Catcalling is now a 'hate crime' - UK Police Force

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Sam Kade wrote: »
    He put the b1tch in her place :)

I love the "Used by Whom ?" And She gives No coherent answer. Think she meant the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

... Sure that's what you do. Give people more power to abuse.
    A guy goes up to a girl in a bar and says 'how are you darling?'... 'Darling!? DARLING!? I'm getting the police to you! You sexist pig!'

Then of course the plan ol' scenarios where nothing happened but it 'really did' because one party said so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭NiallBoo

Given the maturity of cat-calling, I assume the punishments will be going without supper or having to sit in the naughty-corner?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Two Tone

Stigura wrote: »
    " Examples of misogyny hate crime include unwanted or uninvited verbal contact or engagement. "

I'm just fcuking speechless!!! " uninvited verbal contact ". That's what it says. Right there. You can now be arrested, In Nottingham, for asking a woman at a bus stop when the next fcuking bus is due!!!

FFFS!!! Any areas frequented by snowflakes students will now become no go zones for men ~ unless ye walk around staring at the ground and with ye lips tightly sealed.

Life didn't used to be like this :(
    It's a stupid intervention (I am getting really sick of women who don't ask the rest of us how we feel, depict us as victims) but I doubt anyone can really be arrested for asking what time the next bus is. I know it says "uninvited verbal contact" but context is bound to be considered.

I would like it if those who yell lewd comments at people when they are alone (the yellers are always in a group) would stop doing that though, but I don't want it to be deemed a hate crime or any kind of crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Honestly if you've never experienced it, you can't understand how unpleasant and scary that type of behaviour can be. And every woman I know has been exposed to it.
    Side note: women who grope men should be treated the same. It's gross and just stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

What if you're actually calling a cat and the police shoot you in the face mistakenly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Honestly if you've never experienced it, you can't understand how unpleasant and scary that type of behaviour can be. And every woman I know has been exposed to it.
    Side note: women who grope men should be treated the same. It's gross and just stupid.

I don't think anyone is saying groping is ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,506 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

of course its quite acceptable to make fat remarks or slag off kerry

many things on this planet are " unpleasant and scary " , not a lot of them are however a " crime "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,295 ✭✭✭FortySeven

Groping is sexual assault. No need for this hate crime legislation. It was already illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Delighted this is happening.

Catcalling is humiliating and degrading. It is not a way to start a conversation or engage with a person. It's not even a way to chat up a person.

I didn't know they did Daz for armour!:D
    You're not going to get laid...

Look, catcalling is about as classy as leopard print funeral attire...
    But is it really a hate crime? Is it really???

I think it does quite a lot of damage to the meaning of the term. Not that it hasn't taken a severe feckin beating anyway...

I'm actually a bit disappointed at this, because the catcall was the single, clearest, loudest signal a person could broadcast to you, and the world, that they were born with less brain matter between their ears than your average cane toad.
    It's nit just about women, other men tended to go "what a knob" and carry on with their day, knowing they had a knob in their midst and could avoid trusting them with too much.

Now, with the vast majority of morons keeping their mouths shut, it's going to be harder to identify morons. Not all cat callers had that mouth breathing look about them..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

What if you're actually calling a cat and the police shoot you in the face mistakenly?

Cat lives matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,506 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

of course women are not concerned about men catcalling other men

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Uninvited verbal contact? Is this reality? People will have to have little traffic lights on their head: red, you may not speak to me; green, you may; amber, FCUK off unless you're "hot".

BoatMad wrote: »
    of course women are not concerned about men catcalling other men
    You're gonna have to be more specific than "Women". I don't like anyone catcalling anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭Stigura

Two Tone wrote: »
    I know it says "uninvited verbal contact" but context is bound to be considered.

But, is it ....? There's no context in the 'Three Strikes' laws used elsewhere.

If I found a female at a bus stop and wanted to know if she knew when a bus was due? I'd ask; " S'cuse me, love: D'ye know when the next one's due? " Fcuked if I'd do that in Nottingham, now!

I'm already leary of women. They can be strange. Last time I had anything to do with one, she was sitting right here in this very room. We were talking about the " Dexter " TV series. I said: " In one episode, we were introduced to some chick who looked drop dead gorgeous. "

I mean't to go on to say, " But, the moment she opened her mouth? The accent was so vile I couldn't stand her. "

I never got that out. Because my companion was Screaming; " You're going to start on about Sex now!!! You want Sex with me!!!!! "

I'm like: :eek: What The Fcuking Fcuk?!? I didn't know she was, at that moment, of her medications!

Now, She was a woman. I shudder to think of Her type washing up in Nottingham! I Know she's not 'All Women'. Not even a typical woman. But, she's out there. Now with the encouragement to call the police on any man who speaks to her without her consent?

Fcuk That!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭selastich2

Stigura wrote: »
    But, is it ....? There's no context in the 'Three Strikes' laws used elsewhere.

If I found a female at a bus stop and wanted to know if she knew when a bus was due? I'd ask; " S'cuse me, love: D'ye know when the next one's due? " Fcuked if I'd do that in Nottingham, now!

likely cover story, a bus :rolleyes: we all know "whens the next one due?" was asked because as a man you see here as a dirty slapper who can't stop getting pregnant

hey feminists am i doing this right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭Stigura

Ye'll have heard the one about the black guy and the Hasidic, at the bus stop, so? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Catcalling women on the streets is classless behaviour carried out by loutish oafs.

It's unsettling to the person who receives it. As a man I remember an experience in a bar in Tipp town when I was 19. Some 50+ rough looking bint took a shine to me, Anytime I walked past her she'd holler at me and feel up my arse.

Later in the night we were all sitting down at a table and she was there next to me, she started fiddling up my leg trying to get at my package. All the lads were bursting their holes laughing about it.

I laughed along trying to be one of the boys but in reality her behaviour actually deeply upset me.

That experience gave me a better understanding of what it is like to be objectified.

Ach, seems harmless enough. Can't see too many hauled up for it, presume it's intended to curb behaviour and only the more serious incidents will be prosecuted. If it forces some to reconsider their behaviour and sees a reduction in the ugly intimidation "techniques" practised by some, well then I'd welcome it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Expressing admiration for or attraction to a woman's beauty is a sign that you hate her? Has feminist logic written all over it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭HardenendMan

I'd say Brad Pitt and George Cloomey would be exempt from this law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Icemancometh

Ach, seems harmless enough. Can't see too many hauled up for it, presume it's intended to curb behaviour and only the more serious incidents will be prosecuted. If it forces some to reconsider their behaviour and sees a reduction in the ugly intimidation "techniques" practised by some, well then I'd welcome it.

Would you not be worried by the seemingly low standard required here? Could be easily abused

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

Expressing admiration for or attraction to a woman's beauty is a sign that you hate her? Has feminist logic written all over it...

I don't want that type of "admiration" shouted at me in the street by some knuckle dragging neanderthal and I don't know any woman who would. There are respectful ways of telling a woman she is attractive and cat calling is not one of them.

I don't agree with this law or with it being a hate crime - I think that's nonsense - but "Expressing admiration for or attraction to a woman's beauty" is a hilariously dishonest description of shouting lewd comments. :D

Would you not be worried by the seemingly low standard required here? Could be easily abused

So can the law of assault, based on the unwanted or uninvited application of or threat of force.

But in reality you don't get too many prosecuted for shaking hands uninvited, or a pat on the shoulder, or putting their hand up to fist pump etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

Really doing their best to make the term 'hate crime' utterly meaningless
    It always was.

All crimes are hate crimes.

And a crime is a crime is a crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

I'm just going to go out on a limb here and say context might be relevant?
    Asking your one at the bus stop if she'd like to grab lunch isn't going to get you nicked.
    Telling your one at the bus stop she has a nice pair on her, that might get you in trouble.

But sure feck it, let's all have a go at the women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Tombi! wrote: »
    I'm just going to go out on a limb here and say context might be relevant?
    Asking your one at the bus stop if she'd like to grab lunch isn't going to get you nicked.
    Telling your one at the bus stop she has a nice pair on her, that might get you in trouble.

Males and females in groups cat call, But in one on one situations hardly ever happens. Unenforceable and open to abuse. Another law used in relationship breakups maybe. We already have sexual harassment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

Tombi! wrote: »
    It shouldn't. Telling her and then following her as she moves away from you should. There is a difference. And it is an important one.
    Sure. But this isn't really the thread for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭mohawk

Catcalling is not a pleasant experience in most cases you just brush it off. It's when the guy turns on you when you ignore him or reject him that the line is crossed.