Constipation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Try triphala.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,498 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I would go back to the hospital.
    Did they check there wasn't some sort of blockage or twist in your guts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

See a medical professional.

Now that real advice is dispensed I suggest you try watching 2 girls 1 cup..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

Grandeeod wrote: »
    Its usually 3 sachets per day for a severe case. Check with your doc. But it will eventually work.

Cheers man for the info, its perked me up a bit to know it will eventually work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Yeah drinkingba fair bit of water, just wondering could it be the amount of tea that i drink?as i drink about 5 or 6 cups a day and go to the toilet a lot afterwards.

Not enough water and/or fibre in your diet are the main reasons for it.

Drink lots of water and slowly increase fibre intake as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Keane2baMused

OP get lactulose. You can get it over the counter in the chemist cheaply. It's extremely sickly sweet but it will help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

Holy shìt!! (Or not in this case!)

Sounds gross but get Vaseline and a latex glove and grease the hole of yourself. It'll help smooth the way for the imminent delivery.

Thank Jesus I wasn't eating :(

spurious wrote: »
    I would go back to the hospital.
    Did they check there wasn't some sort of blockage or twist in your guts?

They did an x ray qnd apparently it showed up on there. I dont know if you could see a blockage in an xray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,301 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Bulmers. Works a treat if you drink enough of it.

And though Ive never tried it apparently the effects of Bulmers Pear are supercharged in comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Cheers man for the info, its perked me up a bit to know it will eventually work.

It will, which is why its a course of sachets as opposed to a one off treatment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Coffee and a fag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,637 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Jaysus thats a tough one to answer, I think it might have been about 3 weeks ago.

If that's the case it's time to get a rubber glove and lube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

Yesterday morning I think Ive had about 3 sachets of the stuff

Pfft. When I've a flare up I drink 8 a day. Thankfully I've got it mostly under control so no hospital for nearly two years!

You could chance your GP to ask for a fleet enema. Or mirolax. Or even chat to the pharmacist about OTC meds that work from the other side.

The movicol will work though. It's amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

You might need a Caesarean if it goes into week 4.

Its going to be like that episode of south park with randy marsh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

A good feed at supermacs will free you out in no time. Don't forget to put plenty of bog roll in the fridge.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭4ensic15

Are you mathematical? Work it out with a pencil!

I think I speak for us all when I say that when you do finally give birth, you should post a picture here

Sorry lads they prescribed me molaxole not movacol, is that any good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭thunderdog

Soapy finger up the bum....preferably a hot acquaintance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

sullivlo wrote: »
    Pfft. When I've a flare up I drink 8 a day. Thankfully I've got it mostly under control so no hospital for nearly two years!

You could chance your GP to ask for a fleet enema. Or mirolax. Or even chat to the pharmacist about OTC meds that work from the other side.

The movicol will work though. It's amazing.

I never used some suppository mini enema thing my GP gave me cause I ended up not needing it, but it did not look bad.
    It was very small and apparently "it WILL work" within a few hours according to her, so if you want to ask for that (you do it yourself at home and its literally like an eye drop thing).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Miss Demeanour

Christ NO! Whatever you do don't take that!!!!!!

I can't link medical sites but it says its the same thing, just cheaper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭FluffyAngel

no that mo lax ole is crap,what you need is mo stiff ole,that will loosen anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,455 ✭✭✭livedadream

same thing just different manufacturer and dosage its not as strong but will do the job keep drinking water or juice

from a practical point of view (anyone sensitive stop reading)

if and when you feel the urge forget about the actual toilet, throw a towel doen on the ground and squat it makes it easier on your muscles and can assist with things.. ahem.. not clenching.

also a well lubed finger to break up any impacted will do wonders.

if you have a bath some warm water can relax the muscles and make things feel less dry and you can poop in the bath...

keep an eye for blood dont panic if you see it but if its too much go back to a and e.

happy pooping.

(source a solid 8 years of crohns whooooo :eek:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,087 ✭✭✭Pro Hoc Vice

Jaysus thats a tough one to answer, I think it might have been about 3 weeks ago.

OMG when that comes out it will be like giving birth to 12lb baby.

keep an eye for blood dont panic if you see it but if its too much go back to a and e.

TMI but if the blood is only when you wipe then its likely its just from "coming out". Unlikely to have much so don't worry.
    But you will feel great once your cleaned out haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Same thing. You'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,455 ✭✭✭livedadream

failinis wrote: »
    TMI but if the blood is only when you wipe then its likely its just from "coming out". Unlikely to have much so don't worry.
    But you will feel great once your cleaned out haha

very true sorry, good call.

TMI for everyone else lolz you should pop over to the crohns and IBS forums... theres not such thing as TMI lolz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

3 weeks is a long time. I think you should visit your doctor. If you don't, you're your own worst enema.