Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Explosion in bar in Ansbach, Germany

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 RoughSleeper

"Germany seems to be getting hit badly in the last week."

Understatement of the century?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Argh Jaysus, do these lads ever have a day off ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Can the mods merge these into one large terrorist attack mega thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

Very sad to hear. I hope the death toll does not rise and the injured do not have life changing injuries.

It is conflicted as to IED or gas as its all jumbled and breaking news, once the fire service/police/bomb squad look it should be clear the cause.

Im too tired to think straight but its just left a heavy heart as I go away to bed now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,520 ✭✭✭VG31

It's terrible that it's got to the stage that a terrorist attack does not need its own thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

could probably make a terrorist attack sub-forum at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

Attacks in random places at random times every day at a worrying frequency lately. Horrifying stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

I thought it was a gas explosion.

But 5 minutes ago an Interior ministry official said it "was not an accident" (source: Reuters)

now, thats not to say its Islamic state, far right, etc, details and facts are needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,368 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

2000 reported to be evacuated from concert.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ClovenHoof

we have hundreds of Europeans being slaughtered by the Religion of Peace and the biggest worry on boards is Trump getting elected.

It is like we in Europe are under some collective delusional psychosis.

Trump is not the clear and present danger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

Not sure how reliable so take with a pinch of salt, but reports on social media say:

- Germany’s Interior Minister has told local media he is treating it as a terror attack.

- The attacker is the one who died

- A man with a backpack had earlier been refused entry to the festival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

"Germany seems to be getting hit badly in the last week."

Understatement of the century?

Depends on how you define century. If you mean in the last 100 years, they've seem worse.

I thought it was a gas explosion.

But 5 minutes ago an Interior ministry official said it "was not an accident" (source: Reuters)

now, thats not to say its Islamic state, far right, etc, details and facts are needed.

At this point it's too early to early to say much, I however welcome our insect overlords.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Grayson wrote: »
    At this point it's too early to early to say much, I however welcome our insect overlords.

http://vignette3.wikia.nocookie.net/simpsonstappedout/images/2/2a/Hail_Ants_in_Episode.jpg/revision/latest?cb=20130523215256

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭Cheerful Spring

Its every day at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

ClovenHoof wrote: »
    we have hundreds of Europeans being slaughter by the Religion of Peace and the biggests worry on boards is Trump getting elected.

A right wing, racist, reactionary, money grubbing megalomaniac reality TV star being elected the president of the most powerfull country in the world is indeed a major issue. Sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Argh Jaysus, do these lads ever have a day off ?

Plenty more where that one came from. I am sure loads took advantage of Merkels''come on in, no questions asked'' scheme and are gagging to strap on a bomb to take out as many infidels as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,895 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Tried to enter music festival apparently . Turned him away.

Sky news says the man had backpack containing a explosive device and he detonated it just outside a wine bar.

Tried to enter music festival apparently . Turned him away.

Whoever turned him away saved many lives tonight. That place would be packed with people. He likely struck the wine bar because of it.

They might have better luck next time... which will be in less than a week at the rate things are going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Ach du Scheisse........:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Will we see Marshall law in Germany next with curfews and police death squads out hunting suspected terrorists? Maybe merkel will continue her bullying ways and annex Austria or Poland and set up camps there for her migrant hoarde?

Seeing the damage so many unchecked migrants are doing in Germanyand France it is unlikely that other European countries wil want to take any of Germany's new population despite merkel the auld crone telling us we must all share Germany's blunder!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Aha. I tuned into this thread early enough to get the popcorn. Let's all watch the speculation on Islam, right-wing fascism/neo naziism and mud slinging about racism/head-in-the-sand-liberalism which happens before the police say anything definitive.

Foggy, it's Martial. Marshall was a General.

foggy_lad wrote: »
    Will we see Marshall law in Germany next with curfews and police death squads out hunting suspected terrorists? Maybe merkel will continue her bullying ways and annex Austria or Poland and set up camps there for her migrant hoarde?

Seeing the damage so many unchecked migrants are doing in Germanyand France it is unlikely that other European countries wil want to take any of Germany's new population despite merkel the auld crone telling us we must all share Germany's blunder!

We are supposed to show solidarity don't you know. I really feel sorry for ordinary Germans, guilt tripped into accepting all sorts of ****e because a bloke with a dodgy mustache brainwashed their grandparents.

foggy_lad wrote: »

I was about to write a scathing reply and then I realised you're just taking the piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭tomofson

we have hundreds of Europeans being slaughter by the Religion of Peace and the biggests worry on boards is Trump getting elected.

You're are talking out of your hat pal, never has "hundreds" of Europeans been slaughtered it is not the cause of any religion but of complex politics between many nations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

Its every day at this stage.

Did no one else notice this one? http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-norfolk-36853106

Fortunately, the lad wasn't just a Bandsman. They really chose the wrong one, this time. He went all krav maga on them and fcuked one up. He wasn't about to become a momentary star in one of their butchery instructionals!

But, yeah. It's getting hard to keep up now, isn't it?

Wonder what the next twenty four hours will bring?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

could probably make a terrorist attack sub-forum at this stage.

We could have two.
    One safe space for endless excusing, masochistic "we deserve this, we're not doing enough to change to suit refumigrants" victim hood. More hugs! !!!

One for the more realistic "well if the swedes couldn't manage it, it's pretty unlikely anyone else will, what's plan B?"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

tomofson wrote: »

You're are talking out of your hat pal, never has "hundreds" of Europeans been slaughtered it is not the cause of any religion but of complex politics between many nations.
    Sure religion has nothing to do with it. They only shout Allah Akbar while murdering people. I wonder why they would do that. Must be a TV character.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

Turns out it was a 27 year old Syrian who was refused asylum so he decided to become a suicide bomber.

The phrase "Trojan Horse" springs to mind about all of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭testicles

it is not the cause of any religion but of complex politics between many nations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 832 ✭✭✭HamsterFace

And the common factor is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,106 ✭✭✭Christy42

And the common factor is?

People who hate those not like them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

testicles wrote: »
    Martial law.

What I wonder is how this guy was still in Germany a year after being denied asylum?

Yeah, bit pointless denying him asylum if his rejection letter isn't accompanied with a one way ticket back home.

This guy shouldn't have been in the country to carry out his attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

On the one hand, yes, there are elements of a geopolitical bugger-up over many decades in a region that really really resented it causing factions, civil wars and a rise of an extremist front that, like so many before, use religion as their excuse. On the other, you're codding yourself that many of the actual direct culprits aren't strongly influenced, even brain-washed, by religious propaganda, making religion a definite and obvious influence in Islamic extremism.

Thank god he was turned away and the only person he killed was himself. Someone was on the ball there when they got a wrong feeling about him.

Also wouldn't like to be the person responsible for doing the searches on people they feel dubious about. It'd take a brave person for the job, even if I'd say most security guards KNOW it could happen, but don't really think it would happen to them.

Hopefully the injuries aren't too serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I was watching GMB and there wasn't even a mention of this. We cannot allow this to become normal. We will lose the war if we do not act radically.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Trump is right maybe Europe need a wall to keep these scum out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

testicles wrote: »

Because even if you're denied asylum, Germany doesn't deport people back into a war zone.

The real question is why was he denied asylum? The majority of refugees from Syria are having their asylum granted, so why not him?
    And why did he rake up a drug conviction and attempt suicide twice and was still on the street unsupervised, not committed to stationary treatment?

Shenshen wrote: »
    Because even if you're denied asylum, Germany doesn't deport people back into a war zone.

The real question is why was he denied asylum? The majority of refugees from Syria are having their asylum granted, so why not him?
    And why did he rake up a drug conviction and attempt suicide twice and was still on the street unsupervised, not committed to stationary treatment?

I do wonder what the rules are in that case. If you need psychiatric treatment, but you're not part of the State and you're in the limbo of not being granted asylum and so not having any rights, who would pay for it?

Given how volatile the situation is, I would assume that a lot of people would be unhappy at taxpayers money being used to pay for the treatment of a foreigner that is a non-national and will remain so, especially as if he is deported, his treatment would be broken anyway which could cause more damage in the long run.

Not making any judgement on any of that, I'm just curious as to how that works.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Trump is right maybe Europe need a wall to keep these scum out?

Which Scum?

People who commit attacks?

Refugees?

or Both?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

Polo_Mint wrote: »
    Which Scum?

People who commit attacks?

Refugees?

or Both?

People who's outlooks and beliefs are incompatible with those in the west

Can we use it to keep Trump out too then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,087 ✭✭✭Pro Hoc Vice

I was watching GMB and there wasn't even a mention of this. We cannot allow this to become normal. We will lose the war if we do not act radically.

You mean radical like say the far right in Germany or far left

While following this thread I found the following website https://www.osac.gov/p...tails.aspx?cid=19030

Very interesting in relation to the issues involving Mid East inspired terror. But what really shocked me was the following.

"In January 2016, the Federal Public Prosecutor brought charges against four suspected neo-Nazi supporters for allegedly establishing and supporting a terrorist association and plotting to carry out an explosive attack on a refugee housing center. Also in January, unknown assailants threw a live grenade at another refugee housing center; media researchers reported a total of 222 attacks on such centers during 2015 that resulted in injuries or put individuals at risk of injury. To help mitigate the threat of right-wing extremism,"

"Far-right extremists committed more than 16,000 crimes in 2014, including 990 violent crimes. Authorities estimate that there are nearly 22,000 right-wing extremists in the country, of whom 10,000 are considered potentially violent. The trial of a right-wing extremist accused of participating in a group that murdered at least 10 German nationals over a 13-year period began in 2013 and is ongoing."

"Left-wing extremists committed 4,400 crimes in 2014, of which 995 were violent. Both figures represented a decrease from prior years, though authorities reported a higher number of violent acts against police by leftist extremists, including seven attempted murders."

Also German has some 2000 murders/manslaughters a year or about 6-7 a day.

Like any complex issue its not all the fault of one group but they all seem to have one thing in common the hate of other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Samaris wrote: »
    I do wonder what the rules are in that case. If you need psychiatric treatment, but you're not part of the State and you're in the limbo of not being granted asylum and so not having any rights, who would pay for it?

Given how volatile the situation is, I would assume that a lot of people would be unhappy at taxpayers money being used to pay for the treatment of a foreigner that is a non-national and will remain so, especially as if he is deported, his treatment would be broken anyway which could cause more damage in the long run.

Not making any judgement on any of that, I'm just curious as to how that works.

I'm not 100% sure. You are ALWAYS covered by health insurance in Germany - not quite like the NHS, you usually either pick your insurer or you're with the insurer picked by your employer, and it's being taken directly from your wages. For people seeking asylum, health insurance is paid to cover them by the department charged with looking after them financially. There is the option of having additional psychological treatments paid for directly from that department without it going through the insurer, as many asylum seekers would have immediate and serious need of treatment.

I'm not sure what provisions are in place for a case like his - the asylum request was rejected, but he could not be returned to his country of origin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭KindOfIrish

Samaris wrote: »
    Can we use it to keep Trump out too then?

It's not possible, unfortunately. Unless current politicians stop "refugees" influx and deport those who already in, we will get "Trumps" in every EU country. "Brexit" vote was the first example. Farage and Johnson win. They are not much better than Trump.