Homeless/A personal view

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Can't offer much in the way of advice, but two things. One, if you're ill and have sores that need urgent attention, you need to present at A&E. If you're unable to get a nurse due to your living situation, presenting at A&E is how you'll get the sores seen to.

With regards to hotels, a quick look on Laterooms has 5 available in Cork for €100 or less.

http://www.laterooms.com/en/k16837518_cork-hotels.aspx?k=Cork%2C++Ireland&n=1&d=20160807&rt=2-0&distanceUnit=on&pr-min=88&pr-max=259&SortOrder=Price&SortedAscending=true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

just to add

its not just buildings that don't have access

try going by train to Dublin in a chair,its like trying to score a bullseye with a dart from a mile away

dart lifts don't work,stranded on platforms is becoming a hobby of mine

shops are like assault courses
    toilets that have a sticker to get past legislation but don't allow chairs in..
    toilets that have the emergency cord cut (they are a nuisance)

and so on and on..

theres no need to throw vast amounts of money at anything,just plain common sense and ability to listen to people..together we can build a community that empowers people

None of these are as a result of being homeless... I understand your frustrations and I sympathise with your situation. But your situation is extremely unique no matter which angle you look at it from: very few homeless people need wheelchairs; very few people in wheelchairs are homeless.

And because of this, there is no list of guidelines to follow for what to do. Which is why I think you need to contact any people or charities that can help, and forge your own way through the system. I know that it sucks and that you shouldn't have to do it, but sometimes we need to be proactive about things to get things done.

I would start by contacting homeless services/charities in your locality to assess what assistance they can offer. I would then contact the Irish wheelchair assosciation to see whether they have staff that could attend appointments with you - I doubt you're the only wheelchair user that has issues accessing facilities, they might have advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

With all due respect, boards is a discussion form and not a blog, so naturally people want to discuss.
    I'm really sorry that you haven't been taken care of yet, it's absolutely **** that you're still homeless. However, I'm a bit taken aback that your son can't take you in or lend you his address because it'll push up his rent and have his social welfare cut. Why is that more important than his disabled father in a wheelchair and in poor health? I would not see any of my family on the streets, especially not my father.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭BaaLamb

Irish Wheelchair Association has a dedicated housing section http://www.iwa.ie/services/housing/iwa-housing-advocacy It says it is mainly based in Dublin but has local / outreach sections. Have you already tried this group OP because if not maybe they'd be a help.

I second Penny Tration about going to A & E to get any sores looked at. It must be agonisingly painful and surely will only get worse if you don't get them treated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭FluffyAngel

sullivlo wrote: »
    None of these are as a result of being homeless... I understand your frustrations and I sympathise with your situation. But your situation is extremely unique no matter which angle you look at it from: very few homeless people need wheelchairs; very few people in wheelchairs are homeless.

And because of this, there is no list of guidelines to follow for what to do. Which is why I think you need to contact any people or charities that can help, and forge your own way through the system. I know that it sucks and that you shouldn't have to do it, but sometimes we need to be proactive about things to get things done.

I would start by contacting homeless services/charities in your locality to assess what assistance they can offer. I would then contact the Irish wheelchair assosciation to see whether they have staff that could attend appointments with you - I doubt you're the only wheelchair user that has issues accessing facilities, they might have advice.

thanks for that Sullio, i agree totally about foraging a way through but i would add for me doing it without causing pain and with empathy.

me writing about homeless is just to give insight and understanding ,for years charity and society say homeless is about drink,drugs,sleeping rough and that picture is indented on society..as a nation we need to change that perception as its hurting people

last week i listened to joe duffy and a woman who works and her partner are homeless and can't afford 1300 rent a month

i would say theres a lot of homeless people who have conditions equal to me..they just don't have a voice?(I'm not sure)or they have found a way through

thanks for advice about charities

I'm sure there is rooms for a hundred euro,but i didn't make it clear that was two weeks ago and didn't point out its peak peak season,what i should have said is the extra weight placed on hotel systems are forcing prices up ,I'm not sure how it works but my head is saying that hotels,booking.com,late rooms ,etc etc have bought booked rooms? and hotels don't much say over pricing in that regard

if HSE are paying 800 euro a week "housing" homeless people ,why don't they buy houses and invest money instead of sending it to bank accounts of hotels..

i don't know enough about the inner workings,I'm giving a sensible approach

With all due respect, boards is a discussion form and not a blog, so naturally people want to discuss.
    I'm really sorry that you haven't been taken care of yet, it's absolutely **** that you're still homeless. However, I'm a bit taken aback that your son can't take you in or lend you his address because it'll push up his rent and have his social welfare cut. Why is that more important than his disabled father in a wheelchair and in poor health? I would not see any of my family on the streets, especially not my father.

ok ,i get that..
    but this idea that my son has an address is coming from people who haven't read my discussion posts,he hasn't one

i was using it as an example, maybe i didn't make it clear,apologises il look back and clear it up..

you might not ,but our hospitals,care homes are full of people whose families can't cope,and thats no fault of them ,some people are carers others aren't

i know what boards is ,to take your point of discussion ,its about being homeless not my son or address etc ..all this is veering towards a boundary of my protection ,

in relation to data protection,i really don't have his permission to say anything about him ..
    its also saying a boundary

and ,would you like it to find your dad telling the world about you?

BaaLamb wrote: »
    Irish Wheelchair Association has a dedicated housing section http://www.iwa.ie/services/housing/iwa-housing-advocacy It says it is mainly based in Dublin but has local / outreach sections. Have you already tried this group OP because if not maybe they'd be a help.

I second Penny Tration about going to A & E to get any sores looked at. It must be agonisingly painful and surely will only get worse if you don't get them treated.

thanks a lot for that ,actually never thought of going that route..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭Wigglepuppy

But data protection would only be broken if you named him and provided other details about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭face1990

Speedwell wrote: »
    Is there a reason for asking this other than to determine whether the OP "deserves" your sympathy, social services, or time on the forum? Because if you know of something that might help the OP that depends on the reason for becoming homeless, please just share it... it might help someone else.

Ah here, it's a discussion forum not a helpline (AH especially). We can ask questions, OP can decide whether or not he/she wants to answer them.

Bizarre thread altogether.

face1990 wrote: »
    Ah here, it's a discussion forum not a helpline (AH especially). We can ask questions, OP can decide whether or not he/she wants to answer them.

Bizarre thread altogether.

really and thats why i wrote it ,so people can understand homelessness.

its the real world ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭HardenendMan

OP, would you make your son homeless if you were able and had a home?

Your situation is more your son's and your own responsibility, not the state's in my opinion.

In fairness, the OP's biggest concerns cannot be met by simply "registering" himself for postal purposes at his son's address.

OP needs home help and he needs nurse visits to attend to his sores. They don't come in the post. You have to be physically living at a stable address.

As far as I remember the OP's son is very young man and depends on social welfare for support. I seriously doubt he has a spare room and wheelchair access, let alone accommodation that is fit to meet the OP's complex needs.

I am disappointed that this is happening in 2016 in Ireland. I look at my tax contribution every month, which I'm happy to pay, so long as it goes towards useful public services, such as ensuring that disabled people are entitled to such basic dignity as we all take for granted.

I will say one thing about the internet, people sitting at keyboards hate to see a victim that doesn't sound like a victim.

We've seen the exact same reaction to Erica Fleming and people like her who don't act like meek lambs, bleating tentatively for shelter, if it's not too much trouble, Sir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

just to add

its not just buildings that don't have access

try going by train to Dublin in a chair,its like trying to score a bullseye with a dart from a mile away

dart lifts don't work,stranded on platforms is becoming a hobby of mine

shops are like assault courses
    toilets that have a sticker to get past legislation but don't allow chairs in..
    toilets that have the emergency cord cut (they are a nuisance)

and so on and on..

theres no need to throw vast amounts of money at anything,just plain common sense and ability to listen to people..together we can build a community that empowers people

A friend of mine who is now deceased used to assess the disabled access to public buildings and I know it is apalling .
    ''Where do you think the money for building adjustments is going to come from '' as some people say , does not cut it. It could and should be prioritized over other less urgent things. I hate the ''i doesn't affect me so it's not my problem '' mentality some people have .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I'm sorry you're having so many troubles, but raising awareness means helping people understand your situation. Writing a post and refusing to answer questions or people's helpful (in the most part) suggestions is not raising awareness, it's bringing the thread off the initial reason for writing it.
    Best of luck and hope your situation improves vastly in the very very near future.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Speedwell wrote: »
    Is there a reason for asking this other than to determine whether the OP "deserves" your sympathy, social services, or time on the forum? Because if you know of something that might help the OP that depends on the reason for becoming homeless, please just share it... it might help someone else.

Why you attacking me?
    Its good to hear the story you always hear it could happen to anyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

I have every sympathy with genuine homeless people and the government has not delivered on anything they've said, empty promises but the sheep elected them again instead of radical change.

I do however take grave offence at Roma gypsies pretending they are homeless, they work in shifts in Merrion square and i know for a fact these people are not homeless but professional beggars, who likely make a nice few quid out of this, i see them from Monday to Friday and they probably are there the weekend as well, the PC brigade will likely come out and syarty accusing me of all sorts but this is the truth and its charlatans like this who make my blood boil, its genuine homeless people who need help and assistance not these fuc*ers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

jonnny68 wrote: »
    I have every sympathy with genuine homeless people and the government has not delivered on anything they've said, empty promises but the sheep elected them again instead of radical change.

I do however take grave offence at Roma gypsies pretending they are homeless, they work in shifts in Merrion square and i know for a fact these people are not homeless but professional beggars, who likely make a nice few quid out of this, i see them from Monday to Friday and they probably are there the weekend as well, the PC brigade will likely come out and syarty accusing me of all sorts but this is the truth and its charlatans like this who make my blood boil, its genuine homeless people who need help and assistance not these fuc*ers.
    I don't believe anyone begs on the street just to earn some extra money for a night out or a holiday. They may not need the money for their meal that day, but they most likely still need it to survive. Strange how it would make your blood boil and how you would compare it to a lack of supply of services for genuine homeless people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

There is quite a few homeless in wheelchairs , I couldn't give you an exact figure but I work in homeless hostels , drug services and it's actually surprising.

There's a individuals with ABIs , amputees ,others with spinal injuries and individuals born with disabilities.

Our OP is quite vocal but I'm a little lost about why he hadnt been offered accommodation more suitable.I'm wondering if you are recently homeless or if your health deteriorated suddenly Fluffy cat ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

See the ops other thread for more details

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭statina

OP, I'm an Occupational Therapist and deal with homeless people regularly.

With your pressure sores, you would be a priority 1 for the HSE. Get yourself to the nearest HSE health centre tomorrow morning and ask for the Public Health Nurse, Social Worker or Occupational Therapist in the Primary Care Team. They will get in contact with your local council and advocate your needs. You will be placed in emergency shelter asap. The health centre will be open from 9.00 in the morning, most have a dressing clinic where they will assess and treat your pressure sores. Best of luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Elliott S

With all due respect
    Again, with all due respect
    Again, with all due respect,

Do you have a tic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

I don't believe anyone begs on the street just to earn some extra money for a night out or a holiday. They may not need the money for their meal that day, but they most likely still need it to survive. Strange how it would make your blood boil and how you would compare it to a lack of supply of services for genuine homeless people.

they get the dole, they all live 6/7 to a room in various places like NCR and Dorset Street, ive seen the very people who are supposedly homeless begging on the street and it's disgusting

And?

And once again, how is it disgusting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭BaaLamb

That description sounds like a pretty grim life even if they're not homeless:(

BaaLamb wrote: »
    That description sounds like a pretty grim life even if they're not homeless:(
    Apparently it's disgusting to be begging to supplement that lifestyle however. I honestly give up. Too much middle class boards for one day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭face1990

And?

And once again, how is it disgusting?

I think it annoys people because they are not homeless and are capable of working for a living but decide to beg instead.

Certainly they don't live like kings or spend the money on holidays. But that doesn't make it okay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Smondie

Instead of spending thier time begging in the street, they should be using it to look for a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

I give nothing to beggars ,
    we have a social welfare system,
    i thing begging in ireland is a scam.
    if you see a woman with a child begging ,do you really think she is not getting welfare.
    how naive are you ?
    There,s little incentive for landlords to take rent allowance ,
    when they can get tenants who work full time ,
    and they don,t have to fill in a load of forms .
    Theres little incentive for landlords to take someone who is on disability allowance .
    The bedsits where 1000,s of single people used to live were banned .
    places like threshold and crosscare help you get accomodation .
    www.threshold.ie

Just counted ten homeless people sleeping in doorways on Grafton Street, and more standing around with cups, begging. The amount of people sleeping rough tonight is mad. There's a noticeable increase now.

One chap had no sleeping bag, just passed out in the door of Brown Thomas with his hood over his head. Jaysus.

Glad I'm going home to my bed.

Just counted ten homeless people sleeping in doorways on Grafton Street, and more standing around with cups, begging. The amount of people sleeping rough tonight is mad. There's a noticeable increase now.

One chap had no sleeping bag, just passed out in the door of Brown Thomas with his hood over his head. Jaysus.

Glad I'm going home to my bed.
    It's disgusting. They should be out of sight and looking for jobs instead of sympathy from passers by trying to get home like yourself.