Hostage situation in French church

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

Re your
    I was speaking to a French girl at Mass yesterday,

during Mass, no respect then.

Ha! Fair cop gov'. No, course not til after outside. Usually there's quite a few French people who go to our local church but most of them are gone to the World Youth day in Poland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,730 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

valoren wrote:
    A possible angle would be that should a terrorist be killed then they lose their 'rights' to this customary burial based on their religion. A law could state that a family automatically loses the right to burial of the body. That their bodies become the property of the state they have committed atrocities on. What should happen to their bodies is not divulged. It could possibly be a deterrent to younger people who are intending to become radicalised i.e. if you commit a terrorist act then what happens to your body may well be contrary to your beliefs etc. That if you are not 'buried' correctly then it impacts your soul, put the fear of 'God' into them so to speak.

Very unlikely to work, it's very difficult to deter an obsessed mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

Why do you ask a question if you presumably know the answer? To get a few "thanks"?

I don't know the answer. It's why I asked it.

valoren wrote: »
    A possible angle would be that should a terrorist be killed then they lose their 'rights' to this customary burial based on their religion.

I see where you're coming from but I really don't think this would be a productive move. Just think about the North. How do you think the wider Nationalist/Republican community would have reacted if say the Gibraltar three's remains were kept by the Brits? It wouldn't go down well even with those not supportive of the the deads actions, seems more likely to antagonise people/communities tbh.

Bubbaclaus wrote: »
    I don't know the answer. It's why I asked it.

Sure, I believe ya.

Well yes it was during Mass. I recommend you change whichever news site you use. Mentioning the attack, the number present, the location but not the fact that it was during Mass? Very slack reporting. Sure it was one of the first facts to come out on the event, even referenced in the OP's news links. BBC is usually pretty good, or just reuters itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭unseenfootage

A possible angle would be that should a terrorist be killed then they lose their 'rights' to this customary burial based on their religion. A law could state that a family automatically loses the right to burial of the body. That their bodies become the property of the state they have committed atrocities on. What should happen to their bodies is not divulged. It could possibly be a deterrent to younger people who are intending to become radicalised i.e. if you commit a terrorist act then what happens to your body may well be contrary to your beliefs etc. That if you are not 'buried' correctly then it impacts your soul, put the fear of 'God' into them so to speak.

Sounds like a very catholic solution to bury the evil ones in a separate cemetery.
    Do they still practice this nowadays?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

delly wrote: »
    I've read a few of these threads at this stage, and the sad realisation is that there is no solution, NONE. You can be as left wing as you want, respect religions, personal rights, or you can be right wing, lock them all up, deport them, etc., but the reality is that the horse has bolted and there is no solution. You can change things around and try to increase security, but the creation and impact of this type of incident will remain. It's actually really sad to dwell on that at this stage. Sure there has always been evil in the world, but it is the impact of it edging closer that is really worrying.

That is defeatist.

There are solutions, but no leader bar the likes of Orban are willing to take them.
    They fear the reaction from the liberal left and the media commentators and the do gooders like the actors who visit the Calais jungle.

For a start stop the ferry service in the Med.
    Pick them up and drop them back on coast of Libya, do deal with Libyan government/warlord.
    They will soon cop on they aren't going to be dropped in Italy and start giving up.
    Use force if necessary.

Likewise in Greece turn an island in holding camp (ala Australia) if Turkey won't take them back.
    And instead of paying off Erdogan put the pressure on him.
    This has to come from the yanks who bend over backwards due to his NATO membership.
    Of course he gives the two fingers to them and won't let them use his country to launch attacks on ISIS.
    Better still make sure the next coup works.

Start using the funds wasted on picking up, ferrying and looking after all the migrants coming to Europe to actually help those in camps in Lebanon and Jordan.
    BTW if you turn up in Europe with no identification then feck off.

Stop backing rebels in Syria and allow Assad take over.
    The devil you know is better than a hundred you don't.
    Back the Kurds fully.
    Again this means taking on Turkey.

Internally within Europe.
    Close down any mosque, cultural centre, muslim centre that is linked to terrorists or has been found spouting any religious hatred.
    Deport the likes of Abu Hamza al-Masri immediately once he appears on the radar and tell the European court of human rights go fook themselves.
    Likewise with the fooker down in Waterford.

Stop the creation of any new muslim centres or mosques that are funded by Wahhabists.
    Ban the travel of Wahhabist, Salafist preachers in Europe and ban the travel of members of muslim brotherhood.

Once someone, like Adel K in France, is found to be trying to get to ISIS or has been linked to ISIS they are immediately interned, no ifs or buts about it.

If a non national of the EU is found guilty of a violent crime, they are immediately deported upon completion of sentence.
    It doesn't matter if they are going to be shot or tortured upon return to country of origin, they should have thought of that before they committed a crime.

Now a lot of people are going to say this is infringing on people rights, is heavy handed and is a dangerous precedent.
    But what are the alternatives, complete death of our secular way of life and death by a thousand throat slitings.

And the sooner the West finds a way to remove the influence of the Gulf States and Arabia the better for all.
    The Americans and others for years have been telling us about the dangerous of Iran, whilst at the same time helping the Saudis, the Qataris, etc spread their tentacles across the world.
    They may be providing capital and investing in Western companies, but they are also investing in networks of hatred at the same time.

How many of the 911 attackers were Iranian or for that matter Iraqi ?
    And how many were Saudi ?

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,956 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

4 people killed on Irish roads overnight but people think France is more dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

so states should now adopt the practice of desecrating bodies as a form of retribution? What an absolutely disgusting idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

murpho999 wrote: »
    4 people killed on Irish roads overnight but people think France is more dangerous.

How many were killed in a church in Ireland recently ?

Just imagine if someone had driven a truck down along the promenade in Bray on Sunday while thousands were out enjoying themselves.
    Well that was Nice a week ago.

So please stop with the BS.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭unseenfootage

jmayo wrote: »
    Pick them up and drop them back on coast of Libya, do deal with Libyan government/warlord.
    They will soon cop on they aren't going to be dropped in Italy and start giving up.
    Use force if necessary.

Likewise in Greece turn an island in holding camp (ala Australia) if Turkey won't take them back.

Very extreme solution you have there but I want to know.

Many of the asylum seekers are Christians, fleeing the M.E or places like Eritrea.

We ship them back too right, or just the Muslims?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

so states should now adopt the practice of desecrating bodies as a form of retribution? What an absolutely disgusting idea.

Allegedly General Pershing did this in the Phillippines when he got sick of Moro's going jihadi on his troops, he had their bodies buried with pigs so they wouldn't get to heaven. What effect it had is not recorded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭valoren

No more disgusting than slitting an innocent priests throat or driving a truck into crowded areas etc etc etc etc etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

No more disgusting than slitting an innocent priests throat or driving a truck into crowded areas etc etc etc etc etc?

indeed it isnt. But when states start acting like terrorists they lose legitimacy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭valoren

Sounds like a very catholic solution to bury the evil ones in a separate cemetery.
    Do they still practice this nowadays?

My dad told us that when he was a child his gran warned him not to go into the local cemetary where protestants were buried. Why? He would be engulfed in flames if he did. :pac:

The Saudis bury their own kings in unmarked graves. Wahhabi Islam is particularly strongly opposed to gravemarkings or any idolatry of the dead.

The men who flew jets into the Twin Towers were presumably burnt to ash, and were never going to be afforded a burial, but I doubt that entered their heads. I don't particularly care how we dispose of terrorists, but no method is likely to dissuade terrorists from their intentions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

foggy_lad wrote: »
    What it does do is to make normal non murderous, non terrorist Muslims incompatible for living within western society!

just like far right/far left extremists, anti-muslim/other groups bigots, and racists then?
    if all other religions and their followers are compatible for living in western society, then so are muslims and islam. i have no time for organised religion but either all have a right to exist here or none.
    FURET wrote: »
    That video shows the reason why we should not accept immigrants from Islamic areas. The very fact of their presence means you have to worry about Wahabi-Salafist-segregationist ideologies and Islamists walking in and radicalizing a significant number of Muslims in your country, balkanizing your towns and cities and setting us up for civil unrest in the future.

We know this in advance, yet we still accept immigration from Islamic territories. Think about that. We know for a fact, in advance, that Islamic immigration carries with it very specific and all-too-real dangers, and we do it anyway. Why? We do not need to accept this risk, yet we do. It's bizarre and absurd and masochistic. No other community in the world causes this level of trouble and anxiety when they arrive in significant numbers.

Based on the European experience, should Japan - a country unscathed by the Muslim Problem so far - aim, from tomorrow, to gradually grow its Muslim population by 10 million over the next 20 years, as France has done proportionately? Would Japan be a better place for it at the end of those 20 years? If you think Japan would be better for it, and that Europe is better for it, you're in serious denial and you enable the gradual destabilization of our country, our continent, and our shared western civilization.

There is no added value to Islamic immigration. The benefits are not worth the costs.

honestly, listen to yourself. "jay don't agree with me so jay in denial rabel rabel"
    you no more care about western society then islamic or other extremists.
    I said it before in another thread and got a wrist slap but I'll say it again:

We should not let practicing Muslims into Europe. They are regressive for our society.

Same goes for any other practicing religious person, but the Muslims are the topic of the hour.

what a load of old nonsense. are we deporting all of those currently in europe who are of a practicing religion as well? grow up
    Zxclnic wrote: »
    What about non-practising Muslims...and how we will we know which is which, maybe by asking them when they apply for asylum.

it will be the usual method they like. colour of skin will determine who is and isn't a muslim. these people are as predictible as it gets.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

"You'd want to be nuts to go on an Irish road these days."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I know that, but the relevant question is the inherent danger of Islam.

If Islam is inherently dangerous, then the nominal population is a relevant metric, and not the proportional figure.

That is to say, the inherent danger of Islam can be measured by counting the number of violent attacks with reference to the local Muslim population. That's a pretty elementary observation.

The fact that you're introducing the proportional size of the population as a factor (and it is a factor, you're correct) demonstrates that it isn't Islam in itself which is dangerous. Islamic violence is correlated with a number of other variables.

I recently mentioned in another thread that Oslo has a Muslim population of about 10%. Walking around downtown Oslo feel like being in France. They have a noticeable presence, yet nobody is blowing themselves up.

How, then, can we reasonably claim that Islam is inherently dangerous? We cannot. It is a flawed argument.
    The answer to the question of the absence of islamic extremist terror in Italy : Italy has an examplary anti terror system . '' Romanian born political scientist and military analyst Edward N. Luttwak lays out a persuasive theory explaining how Italy has been so successful in thwarting Islamic terror attempts. In a word: Italy is not afraid to deport those it considers to be a threat to national security.

In his essay titled “Doing Counterterrorism Right,” Luttwak contrasts Italy with France and Belgium, noting that although Italy is much more vulnerable than they are, it has been far more effective at stopping would-be terrorists before they strike.''

ebbsy wrote: »
    Well refugees from certain countries ain't alright, as France and Germany are finding out.

what countries. ah it's okay, i know the answer. as i said, the fo far right lot here are as predictible as it gets.
    Killing a priest in a church. Mowing down kids in a truck. Really ?

really what?
    Sooner Trump gets in the better. He will bury those bastards.

he will do nothing of the sort.
    shedweller wrote: »
    The law needs to change so that we CAN deport immigrants that cause dangerous trouble like yer man with the ankle bracelet. Just turf the fùcker out and to hell with his human rights. Our collective human rights weigh more than a few nutters hellbent on widespread murder and chaos.
    Left whingers, i mean wingers, won't get this of course. They'll have open borders, hugs and free everything for all and sundry until the country either breaks down financially from the burden or we eventually end up in the caliphate.
    the law doesn't need to change as a country can all ready deport those not born in a country. not to hell with human rights as it will lead to the eradication of them for all of us. i'm not willing to have mine eradicated for protection from any government. your nonsense about mythical left wingers who apparently all want open borders and free hugs is just that, nonsense. just because someone doesn't agree with a view doesn't mean they agree with the opposite extreme. they're is a middle ground.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭Jesus.

just like far right/far left extremists, anti-muslim/other groups bigots, and racists then?if all other religions and their followers are compatible for living in western society, then so are muslims and islam. i have no time for organised religion but either all have a right to exist here or none.honestly, listen to yourself."jay don't agree with me so jay in denial rabel rabel"you no more care about western society then islamic or other extremists.what a load of old nonsense. are we deporting all of those currently in europe who are of a practicing religion as well? grow upit will be the usual method they like. colour of skin will determine who is and isn't a muslim. these people are as predictible as it gets.

I disagree. Muslims should be stopped from immigrating into western democracies. Its the only thing Donald Trump has said that actually makes sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

Idiotic post. Truly astounding...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭Curly Judge

Would interring their remains in a pit of pigs crubeens cause them to pause for reflection?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

100 people killed on Irish roads this year so far, makes Irish roads about as dangerous as the terrorist problem in France.

That puts it in perspective. We have 5 million people, 100 died on the roads. France has around 63 million and just under 100 killed in terrorist activities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I see Selim has been on the radio today saying that the media shouldn't be linking Islamic terrorist attacks to Islam. It's "unhelpful" apparently.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/world/muslim-leader-ali-selim-urges-media-to-avoid-linking-attacks-to-islam-1.2735229

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

100 people killed on Irish roads this year so far, makes Irish roads about as dangerous as the terrorist problem in France.

That puts it in perspective. We have 5 million people, 100 died on the roads. France has around 63 million and just under 100 killed in terrorist activities.

I agree. We should be debating cars here guys. ISIS are no threat to us.

Saipanne wrote: »
    I agree. We should be debating cars here guys. ISIS are no threat to us.
    In fairness, there's a big difference between 'lets not talk about it', and 'lets keep it in perspective'.

With all this talk of Europe being at war, and the general mood of panic that has been popping-up online (people have been writing on this website that they are distressed, and 'in tears'), i think it's useful when we are reminded to keep some perspective.

Obviously it deserves serious discussion, but we have to restrain ourselves by reflecting on just what a remote threat this poses to us individually.

It's almost comparable to the Garth Brooks Concert debacle. Yes, Garth was guilty of crimes against music, but he generated weeks of intense discussion, even though the danger he posed was considered highly remote.

That is defeatist.

no it's possibly reality sadly.
    There are solutions, but no leader bar the likes of Orban are willing to take them.
    They fear the reaction from the liberal left and the media commentators and the do gooders like the actors who visit the Calais jungle.

what you actually mean is "they're are extremist solutions but governments won't implement my extremist wishlist" because "liberal left/do gooders rabel rabel" and all the other terms from the bigot book.
    Use force if necessary.

wrong. they won't be giving up. using force will legitimize any reaction back from them.

tell the European court of human rights go fook themselves.

can't be done, it is against human rights to go against the court of human rights. and only terrorist states would do so.
    Once someone, like Adel K in France, is found to be trying to get to ISIS or has been linked to ISIS they are immediately interned, no ifs or buts about it.

can't be done, they have to be tried in a court using evidence and found guilty of the crime.
    It doesn't matter if they are going to be shot or tortured upon return to country of origin, they should have thought of that before they committed a crime.

irrelevant nonsense. if they are at risk of being shot then they can't be deported. in fact, if they are a violent criminal then keeping them locked up in europe is doing a service to the rest of the world.
    Now a lot of people are going to say this is infringing on people rights, is heavy handed and is a dangerous precedent.
    But what are the alternatives, complete death of our secular way of life and death by a thousand throat slitings.

that is because it is extremist. i will not be giving up any human rights or other rights for protection from the government. i would rather be blown to bits. it's a secular tolerent equal society with full rights and freedoms, or nothing. that's the choice. your extremist suggestions are not a choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

irrelevant nonsense. if they are at risk of being shot then they can't be deported. in fact, if they are a violent criminal then keeping them locked up in europe is doing a service to the rest of the world.

How does someone prove they are at risk ? Does strife in the potential destination country suffice as proof? Would that apply when someone had no I.D when they arrived in a host country ? I'm in agreement with incarcerating violent criminals but also those under reasonable suspicion of having been radicalised , especially in a country that is under a state of emergency . As for freedoms , I've never met anyone who doesn't have something to hide , objecting to data surveillance in times of crisis .I have no issue with it.

can't be done. the state have better things to do. your nonsense suggestion will not only be no deterrent to younger people who are intending to become radicalised, not only will it not put any fear of god into them, but it will radicalise people more.
    Jesus. wrote: »
    I disagree. Muslims should be stopped from immigrating into western democracies. Its the only thing Donald Trump has said that actually makes sense.

it makes sense to the clueless in society, yes. in reality however, it makes not one jot of sense. you couldn't enforce such a policy. get over it, muslims are here in europe, and will continue to come to europe. they are going nowhere.