the past couple of years. It would have been great if he could have witnessed the 2013 win too. I wish he was still around to see the notion well and truly put to bed, that the 2011 win was a flash in the pan/once off/lucky victory/fluke win/game that Kerry threw away/insert Kerry Media Mafia cliche of your choosing here
    > :rolleyes:

If ever this was true... The highlights of the Connolly, O'Gara and even the Cavanagh red cards were discussed yet we all remember when a certain misfit from the Kingdom punched a lad on the ground after leading a challenge with the elbow and the silence was deafening. Sick of it.

It was but wasn't it technically correct? "...strike or attempt to strike..."

The bigger farce is Murphy getting a yellow which means the ref saw it and therefore thought it was warranted.

The size of the jaw on Fenton afterwards!
    Yep. Did they show the big welt that sprung up on the side of Fenton's face, immediately after MM's belt? There is no way, the ref could have missed it. It boggles the mind, that MM stayed on the pitch, but O'Gara got his marching orders.

Yup. You could see it clear as day on TV. So the ref would have seen it.

I'm with you on not standing up for DC in some of these instances. When you're on a yellow (regardless of how harsh it was you make your tackles or you don't take them. Similarly when you're on a yellow and the ref is dying to send you off or punish your team then you be careful.

---

In saying all of that I saw nothing that would have us worried against Kerry. We were far and away the best team on Saturday and really played within ourselves. Let the media go on about our indiscipline but that team will absolutely hop off Kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

Your eyes deceived you so Corny as DOC took Ryan McHugh to the ground for the first yellow (Donegal were on the attack and McHugh was trying to join it). McHugh got a yellow too for it which was farcical! McHugh was taken out a number of times on Saturday but he didn't carry on like DOC. DOC could learn a thing or too from the likes of McManamon who I thought was superb on Saturday for your boys - took it, gave it, but led by example when it was needed. DOC is the most talented footballer of his generation but what an idiot, I'm sure Kerry will be pressing his buttons in the semi.
    I do agree that MM was very lucky to stay on the field, he should have walked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

Last thing we needed was Fenton fractured jaw.
    Mdma's flat form was already posing problems in this sector.
    Paul Flynn may need to switch. Or Other players lacking a bit of experience - brady, carthy(s), emmet, byrne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Ted111 wrote: »
    Last thing we needed was Fenton fractured jaw.
    Mdma's flat form was already posing problems in this sector.
    Paul Flynn may need to switch. Or Other players lacking a bit of experience - brady, carthy(s), emmet, byrne

Is the fractured jaw confirmed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

Bambi wrote: »
    Is the fractured jaw confirmed?

No - not confirmed that I know of.

A rumour of a hairline fracture. Might be nothing in it. But him and cluxton are the two irreplaceables so the prospect is a worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,815 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

If memory serves Connolly had given away a free for another high tackle not long before the second yellow - if that's the case I don't think he can have any complaints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,802 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Why doesn't Connolly miss the next game if he has been sent off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    Why doesn't Connolly miss the next game if he has been sent off?

2 yellows is no suspension!

Interested to hear opinions on how Dublin played in the second half. I've been saying it for ages now if you're ahead and the opposition retreats 14/15 men behind the ball just don't attack them. Its incumbent upon them to chase the game and get back into it. Attacking them plays into their gameplan so why do it? If it means passing the ball in defence for 20 minutes then do that if they refuse to come out.

I bring it up because the crowd were actually booing Dublin when they passed it around.:confused: Weird that. Its like they missed the fact Donegal were responsible for trying to kill the spectacle.

Don't often post in here, but just on this point.....I couldn't believe the Donegal support: 5-6 points down, a man up, and 13 players in their own half. Literally trying their best to disrupt Dublin's gameplan. The Dubs then counteract this by splaying the ball across the middle of the park looking for a gap to exploit and the reaction is to boo them for playing 'boring football'? Craziness.

At one point, IIRC, Dublin were down to 12 men with the blood substitution and still, Donegal were camped inside their own half.

SF tickets on sale now, btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

The shower of idiots that were booing the 'keep ball' also started cheering every pass right before the Donegal goal, highlight of their weekend was probably UTD yesterday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

EICVD wrote: »
    2 yellows is no suspension!

I thought 3 in a season was a suspension now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

The shower of idiots that were booing the 'keep ball' also started cheering every pass right before the Donegal goal, highlight of their weekend was probably UTD yesterday!

I moved seats in towards the end of the second half as the sun was hitting me directly in the eye in the Cusack, so I headed up to the back to stand and there was this old lad whinging about how he had paid in to watch football.

Gong on about how the Down team of the 60s were the greatest yada yada...

So it's not just the booboys who are at it. Lots don't like "keep ball". I for one was all in favour of it at the time ad I will especially be in favour of it come the SF v Kerry. Anything to win. Screw entertainment.

I paid in to watch Dublin win. Entertainment is secondary.

It was the Donegal support who were booing the "keep ball", the Dubs on the Hill responded by cheering every pass.

It was the same at the League game earlier this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,451 ✭✭✭Gael85

I thought 3 in a season was a suspension now?

If get 3 black cards you get one 1 match ban
    If get sent off for 2 yellows twice in 48 weeks 1 match ban

I could be wrong on that now

Gael85 wrote: »
    If get 3 black cards you get one 1 match ban
    If get sent off for 2 yellows twice in 48 weeks 1 match ban

I could be wrong on that now

But he hasn't gotten two yellows twice in 48 weeks. Whatever he got for his tango with Lee Keegan last year, was over turned, disregarded, down graded, thrown out, or whatever yer having yerself. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,831 ✭✭✭corny

Ceist_Beag wrote: »
    Your eyes deceived you so Corny as DOC took Ryan McHugh to the ground for the first yellow (Donegal were on the attack and McHugh was trying to join it). McHugh got a yellow too for it which was farcical! McHugh was taken out a number of times on Saturday but he didn't carry on like DOC. DOC could learn a thing or too from the likes of McManamon who I thought was superb on Saturday for your boys - took it, gave it, but led by example when it was needed. DOC is the most talented footballer of his generation but what an idiot, I'm sure Kerry will be pressing his buttons in the semi.
    I do agree that MM was very lucky to stay on the field, he should have walked.

You can piece the whole event together from the two camera angles. Watch the live picture. Connolly pulls his jersey slightly and steps across him to block his run. Arms are outstretched though. McHugh wraps both arms around him and pulls him backwards to the ground. There's no ambiguity, that's what happened. From the other angle you can see when they go to ground Connolly is the one trying to get to his feet (because Dublin have won a turnover). McHugh is still up for the jostling.

I lost count of the amount of times Dublin players checked Donegal runners. That's what Connolly was up to but he did nothing to warrant a card on the evidence available. McHugh pulled him to the ground.

My eyes did deceive a little though. I was blaming Frank McGlynn in the stands.