Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭kabuxa

Does anyone know which shop I can buy Garmin charger?
    I am a LITTLE bit anxious that I cant find mine for the last 3 days... This made me learn how to pair the watch with with mobile however I need to charge the watch.
    Thanks a lot. Going to the park for a 10k to calm me down.

On a more calm note, this week, for one I did almost what I was supposed to do. So really happy!

Monday: 6k -trail trial run - 42'
    Wed: 5k - 34'
    Thursday: 6k actual trail run - 38'
    Saturday : 21.1k - 2h30'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭kittyclaws

Hi Nop, I feel a lot better energy-wise, I had a lovely break in Rosslare for the weekend and had a few dips in the sea, some lovely long walks - but it feels a lot longer than 4 days since I ran.
    I'm heading out soon for my LSR, the plan calls for 12/14 miles and I've a group to run with for 10 of them - I'm feeling pretty meh about this run, last week was a really bad week running-wise so mentally I need this run to go well :S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

kittyclaws wrote: »
    Hi Nop, I feel a lot better energy-wise, I had a lovely break in Rosslare for the weekend and had a few dips in the sea, some lovely long walks - but it feels a lot longer than 4 days since I ran.
    I'm heading out soon for my LSR, the plan calls for 12/14 miles and I've a group to run with for 10 of them - I'm feeling pretty meh about this run, last week was a really bad week running-wise so mentally I need this run to go well :S

Hope run goes well at least you've a group for 10 makes such a difference running in company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭FITZA

nop98 wrote: »
    Eh, yep - but that's fixed now. I've also added FITZA's update pace and A Neurotic back in, and a note for scotindublin who might join us. Any other takes are more than welcome.

It looks like we'll have a group at around 10 min/mi and one at 11. I'm thinking we'll have a ~7-8M loop (cover part of the new HM route?) and those who want to drop out after one loop can do so, while the others can continue for a second lap. Unless someone else has a better plan!

Name|Planned Pace|Distance required
    nop98|9:30 - 10|8ish
    aceygray|9.30 - 10 min/mile|14 miles
    kin9pin|10:00-11:00|14 miles
    FITZA|10.05+|14m
    Pomplamousse|10:30-10:45min/mile-ish|14 miles
    A Neurotic|10:30 - 11|12 - 14
    Firedance|10:30 to 11:30|6-8
    The Muppet|11 to 12 |any
    Antwerp (tentative)|11:00-12:00|14miles
    The Black Oil|11|12 miles
    scotindublin (tentative)||

Sounds good to me nop98, l like the idea of 2 loops...water station :) Thanks for organising this :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Szilvike

Back from my 15m LSR, so joined to those fellow novices who ran the longest this weekend they've ever done. But I'm not so happy unfortunately. Was struggling after 8-10m, the balls of my feet were really-really sore (I'm a forefoot striker), the road was so hard it felt as I was running barefoot. But the worst thing is, my left knee started to hurt during the last few miles. It wasn't a sharp pain, and came and went at the beginning, but then it seemed to stay till the end :( And now even during walking I feel it being kind of locked.

So I'm very, very, very disappointed and frustrated now! Will try to book an appointment with the physio for Wednesday, and maybe I should get new runners as well with more cushioning on the front for these long road runs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,364 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Any ideas on incorporating the Dublin half-marathon with the HHN1 plan?

The plan is supposed to have a 29km run that weekend, which is probably one of the more important runs in getting the distances up. The preceeding LSR was 19km and the following one is supposed to be 22.5km, if the race was a week later it would match perfectly, but it ain't.

Normally I'd just stick to the plan but I've avoided all other races and I'd quite like to do the half marathon mainly to get some raceday practice, to experience all those things that aren't actually the running part! The experience of running Phoenix park would help too, I've made a point of including stretches of the marathon route into my training runs but I never be over as far as the park.

Any thoughts? I could switch the 22.5 and the 29km runs, but the next week again after that is the longest training run of 32km, I suspect I should really have the step back run between them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭tipping

Szilvike wrote: »
    Back from my 15m LSR, so joined to those fellow novices who ran the longest this weekend they've ever done. But I'm not so happy unfortunately. Was struggling after 8-10m, the balls of my feet were really-really sore (I'm a forefoot striker), the road was so hard it felt as I was running barefoot. But the worst thing is, my left knee started to hurt during the last few miles. It wasn't a sharp pain, and came and went at the beginning, but then it seemed to stay till the end :( And now even during walking I feel it being kind of locked.

So I'm very, very, very disappointed and frustrated now! Will try to book an appointment with the physio for Wednesday, and maybe I should get new runners as well with more cushioning on the front for these long road runs...

I was recently in a similar boat with the balls of my feet. Keeping off the road is helping a lot. I do at least half my running on grass/trail and it's a lot more forgiving on the legs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Isn't that in the plan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Pomplamousse

Week 5 Boards plan

Monday: cross-training- pilates
    Tuesday: rest due to my bandy lungs
    Wednesday : 4 miles easy (9:32min/mile)
    Thursday: 4 miles easy (9:36min/mile)
    Friday: rest
    Saturday: 15 miles LSR (10:46min/mile)
    Sunday: 3 miles recovery (11:13min/mile)

This week didn't start off great as I'd a bad cough and an asthma diagnosis so I skipped my run on Tuesday & just did easy running on Wednesday rather than the planned 6 mile PMP run. But the cough has eased off a lot now so I managed the rest of this week's planned runs. Felt a good bit better on this week's LSR than previous ones, it felt less humid so that probaby helped a lot. Either that or it was the jellytots I tried out during the run (I usually go with jellybeans but my local shop had none on Friday night). They did coat my hand in sugar though which was a bit of a sticky annoyance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Szilvike

tipping wrote: »
    I was recently in a similar boat with the balls of my feet. Keeping off the road is helping a lot. I do at least half my running on grass/trail and it's a lot more forgiving on the legs.

I used to do my runs too on the grass and loved it, but then I thought I should start going on the road to get used to it by the marathon... Apparently it's not really working out. But if I go back to the grass I'm afraid that my feet will die of the pain on the day :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭tipping

I used to do my runs too on the grass and loved it, but then I thought I should start going on the road to get used to it by the marathon... Apparently it's not really working out. But if I go back to the grass I'm afraid that my feet will die of the pain on the day :confused:

I'm deliberately doing half and half. Say yesterday for 16 miles, did 4 there on road, 8 miles of loops around a park and 4 miles back on the road. To me that's enough to keep the soreness away yet get the conditioning needed for the road running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭kittyclaws

14 miles done! The difference running on fresh legs - it's been so long!! I had some jelly tots for the last few miles and found the bit of sugar a great help :)

I was just reading back about meeting up for an LSR, I'd be interested in giving it a go! 11 min pace, I don't mind distance-wise how far we go :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Antwerp

Hi Nop98 and Paddydriver, how did DLR 10 go for ye?
    Weather conditions were great but those hills....think they are still going round in my head, like a roller coaster:) fantastic supporters throughout the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Extrasupervery

I did the DLR 10k today as a substitute for Fingal which I couldn't get to. It was a nice race and I felt great running it but I'm super unprepared for October.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Antwerp wrote: »
    Weather conditions were great but those hills....think they are still going round in my head, like a roller coaster:) fantastic supporters throughout the race.

Hi Antwerp, went great Thanks.. Yes, the first 5k is tough but weather was ideal and had a tail breeze much of first few K which really helped and then a lovely breeze to cool down in 2nd half. How'd you do and were you happy with result?

I had bets with my kids in the car on the way down and my daughter had me for 48.30 and wife started with 47:00 then revised up to 50:00 when I laughed.. Anyway, daughter won. I came in @ 47:54 and I was delighted with it. The most pleasing bit was that my 2nd 5k was 23mins and my last K was my fastest when I could sniff sub 48min.

As a few have said to me, the inclines I do on my training runs really stood to me and I really made ground on the any hills. Was great support along the whole route and that helps so much as it keeps you pushing on.

Might put together a log later on (never really did one before) as it may help someone else in prep.

Well done to all who took part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Antwerp wrote: »
    I did the DLR 10k today as a substitute for Fingal which I couldn't get to. It was a nice race and I felt great running it but I'm super unprepared for October.
    Hi Antwerp, went great Thanks.. Yes, the first 5k is tough but weather was ideal and had a tail breeze much of first few K which really helped and then a lovely breeze to cool down in 2nd half. How'd you do and were you happy with result?

I had bets with my kids in the car on the way down and my daughter had me for 48.30 and wife started with 47:00 then revised up to 50:00 when I laughed.. Anyway, daughter won. I came in @ 47:54 and I was delighted with it. The most pleasing bit was that my 2nd 5k was 23mins and my last K was my fastest when I could sniff sub 48min.

As a few have said to me, the inclines I do on my training runs really stood to me and I really made ground on the any hills. Was great support along the whole route and that helps so much as it keeps you pushing on.

Might put together a log later on (never really did one before) as it may help someone else in prep.

+1 - well done all 3! I should have sent out a meeting place to say hi but I had my family with me too.

I had done it before so I knew what to expect - it's not an easy course and the wind wasn't helping. I was caught too far back (despite being aware that this was a risk with this race) so I lost a lot of time at the start. Still, a decent finish and a shade under 45:30, which I was well pleased with.

Antwerp - I assume the race report is being written as we speak? :)
    Extrasupervery - welcome back, haven't heard much from you lately? There's plenty of time until October - keep it up!
    Paddydriver, well done, there's no better race-feeling than finishing strong.

All, take an easy day tomorrow (or off altogether) and then straight into week 6. :)

The plan is supposed to have a 29km run that weekend, which is probably one of the more important runs in getting the distances up. The preceeding LSR was 19km and the following one is supposed to be 22.5km, if the race was a week later it would match perfectly, but it ain't.

Normally I'd just stick to the plan but I've avoided all other races and I'd quite like to do the half marathon mainly to get some raceday practice, to experience all those things that aren't actually the running part! The experience of running Phoenix park would help too, I've made a point of including stretches of the marathon route into my training runs but I never be over as far as the park.

Any thoughts? I could switch the 22.5 and the 29km runs, but the next week again after that is the longest training run of 32km, I suspect I should really have the step back run between them?

Hi bucketybuck, I'm doing the HHN2 plan and it has the half scheduled for end of week 9 (same as HHN1 I think?), for me that is August 27th, I looked up half marathons for that weekend and Tullamore have theirs on which I believe is a good one. So that is the one I entered, at the time never thought about the race series but am now happy to have one fitting in with the plan I'm doing. Hoping, of course, all goes to plan:D

I was doing a lot of my running on grass too (saving the auld joints!)....but was advised on here to do the LSR on the road, that is what I am trying to do now. I run my midweek run or runs on grass if I can and do the LSR on the road but if I felt the need I would do the LSR on grass rather than not at all. Hope you get the issue sorted Szilvike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Update since last Wednesday's club session....

Thu 28/7 - 8 mi. @ 8:45
    Fri 29/7 - Rest
    Sat 30/7 - Porterstown parkrun 24:18 (PB 20:36) + 0.5 mile "cooldown".

I deliberately started at the very back, and slowly worked my way through, each lap (of three) quicker than the one before. No idea re: splits, too busy acting the eejit for the camera to be listening to anyone calling out times as I passed the finish line. Overall, a lot faster than I planned; maybe I'll volunteer for the next one to make sure I stay in line.

Sun 31/7 - BHAA Dublin Fire Brigade 5k 21:30

I ran with Marthastew at the beginning of this; she was completing her own LSR. Trouble was, the competitive gene kicked in again around the 1k mark, and off I went. Without feeling like I was going anywhere near full tilt, I passed at least twenty along the rest of the way, while only one guy passed me; he's a lot faster than me anyway, so even if I was "racing" I wouldn't have gone after him. I enjoyed it (and thanks for the advice afterwards O, if you're reading!) but couldn't help thinking I was setting myself up for a major fall, because the next day was to bring...

Mon 1/8 - LSR - 17 miles @ 11ish p/m

This was delayed by several hours, due to late night poker with lots of beer and junk food added. Did I ever mention that I tend to step outside the plan boundaries from time to time?

The route was to be the Frank Duffy 10 mile course, followed by a clockwise loop of the Park with the extra side bits included to bring it up closer to 17 miles. The first 6 or 7 miles were done at mega shuffle pace, I think closer to 13 minutes per mile! Note to self, get out earlier next time; traffic around the azoo in particular was unreal, I thought I'd never get past the crowds. I didn't feel hungover or anything, just the culmination of a lot of miles and unscripted madness in a kind of perfect storm. It took a return to Chesterfield Avenue to knock me out of my slumbers and pick up the pace a bit. Even so, on more than one occasion the thought came into my head "Just go back to the car. Nobody needs to know what *really* happened."

However, even though various body parts were acting up periodically, I actually started feeling a bit stronger as I made my way around the clockwise loop. Clearing the azoo again was a major relief, and I felt no regrets about doing the full loop to finish. Even the hills on the way back didn't bring about as much hardship as I expected.

Finally back at the car, over three hours after I started (phone died along the way) my longest run of 2016 was in the bag. Such a relief! A few stretches and I was back behind the wheel for the short drive home to a well deserved(?) bath to close off a week of roughly 43 miles. Just don't try it at home kids!!

90 days to go....and we've said bye to July....it's getting closer :eek:

The route was to be the Frank Duffy 10 mile course, followed by a clockwise loop of the Park with the extra side bits included to bring it up closer to 17 miles. The first 6 or 7 miles were done at mega shuffle pace, I think closer to 13 minutes per mile!

:D On Saturday finishing the LSR we were struggling to finish and I looked at my friend and she was walking at the same speed I was running :D:D:D THAT was mega shuffle pace.

Well done! Such an achievement!

Answer to a previous post I put FOUND THE CHARGER! In my sports bag... :confused:

Today's 6m was tough... I thought we were going too fast and far from that... maybe the heat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Great running pd, impressive time. Looking forward to the log, Not only do they help somone else its helpful to look back to guage your own progress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

I've been out of action for well over a week with a chest infection. Felt drained all week, slept most of the day yesterday but today I feel like a new man!

The running gear is neatly laid out and the alarm set for 6:30, looking forward to getting some miles done and getting back into the plan :)

RasTa wrote: »
    Isn't that in the plan?

The Dublin 1/2 marathon is on September 24th. The HH1 plan has a 29km LSR that weekend, and a 22.5 km LSR the week after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

The Dublin 1/2 marathon is on September 24th. The HH1 plan has a 29km LSR that weekend, and a 22.5 km LSR the week after.

The HHN1 on the first page of this thread has it factored in, although that's the novice one.

In other news did 12.6m in 1hr today.....

However that news is that I was on my bicycle playing with my new toy. It doesn't like windows 10!

The HHN1 on the first page of this thread has it factored in, although that's the novice one.

Ah, so it does. Guess thats why its called a modified plan, the original HHN1 is different. That does answer my question of a way to incorporate the HM in the plan though!

The modified plan loses the 29km run though, not sure how I feel about that, losing the 2nd longest training run seems counter productive? (Not that I'm mad keen to run 29km in fairness).

Guess I have a choice to make!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

In other news did 12.6m in 1hr today.....

However that news is that I was on my bicycle playing with my new toy. It doesn't like windows 10!
    Ah, so it does. Guess thats why its called a modified plan, the original HHN1 is different. That does answer my question of a way to incorporate the HM in the plan though!

The modified plan loses the 29km run though, not sure how I feel about that, losing the 2nd longest training run seems counter productive? (Not that I'm mad keen to run 29km in fairness).

Guess I have a choice to make!

Thank you RasTa - yes bucketybuck: the modified HHN1 plan takes in the Half Marathon (as well as the FD10). This has worked well for novices in the past couple of years - plus the Half is a great race in its own right. I would actually argue that incorporating the Half at a slightly faster pace will be a welcome change from all the long slow miles otherwise - plus the racing experience will stand to you on the day (e.g. running with pacers (HM only), gels, running in crowds, prep, etc). As with (almost) everything, do what works best for you, and what you'll get most value from.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,655 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

long_b wrote: »
    Have to give up on DCM 2016.
    Very disappointed but am having a recurrence of a non-running related medical issue.

Awaiting diagnosis but told not to run in the meantime.

Best of luck to ye all - will be thinking of ye on the day !!

Hey lb, I know you responded to one of my posts the other day and I meant to get back to you, but didn't. :o Sorry to hear that you've to step back, best of luck in the days ahead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

long_b wrote: »
    Have to give up on DCM 2016.
    Very disappointed but am having a recurrence of a non-running related medical issue.

Awaiting diagnosis but told not to run in the meantime.

Best of luck to ye all - will be thinking of ye on the day !!

Just catching up here, likewise sorry to hear this B, hope you recover soon and as Myles has said, do hang around here and let us know how you are getting on.

Running in the rain is probably one of my favourite things to do in the entire world. I was slightly hungover and I felt like such ****; not physically but mentally. I had this strange dread/sadness/rage inside of me that I couldn't shift. A quick 7km later and I'm wondering what I was so unhappy about. This is why I run.

Also ran just under a HM in my LSR on Saturday. I felt absolutely fine after. Last time I did that I couldn't walk properly for a few days. Really encouraging stuff.