Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annoying Gym Behaviour - Mk2(?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Mellor wrote: »
    I think he was saying was that pointing out the other rack became free was not an unreasonable thing to do. At that point there were presumably 2 people using 1 squat rack.

It really depends on the specifics of the situation. If you were both squatting the same weight, and had one of you has 1 or 2 sets left. Then there little point moving. On the other hand, if you on you was squatting 50kg+ and had 5 sets left, on a timed intervals. Then it makes sense to move.

I generally have no problem letting other to work in as I hate waiting around myself. But its rarely need as I train at lunch and we have 12 or more racks.

That's exactly what he was saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,763 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

The salient point in slicus ricus' post was what an utterly sound mu'fugga I am :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭Nate--IRL--

OK I got one for this thread finally - people who leave big pools of water in the Dry area of the changing room. Does my head in. Nothing worse than accidentally stepping in one when in your socks, halfway through getting changed.

Nate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

whippet wrote: »
    my coach is a huge lad and to people who don't know him would laugh at the notion he works in a gym .!!

i think alot of people forget that extreme weight loss is as much a mental game as it is physical.

while my PT has never been over weight so couldnt relate to the tougher times i went though, however i was only able to explain after i had dropped the weight why i struggled sometimes.

there is a PT in my gym who lost a rake of weight and he seems to be pretty clued up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

People hogging more weights that they could possibly reasonably use. I saw a guy recently with five sets of dumbells all at once, four piled in front of the seat while he stood behind it using one pair. A guy went to take one of the pairs - because obviously he couldn't possibly be using all of them at once - and the hogger roared at him (literally shouted, he was wearing headphones and presumably trying to hear himself over his own music) that he was using them. He shouted three or four times, with the whole gym turning around to look at him.

Jackass.

yeah I've had this myself, not to be a xenophobe but a lot of them are polish, must be a cultural thing. I find some of the eastern European lads and lasses, quite greedy when it comes to sharing equipment. I've seen 2 digging matches and both started by these type of lads hogging everything.

This lad was probably Brazilian by the look of him - not that I would expect it to matter. For what it's worth I've never gotten the impression that our more soviet friends were any worse than your average gym-goer.

nah it doesn't, we have our own brand of homegrown eejits here too but the multi weight hoggers I've seen are usually from the east!! Not Dublin...farther!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,011 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Zillah wrote: »
    This lad was probably Brazilian by the look of him - not that I would expect it to matter. For what it's worth I've never gotten the impression that our more soviet friends were any worse than your average gym-goer.

People are usually afraid to approach them, cause they are usually quite big. Most wouldn't hurt a fly though.

They took er jerbs weights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,065 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

People not putting dumbbells back, or leaving their weights on the bar DOES MY NUT. It is such selfish, ignorant behavior. Saw one fella leave 300kg on the leg press once - so the next person up would have to derack 6 25kg weights each side. Absolutely horrible behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭Utah

People not putting dumbbells back, or leaving their weights on the bar DOES MY NUT. It is such selfish, ignorant behavior. Saw one fella leave 300kg on the leg press once - so the next person up would have to derack 6 25kg weights each side. Absolutely horrible behaviour.

This seems to be the norm in my gym. Dumbbells are mostly put back but nobody ever strips their bars when they're finished.

used to be a lad in my old gym did that but would walk round gathering up all the 20/25kg plates and throwing them beside the press! then he'd do his workout with massive weight whilst everyone scavenged for some 20's. He never even used half of his cache, and if you asked mid set he'd say "I'm oozing all off dem"

OOOkkkkay then!! strange alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

This one has started to show up to the local CC gym the past 2 weeks and the smell of B.O off her is woeful. I mean, really really rank. You can smell it everywhere, hits the back of the throat. The type that hasn't showered in weeks. I don't mind, but she was there again this morning with someone, I assume must have been her daughter and you'd think she'd tell her to clean herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Todd Gack

This one has started to show up to the local CC gym the past 2 weeks and the smell of B.O off her is woeful. I mean, really really rank. You can smell it everywhere, hits the back of the throat. The type that hasn't showered in weeks. I don't mind, but she was there again this morning with someone, I assume must have been her daughter and you'd think she'd tell her to clean herself.

Fella in my gym stinks, always wears what look like the same clothes so I'm guessing they're not washed after each use. It's beyond BO, that horrible gagging smell. Doesn't use a towel either, brings a gammy bit of tissue around to half wipe down machines and benches.

The usual not putting equipment away and hogging it are the most annoying things. The general odd behaviour is more bemusing than annoying. One lad only uses the water fountain and never brings a bottle, seems strange to me, spends half his time walking over and back from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Todd Gack wrote: »
    Fella in my gym stinks, always wears what look like the same clothes so I'm guessing they're not washed after each use. It's beyond BO, that horrible gagging smell. Doesn't use a towel either, brings a gammy bit of tissue around to half wipe down machines and benches.

How on earth could a person possibly be unaware of that??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Todd Gack

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    How on earth could a person possibly be unaware of that??

It's something I ask myself every time I smell him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Drives me mad when people don't leave back Dumbbells in their numerical orders. 2, 4, 6 , 8, 10 etc. I once saw a guy leave a pair of 6's where there should've been 10's. Asshole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭Utah

Todd Gack wrote: »
    Fella in my gym stinks, always wears what look like the same clothes so I'm guessing they're not washed after each use. It's beyond BO, that horrible gagging smell.

We have an older gentleman like this. I appreciate he's in his 60s and is trying but wears the same clothes and the smell is rank. He does a stint on the cross trainers everyday and does a little chicken wing flapping of the arms for some reason, this wafts the smell outwards. I've had to move machine more than once. It is disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Deano7788

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Drives me mad when people don't leave back Dumbbells in their numerical orders. 2, 4, 6 , 8, 10 etc. I once saw a guy leave a pair of 6's where there should've been 10's. Asshole.

My gym would drive you insane so. No order at all and you might find each half of the pair at opposite ends of the dumbbell rack!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

girls that wear makeup and run on the threadmil in their sports bras and short shorts in a baseball cap looking like a fecking Nike ad... without an ounce of sweat or hair out of place.

cut to me battered in the corner shirt soaked, hair frizzy or stuck to my face, no makeup and definitely not looking cute.

thats more me being bitter than annoying though... :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭whippet

I've given up on annoying behaviour annoying me with one exception - not unloading weights from the bars.

In our gym you'd only do that once anyway as you would be pull up on it immediately.

Maybe people have been confusing 'roid rage' with lads going around the gym being annoyed at everything all this time.

Dtp1979 wrote: »

lol what, there's an order? Any gym I have been in has been a ballet of chaos. You count your lucky stars if there is a matching pair side-by-side.

Zillah wrote: »
    lol what, there's an order? Any gym I have been in has been a ballet of chaos. You count your lucky stars if there is a matching pair side-by-side.

Ha I thought it was obvious I was taking the piss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Lads in the changing room talking about "training" !!

What were you training for exactly ??

D3V!L wrote: »
    Lads in the changing room talking about "training" !!

What were you training for exactly ??

Strength, fitness, endurance, gaa, boxing, mma. Many more I'm sure

Maybe people have been confusing 'roid rage' with lads going around the gym being annoyed at everything all this time.

oooh ROID RAGE, dare you speak of that we do not mention!!!

Utah wrote: »
    We have an older gentleman like this. I appreciate he's in his 60s and is trying but wears the same clothes and the smell is rank. He does a stint on the cross trainers everyday and does a little chicken wing flapping of the arms for some reason, this wafts the smell outwards. I've had to move machine more than once. It is disgusting.

yeah I'm torn here, dunno why. You say that and I imagine these older men I see, a little lonely, maybe just buried their wife and are now trying to fill the days and nights. They come to a gym, totally unaware of etiquette, trying to keep fit and maybe interact with the odd person. These guys may have had their wife look after the whole clean clothes thing, and don't realise it as the oul olfactory sense begins to diminish in twilight years!!

I see these guys and feel like just saying hello, I can take the rank smell to be honest. It's the guys my age who really ought to know better and are just flat out shocking in terms of hygiene.

rusty cole wrote: »
    oooh ROID RAGE, dare you speak of that we do not mention!!!

The lads you're thinking are on steroids just don't like the BO either.