Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mum on the Run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Super work BG. Chuffed for you! Now you can turn your attention to pacing 10k's. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Gosh, that's fast. Congrats :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Well done G. Glad you got the pb coz that gave us a report to read :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

nop98 wrote: »
    Super work BG. Chuffed for you! Now you can turn your attention to pacing 10k's. :)

Did The Lakes 10K win over bridge ?? Cool. 10K is my long run now, so I'll be looking to you to drag me along.

Firedance wrote: »
    Whoop whoop!! Congrats that's fantastic G!! really well done, great to see the progress race after race :):)
    Mulberry wrote: »
    Brilliant bg! Well done on your pb!
    RedRunner wrote: »
    You're such a track fairy now! But hey well done, very impressive running.ðŸ˜႒
    spaceylou wrote: »
    Well done on the pb - must be really satisfying to see the improvements in your time.
    Singer wrote: »
    Great going, a PB's a PB! I struggle to write that much about a 20 minute race :)
    aquinn wrote: »
    Lovely report. Congratulations on 800m PB. That's super. Delighted for you.
    Gosh, that's fast. Congrats :)
    denis b wrote: »
    Well done G. Glad you got the pb coz that gave us a report to read :D

Thanks all ! I'm loving being a track fairy but I think the muck is my natural habitat, bring on the XC :D. Hoping to get the 800m time down a bit further before hanging up the track spikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,778 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Great stuff G - great PB. Nice round number too. ;) Congrats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Catching up... Great performance in the 800 the other night! Congrats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Congrats on the pb. Seems like it was one you mentally dug in for to give it your best shot which I think is as equally a satisfying feeling. All good prep for xc :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Just catching up. Well done, so glad to see it's all paying off. It will pay big dividends this xc season as Laura says.

Have you seen this?

http://www.runnersworld.com/rt-web-exclusive/the-need-for-speed

That's an interesting artlcle - I'd also subscribed to this myth, possibly based on masters' marathon WRs declining at a slower rate than the general population's.

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Just catching up. Well done, so glad to see it's all paying off. It will pay big dividends this xc season as Laura says.

Have you seen this?

http://www.runnersworld.com/rt-web-exclusive/the-need-for-speed

Thanks DG. That's a great article.

*heads to gym to fire up glutes*

Friday – S&C, Easy

Savage but enjoyable gym workout. Beginning to see progress in that the imbalances are less obvious and I’m able for heavier weights. The focus on S&C is paying off as I haven’t had anything more than a temporary niggle for a long time now and I do feel stronger when I’m racing.

Followed by a slow plod up to and along the Wooden Bridge and back. Watch was acting up, showing the first mile as 7:xx (I wish!) so pace is approximate. It was slow anyway .
    • 5.0 miles @ 9:20 approx (grass)

Saturday – Speed

Parkrun at St.Anne’s to warm up. Took it handy as legs in a heap from the gym the day before. Afterwards found an empty pitch and checked the lap to make sure it was 400m. The grass was wet so it was tough going and my shoes were waterlogged by the end of the session. Plan was 2 x 4 x 400m @ 1500m pace with 60 secs/3 mins rec. Current 1500m pace is 6:06.

Set 1 6:06 6:06 6:18 6:06
    Set 2 6:02 6:19 6:35 6:20

I messed up rep 7 on the watch so not sure how accurate that one is. I also had to slightly extend the 3 minute recovery between sets to ask a dog owner to not allow her dogs to chew and slobber on my hoodie which was serving as a lap marker. Seriously !?! You have to be told that your dogs shouldn’t eat other peoples’ clothes ? That hoodie is going into a BOIL wash. Ugh.

If I make allowances for the grass and the heavy legs this wasn’t a bad session. Happy that I finished it and didn’t give up when I wanted to (which was several times).
    • 6.1 miles incl. 8 x 400m @ 1500m effort (tarmac, session on grass)

Spent the afternoon at a ‘Family Fun Day’ organised by work which included some races. BG Jr got a haul of medals for her participation in the sprints, the 3-legged race and the sack race. Couldn’t resist the mammies 40m dash even though I really should know better :rolleyes:. Only 4 of us lined up and we all got a medal for our efforts. The dads race by comparison was over-subscribed and highly competitive. I’d say there were a few pulled hamstrings in the quest for bragging rights :D.

Sunday – LSR

Plan was for 70 minutes and I’ve been told to reduce it down to 60 until after the Nats (get me, the Nats). Up the coast, into St.Anne’s, loop, bus home. Job done.
    • 7.7 miles @ 9:04 (path, grass, trail, tarmac)

TOTAL WEEKLY MILES: 31.0

Another medal? No stoppin' ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

So did you win the mammies race then?

annapr wrote: »
    So did you win the mammies race then?

We were ALL winners ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

just catching, congrats on all the track PBs over the past few weeks.
    There's no stopping you now for the Nats!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Catching up since my lack of wifi this weekend congrats on pb.

Younganne wrote: »
    just catching, congrats on all the track PBs over the past few weeks.
    There's no stopping you now for the Nats!!

Well, hopefully the body will hold together for three more weeks. Then I'll collapse in a heap!
    Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Catching up since my lack of wifi this weekend congrats on pb.

Thanks Mrs Mc, I see you're being quite the parkrun tourist these days. I can't wait to try some of the newer ones. Every track looks pretty much the same :rolleyes:.

Monday – Recovery

Up and down the promenade. I think.
    • 4.2 miles @ 9:32 (grass)

Tuesday – Speed

Jogged to the track in the company of Murph_D for the first club session in a very long time. As there were only 2 other track fairies there (both faster than me), coach worked out a handicap system where I got a headstart and the others had to try to catch me by the end of the session. They did! But we all got a good workout as a result of chasing/being chased. Session was 3 x 4 x 200m @ 800m pace (41 secs for me but coach said to aim for 40) with 40 secs strict recovery and 5 mins between sets. Very tough, but it really replicates the pain of the last lap of an 800m race. As coach said to us, anyone can do the first 2 sets, but the value of the session is in the last set when your legs are hanging off and your lungs are inside out. Happy with the splits which are all at race pace or faster.

Set 1 38, 40, 40, 41 (pace 5:02-5:29 min/mile)
    Set 2 39, 39, 40, 40 (pace 5:00-5:29 min/mile)
    Set 3 40, 41, 41, 41 (pace 5:16-5:29 min/mile)

• 7.2 miles incl. 12 x 200m @ 800m pace (track, path)

Wednesday – S&C, Recovery

Intermediate Pilates with some advanced moves thrown in. Also some work on the spine corrector thingy which makes sure you can’t cheat!

Then a recovery style run along the coast and the Bull Wall. Plenty of sailing boats out in the bay and lots of swimmers along the wall. Plus the usual contingent of careless dog owners :rolleyes:. Enjoyable run, air a bit fresher than of late.
    • 5.0 miles @ 9:24 (grass)

Thursday – Easy

Local loops.
    • 4.0 miles @ 9:29 (grass)

Friday – REST

Trip to the osteopath for a few clicks. Apparently my L4 and L5 were out so he very kindly put them back.

Saturday – parkrun, S&C

This was to be a sub-21 attempt in Malahide after achieving 21:00 there about 6 weeks ago. Wasn’t sure how it was going to go: on the one hand training is going well and I’m more or less* niggle free. On the other hand my legs are tight, my stomach was a bit dodgy, it was a bit windy……and so on :rolleyes:.

Did my warm up, drills and strides. Always feel like a bit of an eejit doing a proper warm up at parkrun seeing as how most people just rock up at 9:29 and get straight into it. Lined up a few rows back beside a regular I recognised who generally passes me after the first lap and finishes ahead of me. I figured if I could stick a bit closer to him this time I might get dragged around to a PB. 3,2,1 countdown and we were off. I started the watch but it was set to calories and distance in keeping with the naked run concept that has served me well so far. Settled into what felt like the right effort and was right behind the 2nd F. Hung on to her for a while but she was stronger and eased away. First lap was grand, felt like I was working but not dying. Sure enough my ‘mark’ from the start line passed me here but this time I was able to stay with him without accelerating. He was moving the same pace as me but looked like he was out for a jog, no heavy breathing, no heavy footfall. I chose my pacer well :D. Stuck with my buddy the whole way around, working hard with only the occasional thought of stopping and the usual silly discussions with my lazier self. About a mile to go we were running through the forest and a group of 3 joggers joined the parkrun route from a side path. One of them banged into me (not intentionally, and she did apologise), but my watch got knocked off in the encounter so it was going to be a true naked run. Still running behind my buddy at this point and I was hoping he wasn’t having a slow day. That said I don’t think I could have increased the effort much and it was handy having such an efficient pacer, even if he didn’t know it. With about 800m to go I put in a bit of a push and I was ahead for, oh, all of 2 seconds, before he pushed back and led the way to the finish. No clue of the time so thanked my pacer and asked him what time he did. 20:46 by his watch so it looked like I had made the sub-21 but I’d wait for the official results.

Was in my own little potential PB buzz world at the train station and completely ignored the DART when it arrived, thinking it was a direct train. Just as I realised it was the right train, just with a station change, it pulled away. Next one not for an hour :rolleyes:. I got the bus.

Tough session in the gym then, but glad to have it under the belt. The email came through from parkrun: 20:50, 25th overall and 3rd F! Woo hoo :D.

Feet up now for the night :D.

*knee is annoying me, but I know it’s down to tight quads. Will be heading to physio after the Bank Hol.
    • 5.3 miles incl. parkrun @ 20:50, warm up, drills, strides & cool down (tarmac, trail)

Sunday – LSR*

Family stuff all day ending up in Howth for the afternoon. Only way to get a run in was to run home so hitched a lift to Sutton Cross and ran the rest of the way via St.Anne’s.

*LSR is down to 60 mins now so hardly merits the prefix.
    • 6.7 miles @ 8:57 (path, tarmac)

TOTAL WEEKLY MILES: 32.4

Month 2016 2015 2014 2013
    January 141 101 86 0
    February 134 109 75 0
    March 114 124 109 0
    April 127 129 101 24
    May 127 133 95 81
    June 110 110 86 72
    July 139 181 2 101
    August 208 31 37
    September 133 83 43
    October 155 93 64
    November 170 107 69
    December 113 119 94
    892 1666 987 585

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Super stuff BG, your flying it, great to see.

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Well, hopefully the body will hold together for three more weeks. Then I'll collapse in a heap!

Thanks Mrs Mc, I see you're being quite the parkrun tourist these days. I can't wait to try some of the newer ones. Every track looks pretty much the same :rolleyes:.

You'd love Lough key Forest I actually got muck on my runners !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    One of them banged into me (not intentionally, and she did apologise), but my watch got knocked off in the encounter so it was going to be a true naked run. Still running behind my buddy at this point and I was hoping he wasn’t having a slow day. That said I don’t think I could have increased the effort much and it was handy having such an efficient pacer, even if he didn’t know it. With about 800m to go I put in a bit of a push and I was ahead for, oh, all of 2 seconds, before he pushed back and led the way to the finish. No clue of the time so thanked my pacer and asked him what time he did. 20:46 by his watch so it looked like I had made the sub-21 but I’d wait for the official results.

Nice work and congrats on the PB! Was your watch knocked off-off, or just switched off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Congratulations!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Woo hoo! Sub 21 and a bucket of change! Delighted for ya :D

Super stuff G well done on the sub 21 all the hard work paying off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Nice PR ! Well done. Keep up the good work and all the best for the Nats :-)

Great stuff. Good strategy to wake your pacer up with 800 to go and make sure he was pushing through to the finish. Congrats! (And about time.) :p:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Well done! Loved the story about being in the buzz and watching your train roll by. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Ah G.....congrats on the pb, and the run. That was a milestone. Not so long ago you would have looked to stay behind that runner and ruminated on the what if afterwards. Having a go made a healthy contribution. Well done.

Like the being "there" on the platform but not being there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Podium finish as well. Nice one!