Animal creulty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,135 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Smondie wrote: »
    You can, but you won't :) in other words you can't

You're right. I can't.... be arsed. Especially to an apparently newcomer to Boards who just happened to read the Circus thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Discodog wrote: »
    You're right. I can't.... be arsed. Especially to an apparently newcomer to Boards who just happened to read the Circus thread.

http://www.boards.ie/search/submit/?user=184727&thread=2057576381&sort=best&date_to=&date_from=&query=%2A%3A%2A&page=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Smondie

Discodog wrote: »

Oh my god, i can read... first i knew about it!

Embarrassed now the barren beast wagon isn't filled with supporters?

Its pretty clear op that you have just take issue with the 'animal rights circus crowd'. If you actually care about these horses why aren't you there? Why didn't you organise a protest? Because you don't actually give a s**t, you're just trying to get a dig in. I thought this thread was actually going to highlight the real cruelty animals in this country are suffering and our absolute lack of decent animal welfare. Not this pathetic little rant. How about you mention some actual cruelty? Like the 10 week old springer pup found in cork a couple of weeks ago, whose leg had been left to rot off after an injury. Or the horse found abandoned on a road, who when they tried to help him up his insides literally fell out. The lurcher who couldn't stand up, not from injury (although she was in bad shape) but from absolute fear and depression. The husky last year who's eyes were shot out with a pellet gun. All the shelters who this week alone had to close their doors because there is no room left for all the animals being abandoned and abused? Nah.. Let's talk about the most pampered horses in the country putting on a little performance.

Aye it's shocking alright, Where were the circus lads on this ? They tried to help some lobster that did not end well.

If the protestors really cared about animals they would have been there too.

it appears they don't.They only wanted to belong to something and jumped on the band wagon.

Pictures of one of the protestors riding an elephant on her holidays appeared :pac:

Big hypocrites

If the protestors really cared about animals they would have been there too.

it appears they don't.They only wanted to belong to something and jumped on the band wagon.

Pictures of one of the protestors riding an elephant on her holidays appeared :pac:

Big hypocrites

Damn my Taxes.. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

kneemos wrote: »
    Any animal doing tricks (dogs included) in fairness is just humiliating for the animal

Are humans doing tricks humiliating for the human?

mdwexford wrote: »

Jesus we should start a campaign about all them children and babies on YT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Send in the clowns

Where are the clowns?

Don't bother, they're here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

Embarrassed now the barren beast wagon isn't filled with supporters?

Open a window, I don't think there's enough oxygen in your room.

SomeFool wrote: »
    Open a window, I don't think there's enough oxygen in your room.
    Plenty of oxygen here. The protestors may be short some though, they're very quiet on this. Probably busy untangling thier double standards and dreaming of being on Joe Duffy on Monday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

I'm confused now, are you bashing the protesters, the people with the horses or both?

Kovu wrote: »
    I'm confused now, are you bashing the protesters, the people with the horses or both?

Horses that Protest ?

BAN THE CURB!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭Stigura

Why do you insist on calling it the barren beast wagon? It's a very crude way to describe a horsebox.

Kovu; Google it. As I did. It's simply the new by word of the " ISPCA " / Petaphiles. Nuff said?

OP; Are you over fourteen years of age ..... Mentally? Only, I'm not yet convinced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭Boater123

There's a difference between keeping animals that are 'wild' locked up and trained compared to years upon years upon years of domesticated breeding.
    If we're to go along that train of thought there'd be no dogs doing tricks either.

There's animal cruelty and there's being ridiculous.

Tell me how were these wild animals were domesticated??? By suffering "years upon years of of domesticated breeding" How kind!!

Sure drive them over the hedge and leap the gap the far side. Don't open the gate whatever you do. That's what they like, sure it's natural.

Modern training of dogs involve treats. Horses get the whip or the spur. And dogs shouldn't be doing tricks either.

"There's animal cruelty and there's being ridiculous," ....No, just animal cruelty.

Boater123 wrote: »
    Tell me how were these wild animals were domesticated??? By suffering "years upon years of of domesticated breeding" How kind!!

Sure drive them over the hedge and leap the gap the far side. Don't open the gate whatever you do. That's what they like, sure it's natural.

Modern training of dogs involve treats. Horses get the whip or the spur. And dogs shouldn't be doing tricks either.

"There's animal cruelty and there's being ridiculous," ....No, just animal cruelty.
    Tell me how were these wild animals were domesticated???
    I'm sorry to say i don't have the annals of Eurasians to hand but I'm sure you could look at countless other journals.
    'Suffering' Oh yea, they were beaten bloody til they copulated :rolleyes:
    I think selected is the term you're looking for.

Horses get the whip or the spur, pfft, have you tried training a horse to follow? They can learn just as well to beg for treats, not a humiliation to them than.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭Stigura

Modern training of dogs involve treats. Horses get the whip or the spur.

:eek: I beg your fcuking pardon!!! Do you actually Have a Dog, let alone a Horse in your care?

Only, whilst you were spouting that, I was quietly chatting to another member on here, in PM. Explaining how, yes; The Dogs were all crashed out, around the room. Sleeping in their various beds. Or on mine.

My horses? They're out on the land now. Enjoying themselves. Munching what ever takes their fancy. Following their nature, to stroll over acres. Nibbling what ever nature provides.

And I also said how it's a bitter sweet thing, to see them, hundreds of yards away. But, that; Come September, I'll just go down there and Lead them home, to their snug stables.

" Lead "? Yes. I'll go down there. As I do. Call their individual names. And then walk off back here. No spurs. No Bits. No Head Collars. No Whips! I just bloody open the gates. Call their names and walk home. They follow.

Know what? The scariest part is the fear that they'll get Too excited, about going home to bed, now that the weather's turning, and will Stampede me as they rush home to their stables!

Not a " Barron Beast Wagon " (As seen on rte news ~ are you people for fcuking real?!) in sight.

Now, come on. Hands up. Who, posting here, actually has (preferably) a lifetime of handling animals? And who is under twenty years old. Has pink, blue, or similar hair ~ and is " Outraged " over something " Trending " on Face Palm or Twatter?

Good fcuking god.

So sad if the horses get excited to head in to a barren concrete cell. Poor things know no freedom. They're probably happy they're not been ridden and beaten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,609 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

mdwexford wrote: »

No . What's that got to do with animals?

You obviously do not know the first thing about horses.

Horses respond to positive reinforcement, and light negative reinforcement, i.e. the sight of a whip carried on the left-hand-side will prevent a horse from running-out on that side.

Beat him with it, and he'll stop co-operating altogether, or become a chronic spooker.

It is idiotic to think you can train an animal to a competitive level by beating him.
    So sad if the horses get excited to head in to a barren concrete cell. Poor things know no freedom. They're probably happy they're not been ridden and beaten.
    We get it. You have an axe to grind with the animal rights crowd. Presumably they prevented you from going to the circus. Getting boring now.

You obviously do not know the first thing about horses.

Horses respond to positive reinforcement, and light negative reinforcement, i.e. the sight of a whip carried on the left-hand-side will prevent a horse from running-out on that side.

Beat him with it, and he'll stop co-operating altogether, or become a chronic spooker.

It is idiotic to think you can train an animal to a competitive level by beating him.

We get it. You have an axe to grind with the animal rights crowd. Presumably they prevented you from going to the circus. Getting boring now.

why is that quote attributed to me? I didn't post that.

Is it a smear campaign because you like to treat animals as you do?

That's rich considering what you're smearing over this thread.

Quote edited.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Why are people even feeding this head-the-ball? =/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,615 ✭✭✭OldRio

Where are all the animal creulty protestors? They harassed the circus out of town but i flicked on the TV this evening and the dublin horse show had 4 horses sitting inunnatural positions and were humiliating them by making them perform.

So animal protesters? What's the Craic? Where were ye today?

You seem to have problems. Sit back, relax. I'm listening.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭HensVassal

El Chapo wrote: »
    I was at wrok.

I was at hoem

That's rich considering what you're smearing over this thread.

Quote edited.
    Why are people even feeding this head-the-ball? =/
    OldRio wrote: »
    You seem to have problems. Sit back, relax. I'm listening.

Play the ball not the man lads, unless you can't justify your double standards.

Abusers always want to shut down discussion so the can continue unimpeeded

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭HensVassal

kneemos wrote: »
    Responds to the movement of the whip because it knows that it hurts obviously.

Jaysus, don't ever go to a race track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Play the ball not the man lads, unless you can't justify your double standards.

Abusers always want to shut down discussion so the can continue unimpeeded

I don't agree with the humiliation of inanimate spherical objects

People gathering to cheer on a bunch of men kicking an innocent ball around the place. It's barbaric