Why do so many women in relationships go off sex?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Qiaonasen wrote: »
    Just before the conversation continues. Everyone please remember females are irrational and delusional. Continue...

What does that say about their choice in men :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭blinding

All this would kinda make you make enquiries about sex robots (male/female)

Perhaps with some interaction from the real life females/males...

I am not sure if this standard sex between females/male is going to last .

There is a lot of expectation/disappointment.......... Heh ! sex robot....does my body part....look big in this ? !

Qiaonasen wrote: »
    Just before the conversation continues. Everyone please remember females are irrational and delusional. Continue...
    And men are selfish dullards obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

blinding wrote: »
    All this would kinda make you make enquiries about sex robots (male/female)

Yeah, my first question is, "how good in bed was the nerd who programmed this thing?" :D

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Speedwell wrote: »
    Colorless green ideas sleep furiously, so there.

Jasis I remember arguing that they was a perfectly coherent sentence in a lecture once.

Every cheeky student tries it at least once. I think my best effort was something like "lackluster but environmentally sound concepts actively develop behind the scenes".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

Women may get bored with the same thing,
    the same routine, its over 2 quick, the man does,nt try to please the woman
    enough .
    Some men or women stop trying after they get married ,or put on weight .
    See any sex advice ,relationships advice column.
    Some women settle down with a man,
    who may provide a home or at least pay half the bills .
    marriage is a job,
    it needs work to keep it exciting,
    even if you are married you still need to go out on dates .
    There s books on this .
    Women have kids ,do housework, sex takes alot of energy .
    Most women cant afford to just stay at home .
    To stay at home ,and be a full time housewife is a luxury.
    It takes 2 to pay a mortgage .
    Sometimes on person puts on weight or is no longer attractive to
    the other .

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Speedwell wrote: »
    Every cheeky student tries it at least once. I think my best effort was something like "lackluster but environmentally sound concepts actively develop behind the scenes".

Yeah, pretty much that but with naiveté

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

blue note wrote: »
    Whereas if I didn't in a fortnight I'd get horny when I see the crack or dawn.

Cock-a-doodle-do? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭anothernight

To be fair, I didn't think midlandsmissus was talking about all men, but about some of the men who are having issues with their wives going off sex. Not sure why she's getting so much hate for her post tbh.

I've experienced the opposite, men going off sex, usually because of having a lower libido than me from the beginning. Imo, these things happen due to a lack of communication and sexual compatibility. If one partner is always trying to keep up with the other (whether in how much foreplay they need, the frequency of sex, the style or whatever else), it's bound to become too much effort eventually.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Stealthfins

riclad wrote:
    Women may get bored with the same thing, the same routine, its over 2 quick, the man does,nt try to please the woman enough . Some men or women stop trying after they get married ,or put on weight . See any sex advice ,relationships advice column. Some women settle down with a man, who may provide a home or at least pay half the bills . marriage is a job, it needs work to keep it exciting, even if you are married you still need to go out on dates . There s books on this . Women have kids ,do housework, sex takes alot of energy . Most women cant afford to just stay at home . To stay at home ,and be a full time housewife is a luxury. It takes 2 to pay a mortgage . Sometimes on person puts on weight or is no longer attractive to the other .

Well said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭WoolyJumper

blue note wrote: »
    Obviously this is a generalisation - lots of women don't and some men do. But I think we'd have our heads in the sand if we didn't admit this is a fact. Very often, women in long term relationships lose interest in sex. And why is this? Are they all that interested in it in the first place? Or are they just pretending to be into it in the first place?

I remember talking to my housemate (female) who was telling me that if she didn't have sex in a few months she'd hardly care. Whereas if I didn't in a fortnight I'd get horny when I see the crack or dawn. She also told me of a conversation with her friends where they all said the same thing - that they didn't see sex as that big a deal. And specifically that they looked forward to marriage which they planned to give up oral after.

Obviously that's not a study on it, but i think it's actually typical of the attitude of a lot of women on the topic. And i don't think the problem is really recognised. You don't read all thay many articles on it or hear it discussed very often on the radio. And when you do hear bits on it they are generally very superficial discussions - have a date night, do more housework, buy her flowers - these small gestures will get her in the mood. But very rarely do you read about the very common relationship problem of man still wants to have sex, woman isn't really interested. Not through a lack of attention or flowers or because she does more of the housework. It just doesn't interest her.

What can be done about this?!?

Dawn has a lovely crack alright :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Variety of reasons. Communication is probably a big one; people who have an intimate physical sexual relationship often struggle to have a frank and honest conversation about sex. It's a touchy subject and people can shrink back for fear of injuring each other's egos and stuff. It's a thing a lot of people are very sensitive and vulnerable about, and also there's probably a cultural thing. I know grown ass men in their twenties who find it difficult to say "vagina".

Pure run of the mill physical stuff as well, hormones and libido are strongly linked, and there are one or two wee hormonal differences between men and women. I was on the pill recently because of period problems, had read 'may effect libido' in the side effects, so I knew it was coming but my god I didn't know. Figured I'd just power through, but eventually came off the pill, the loss of libido wasn't worth it. If someone's regular experience of sex drive was what mine was on the pill, I can very much see how they end up avoiding it. And women will lose their libido more quickly as they age, generally. Menopause, pregnancy, medication, all kinds of things can influence it. Again, it's something which should be communicated about and worked through, but it's not just some nonsense excuse.

And people can often not notice or choose not to pay attention to sexual incompatibility at the start of a relationship if they're mad about someone. And I'm sure there are people who fake a higher libido (or just a higher sexual interest in that particular person) and then chill out once they have a ring on their finger. Going back to my own loss from being on the pill, if I were like that all the time, I'm not sure I could properly appreciate how soul-sucking a lack of sex is for someone with a regular/high drive, they probably think it's no big deal.

And then there's the other long term relationship stuff. Sexual desire for women is very situationally dependent. If you're anxious, stressed, worried the kids will walk in, tired, thinking about fifty things you have to do tomorrow, or just generally pissed off with your partner, you're less likely to feel like having sex. Sucks, but there it is. And again, communicating about these problems when you're having them rather than shutting down is the thing to do. But suggesting that trying to make sure your missus is happy, feeling appreciated, housework is being fairly divided etc. as a solution isn't the outrage that some men seem to take it as. I do sometimes wonder when I see people saying "She rarely initiates sex and when I initiate she rebuffs me" what form these "initiations" are taking. Because speaking from bitter experience, an initiation that involves goosing her and giving her a hopeful smile when she's bent over the dishwasher isn't likely to go well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭Cheerful Spring

I married to a woman who likes more often then i do. I have a high sex drive, so it works out ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

I'll put it out there and say this: many men are very selfish in bed. They do what feels good for them until they orgasm, and don't take care of the woman's orgasm.

There are so many factors here:
    Porn shows men just sticking their penis in a woman's vagina and the woman screaming in ecstasy. But this is filmed by men and is not what women need sexually at all.
    Women need foreplay and lots of it.

When you are not getting sexually satisfied, why would you miss it.

I haven't had sex in 8 months and I don't miss it, as I know if I had a one night stand, I know I would be used for their pleasure , their orgasm.

Whereas if I knew there were men out there who would really give me a great experience and see sex as pleasure two ways then I would miss it.

It takes two to tango . Satisfy your women. Make sex better for all of us.

If a man posted something similar, say, along the lines of 'all women just want to get a man to pay their way and then they can stop putting out', it'd be along the same egregiously generalizing lines of your post.

If such a hypothetical (and wrong) post wasn't immediately actioned, that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Gazzmonkey

Alcohol is your friend.

Booze & a hard on.... your good to go :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,295 ✭✭✭FortySeven

Think electro-bitch has this answered. It's great to see an admission that contraception can have an effect. I once mentioned this in another thread and was largelly shouted down.

I've lost my sex drive due to being on lithium but it is more than that. I'm not comfortable at all in sexual situations. I used to have a demon sex drive and incredibly good self control coupled with openness and confidence. No more. I don't have the option of coming off my pill so have pretty much given up on sex going forward.

My last attempt still makes me facepalm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

@electro~bitch

Most of that stuff you highlight effects men also, which is why I think you're seeing the type of replies posted so far. Sex is 'situationally dependent' for us too. We get anxious, stressed and think about 50 things too. We also like to feel appreciated too. We are not always horny, much as it is oft claimed. Men are not machines. Erectile dysfunction is more and more common today than ever before. As for being goosed and expected to perform at the drop of a hat. Trust me, that happens guys a hell of a lot more than you would imagine and he will often be met with insults like 'But you're a guy, sure you always want sex' should he decline.

Reminds me of how Vera used to harass poor old Jack :D

@electro~bitch

Most of that stuff you highlight effects men also, which is why I think you're seeing the type of replies posted so far. Sex is 'situationally dependent' for us too. We get anxious, stressed and think about 50 things too. We also like to feel appreciated too. We are not always horny, much as it is oft claimed. Men are not machines. Erectile dysfunction is more and more common today than ever before. As for being goosed and expected to perform at the drop of a hat. Trust me, that happens guys a hell of a lot more than you would imagine and he will often be met with insults like 'But you're a guy, sure you always want sex' should he decline.

Reminds me of how Vera used to harass poor old Jack :D

Is it as dependent though? I've gotten the impression from reading TGC and places (as well as speaking to the men in my life) that for many men sex is pretty much always a priority no matter what's going on in their life; that stress or exhaustion would no more make them not need sex than it'd make them not need water. I do realise that most of the issues I mentioned effect men too, but the question was phrased in terms of women's libido, didn't mean to imply they were problems exclusive to women. Well, the menopause and pregnancy maybe :pac:

I'd say a man with a low sex drive has a harder time than a woman though. It's just so expected of ye, and so tied into masculinity in a way it just isn't with women.

From what I've seen over the years men can have some horrifically guilty hang ups over sex too, that's not limited to women at all.

Is it as dependent though? I've gotten the impression from reading TGC and places (as well as speaking to the men in my life) that for many men sex is pretty much always a priority no matter what's going on in their life; that stress or exhaustion would no more make them not need sex than it'd make them not need water.

You know, I'm a woman, and physical intimacy is still the bedrock of my marriage, and without it I feel unwanted and unloved. Why else would I bother falling in love with and marrying a man? (Given that I'm a straight woman, of course.) Even if it's just hugs and kisses, or cuddling up to him in bed, that is just NOT OPTIONAL in a relationship for me. If my husband were literally unable to be physically intimate with me, I would still love him, but it would be a conscious sacrifice. I mean, we were physically apart for months while we were arranging to live in the same country, and we still had a sex life together thanks to Skype (we had to redact large parts of our online chat logs when it came time to provide evidence of an ongoing marriage to US Immigration, heh).

Being with a man whose willingness to engage in physical intimacy dwindled to nothing, combined with his unwillingness to do anything about it, made me feel disgusting and worthless, and then made me feel disgusted with the worthless waste of time, and spelled the end of our marriage. In the same situation, many people would just go find satisfaction elsewhere, but I am not the kind of person who could do that... it would mean I had called quits to the relationship in my mind anyway, best to just get out with my honor and integrity intact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Is it as dependent though? I've gotten the impression from reading TGC and places (as well as speaking to the men in my life) that for many men sex is pretty much always a priority no matter what's going on in their life; that stress or exhaustion would no more make them not need sex than it'd make them not need water.

Well (in general) when it comes to male sexual problems, even online, men are not that honest about their problems, in my experience. Some are, which is cool (and I encourage it) but it's still, unfortunately, very much seen by men as something that they would rather not express for fear of how they are then seen. A woman discussing such things doesn't really make her less feminine in the eyes of others but men complaining about almost anything is seen as not being a very masculine pursuit. Same with guys crying in real life. Not suggesting everyone sees men like that but it for sure is still a thing and for that reason I really wouldn't put too much truck in what you read men saying about their sex life online, or not saying to be more precise.
    I do realise that most of the issues I mentioned effect men too, but the question was phrased in terms of women's libido, didn't mean to imply they were problems exclusive to women. Well, the menopause and pregnancy maybe :pac:

I think what I didn't articulate well is that I actually think men and women face the same issues and so it's more the overall acceptance that men and women are so different when it comes to this stuff that I take issue with, as I just don't think we are. I have known guys who lost their desire for sex because they put on weight and didn't like themselves, lost their job, were stressed about extended family stuff etc. I think lack of communication is the biggest issue for couples who stop having sex than anything else. Recent study on that discussed here.
    I'd say a man with a low sex drive has a harder time than a woman though. It's just so expected of ye, and so tied into masculinity in a way it just isn't with women.

Well that's it exactly. It's tied to our masculinity and so a guy just mentioning that he sometimes doesn't feel up to it, or can't perform when he wants, immediately emasculates himself, sadly.
    From what I've seen over the years men can have some horrifically guilty hang ups over sex too, that's not limited to women at all.

Oh fcuk yeah. I knew two guys who could not have sex until they were circumcised as they were convinced that their foreskin would put women off. Was back in the 90's and have lost contact with them but guys can bothered by stuff that will make them not want to have sex for sure. Knew a guy who brought a woman home and when he got into bed she laughed at his penis (wasn't me, I swear!). Seriously though, imagine that. I think I'd just start using the wide vagina hand motions from Curb Your Enthusiasm or something. Then cry when she left :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Prolactin is a massive and almost entirely unremarked factor. Prolactin suppresses sex drive, dopamine increases it. Unfortunately, prolactin is also involved in a lot of other issues - anyone taking anti depressant or anti psychotic medication is likely to have a prolactin dominance over dopamine for starters, and anyone who's recently given birth will have one as well because prolactin is also responsible for breast feeding (stimulates milk production and lactation, hence the name "pro - lact - in").

I discovered most of this by accident. Prolactin suppressing supplements (mods - OTC herbal and fitness supps, not medications) have done wonders for not just my sex drive but for my entire outlook on life - it really does astound me that there isn't more focus on the prolactin/dopamine cycle in sexual and mental health discussions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,295 ✭✭✭FortySeven

Prolactin is a massive and almost entirely unremarked factor. Prolactin suppresses sex drive, dopamine increases it. Unfortunately, prolactin is also involved in a lot of other issues - anyone taking anti depressant or anti psychotic medication is likely to have a prolactin dominance over dopamine for starters, and anyone who's recently given birth will have one as well because prolactin is also responsible for breast feeding (stimulates milk production and lactation, hence the name "pro - lact - in").

I discovered most of this by accident. Prolactin suppressing supplements (mods - OTC herbal and fitness supps, not medications) have done wonders for not just my sex drive but for my entire outlook on life - it really does astound me that there isn't more focus on the prolactin/dopamine cycle in sexual and mental health discussions.

Surely this is going against the purpose of the medication? Would prolactin herbals interfere with lithium uptake for example?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I think there's a lot of double standards in relationships. If I don't feel like sex I'll say no, go away, leave me alone, I just want a cuddle/to spoon, not tonight, I'm not in the mood, you're drunk, I'm too drunk, you were wrecking my head all day I can't be dealing with you, etc etc etc

But when he doesn't want to do it, or doesn't initiate it, it makes me feel really sa and like he doesn't love me anymore. And i know it's not the case but he's expected to even though he's probably turned down a lot more than I am.

Folks talking about medications... I heard there was a policy on the boards against discussing specific remedies for people's health problems, and the mods sometimes come down hard and close threads over it. Best to just research on your own, using the way that prolactin, dopamine, serotonin, cortisol, progesterone, and testosterone work in the body as a starting point.

Well (in general) when it comes to male sexual problems, even online, men are not that honest about their problems, in my experience. Some are, which is cool (and I encourage it) but it's still, unfortunately, very much seen by men as something that they would rather not express for fear of how they are then seen. A woman discussing such things doesn't really make her less feminine in the eyes of others but men complaining about almost anything is seen as not being a very masculine pursuit. Same with guys crying in real life. Not suggesting everyone sees men like that but it for sure is still a thing and for that reason I really wouldn't put too much truck in what you read men saying about their sex life online, or not saying to be more precise.

Yeah, I'm also conscious of the fact that by definition any conversation with men that I'm hearing/reading is likely to be less honest than one without a woman present. I would say that things are changing in that regard though, men seem to be far more open than they were when I were a nipper.

It's a difficult subject to broach as a woman honestly, because some people take any suggestion that maybe some men don't have a constant raging erection as a Marxist-Feminist assault on masculinity, which is a symptom of what you're talking about.
    I think what I didn't articulate well is that I actually think men and women face the same issues and so it's more the overall acceptance that men and women are so different when it comes to this stuff that I take issue with, as I just don't think we are. I have known guys who lost their desire for sex because they put on weight and didn't like themselves, lost their job, were stressed about extended family stuff etc. I think lack of communication is the biggest issue for couples who stop having sex than anything else. Recent study on that discussed here.

Well that's it exactly. It's tied to our masculinity and so a guy just mentioning that he sometimes doesn't feel up to it, or can't perform when he wants, immediately emasculates himself, sadly.

It's interesting to think of in terms of what was done to reclaim female sexuality a few decades ago. Pushing the message that there was nothing wrong, or dirty, or unfeminine about seeking out sexual satisfaction. There's nothing wrong, or weak or unmasculine about not being constantly up for it.

Oh fcuk yeah. I knew two guys who could not have sex until they were circumcised as they were convinced that their foreskin would put women off. Was back in the 90's and have lost contact with them but guys can bothered by stuff that will make them not want to have sex for sure. Knew a guy who brought a woman home and when he got into bed she laughed at his penis (wasn't me, I swear!). Seriously though, imagine that. I think I'd just start using the wide vagina hand motions from Curb Your Enthusiasm or something. Then cry when she left :P

Jeeeesus that bitch!

Just on the nervousness stuff, it applies to plenty of people. I've been complimented on stuff I know isn't true so despite the lady's best efforts I can end up even more awkward/self-conscious.
    Again, the assumption that it's easy for a guy and he'll just get himself off is ridiculous and prevalent. I fell for it myself when I was younger.

Just on the nervousness stuff, it applies to plenty of people. I've been complimented on stuff I know isn't true so despite the lady's best efforts I can end up even more awkward/self-conscious.
    Again, the assumption that it's easy for a guy and he'll just get himself off is ridiculous and prevalent. I fell for it myself when I was younger.

In fairness ye go off like fecking grenades when ye're younger, not hard to see where that perception comes from :o

"Shall I touch thi...oh ok"

In fairness ye go off like fecking grenades when ye're younger, not hard to see where that perception comes from :o

"Shall I touch thi...oh ok"

Heh, I had a boyfriend with the opposite problem. He was a virgin from a sheltered, religious upbringing. The first time we were about to do the deed, he couldn't get his equipment in "ready" mode and he was hideously embarrassed. I knew it was nerves and I told him it was fine, we could do other things. And boy howdy, we did them. :) I also saw that happen with an experienced man the first time we slept together since it had been a few years since his last time. I wonder how many men and women think it's a big world-ending failure and never see the other person again. Honest, it's usually just nerves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Or because they're wrote off drunk, the mind does be willing but the body is not.