Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread Part 2 **MOD NOTE POST 1***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

When did we change our Intermediate selection policy? Lot of senior clubs represented there

Actually by my count only the 3 Bridge lads, Murphy and Ryan from the starting 15 would be eligible under our normal rules

Tipp, KK and Cork were the last three that only picked from non-senior clubs, Tipp changed their policy a few years back after shipping some heavy beatings and a genuine lack of any interest in the competition - owing mostly to the fact that the County Board had allowed the redicilous situation develop where we had 30 plus senior teams!

I think KK followed suit last year but not certain, all counties now seem to select the spine of their team from the U21's complimented with those identified as fringe senior panel players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,103 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

danganabu wrote: »
    Tipp, KK and Cork were the last three that only picked from non-senior clubs, Tipp changed their policy a few years back after shipping some heavy beatings and a genuine lack of any interest in the competition - owing mostly to the fact that the County Board had allowed the redicilous situation develop where we had 30 plus senior teams!

I think KK followed suit last year but not certain, all counties now seem to select the spine of their team from the U21's complimented with those identified as fringe senior panel players.

I remember when tip made the switch, it was relatively big news, but this is the first I've heard of Kilkenny following suit. Couple of the players there are neither young nor knocking on the door of the senior team. Not sure I'm a fan of the move, we did very well in this competition even using the old eligibility rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

I remember when tip made the switch, it was relatively big news, but this is the first I've heard of Kilkenny following suit. Couple of the players there are neither young nor knocking on the door of the senior team. Not sure I'm a fan of the move, we did very well in this competition even using the old eligibility rules.

Surprised by that as otherwise what's the point really?

Michael Ryan was consulted and pretty much told the Intermediate Panel who he wanted in the Intermediate panel as a stepping stone to the Senior Panel, Aidan McCormack who came on Sunday was on the Intermediate team for their two matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭tbiggertycome

Kevin Nolan (Clara) solid Keeper don't know how much of chance he has of making it senior
    Evan Cody (Dicksboro) On the training panel and hurling well a definite prospective Senior talent
    Tom Aylward (Mullinavat) Was the captain and best of his U21 team a few years should get a go.
    Luke Hickey (James Stephens) don't know him to be honest
    Jason Cleere (Bennettsbridge) an exceptional hurler and definitely will play for the Senior if he keeps it up also on the senior training panel.
    Conor Delaney (Erin’s Own) On the training panel and definitly has lots of potential
    Jack McGrath (James Stephens) saw him play for the Village recently and he wasn't bad at all but would need to improve a lot to be considered for the Seniors
    Jack Langton (Clara) always a good strong club hurler who if he applied himself could possibly force his way into the senior set up
    Shane Murphy (Glenmore) a very good young talent again needs more time could be one for the future
    Conor Tobin (Fenians) no spring chicken but is big and strong and hurling very well for the club, often with little support.
    Mark Bergin (O’Loughlin Gaels) has reapplied himself and is on the senior training and match day panel
    Nicky Cleere (Bennettsbridge) not amazing from open play but lethal on frees
    Sean Morrissey (Bennettsbridge) very good talent and could easily be hurling senior in a few years, on the training panel
    Billy Ryan (Graigue-Ballycallan) a very good player underage and wouldn't be surprised if he goes very well.
    John Walsh (Mullinavat) minor hatrick hero of a few years ago and a few months ago for the club against the Shamrocks i think he's on the training panel as well definite prospect
    Subs:
    Aaron Duggan (Dicksboro) poor under high ball but exceptional shot stopper former minor and U21 keeper for the county
    Enda Malone (Dicksboro) a great talent who lost his way for a few years going very strong for the club this year skinned Bubbles O'Dwyer a few years ago in Fitzgibbon
    Jeff Brennan (St Patrick’s) always solid sometimes special
    Luke Harney (Kilmacow) has been in with the seniors like Brennan before
    Richie Leahy (Rower-Inistioge) fabulous minor last year or the year before should definitely progress
    Shane Donnelly (St Lachtain’s) don't know
    Liam Ryan (Clara) always a handful fast and aggressive sometimes to much, good for a few scores has been in with selection squads early season for the seniors a few times
    Paul O’Flynn (Dicksboro) almost as old as myself but still faster than 99% of lads out there, not consistent enough for me and makes silly handling errors but when on song he's unmarkable
    Rory Hickey (Lisdowney) don't know

Overall given what's around there isn't a whole let else I'd put in there. Lots of U21s went to the States on J1s and other very good prospects are injured or just a bit young yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭unrealtime

Intermediate KK win by 3 lucky enough. Richie Leahy great sub.

KK 3 14 to 2 14 lucky enough. Richie Leahy great sub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Cornerback1

Any of these lads get a call up to the senior panel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭brookville

Any of these lads get a call up to the senior panel?[/quote

At least this panel is made up of lads under the age of 24.kilkenny must of had 15 wides last night so this certainly didnt help their chances.Geoff brennan and richie leahy probaly changed the match because we were struggling midway through the 2nd half but the backs got on top with conor delaney and cleere very good.John walsh and billy ryan both done well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭tbiggertycome

Any of these lads get a call up to the senior panel?
    From what I know
    Cody, Cleere, Delaney, Bergin and Morrissey have all been called into training this year and a few of those last year also like Cody and Delaney, Bergin has been in there before also. Not sure about any others.

Richie Leahy and John Walsh will definitely be knocking on that door after last night if they haven't already been called in from how it sounded on KCLR.

Any word on Shane P and James M these days? Hopefully Richie H will be fit to start the semi-final on 7th August?

Shane and Richie both got through a club match last weekend which is great news.Jimmy maher didnt tog out for lactains so he must be a bit away.The team will probaly go away for a night next week once the opposition is known.

brookville wrote: »

Shane and Richie both got through a club match last weekend which is great news.Jimmy maher didnt tog out for lactains so he must be a bit away.The team will probaly go away for a night next week once the opposition is known.

Grand job. So we'll nearly be at full strength. Better competition for places also. Just wait now and see what the draw brings up. I thought John Power done well when he came on although he always seems to do well as an 'impact sub'.

John Power is indeed an enigma. He has everything or all the attributes needed to be a giant of the game but does not seem focussed enough to perform to the best of his ability. Pity he does not focus like his father did and he'd be a legend already.

Nevertheless he does have good impact value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

James Maher will be fit for the semi final according to the man himself. Doubt he'll play any part though

Hopefully himself and chris bolger make the 24 for the semi.two very good young players.

brookville wrote: »

Hopefully himself and chris bolger make the 24 for the semi.two very good young players.

Should be competition for places now you'd think, if injuries are healing up and 3 weeks to go!

Draw made for Leinster Club Hurling Championship - bit early to be thinking of it but Kilkenny Senior club champions will play Wexford or Offaly, on 20th November, in the semi-final.

In the Intermediate, the Kilkenny champions will play the winners of Meath or Wexford on 19/20th of November.

While in the Leinster Junior championship, the Kilkenny winners will play the winners of Louth or Longford in the quater finals on the 5/6th of November.

Best option is to win the county first!!!!

#thenextgameisthemostimportant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

minty81 wrote: »
    Any word on Buckleys injury?

Should be OK for the semi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭dubcat51

Hoping for hurling sake wexford and galway win on Sunday. Especially hope waterford fail as their system is terrible on the eye.mcgrath has tweaked nothing from last year.the whole system is based on being ahead.direct ball into a 2 or 3 inside line over the sweeper sees it exposed.would be good to have 4 traditional counties in the semi's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Let's be honest - you want those teams in the semi-final because Wexford is an easier draw for us as well. That's why I want those teams to win. It's not that I fear Clare or Waterford because I definitely don't but we'd annihilate Wexford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,103 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Let's be honest - you want those teams in the semi-final because Wexford is an easier draw for us as well. That's why I want those teams to win. It's not that I fear Clare or Waterford because I definitely don't but we'd annihilate Wexford.

Personally I would not prefer us to have a handy semi final. Apart from the fact that it leaves us open to an ambush from tipp, the championship has been a complete bore, we play few enough matches that matter in a year as it is, without having the few genuinely exciting ones turned into cakewalks as well. Not that I'd prefer to lose the semi final, but the senior championship is a damp squib so far, and looks like it will remain so, for a second year in a row. Regardless of who wins, we need some excitement from these quarter finals. The hurling public, and the general public, have lost interest.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,358 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Personally I would not prefer us to have a handy semi final. Apart from the fact that it leaves us open to an ambush from tipp, the championship has been a complete bore, we play few enough matches that matter in a year as it is, without having the few genuinely exciting ones turned into cakewalks as well. Not that I'd prefer to lose the semi final, but the senior championship is a damp squib so far, and looks like it will remain so, for a second year in a row. Regardless of who wins, we need some excitement from these quarter finals. The hurling public, and the general public, have lost interest.

Agree, I'd like to see us play Clare, but the only way that will happen is if Clare and Wexford both win and even then only a 50% chance we get Clare.

Most likely outcome is KK v Waterford again.

Jj I want wexford and galway to win for hurling sake .nothing to do with getting a handy semi final . actually found myself rooting for tipp v waterford (again for the same reasons )people are voting with their feet.will be interesting to see how many go tomorrow. We follow kilkenny and want them to win.but as hurling people it was good to watch other teams in a quarter final and enjoy the game (not any more)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭IanVW

dubcat51 wrote: »
    Jj I want wexford and galway to win for hurling sake .nothing to do with getting a handy semi final . actually found myself rooting for tipp v waterford (again for the same reasons )people are voting with their feet.will be interesting to see how many go tomorrow. We follow kilkenny and want them to win.but as hurling people it was good to watch other teams in a quarter final and enjoy the game (not any more)

You talk some ****e

IanVW wrote: »
    You talk some ****e

No.just say what I think.1 good game last year maybe 2 (us v galway leinster final)not 1 good game this year.sweeper and system managers are killing the game.clare and waterford managers afraid to let their players hurl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭IanVW

dubcat51 wrote: »
    No.just say what I think.1 good game last year maybe 2 (us v galway leinster final)not 1 good game this year.sweeper and system managers are killing the game.clare and waterford managers afraid to let their players hurl.

Management are entitled to play whatever way they want i doubt the care about crap you come out with in every post you make

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭blackcard

I know a lot of Kilkenny people, including myself, who were hoping that Tipperary would win because of their style of play.It was the first time I ever hoped Tipp would win. It is a bit like Celtic hoping Rangers would win. I just don't want to see hurling as we know it destroyed. If that means Tipp winning the AI, so be it.

IanVW wrote: »
    Management are entitled to play whatever way they want i doubt the care about crap you come out with in every post you make

Management can play whatever way they like.but facts are people have stopped watching that's a fact .at least supporting kilkenny we don't have to watch our team playing by numbers

I could not care less who we meet - of course as long as Tipp are bet!.

We have nothing to fear from anyone and we have walloped them all for almost two decades. Long may it continue.