Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why did Gardai destroy possible burial site of Irelands longest missing child?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

Out of curiosity, did Sean McEniff ever run as a TD, or has he always chosen to sit as a councillor?

Sorry if a bit OT... I just think it's odd that an octogenarian is still occupying a council seat.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭stuar

Allyall wrote: »
    Out of curiosity, did Sean McEniff ever run as a TD, or has he always chosen to sit as a councillor?

Sorry if a bit OT... I just think it's odd that an octogenarian is still occupying a council seat.

Not sure, from his wiki:
    "He was first elected to Donegal County Council in 1967, and has been returned every time since with exception of 1979 when he stood in the 1979 European Parliament electionin the Connacht–Ulster, though was not elected. [4] He was Director of Bord Fáilte between 1993 and 1998. He was also named Donegal Person of the Year in 1996:confused::confused::confused:."
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sean_McEniff

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,224 ✭✭✭Going Forward

stuar wrote: »
    Here we have, (according to this video) Clr McEniff after assaulting a female Clr and escorted to HIS car, not a garda car, makes ye wonder....

That video shows absolutely nothing.

He's not even in it!

The "still photo" at the start of it shows nothing either.

Might us well put up a video of a spilt bucket of paint and say that that happened after McEniff walked into it.

It's completely pointless IMO.

Post a video of the female councillor making the claim that is being made and then you'd have something worth watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,087 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

It might seem that the 'conspiracy' is to blacken McEniff's name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭oranbhoy67

I sent plenty of pocket texts in error in the days of old nokia 3310s etc

But to open up twiiter on your iphone type zz in answer to a story that your goverment is taking flak for & then deleting it 3 minutes later takes some doing

Also happened to be on a friday night too

It might seem that the 'conspiracy' is to blacken McEniff's name.

He hasnt got much of a name to blacken with his comments about travellers a few years back

That video in fairness shows nothing.

He's not even in it!

The "still photo" at the start of it shows nothing either.

Might us well put up a video of a spilt bucket of paint and say that that happened after McEniff walked into it.

It's completely pointless IMO.

I agree, have a look at some of the video uploaders other videos though, they are mostly too short imo but they do show what some locals down there think of "Irelands Donald Trump" & the way he goes about his buisness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 DonegalTech

The use of the letters ZZZZ denotes sleep/Snooze, used on social media as a way being sarcastic or dismissive. People tend to use it as way to say "BORING" or "ARE YOU STILL ON ABOUT THAT". The particular TD's intentions may not be known, but we do know what that message symbolises.

I'm not generally a Conspiracy Theorist, but the Mary Boyle case has certainly made us wake up and ask some serious questions. Most of these questions leaves us pondering some disturbing answers, answers which we would have never believed where possible in our County and Country. And the fact that the person considered to be the main suspect by all corners, has never been arrested and questioned as a suspect after 39 years, only backs up the idea of political interference and a possible conspiracy.

oranbhoy67 wrote: »
    I sent plenty of pocket texts in error in the days of old nokia 3310s etc

But to open up twiiter on your iphone type zz in answer to a story that your goverment is taking flak for & then deleting it 3 minutes later takes some doing

Also happened to be on a friday night too

I don't think he said he did it in his pocket (he would surely be laughed at if he did).
    He didn't give an explanation.
    Because it would be very hard to conjure one up imho, if it didn't happen by accident.

The pocket tweet would be a ludicrous explanation.

The use of the letters ZZZZ denotes sleep/Snooze, used on social media as a way being sarcastic or dismissive. People tend to use it as way to say "BORING" or "ARE YOU STILL ON ABOUT THAT". The particular TD's intentions may not be known, but we do know what that message symbolises.

I'm not generally a Conspiracy Theorist, but the Mary Boyle case has certainly made us wake up and ask some serious questions. Most of these questions leaves us pondering some disturbing answers, answers which we would have never believed where possible in our County and Country. And the fact that the person considered to be the main suspect by all corners, has never been arrested and questioned as a suspect after 39 years, only backs up the idea of political interference and a possible conspiracy.

There seem to be an effort being made not to solve this case.

That isn't unusual in this country unfortunately.

It's like a game that the state institutions know they'll win.

They'll outlive the component parts, people die, people forget, journalists move on and the secrets remain secret.

No arrests. No official reaction to anything. Steadfast.

Keep the head down and say nothing, it'll probably pass over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

There seem to be an effort being made not to solve this case.

That isn't unusual in this country unfortunately.

It's like a game that the state institutions know they'll win.

They'll outlive the component parts, people die, people forget, journalists move on and the secrets remain secret.

No arrests. No official reaction to anything. Steadfast.

Keep the head down and say nothing, it'll probably pass over.

That is unfortunately not only the case re this matter...i see it day in day out in relation to global matters. Let the plebs foam a bit for a few days, whipped up by populist media and then they will forget - this seems to be the general attitude among those in positions of influence, in Ireland and everywhere else. Sooner or later we will go back to watching boxsets, saving for a holiday away from the hamster wheel of bull**** jobs, or chasing a pokemon. This is what people in power rely on and they are correct, for this is what we do. We forget history, again and again, like morons. I am sure there is something of this attitude in this case too.

If that is the case they would seem to have good grounds for behaving this way, as it seems to work in the vast majority of cases.

'the attention span of a goldfish' comes to mind :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭stuar

I'm a conspiracy theorist, sometimes conspiracy theorist and skeptic are portrayed as opposites when they are not, I'm always skeptical of the truth as it's portrayed.

I also live in the real world and not some tinfoil hat land, some conspiracies are real, not all, but people tend to equate conspiracy theory with lizard people, ufo's, the yettie, and JFK, some are real, some are dis-information to categorize anybody seeking truth as a nutter.

Many people can’t wait to get the latest details about the newest conspiracy theories, while other people dismiss these theories as being ridiculous and false. However, this is what many governments, corporations and others with the ability to bribe, threaten and manipulate want you to think.

While some skepticism is undoubtedly healthy, especially when it comes to hearing an objective view on a particular subject, in some cases the skepticism can go too far. When this happens, it does nothing to debunk the conspiracy theory and in fact it has quite the opposite affect, only serving to add fuel to the fire. In many cases, some skeptics are not adding anything new to the discussion, but simply reiterating the “mainstream” line of thought.

Here are 5 conspiracy theories that many people attempted to dismiss, but were later found to be based in fact and absolutely true.
    http://locklip.com/5-cia-conspiracy-theories-that-are-actually-true/

With the best will in the world, people like Gemma O'Doherty can only invest so much time and money on a case like this.

Those "in charge" (horrible, silly phrase..) know this only too well.

All they have to contend with then can be conveniently labelled as a few internet cranks, and conspiracy theorists, outside of the victim's family.

So there'll be no can of worms being opened, no raking over the hot coals.

No justice being sought.

No arrests at all costs.

With the best will in the world, people like Gemma O'Doherty can only invest so much time and money on a case like this.

Those "in charge" (horrible, silly phrase..) know this only too well.

All they have to contend with then can be conveniently labelled as a few internet cranks, and conspiracy theorists, outside of the victim's family.

So there'll be no can of worms being opened, no raking over the hot coals.

No justice being sought.

No arrests at all costs.

I think more and more people, especially in County Donegal are becoming aware of the shocking details behind this case, and I don't see this case going away anytime soon. In truth, many people including my parents have only recently ( In recent weeks) become aware of the details behind this case.

I reckon something will have to give here, support for justice in this case is growing by the day. And the wider public are starting to realise a major political party may possibly be involved. This is just the beginning, and people are going to push this case right now, not later.

I think more and more people, especially in County Donegal are becoming aware of the shocking details behind this case, and I don't see this case going away anytime soon. In truth, many people including my parents have only recently ( In recent weeks) become aware of the details behind this case.

I reckon something will have to give here, support for justice in this case is growing by the day. And the wider public are starting to realise a major political party may possibly be involved. This is just the beginning, and people are going to push this case right now, not later.

I hope so.

I remember exactly the day and minute I heard Mary had gone missing. My grandmother and mother were whispering about it by the stove in granny's kitchen, which was in a rural cottage in the middle of isolated bog-land, and as a very curious 10 year old I was baffled and horrified at the thought of a little girl simply disappearing off the face of the earth. I thought of my younger sisters and I could not accept that such a thing had happened. Mary has come to my mind so often over the past 40 years, as if she had been imprinted there (I do not know why); even my husband will attest to the fact that I have often spoken of her, in a sort of remembrance, and have been unable to understand what could have happened to her. In truth I never had the remotest idea that there might be some kind of bigger, more sinister picture until this past few weeks. Only because I have learned to be more cynical (unfortunately) over the past few years about happenings in the big bad world, am I actually able to entertain the possibility of conspiratorial cover-up in this case.

I truly hope there is some kind of break through.

I hope so.

I remember exactly the day and minute I heard Mary had gone missing. My grandmother and mother were whispering about it by the AGA stove in granny's kitchen, which was in a rural cottage in the middle of isolated bog-land, and as a very curious 10 year old I was baffled and horrified at the thought of a little girl simply disappearing off the face of the earth. I thought of my younger sisters and I could not accept that such a thing had happened. Mary has come to my mind so often over the past 40 years, as if she had been imprinted there (I do not know why); even my husband will attest to the fact that I have often spoken of her, in a sort of remembrance, and have been unable to understand what could have happened to her. In truth I never had the remotest idea that there might be some kind of bigger, more sinister picture until this past few weeks. Only because I have learned to be more cynical (unfortunately) over the past few years about happenings in the big bad world, am I actually able to entertain the possibility of conspiratorial cover-up in this case.

I truly hope there is some kind of break through.

I wasn't born until the 1980's, but learning of this case has left me wondering about our Country, and how it is run.

We live in a country that puts wealthy drug dealers in prisons for free, allowing them access to game consoles, chinese takeaways etc and literally not pay a single cent. Yet family's struggle to pay colossal amounts for an elderly relative to stay in a nursing home. That should be changed, criminals should face a lengthy bill for us putting them up and the elderly should be looked after for free.

I could list loads of other things, but I don't want to move any further off topic. This is really about the states failure to obtain justice for a little 6 year old girl who was probably murdered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭cosanostra

Allyall wrote: »

He never ran for the Dail afaik but he unsuccessfully ran for Europe

As was said at his Birthday bash he never got into the Dail himself but he got a lot of others in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 HollyM46

Hi, have been following this for the past week or so and have always felt a connection i.e same age as Mary and a few miles down the road visiting relations when it happened. We were always warned for years after not to go out on our own but not sure if this was related to suspect or someone else who was named to us also. All I can say really is Ballyshannon Garda station step up to the mark,you know what needs to be done #maryboyle

Is there any more word on whether the suspect that everybody seems to agree upon, has been questioned by this Cold Case team? Or has this team actually looked at this case at all?

Has there been any developments on the actual direct case itself in the last few days?

Is there any more word on whether the suspect that everybody seems to agree upon, has been questioned by this Cold Case team? Or has this team actually looked at this case at all?

Has there been any developments on the actual direct case itself in the last few days?

I understood the 'cold case team' were only to examine the paperwork and systems/procedures used. They were not to do a new investigation.
    Did I misunderstand?

I understood the 'cold case team' were only to examine the paperwork and systems/procedures used. They were not to do a new investigation.
    Did I misunderstand?

I think you've got a good understanding of it.

there is another March being Planned now in Dublin for a week on Saturday

oranbhoy67 wrote: »
    there is another March being Planned now in Dublin for a week on Saturday

I'm going to be very blunt.

There is a danger that Mary's dignity is being hijacked for political reasons.

I have just seen this:

https://mobile.twitter.com/IrelandSaysNo/media/grid?idx=17

Particularly their artwork.

Just as it would be wrong to interfere with the investigation in 77 for political reasons, I believe it's just as disgusting for any organisation to be trying to attach themselves to the case for political reasons, for political gain.

Politics and political groupings and eirigi should be kept out of this. And should be told their support is not wanted.

They are seeking to get publicity for themselves and their own political agendas.

And using Mary to do it. They are jumping on the bandwagon and will damage Mary's memory. Yes, a lot of people might be attracted to the march as a result, but an ever greater number could stay away because of it.

If they are the organisers of the march or behind it or involved in it, they add a completely unnecessary political and confrontational overtone to it, one that I see as being detrimental to anyone taking the issue seriously.

And runs the risk of being nothing more than a lynch mob.

That will do absolutely nothing for this case, if anything it will damage any prospect of the government intervening.

I do not think it should be used as a political football and it runs the risk of being manipulated and being turned into a circus.

The case has enough merits on its own, and a dignified march does not need it.

I think they are going to damage the campaign.

I don't expect that's what you want to hear.

I think it's too important an issue to say it.

The way to protect the march is to insist on no political posters or placards being held or being visible.

Keep it about Mary, and justice, not Sean McEniff, Fianna Fail, Fine Gael, or Ireland Says No or any other political attention seekers and other distractions that could end up being used against the campaign at a later date.

I have just seen this:

Just as it would be wrong to interfere with the investigation in 77 for political reasons, I believe it's just as disgusting for any organisation to be trying to attach themselves to the case for political reasons, for political gain.

Politics and political groupings and eirigi should be kept out of this. And should be told their support is not wanted.

They are seeking to get publicity for themselves and their own political agendas.

And using Mary to do it. They are jumping on the bandwagon and will damage Mary's memory. Yes, a lot of people might be attracted to the march as a result, but an ever greater number could stay away because of it.

If they are the organisers of the march or behind it or involved in it, they add a completely unnecessary political and confrontational overtone to it, one that I see as being detrimental to anyone taking the issue seriously.

That will do absolutely nothing for this case, if anything it will damage any prospect of the government intervening.

I do not think it should be used as a political football and it runs the risk of being manipulated and being turned into a circus.

The way to protect the march is to insist on no political posters or placards being held or being visible.

Keep it about Mary, and justice, not Sean McEniff, Fianna Fail, Fine Gael, or Ireland Says No or any other political attention seekers and other distractions that could end up being used against the campaign at a later date.

Totally agree. Absolutely.
    Marches nowadays are often hijacked by elements like these, and I have been on enough of them to know this is so. With their placards and handing out their leaflets, they elbow in on peoples righteous grievances. Save it, mates, it's not about you.

I went on most of the water charge protests because I oppose the charges, but in the end I stopped attending because of this element in the organisation of them. I found it too 'jumpy' or 'physical' for me, this kind of righteous extremism, sometimes leading to raucous jostling and self-appointed revolutionary hollering. I hold extremely radical political views myself, but any kind of anti-intellectual, fear-mongering, band-wagoning, mob-ruling, partisan involvement in anything to do with a march for Mary should be completely off the cards. They will scare off the peace-loving majority.

Yes, but it is a little late for that as posters involving political references were used in the first march.
    Also the GO'D video rather emphasised political cover-up so it is rather difficult to omit political references now.
    Whether the 'political posters' have identifying political groupings as the source, or not, is immaterial. The message is political.
    I think it difficult to get a balance ...... highlight potential political interference without being political in the message?

Yes, but it is a little late for that as posters involving political references were used in the first march.
    Also the GO'D video rather emphasised political cover-up so it is rather difficult to omit political references now.
    Whether the 'political posters' have identifying political groupings as the source, or not, is immaterial. The message is political.
    I think it difficult to get a balance ...... highlight potential political interference without being political in the message?

There are ways.

A banner that says

Keep Politics Out Of The Investigation

is just as effective in addressing that.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

there is a difference between alleging political interference in a banner and then having a banner with a political partys name sprawled across it. the first one is not a political message, the second one is a political advertisement.

Yes, the first one mentions politics, but that is all. I wouldnt equate them as being the same, at all. The political references of interference should not be dismissed, but as stated above, other political parties jumping on this should be. They are 2 separate issues.

Could Gemma O'Doherty use a crowd funding platform?

It would help with the RTE bill, and draw attention to this case.

I have just seen this:

I agree with you as far as these political groupings they are doing this off their own back these photos & I doubt there is much can be done to stop them .. I Do know they have no affiliations with the March it is being run by the same lady that ran the one up here & as she made it clear no political party banners were welcome someone has gave me an idea which i would really like to get going to raise awareness -

Ill C&P my idea here you all can tell me what you think of it and maybe give some practical tips or tell me its a waste of time

The purple and white ribbon is a very visual statement and it would be great if those that support the campaign for justice rolled it out all over Donegal. Ireland even The World!!
    Roundabouts chapels, places where lots of people will see them and ask what is the purple and white ribbon about.The Pole Star roundabout football matches GAA matches .wear them personally make facebook and twitter "twibbons" of them to add to people's Social Media profile , have them on cars on the aerials or even get stickers made up for cars etc.
    As I said just a thought and it wasn't mine but I do think its a very good idea but I wouldn't know where to start. so all suggestions welcome