Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Catcalling is now a 'hate crime' - UK Police Force

• 16-07-2016 4:55pm

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/catcalling-is-now-a-hate-crime-in-this-british-county_us_57890182e4b03fc3ee508b14

A UK Police Force has provoked debate after declaring that unwanted misogynistic advances are now to be investigated as hate crime

Nottinghamshire police define mysogynistic advances as unwanted behaviour directed towards women by men, simply because they are women, which includes catcalling, apparently.

The Force's newly-appointed Police Constable has said that she is 'delighted' to be targeting misogyny in all its forms.

Personally I think this is going way overboard. Opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Really doing their best to make the term 'hate crime' utterly meaningless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

It might distract them from the important task of arresting people for tweets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/catcalling-is-now-a-hate-crime-in-this-british-county_us_57890182e4b03fc3ee508b14

A UK Police Force has provoked debate after declaring that unwanted misogynistic advances are now to be investigated as hate crime

Nottinghamshire police define mysogynistic advances as unwanted behaviour directed towards women by men, simply because they are women, which includes catcalling, apparently.

The Force's newly-appointed Police Constable has said that she is 'delighted' to be targeting misogyny in all its forms.

Personally I think this is going way overboard. Opinions?

What a pile of PC sh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

How are they planning to define cat calling?

In my area it's a bit of a custom for gangs of lads to drive slowly alongside women walking on the pavement asking them where they're going, if they want to get in the car and of course more vulgar propositions. Very intimidating but the police in my ends basically didn't want to know when my mate reported it, had the license plate and all.

Edit - I live in the UK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

It has been used in Melbourne to great effect recently.
    Its the same category as women groping men in night clubs on hen nights and visa versa - unwanted and threatening, regardless of gender.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

No more shouting from the building sites for me. :( Phoar, show us some leg, lovely! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭EL_Loco

"I want to make love to you" now a hate crime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

Unwanted advances? That's probably criminalizing 90% of men who try to pull a woman. Not even allowed to talk to a woman now without her prior permission? What's that? Speech rape?

How can a feminist in a position of power be allowed to make law? Surely the judges get the final say?

Feminism is out of control and needs to be stopped. Is this law applicable to men? Can we have women arrested if we don't want to talk to them? Such bull****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

FortySeven wrote: »
    Unwanted advances? That's probably criminalizing 90% of men who try to pull a woman. Not even allowed to talk to a woman now without her prior permission? What's that? Speech rape?

How can a feminist in a position of power be allowed to make law? Surely the judges get the final say?

Feminism is out of control and needs to be stopped. Is this law applicable to men? Can we have women arrested if we don't want to talk to them? Such bull****.

Yes they can, so sit down, chill out and relax. There is no feminist conspiracy to take over.

Sonics2k wrote: »
    Yes they can, so sit down, chill out and relax. There is no feminist conspiracy to take over.

It is all about misogyny. It is all about women. I don't see any mention of men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

So still fine to shout at men if your a woman then ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

" Examples of misogyny hate crime include unwanted or uninvited verbal contact or engagement. "

I'm just fcuking speechless!!! " uninvited verbal contact ". That's what it says. Right there. You can now be arrested, In Nottingham, for asking a woman at a bus stop when the next fcuking bus is due!!!

FFFS!!! Any areas frequented by snowflakes students will now become no go zones for men ~ unless ye walk around staring at the ground and with ye lips tightly sealed.

Life didn't used to be like this :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

So still fine to shout at men if your a woman then ?

Because there is an epidemic of women following men for their numbers, making finger in hole gestures, saying how much they want to **** them and telling them to undress on the streets??

If a woman does shout (or straying into domestic abuse areas, attack/punch) a man then it can be just as readily reported as assault, (verbally or physically) under different categories. This happens to be a category for women as they do face this more. Not uniquely - but more often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,702 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

Sonics2k wrote: »

failinis wrote: »
    Because there is an epidemic of women following men for their numbers, making finger in hole gestures, saying how much they want to **** them and telling them to undress on the streets??

If a woman does shout (or straying into domestic abuse areas, attack/punch) a man then it can be just as readily reported as assault, (verbally or physically) under different categories. This happens to be a category for women as they do face this more. Not uniquely - but more often.

I'm sure you have stats an not some woman on YT this sounds very Lacey Green.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

Delighted this is happening.

Catcalling is humiliating and degrading. It is not a way to start a conversation or engage with a person. It's not even a way to chat up a person.

Stigura wrote: »
    " Examples of misogyny hate crime include unwanted or uninvited verbal contact or engagement. "

I'm just fcuking speechless!!! " uninvited verbal contact ". That's what it says. Right there. You can now be arrested, In Nottingham, for asking a woman at a bus stop when the next fcuking bus is due!!!

FFFS!!! Any areas frequented by snowflakes students will now become no go zones for men ~ unless ye walk around staring at the ground and with ye lips tightly sealed.

Life needn't be like this. This is a ****ing outrageous abuse of power. Has me fuming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

FortySeven wrote: »

http://i.imgur.com/ekvNLrB.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

I thought it was a waterford whispers article.

This can be abused so easily. What is the burden of proof? Must there be witnesses?

This is wide open to abuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

Would I be arrested for shouting "don't show us yer norks!"?

Catcalling is humiliating and degrading. It is not a way to start a conversation or engage with a person. It's not even a way to chat up a person.

Maybe I don't get out enough but I cannot remember the last time I witnessed catcalling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Categorising it as a hate crime is idiotic in the extreme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I thought this thread was about looking for missing cats :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭selastich2

women at hen parties sexually molesting young waiters
    not just hen parties of course, I've seen it often enough at restuarants
    say no more

selastich2 wrote: »
    women at hen parties sexually molesting young waiters

say no more

That's fine it's not misogynistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

He put the b1tch in her place :)

oh, just a bit of harmless fun!

your fine is in the post for uninvited contact, I don't recall summoning you to reply

Is this the same woman that cried in the house last week?

nor is the reverse both Misandry and misogyny are man and women " hating " respectively

I would suggest that attempting to fondle someone can hardly be described as "hating" them ( even from the fondleee ! perspective )

Sam Kade wrote: »
    He put the b1tch in her place :)

I love the "Used by Whom ?" And She gives No coherent answer. Think she meant the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

... Sure that's what you do. Give people more power to abuse.
    A guy goes up to a girl in a bar and says 'how are you darling?'... 'Darling!? DARLING!? I'm getting the police to you! You sexist pig!'

Then of course the plan ol' scenarios where nothing happened but it 'really did' because one party said so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭NiallBoo

Given the maturity of cat-calling, I assume the punishments will be going without supper or having to sit in the naughty-corner?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Two Tone

It's a stupid intervention (I am getting really sick of women who don't ask the rest of us how we feel, depict us as victims) but I doubt anyone can really be arrested for asking what time the next bus is. I know it says "uninvited verbal contact" but context is bound to be considered.

I would like it if those who yell lewd comments at people when they are alone (the yellers are always in a group) would stop doing that though, but I don't want it to be deemed a hate crime or any kind of crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Honestly if you've never experienced it, you can't understand how unpleasant and scary that type of behaviour can be. And every woman I know has been exposed to it.
    Side note: women who grope men should be treated the same. It's gross and just stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

What if you're actually calling a cat and the police shoot you in the face mistakenly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Honestly if you've never experienced it, you can't understand how unpleasant and scary that type of behaviour can be. And every woman I know has been exposed to it.
    Side note: women who grope men should be treated the same. It's gross and just stupid.

I don't think anyone is saying groping is ok.

of course its quite acceptable to make fat remarks or slag off kerry

many things on this planet are " unpleasant and scary " , not a lot of them are however a " crime "

Groping is sexual assault. No need for this hate crime legislation. It was already illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

I didn't know they did Daz for armour!:D
    You're not going to get laid...

Look, catcalling is about as classy as leopard print funeral attire...
    But is it really a hate crime? Is it really???

I think it does quite a lot of damage to the meaning of the term. Not that it hasn't taken a severe feckin beating anyway...

I'm actually a bit disappointed at this, because the catcall was the single, clearest, loudest signal a person could broadcast to you, and the world, that they were born with less brain matter between their ears than your average cane toad.
    It's nit just about women, other men tended to go "what a knob" and carry on with their day, knowing they had a knob in their midst and could avoid trusting them with too much.

Now, with the vast majority of morons keeping their mouths shut, it's going to be harder to identify morons. Not all cat callers had that mouth breathing look about them..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

What if you're actually calling a cat and the police shoot you in the face mistakenly?

Cat lives matter.

of course women are not concerned about men catcalling other men

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Uninvited verbal contact? Is this reality? People will have to have little traffic lights on their head: red, you may not speak to me; green, you may; amber, FCUK off unless you're "hot".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Two Tone

BoatMad wrote: »
    of course women are not concerned about men catcalling other men
    You're gonna have to be more specific than "Women". I don't like anyone catcalling anyone.

Two Tone wrote: »
    I know it says "uninvited verbal contact" but context is bound to be considered.

But, is it ....? There's no context in the 'Three Strikes' laws used elsewhere.

If I found a female at a bus stop and wanted to know if she knew when a bus was due? I'd ask; " S'cuse me, love: D'ye know when the next one's due? " Fcuked if I'd do that in Nottingham, now!

I'm already leary of women. They can be strange. Last time I had anything to do with one, she was sitting right here in this very room. We were talking about the " Dexter " TV series. I said: " In one episode, we were introduced to some chick who looked drop dead gorgeous. "

I mean't to go on to say, " But, the moment she opened her mouth? The accent was so vile I couldn't stand her. "

I never got that out. Because my companion was Screaming; " You're going to start on about Sex now!!! You want Sex with me!!!!! "

I'm like: :eek: What The Fcuking Fcuk?!? I didn't know she was, at that moment, of her medications!

Now, She was a woman. I shudder to think of Her type washing up in Nottingham! I Know she's not 'All Women'. Not even a typical woman. But, she's out there. Now with the encouragement to call the police on any man who speaks to her without her consent?

Fcuk That!

But, is it ....? There's no context in the 'Three Strikes' laws used elsewhere.

If I found a female at a bus stop and wanted to know if she knew when a bus was due? I'd ask; " S'cuse me, love: D'ye know when the next one's due? " Fcuked if I'd do that in Nottingham, now!

likely cover story, a bus :rolleyes: we all know "whens the next one due?" was asked because as a man you see here as a dirty slapper who can't stop getting pregnant

hey feminists am i doing this right?

Ye'll have heard the one about the black guy and the Hasidic, at the bus stop, so? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Catcalling women on the streets is classless behaviour carried out by loutish oafs.

It's unsettling to the person who receives it. As a man I remember an experience in a bar in Tipp town when I was 19. Some 50+ rough looking bint took a shine to me, Anytime I walked past her she'd holler at me and feel up my arse.

Later in the night we were all sitting down at a table and she was there next to me, she started fiddling up my leg trying to get at my package. All the lads were bursting their holes laughing about it.

I laughed along trying to be one of the boys but in reality her behaviour actually deeply upset me.

That experience gave me a better understanding of what it is like to be objectified.

Ach, seems harmless enough. Can't see too many hauled up for it, presume it's intended to curb behaviour and only the more serious incidents will be prosecuted. If it forces some to reconsider their behaviour and sees a reduction in the ugly intimidation "techniques" practised by some, well then I'd welcome it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Expressing admiration for or attraction to a woman's beauty is a sign that you hate her? Has feminist logic written all over it...