Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 3 ***Updated Mod Note Post 1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,163 ✭✭✭Charlie69

We got out of jail today big time, ye're lads were by far the better team and Austin Gleeson is an absolute phenomenon .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Fred C Dobbs

If the fat pri**k from Dicksboro (how appropriate), who was mouthing off in the gents (Cusack stand, section 308) at half time is reading this ...... crawl back into whatever hole you came out of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

How we didn't win that game i will never know, but fair play to the lads, fantastic display. I think the replay in Thurles is a good thing, given how difficult we find it to win in Croke park. lads need to get over this one quickly, its only half time and if we can play like that again we are in with a great chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Hslaw

It's a amazing how good this team is when the shackles are off and they go at it. Aussie is some hurler the talent that young fella has is unbelievable. Glad we have him. I'd say cody is scratching his head tonight as are a lot of kk people. That wasn't in the script. Honn the Deise 💪 💪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Aussie is potentially the best hurler we've ever had he is that good. Amazing display from the lads wonder will there be any changes for Saturday? Fives to come back in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭seananigans

Aussie is potentially the best hurler we've ever had he is that good. Amazing display from the lads wonder will there be any changes for Saturday? Fives to come back in.

dunfords nerves got him but mossy was off the pace when he came in too, hard to call

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭celt262

Heard on the radio there that McGrath was actually encouraging them forward in the last few mins, not sure how accurate that is.

That can happy a team when the pressure is on they revert to what they are used to doing it happens but hopefully this young team will have learned a lot today and Hurl until the end the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭lim4ev

Well done Waterford today superb display in a real game of hurling I thought ye didn't win cos in last few mins ye reverted to the defensive style game and invited kk on to ye hope ye learnt your lesson and drive on from here as ye have the hurlers like the rest of the country hope ye finish the job

celt262 wrote: »
    That can happy a team when the pressure is on they revert to what they are used to doing it happens but hopefully this young team will have learned a lot today and Hurl until the end the next day.

pressure is on kk now, cody 70 minutes from being the first kk manager in 57 years to lose to us , probably the only record he doesnt have and being in thurles will have to show them what happens when the all 6 munster counties come out in support

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Coming around after it.....nearly cried at the end after the feeling we let kk back in time it.....

Great game....though like tipp and Galway in drawn all Ireland's. ....the pressure on to break that streak

We were soo close and I'm proud as fcuk of the way they played and gave it there all....we can ask no more of them

Not going to make the same mistake as last year going to Dublin to watch that team, McGrath needs to go asap, this has the potential to be worse than 2008. Kilkennys intermidates would put it up to that team.

just as well we are better off without you, a true Déise fan goes to a match knowing we'l probable lose and hoping for the win no bandwagoners allowed
    chinguetti wrote: »
    After much debating with myself, I went and got myself a ticket for Sunday. I just hope that they play with some forwards and stop the wild shooting. If we borrow a trick from Wexford some years ago and run and stretch KK, we've a good chance but if we stick to the defensive system, I don't see much hope.

played 5 forwards and TdB sweeping like a mofo class act
    And if we get beat by kk in 2nd gear??
    How many years more would you give him???

It was sick to my stomach in limerick.....7 points down with 30 mins to go and knowing they hadn't the know how to reel it it and the match was up

Ive defended the system more than anyone. ...but the game is up for it and it's brought us as far as it can

one more at least after that brought it a bit further

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,614 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

A worry I have is that Kilkenny may of been rusty as there last game was on the 3rd July and this is out of there system now, Between senior and under 21 we have played 4 times in that space of time.

The preparation for the under 21s will be affected now and maybe problematic going into the Antrim game but a starting team without the senior players may get us over the line against Antrim.

Proud of the team today and hopefully they keep the momentum going for next saturday. It would of been heartbreaking if Paul Murphys point went over and kk stole the game (shades of the league final replay defeat)

Upcoming fixtures

AI senior SF Replay- Sat 13th Aug Thurles
    AI under 21 SF- Vs Antrim Sat 20th Aug Thurles (I imagine)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Fred C Dobbs

Well said.

To those people who didn't travel for fear of a thrashing .......... who's sorry now.

Have often left Croke Park in a worse state. Looking at the bigger picture, Waterford hurling is in a great space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

Breathless,proud,disappointed,shattered and excited at the prospect of these two going at it again. Please please don't go blaming linesmen,refs or Hawkeye,I'm sure there were mistakes made on both sides but why take from a phenomenal performance by our fellas when left off the leash. Credit to the cats for never giving up and that's why they're so successful. Have to ask what Stephen Bennett has to do to get a look in especially when playing this system today.

Pauric Mahony played like a man possessed amazing performance

Aussie, TDB, Connor Gleeson brillent also

Maurice got a wonderful score when he came on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Pauric Mahony played like a man possessed amazing performance

Aussie, TDB, Connor Gleeson brillent also

Maurice got a wonderful score when he came on

Hard luck to the Deise.
    Maurice gave away at least 3 silly frees and didn't win enough ball when he came on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Ropaire

Lots of cheering and back slapping going on lads but what have we won? We've played somewhere close to our potential and we've the likes of Stephen Bennett to come in and add to it if we play more direct in future.

But it's half time, Kilkenny have plenty of room for improvement yet as they were outfought for everything and still came out with a draw. Alot of their players weren't at the races today, arguably cos they weren't allowed to play.

I'm as happy as anyone that we're finally taking the game to them but lets fn drive on and see it out instead of gloating over a draw.

Daragh Fives if fit is a big addition in a physical game like today, any word on how far off fitness he is?
    Dunford wasn't at the races today, I'd start Maurice ahead of him but use him late on to chase balls into space when legs are tired Saturday, same for O'Halloran. Other than that same again bar any injuries.

Ropaire wrote: »
    Lots of cheering and back slapping going on lads but what have we won? We've played somewhere close to our potential and we've the likes of Stephen Bennett to come in and add to it if we play more direct in future.

But it's half time, Kilkenny have plenty of room for improvement yet as they were outfought for everything and still came out with a draw. Alot of their players weren't at the races today, arguably cos they weren't allowed to play.

I'm as happy as anyone that we're finally taking the game to them but lets fn drive on and see it out instead of gloating over a draw.

Daragh Fives if fit is a big addition in a physical game like today, any word on how far off fitness he is?
    Dunford wasn't at the races today, I'd start Maurice ahead of him but use him late on to chase balls into space when legs are tired Saturday, same for O'Halloran. Other than that same again bar any injuries.

something happened today that hasnt happened in 57 yers kk didnt beat us, im not suggesting we shouldnt drive on but this is worth celebrating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭carq

Looking at the replay of Moran's 'point', if he just had the composure to look up, we had a spare man in front of him with no marker within 40 yards.

Decision like this cost us today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Ropaire

something happened today that hasnt happened in 57 yers kk didnt beat us, im not suggesting we shouldnt drive on but this is worth celebrating

We drew with them in 2013 and lost in extra time.
    I know where you're coming from like and I really enjoyed the game today, thought it was excellent and am proud of our team but I'll celebrate when we have them beaten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭cornerboy

One man who gets a share of ctiticism on here is Barry Coughlan.........he played with some heart today and his battle with TJ was worth the ticket price..

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

Thought Conor Gleeson was excellent too. His distribution is very good and runs well with the ball. Dunford looked rusty and can't see him starting next week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Thurles is iirc reduced capacity to circa 50k ...possible sell our next Saturday???

If this deosnt bring hype and hope and bandwagoners back supporting waterford. .....dunno what will

All lads laughing at me all week travelling from in hope more than expectation. ....gonna be done craic around waterford for the next week

Ropaire wrote: »
    We drew with them in 2013 and lost in extra time.
    I know where you're coming from like and I really enjoyed the game today, thought it was excellent and am proud of our team but I'll celebrate when we have them beaten.

we did beat them they were 5 points favourite no pressure on us all on them
    cornerboy wrote: »
    One man who gets a share of ctiticism on here is Barry Coughlan.........he played with some heart today and his battle with TJ was worth the ticket price..

I won't hear a bad word about barry, worked and shared a gym with him in swords never seen someone more dedicated to the role, cant blame him for the goal and otherwise had a flawless game
    Thurles is iirc reduced capacity to circa 50k ...possible sell our next Saturday???

If this deosnt bring hype and hope and bandwagoners back supporting waterford. .....dunno what will

All lads laughing at me all week travelling from in hope more than expectation. ....gonna be done craic around waterford for the next week

we had only 40k in thurles so no the usual kk arrogance meant we outnumbered them nearly 2:1 they might not save themselves for the final this year but the body language of kk suporters the way they reacted to thegoal their body language and relief suggest they might come and support a bit better, semple is still our house mind, tipp included will will us ot beat them out the gate

There trying to get the senior camogie semis (Cork vs Wexford and Kilkenny vs Galway) moved to Thurles to make it a triple header which answers the late throw in time for our game. Rte are covering the camogie games anyway (which were scheduled for nowlan park)

Hopefully the Waterford fans will be out in force

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Heard Darragh Fives won't be available for the rest of the year. Wasn't togged today anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭thesultan

So Derek fooled us all or listened and for 50 minutes we went man or man. We decided to try and hold what we had rather than win it. It was a fantastic hurling game. The bodies Will be sore and tired tonight. How tiredness and lack of it will show a lot next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,555 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Great performance by Waterford, played with skill and smarts. Retreated from the 60 minute on as they tried to hold on but in hindsight, it was the wrong option. Never will they be so close to winning a match that their skill deserved but they have to gain it themselves. Throw off the chains lads and go for it. Surely it shows the team and management today that if they play 15 on 15, they're a match for anyone.

Sad to say but I think we were afraid to win, just didn't know how to get over the line with victory in sight. KK were poor today and wonder if we left it behind us. Sadly can't make next Saturday night at present so I'll have to watch it on the telly I hope.

Also I thought the ref gave a couple shocking decisions to KK, Hogan got a free in front of me when he fell, no one near him and he lost his footing but got a free. Even the KK lads besides me said it was never a free. Prior to that Moran had been tripped and no free. 2 point swing in that minute. Not sour grapes but they're the things that go against you when you haven't beaten a team 57 years.

Also it was a lovely moment when they put a photo up of Ducksy Walsh and the PA started to speak. Everyone just started clapping without any cue to do so and he stopped talking. A lovely moment and shows that while you see idiots at matches, the GAA have a lot of class supporters.

chinguetti wrote: »
    Great performance by Waterford, played with skill and smarts. Retreated from the 60 minute on as they tried to hold on but in hindsight, it was the wrong option. Never will they be so close to winning a match that their skill deserved but they have to gain it themselves. Throw off the chains lads and go for it. Surely it shows the team and management today that if they play 15 on 15, they're a match for anyone.

Sad to say but I think we were afraid to win, just didn't know how to get over the line with victory in sight. KK were poor today and wonder if we left it behind us. Sadly can't make next Saturday night at present so I'll have to watch it on the telly I hope.

Also I thought the ref gave a couple shocking decisions to KK, Hogan got a free in front of me when he fell, no one near him and he lost his footing but got a free. Even the KK lads besides me said it was never a free. Prior to that Moran had been tripped and no free. 2 point swing in that minute. Not sour grapes but they're the things that go against you when you haven't beaten a team 57 years.

Also it was a lovely moment when they put a photo up of Ducksy Walsh and the PA started to speak. Everyone just started clapping without any cue to do so and he stopped talking. A lovely moment and shows that while you see idiots at matches, the GAA have a lot of class supporters.

hindsight is 20/20 never been so happy bumping into one of the lads the tuesday (normally hed almost avoid you to not talk hurling) after the kk win in the league in the gym , he was almost disbelieving it happened , well now we know we can and we will do it and do it,and do it again

once the floodgates are opened they will never be closed believe in our men believe in their ability and believe it will happen, i was borderline tearful when we went 5 points up only for past experience i might have lost it entirely t was almost hard to enjoy not wanting to get ahead of ourselves, thurles is not their venue, it is ours , lets make it a munster fortress,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

Heard Darragh Fives won't be available for the rest of the year. Wasn't togged today anyway.

Yet was picked to start. Strange one