Explosion in bar in Ansbach, Germany

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭unseenfootage

techdiver wrote: »
    Why should they be fighting though??

Ideally they should be fighting to defend their homeland.

But if you ask who they should be fighting against, some will insist against ISIS, others will say against Assad, Iran and the Russians and a third group will demand that they fight against the American backed rebels. ISIS will say that they should fight against all unbelievers.

NSFW: Oppressed woman in headscarf (graphic image)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭SnakePlissken

Shenshen wrote: »

And as for religion wanting to stone women for being raped - are you familiar with a book called the bible at all?

Not this ignorant clap trap once again, maybe you've heard of The New Testament, it's been around some time, specifically the verse that states "let he who is without sin cast the first stone". It's meaning is quite unambiguous no?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭HensVassal

So women, only women, chose to dress head to toe in black at all times in the desert?

Jesus ****ing wept.

Just telling you what I witnessed in Morocco. Some females in western style summer dresses or jeans and t-shirts, some in t-shirts but with a head scarf, some in chadors and some in abayas or niqabs.

It might be easy for you to just tell yourself that men force women to cover themselves if it panders to your preconceived prejudices.

And if it's all about being forced to cover up then why might you see a woman in a hijab or shayla but also wearing a skirt, stockings and high-heels or sandals? According to you they should cover legs and ankles for fear of driving the savage muslim men wild with desire.

Smondie wrote: »
    If they are not fleeing isis but airstrikes, they must like living under isis.

What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Smondie

HensVassal wrote: »
    If they are not fleeing isis but airstrikes, they must like living under isis.

What?
    IF THEY ARE NOT FLEEING ISIS BUT AIRSTRIKES, THEY MUST LIKE LIVING UNDER ISIS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

The_Mac wrote: »
    Shh you're triggering the poor lad. How's he meant to bash the Catholic Church while defending Islam now?

It's quite easy to bash an organistation that is/was rampant with pedophiles, rapists and cover-ups in this country.

For the record though, I'm all for banning the wearing of religious clothing and symbols in this country. That primarily means nuns, priests and monks swanning around in their garbs and oddballs who wear crosses swinging from their necks. I'm not sure how well a ban would go down with that particular group.

"Triggering", love it. It has that edgy, only used by 13 year old american children, vibe to it. I doubt it will catch on over this side of the atlantic, keep trying though.

Did you ever see the duds that Hisitic Jewish women wear or Amish women?

I'm going to assume you mead Hasidic? But what you're choosing to ignore is that these dress codes practiced by Hasidics and Amish, are practiced equally by both genders, the same can only be said once Muslim men adopt the burka... As I can't see this happening, comparing the dress codes of these three religions is a fallacy

I'm going to assume you mead Hasidic? But what you're choosing to ignore is that these dress codes practiced by Hasidics and Amish, are practiced by both genders, the same can only be said once Muslim means adopt the burka... As I can't see this happening, comparing the dress codes of these three religions is a fallacy

sure.

https://ktwop.files.wordpress.com/2016/03/jewish-niquab-image-faisal-kutty.jpg

Some do many are forced too , there was a girl from Saudi i went to college with who hated it never wore one here but was forced to in Saudi she felt it was totally degrading to women , for some it is certainly not a free choice don't fall into that trap .

she took dogs abuse of some of the Muslim lads in the college who knew she was from Saudi but had issues with the fact she didn't cover up , drank , smoked , dated Irish Lads etc... she eventually applied for asylum here after we finished our undergrad even though that basically meant her family would disown her.

That's Saudi Arabia, a Wahhabist theocratic dictatorship where everyone live under the oppressive yoke of the state. It isn't indicative of all other Muslims countries. In most Muslims countries alcohol is legal even though most devout Muslims do not drink. Go to a supermarket in these countries and buy wine, cases of beer, bottles of vodka. Go to any hotel and just go to the bar.
    Regarding your friend.....there are many cultures where a daughter has been disowned for the choices she has made.....being Protestant and marrying a Catholic (NI), being white and marrying a black, being of a certain caste and marrying below her station, being from a conservative Japanese family and marrying a white westerner.

A writer whose work I enjoy was bullied in his Connecticut hometown by local rich frat-boys because he had a black girlfriend. His abuse was physical whereas I'm sure your Saudi friend only received verbal abuse (not downplaying it).

A lot of people on here are trying to make out that they are experts when really they haven't a clue. To them it's as simple as Muslim men forcing women to dress a certain way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭techdiver

Ideally they should be fighting to defend their homeland.

But if you ask who they should be fighting against, some will insist against ISIS, others will say against Assad, Iran and the Russians and a third group will demand that they fight against the American backed rebels. ISIS will say that they should fight against all unbelievers.

I don't agree.

A "homeland" is an accident of birth. I don't see the point of dying for it, when you can live you life out elsewhere safely. You get one life. Wasting it fighting someone elses war is just dumb.

Yes I can ffs.

These kinds of devices are so fecking common, I'm sure it's the same lad with a PhD making them all :rolleyes:

You can google it, if you don't mind being on a list, but explosives really are not very hard to make at all.

Explosives are not easy to make from day to day products.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

dav3 wrote: »
    Why are we seeing so much faux outrage over what headwear women wear? Oh...wait, it's only for certain skin colours and religions.

Living in Ireland we've all seen nuns strolling around with their habits on. I just don't remember the outrage and concern for these poor women forced into wearing this particular headwear as part of their religion.

How exactly do you think banning the religious habit for nuns will go down with all the religious holy joes and marys in this country?

Irish nuns can wear normal clothes if they so wish. My neighbours sister is a nun and I haven't seen her wearing a habit in years. Sorry to derail your little narrative but maybe we should try not to ignore facts and the truth of the matter.

Bambi wrote: »
    I'd probably get with the program seeing as how I knew when I got there that was the deal in those societies or if i didn't like it I'd f**k off back to where i came from.

Well that's just you isn't it. Be nice if that society allowed you to wear your less revealing attire though, wouldn't it, rather than forcing you to strip off by law, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I don't agree.

A "homeland" is an accident of birth. I don't see the point of dying for it, when you can live you life out elsewhere safely. You get one life. Wasting it fighting someone elses war is just dumb.

Did it ever occur to you that the "somewhere else" is safe because people who weren't precious little me feiners like yourself made enormous sacrifices to make it safe?

Venom wrote: »
    dav3 wrote: »
    Why are we seeing so much faux outrage over what headwear women wear? Oh...wait, it's only for certain skin colours and religions.

Living in Ireland we've all seen nuns strolling around with their habits on. I just don't remember the outrage and concern for these poor women forced into wearing this particular headwear as part of their religion.

How exactly do you think banning the religious habit for nuns will go down with all the religious holy joes and marys in this country?

Irish nuns can wear normal clothes if they so wish. My neighbours sister is a nun and I haven't seen her wearing a habit in years. Sorry to derail your little narrative but maybe we should try not to ignore facts and the truth of the matter.
    If the poster thinks nuns, priests and monks wearing religious clothing would be the ones primarily affected in ireland by a ban on wearing religious clothing, they mustn't have been outside in a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

Not all nuns wear a habit, but some do. Not all muslim women wear a hijab, but some do.
    Where are we going with this? Just ban them all and let's move on to our next faux outrage crusade.

NSFW: [lunk removedL] (graphic image)

Oh, she's only wearing that to keep the Sun and the sand off her, and it empowers her to choose what men can see her hair to masturbate over her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

Just telling you what I witnessed in Morocco. Some females in western style summer dresses or jeans and t-shirts, some in t-shirts but with a head scarf, some in chadors and some in abayas or niqabs.

It might be easy for you to just tell yourself that men force women to cover themselves if it panders to your preconceived prejudices.

And if it's all about being forced to cover up then why might you see a woman in a hijab or shayla but also wearing a skirt, stockings and high-heels or sandals? According to you they should cover legs and ankles for fear of driving the savage muslim men wild with desire.

Can you point out where i said this?

These garments are worn to varying degrees in all islamic nations, some more moderate than others. But it doesn't change the fact that the origins of these garments is that they were forced upon women by men. This is not something that liberated women choose for themselves. In some cases girls as young as 6 years old are forced to wear them to 'physically and mentally prepare themselves for adult life'.

You can dress it up how you want, put words in other peoples mouths that they didn't say, give anecdotal evidence of what you've seen but it won't change the fact that these garments historically derive from the subjugation of women by men and have no place in a modern society.

Why should they be fighting though??

Call me a coward, but i'd prefer to live my life out in another country than be cannon fodder or brutally murdered for nothing. **** nationalism as far as I'm concerned..

If you're country was invaded by foreign mercenaries tomorrow, and you had no dependents as we've seen of the men migrating enmasse to Europe, and were able bodied, yes I'll quite happily call you a coward if your response to that was to turn and run.

Again, just to spell this out once more, I'm not talking about the families who've fled these warzones, I'm talking about the young single men who comprise the vast bulk of migrants, cowards, one and all.

I suppose the allied nations during WWII should have abandoned Europe to the Reich by that same logic, thankfully those brave men and women weren't so spineless... For shame

Why are nuns separated from the priests though. Who dictated that they be separated. Some male dominated catholic council right?

Can an Irish women have an abortion like women in other countries or are they forced to obey the rules of the misogynist catholic church.

What about the Misogynist Catholic church telling women that they can't practice contraception because it is sinful.

Defenders of the catholic church should be the last people to criticize other religions. "Remove the log from your eye......"

Why are nuns separated from the priests though. Who dictated that they be separated. Some male dominated catholic council right?

Can an Irish women have an abortion like women in other countries or are they forced to obey the rules of the misogynist catholic church.

What about the Misogynist Catholic church telling women that they can't practice contraception because it is sinful.

Defenders of the catholic church should be the last people to criticize other religions. "Remove the log from your eye......"
    Islam is all for abortions, aren't they. How are the ould abortions in Turkey going?

Stop detracting from the point.

Yes we already have you here to take up that mantle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I'm not a defender of any religion but I think you might have something in your eye. The majority of catholic people are lapsed /pick-and-choose and very moderate people . Few of them have read the bible and fewer take it seriously .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭techdiver

If you're country was invaded by foreign mercenaries tomorrow, and you had no dependents as we've seen of the men migrating enmasse to Europe, and were able bodied, yes I'll quite happily call you a coward if your response to that was to turn and run.

Again, just to spell this out once more, I'm not talking about the families who've fled these warnings, I'm talking about the young single men who comprise the vast bulk of migrants, cowards, one and all.

I suppose the allied nations during WWII should have abandoned Europe to the Reich by that same logic, thankfully those brave men and women weren't so spineless... For shame

They had no choice. Most were conscripted. And as with all wars today, they were primarily from poor or underprivileged backgrounds. Why is it no wealthy or powerful people ever fight these wars??

Look at the US military today. Recruiting in the most deprived areas for people who have no other choice.

Plus I still don't see what these single, able bodied men are supposed to do about a train military force closing in on them?? How are they supposed to fight them? Who will arm them, who will train them?

Primitive beings behave in such a manner and I don't think anyone should feel obliged to die, so once a year in the future some crowd of elite gob****es will lay a wreath in your honor and you'll be totally forgotten about. Sorry, but it makes no sense to me and I still think most who are gung-ho here are full of **** too.

Anyway, that's all I have to say on the matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Merkel 2015 - "Everyone is welcome! Screw everyone who's territory you'll have to cross to get here."

Merkel 2016 - "oh boy........"

Pigeons are coming home to roost.

Yes we already have you here to take up that mantle.

Actually, you're the one that detracts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

If you're going use whataboutery to defend islam then you'll be on a sticky wicket all day

the wall eyed loons of allah can beat everyone else in repression top trumps

I'm not a defender of any religion but I think you might have something in your eye. The majority of catholic people are lapsed /pick-and-choose and very moderate people . Few of them have read the bible and fewer take it seriously .

I asked about Catholic laws and you give me an update on the state of the believers.