Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tower Bar - Off Topic Chat

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,876 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

gimli2112 wrote: »
    We'll be flocking to see it after reviews like this......

Check out the thread in the TV section about it its getting brilliant review, IMDB has it at 9.2/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,470 ✭✭✭SolvableKnave

jonnycivic wrote: »
    Check out the thread in the TV section about it its getting brilliant review, IMDB has it at 9.2/10

Welcome-to-iMDB.jpg

Get yourselves watching this one too, if ye haven't already.

10852073-high_res-peaky-blinders-3.jpg?w=970&h=647

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,427 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

yeah I need to check that out. Liked Cillian Murphy since 24 Days Later but heard a lot of good things about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Get yourselves watching this one too, if ye haven't already.

10852073-high_res-peaky-blinders-3.jpg?w=970&h=647

They were filming that right beside where I was working last year....

Funny seeing some people walking around Ballsbridge area in period attire...

@Gimli - I find it hard to watch anything, even GoT which I've been watching religiously since the first week...

Here's one for you, watched Breaking Bad from the first week, stopped watching at the start of season 4 as it bored me, then everyone started watching it and I stopped caring to watch the rest of it...

Fieldog wrote: »
    Here's one for you, watched Breaking Bad from the first week, stopped watching at the start of season 4 as it bored me, then everyone started watching it and I stopped caring to watch the rest of it...

You bloody hipster.

He was hipster before it was hipster to be hipster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

He was hipster before it was hipster to be hipster.

Fooking hipsters....

Hip to the jive, now where's my walking stick?

:P

I will watch the rest of Breaking Bad though, at some point... :)

Fieldog wrote: »
    Fooking hipsters....

Hip to the jive, now where's my walking stick?

:P

I will watch the rest of Breaking Bad though, at some point... :)

62wom.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

I think most of those shows are over hyped

BB was an excellent show. Probably the best
    TWD is actually fairly cringeworthy nowadays (I'm not posting spoilers but some of the stuff is just like "Come on, WHY DID YOU DO THAT IN A ZOMBIE APOCALYPSE!?!?!")
    Weeds, "oh white mid 30's women do Class C drugs too and it's not just gangsters? how quaint"
    Shameless..... meh... I get it, I just wasn't "wow'd" buy it, I actually lost respect for it when it decided it was getting a USA version

Most of the stuff that makes it "big" usually bores me to death with it's attempts to be serious
    I like stuff that has more suspension of reality.

Narcos was grand for like 6 episodes and then fell off a cliff and was fairly cr@p
    Poor attempt to fill BB's shoes

Making a Murderer is good by virtue of the fact it's only 10 episodes, and even then is probably like 3 episodes too long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,320 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Finishing Game of Thrones at the moment - starting season 6 this weekend.

Will start on Attack on Titan and Stranger Things when I get that done.

Painfully waiting until October for Flash and Arrow (and I may give LoT and Supergirl another chance). Gotham back the day before Rise of Iron hits - think there are a couple of TV shows starting back that week.

Mr. Robot is a few episodes into season 2 now, haven't started back into it yet myself.

AND i still want to get around to watching the last season of House of Cards.

So much tele.....

Lost - really enjoyed it but hadn't a clue what was happening - still don't. Took a 6 year break between seasons 5 and 6.
    The West Wing - watched this a good few times but probably dated now.
    Suits - really like this. Currently on season 5 and it's starting to slip
    The Good Wife - this is actually really good and consistent have seen up to season 6
    Breaking Bad, the Sopranos The Wire in that order (although I only watched S1 of the Wire)
    Watched S1 of GOT and thought meh recently watched 2-3 and thought it was better
    Blacklist 1-2 were pretty good

TWD S1 couldn't get into it. Anything I don't like that has zombies must be bad.
    Shameless never watched
    Weeds never watched
    Dexter Seasons 1-3 were pretty good but then turned to absolute muck

gimli2112 wrote: »
    Lost - really enjoyed it but hadn't a clue what was happening - still don't. Took a 6 year break between seasons 5 and 6.
    The West Wing - watched this a good few times but probably dated now.
    Suits - really like this. Currently on season 5 and it's starting to slip
    The Good Wife - this is actually really good and consistent have seen up to season 6
    Breaking Bad, the Sopranos The Wire in that order (although I only watched S1 of the Wire)
    Watched S1 of GOT and thought meh recently watched 2-3 and thought it was better
    Blacklist 1-2 were pretty good

TWD S1 couldn't get into it. Anything I don't like that has zombies must be bad.
    Shameless never watched
    Weeds never watched
    Dexter Seasons 1-3 were pretty good but then turned to absolute muck

You sound like the kind of person I would find insufferable to be stuck talking to in the pub :pac:

"OH MY GOD you HAVE to check out the Good Wife"

Cormac... wrote: »
    You sound like the kind of person I would find insufferable to be stuck talking to in the pub :pac:

"OH MY GOD you HAVE to check out the Good Wife"

Probably a good thing the Boards Beers didn't go ahead so. Pi$$ed Gimli screaming about The Good Wife, Cormac over in the corner trying to go "Off Mic". :D

Awww.... why did you bring up Boards Destiny Beers :(

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,876 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Awww.... why did you bring up Boards Beers :(

Whats wrong with boards beers?? :P

Twas before your time. We were going to have a Destiny beers (well I think about ~12 of us)

F**king Rugby ruined everything cause I was coming up to Dublin to attend/organise it and couldn't actually stay overnight cause Wales were playing Ireland I think that day so there was no accommodation available that wasn't at crazy prices

Twas before your time. We were going to have a Destiny beers (well I think about ~12 of us)

F**king Rugby ruined everything cause I was coming up to Dublin to attend/organise it and couldn't actually stay overnight cause Wales were playing Ireland I think that day so there was no accommodation available that wasn't at crazy prices

Well then why not organise another one and feck dublin pick somewhere central to everyone :P

I am at a loss to think of a worse time to actually have one in the games life cycle than right now.

It would be extremely forced. Best off have something like that when there's a bit of a buzz.

There is not much buzz now, games the quietest it's probably ever been from a Boards Clan perspective.

I don't mind travelling for it, thing is, the vast majority of active players who would be interested in possibly attending are in/near the pale, hence why I was coming to ye for it

But that's just my opinion

I am at a loss to think of a worse time to actually have one in the games life cycle than right now.

It would be extremely forced. Best off have something like that when there's a bit of a buzz.

There is not much buzz now, games the quietest it's probably ever been from a Boards Clan perspective.

I don't mind travelling for it, thing is, the vast majority of active players who would be interested in possibly attending are in/near the pale, hence why I was coming to ye for it

But that's just my opinion

You where also up for a concert i believe and where looking to extend your stay in the False Capital, but as you said, the Welsh Leeks where in town for the rugger.

Yup, ASIWYFA gig. F**king belter!

Facebook tells me that this was Circa 21st June 2015

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,160 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Got Borderlands: The Handsome Collection today, finally I'll have a chance to play Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel.

Edit: on the boards beers thing, I remember once going to Dublin for a beers with the tattoos and piercings folks, I was still drunk on the bus home the next day :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,146 ✭✭✭dudeeile

Angron wrote: »
    Got Borderlands: The Handsome Collection today, finally I'll have a chance to play Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel.

Edit: on the boards beers thing, I remember once going to Dublin for a beers with the tattoos and piercings folks, I was still drunk on the bus home the next day :pac:

I'll throw yer name in the BL chat.

It's always a bonus to remember beers!

New Tom Clancy game on the way ---->

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Mcsirl

Any Xbox1 people playing Borderlands 2 ? Im on UVHM playing solo and its starting to get a bit tough, tried doing the tk baha dlc and got destroyed by the skeletons.

Main issues i have are im lvl54 but my best weapons are 50-51, plus my best slag weapon only has a 10% slag chance which isnt helping matters. So looking for a few people to do co-op with to help me out.

THanks

Made you look!

When I was in secondary school I made a note to my friend, marked it up "Private do not read" The note said "If you read this sign here" about 85% of the people between me and my mate signed it.

Made you look!

3VavD50.png

Glorious news, I may finally be getting around my blasted red bar, with Vodafone due to hook me up sometime in the next two weeks.

Not so glorious realisation, I am heading back to college for another year to get me an honours degree. With study and travel, I might be relegate to a casual weekend scrub for Rise of Iron :(