The "Today I did something to my bike" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,942 ✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Got new handlebars for the bike. Fit them only to discover the cables seem *just* too short.

Bah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭stewygriffin

Had to throw in the towel and book her in with Joe Duffy BMW to sort this horn issue out.

It has to be a fooked switch,because the fuse is good and the actual horn works,tested it.
    Made up a usb sat nav charger lead to suit the BMW today.:)

20160725_123519_zps9g0urbqs.jpg

20160725_162057_zpsssdfbteh.jpg

20160725_163852_zpsfvm2heul.jpg

20160726_171139_zpsi8oqszwt.jpg

20160726_181418_zpsifk9ilxi.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,923 ✭✭✭Wossack

gb racing stuff is top class - have same on my street triple

Wossack wrote: »
    gb racing stuff is top class - have same on my street triple

Yep,its good stuff,precise fit,and its worth the money.Have the GB Racing covers on the R1 aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭two wheels good

Had to throw in the towel and book her in with Joe Duffy BMW to sort this horn issue out.

It has to be a fooked switch,because the fuse is good and the actual horn works,tested it.

Many BM horns are powered via a relay. Probably the RR too. Swop with one of the other identical relays to test.

Tried that about an hour ago,no joy.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,715 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Just fitted the following to the battle tank this week in prep for a trip abroad

BMW luggage with wrap kit from SignatureCD in Greece.
    BMW GS tank bag
    Wunderlich GPS sun visor.
    Fenda Extenda
    Grip puppies (squeeze those puppies :pac:)
    Puig rear hugger
    Wunderlich rear mudslinger
    Little Irish flag from Lidl :)

392806.jpg

I have a wrap kit for the bike (clear), a headlight visor and some other stuff that has to wait until I get back. This bike is so easy to stick stuff onto. Can't wait to hit the road:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,164 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Some touring machine there. I'd get rid of the flag, its a bit goldwingy for my liking.

Cienciano wrote: »
    I'd get rid of the flag, its a bit goldwingy for my liking.

Ah no, its there to wined up the Brits :D

Some carbon fibre arrived this morning for the S1000RR.:)

20160727_115539_zpsmi7eblq4.jpg

20160727_115823_zpsrnodfnnk.jpg

20160727_120431_zpsw6g17yfo.jpg

20160727_120439_zpsbf19mbnw.jpg

Some carbon fibre arrived this morning for the S1000RR.:)

20160727_115539_zpsmi7eblq4.jpg

20160727_115823_zpsrnodfnnk.jpg

20160727_120431_zpsw6g17yfo.jpg

20160727_120439_zpsbf19mbnw.jpg

Aaah Jaysus !! :eek:

D3V!L wrote: »
    Aaah Jaysus !! :eek:

Aaah Here................:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,942 ✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

I'm dreaming of the day when I can afford bikes like some of you boys have!

I fit new handlebars to the Super Four, but ran into bother fitting the new switches (as detailed in another thread!). Accidentally ran down the battery yesterday, so had to jump start it this morning. Left it running with the choke on while it built up charge. Came out 20 minutes later and it was super hot. Looks like coolant on the ground. Sigh.

Gotta get coolant today or tomorrow so I can check if the battery is okay again, so I can then try to sort out the switches or else fit the old ones back.

Christ.

Bike had to go to Joe Duffy BMW today,looks like a fubared horn,abs and traction control switch module.

This is gonna cost me...........:o:pac:

I'm dreaming of the day when I can afford bikes like some of you boys have!

I fit new handlebars to the Super Four, but ran into bother fitting the new switches (as detailed in another thread!). Accidentally ran down the battery yesterday, so had to jump start it this morning. Left it running with the choke on while it built up charge. Came out 20 minutes later and it was super hot. Looks like coolant on the ground. Sigh.

Gotta get coolant today or tomorrow so I can check if the battery is okay again, so I can then try to sort out the switches or else fit the old ones back.

Christ.

I hear and feel your pain.

I think this says it rather well for you and I today.:pac::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,047 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Bike had to go to Joe Duffy BMW today,looks like a fubared horn,abs and traction control switch module.

One of the joys of being a BMW owner!:(

Give your bike a good going over before leaving Duffy's!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

Over to Mak :0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭goodlad

Why would that getting fixed cost you a cent?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,484 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

The same unit goes in their 1 and 3 series cars!

Gonna have a chat with Joe Duffs today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

Gonna have a chat with Joe Duffs today.

Didn't you just buy it? No warranty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭Mr Sheen!

gerrowadat wrote: »
    Didn't you just buy it? No warranty?

He may not have bought it from a garage.

I took an S1000rr for a test ride with Joe Duffys.
    But that bike i bought came up for sale privately. 300 euro for a new switch control unit from BMW Germany. Seems to be a common fault on the S1000RR's.

I took an S1000rr for a test ride with Joe Duffys.
    But that bike i bought came up for sale privately. 300 euro for a new switch control unit from BMW Germany. Seems to be a common fault on the S1000RR's.

Ah, my mistake. Yeah, going dealer is a recipe for wallet pain. I got quoted 800 quid (not from Joe Duffy's) to fit the mount and twiddly wheel for the satnav. I was all like 'lol'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,047 ✭✭✭✭blade1

gerrowadat wrote: »
    I got quoted 800 quid (not from Joe Duffy's) to fit the mount and twiddly wheel for the satnav. I was all like 'lol'.

I'll fit it for you for a paltry €500!!!
    Thats me saving you €300 :eek:
    No No, there's no need to thank me!!!:pac:

blade1 wrote: »
    I'll fit it for you for a paltry €500!!!
    Thats me saving you €300 :eek:
    No No, there's no need to thank me!!!:pac:

For that kinda wedge I'd want Joe Duffy's personal phone number so I can ring him and ask for directions.

Got my brake and clutch lever guards today,along with the lower frame crash protectors for the S1000RR.:)

New front n rear tyres on the R1 from Cotters,as the rear Pirelli Corsa was well chewed up.:pac:

20160729_195111_zpsbpbi7o8l.jpg

20160716_120412_zpsutvuxzd0.jpg

20160716_120426_zpsf7qttqxi.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭Richard tea

I gave the bike another proper clean. I bought more ACF50. It comes in a bottle with a spray bottle ( not the pump pressure type ). I sat the bottle in hot water before use. It sprayed a lovely fine mist for about 2 minutes. Then it just squirted out blobs of acf50. I went back to the old mini paint brush method. Its much cleaner this way and I can dab it into the nooks and crannies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭pudzey101

Picked up this stuff in dealz today , cant really go wrong for 1.49 ,

nmdb.jpg

just gave a really quick rinse down , sprayed the solution and let it sit for 5mins , scrubbed + brushed the really mucky areas and rinsed off :) As good or if not better than muc-off IMO :)

TxfJ97v.jpg

Just to add the bike was destroyed in sh!te before i washed it i never took before pics :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Took the grab bar off today. the previous owner used a hack saw to remove the mounting points for the blanking plates, probably to fit a tail bag so I had to do a bit of messing.

Got a stud remover (rugby boots yoke) cut it in half, hammered it into shape, used a bit of mechano to connect the blanking plates to it and it's done. Not the cleanest bit of work ever but I'm happy enough. (I added zip ties after just to be sure if they got loose they wouldn't go flying)

393152.jpg

much better than before I think.
    393151.jpg